Excelsior Henderson Motorcycles Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Excelsior Henderson Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Excelsior Henderson Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-05-03 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike and flew to Texas to pick it up and ride it home. What a ride! The Deadwood is definitely heavy, but once you get used to the weight it is very easy to ride. The bike it VERY FAST! I wasn't paying attention while cruising through west Texas and was doing 95. It blew me away! It was so smooth and the motor just purrs! The Yahoo Excelsior Henderson owners groups are the greatest. If you have a question/problem and post a question you will receive 20 emails in a day! Friends are great!
- Rowdy Rod, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-09 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With only 1952 ever made in the limited two year production run of 1999 and 2000 you can't help but own a Collector's bike when you purchase a Super X! There is no finer riding heavy cruiser than the Super X with its anti-dive front end and heavy-duty frame (like no other, makes an H-D frame look like a toothpick) these machines ride effortlessly down the nation's highways, backroads and city streets. Lots of support and parts and most can be found at the largest E-H Super X resource...the Excelsior-Henderson Resource Board: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Excelsior-Henderson-Resource-Board/
- RB, Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-07 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looked and looked for two years at the Super X and finally bought one. Love Harleys, but love my Super X much better. Why? It's just a different bike that loves highway speeds and jaunts around town. My wife loves it to and we are considering buying another one for her. If you've been looking, don't hesitate to buy one--you won't be sorry. Also, it's made in America!
- Chuck P., USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-21 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so far ahead of its time that it beat the Harley/Porsche collaboration that is producing the soon to be released first water cooled Harley engine. There are so many disgruntied Harley riders who are not looking forward to such an engine and indeed Indian is also priding itself on producing their own "air cooled" engine as they are readying to abandon the S&S motor. Sometimes when a product comes along that is ahead of its time, it takes consumers time to realize just what has happened: the Excelsior-Henderson Super X is just such a product. Gone are the staple exterior pushrod and tubes, replaced by a sophisticated overhead cam and four valves per head beauty of an engine that my Harley friends envy everytime we exceed the sixty-five miles per hour mark as the Super X engine just keeps pulling into the three digit territory with ease and can stay there with no problems. Take a close look at the motorcycle and you find a level of quality not found in other production cruiser worthy of some custom bikes. I was sold immediately after taking a Super X out for a test ride, that lasted TWO HOURS. The dealership thought I had stolen the motorcycle and was in the process of calling the police; this of course prompted my purchasing one as it is all too easy to ride for hours on end with a Super X. A motorcycle to buy and a motorcycle to keep and ride. My son is listed in our will to inherit my Super X. It is not just a different American Made Cruiser, it is better American Crusier.
- Susie XQ, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first time I saw this bike I knew it was exactly what I was looking for. Size, power, performance, and really, truly, a work of art in it's own right. I was two years away from getting a Royal Star, but seeing the Super X, I knew I had to have it right away, so I got a part time job to help with the down payment, and picked up #566 on May 15, 1999. Since then I've put 13,500 miles on it. It's the first Excelsior-Henderson into the Iron Butt Association, and has carried me through 2 24-hour endurance events, with more scheduled this year. Everywhere we go, it draws a crowd- such a unique and beautiful motorcycle is hard to keep low-profile. Obviously, this bike can't outrace a ZX or a Hyabusa, but for doing what it was designed to do- cruise with confidence, style, and authority, this is the top of the pile. Anything else would be a step back into the shadow of the masses, and a capitulation to conformity.
- Chris Blevins, Carpentersville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the bike for 10 months with over 8500 miles to date it handles like a dream otherwise put " The heart of a cruiser and the soul of a sportbike ". If you prefer backcountry cruising the bike is great 5.5 gallons of gas gives you the range to get away from the rest of the world or if you prefer it will take on the dragons tail. Down side needs a little more groung clearence for heavy high speed turns ( brake pedal pivot and kickstand ) otherwise a great bike. No major problems the suspesion works as designed, this isn't a clone but a well engineered machine with a first rate finish and excellent riding characteristics. The bike exceeds what the manufacturer advertised,hopefully when production resumes we will see a stronger dealer network with full factory support.By the way to date the factory and dealers I have ahd dealings with have been great.
- Robert Tullis, South Padre Island, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Deadwood Special for just over a year now and overall I'm extremely pleased with this motorcycle. As is the case with most new endeavors, there have been a few problems but in my case all have been minor and easily fixed by my dealer. I love the looks of this extraordinary cruiser and judging by the reactions of many head-turners they do too. The bike is fairly heavy and in my opinion adds to it's stability. The remarkable support system of Excelsior Henderson owners on various boards makes for a pretty good feeling of camaraderie and fellowship. It's really amazing how much passion there is surrounding this scoot. I don't regret for an instant my decision to buy this beautiful bike.
- Jim Shea, Manchester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have no.851 this bike fires right off and is ready to ride it pulls strongly right off idle and never surges like some injected bikes. Going through the gears only takes a light tap on the shift lever the same is true with down shifts, especially since I put in 10w40-motorcycle oil. The bike has great low-end power and running through the powerband once you hit 3000rpm it's on its way to the rev limiter at 5500rpm where the fun ceases. This bike is not out of breath even then the power is still climbing unlike my Harley with a Screaming Eagle cam feels tight after 5000rpm. Even though it will pull 6000rpm on the Dyno. The Henderson goes down the road seemingly on affected by crosswinds. I have seen as high as 50mpg at light throttle 65-70mph. The paint is show quality! The front end absorbs bumps with easy and more important stability! The brakes work, as they should strongly with no nosedive. I have a 34inch inseam and I can ride this bike comfortably all day! A usable classic!
- superx owner, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned 12 bikes in 25 years of riding. Started out on the old Brit ass hammers and moved up to an HD, with 136K miles on the clock. Bought the Super X in April of 1999. My first impression was of that huge front end and engine. After firing it up, and riding it - I was hooked! I was never one to like the herky-jerky performance of sport bikes, but this thing has Plenty of Power. Grab the loud handle (see slash cut pipes) and Whoaoooooo! Feet flappin' out behind me performance! And, oh yeah, she stops very well too.. Handling is great. Liken it to an old Triumph. All you gotta do is move one butt cheek and you're into the turn. Only complaint here is the floorboard kept scraping. Other than that the main concern with this bike is the minor problems the early ones had. This will be negated by buying from a reputable dealer - Like mine - Performance Honda/EH in Charlotte. Lucky
- Lucky Dave, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought two from a dealer last January, sold one to a 30 year riding buddy who loves it and I bought a third (total of two now owned). Have had no major problems at all, and what I have had was minor and easy to fix myself. These bikes ride and look great, are very reliable, start right up with their closed loop fuel injection and move out quite well with 1386cc, double overhead cams and a belt drive. If I had more room and money I would buy more! Paul at Northend cycle has all colors in stock, give him a call at 888-264-7874.
- Mark Harrigan, Danville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I own two Super X MC's. Have found them to be tremendous bikes, particularly for early models. They are great cruisers that draw a crowd at every stop. We would love to see more touring accessories and believe the SX has solid touring potential. We are concerned about future of Brand and would love to see a strong company take over E-H soon. Great riding!
- Marty_MC99, Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. All my HD buddies want to ride it and when they do, they love my Super X. Excelsior Henderson will bounce back because they made a great bike and the word is slowly but surely spreading. I say this because I researched all the heavy cruisers (for 6 months now), HD, Indian, Suzuki, Kawasaki, Moto Guzzi and the Excelsior Henderson performs better, offers more advanced technology such as fuel injection, 4 valve per cyclinder heads, overhead cam, advanced oil/air cooling, integrated tranny and engine, and finally, stunning looks and a great ride. You have to really respect Excelsior Henderson because they continued the tradition of offering a better performing bike at cutting edge technology. Now if I have to change my pipes or air intake, my computerized closed loop fuel injection will auto adjust (only recently has HD offered anything close to this). LONG LIVE EXCELSIOR HENDERSON!!!
- Frank Cottone, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great cruiser. It's better than any Harley I've owned. The front end makes for not just a unique look, but gets away from the front dive you get on a Harley and all their colons. This bike has been trouble free and comes with the extra you pay a lot of dough for on other bikes. This bike has a lot of up side. After market folks are just now coming out with parts. S & S has taken one apart for a look see. Wonder what their up too. The E-H Motor has lots of potential, maybe S & S is looking at designing their own motor Vs sticking with their present H & D knockoff. The Super X is selling a big discount right now. I'll pick up a second one this spring if I can get a deal like those being offered now.
- Tom D, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own Excelsior Henderson bike # 672. I've had it now for 5400 + miles with zero problems. Several of my friends told me to stick with my Harley but when first saw my Excelsior, I knew it was love at first sight. I've ridden bikes for 35 years and have ridden several Harleys but stock Excelsior Hendersons beat stock Harley Davidsons in every aspect for fit, ride, performance and especially quality. Pound for pound, Excelsior Henderson is twice the bike that Harley Davidson is! My friend spent $7000 in extra motor work on his 80 ci Evo, and when he was done, he had $32,000 Total into his Harley and he still could not beat me in a race. What's more, the Excelsior Super X will not beat you up on the road like a soft tail will. My Excelsior is the most stable big cruiser I've ever owned. Super X owner #672
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a s-x; it's a high quality m/c all right. And very stunning to look at, the dealer mine came from ran from e-h very soon though, and other dealers in my area ran to, so watch that. Its not like buying a regular m/c there are few dealers, few warranties being honored, and the company, what company, but the bike it self is solid, well made, if you can do you own mechanic work go for it, you will love the bike if you buy one, it has a nice ride, handles good, makes not bad power, mine was Dynoed at 63 hp. This bike will take a commitment from the owner. Lots of good deals right now to. So go for it!!
- dave mclennan, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Check out the weight of this thing. Pounds=steel, no plastic. I've had a couple problems (no bike is perfect) but I have never paid a dime to get it fixed, not even for oil! Had it worked on last week under warranty so the factory is still around. Most comfortable bike I've ever owned. Beats the Harley FLHTC I traded in on it. If you get the opportunity to ride one of these beasts do it!
- walrus, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have one of the first that were built. I have HD,Norton,BSA. This bike satisfies my desire to own a true classic of motorcycling history, both past and present.This bike (although heavy)reminds me of a sportbike in the lower gears. Then, when in 5th gear, it has the heart and soul of a grand American built cruiser.I highly recommend this bike .The Hanlons and their engineers did there homework.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can't help but to become addicted to this motorcycle. The quality if superb, the ride excellent for a heavyweight cruiser, and the looks from others nonstop. It can cruise all day without hesitation and it can easily maintain ninety miles an hour as long as you wish. The anti-dive front works better than most bikes and stopping is no problem. There are several members' boards where you can receive valuable information from other owners. I own a black Deadwood Special, model year 2000 and can't help but look at the bike once or twice each night before going to bed as I find something new to admire about it all the time. A bargain at any price for the quality of motorcycle you get. A true American-Made Heavyweight Cruiser for those who want an American motorcycle.
- Copperhead, U.S.A.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-22 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just took delivery of my 2000 Super-X Deadwood Edition. The only "complaint" is that this bike is HEAVY!!!! Other than that - well, one word - KILLER. After adjusting to the weight, it was a pleasure to ride. Also, a pleasure to look at (I got it with optional driving lights, engine guards and slash cut mufflers that are REALLY loud.) And talk about head turner - almost makes me wish I was still single!!!!! Nice complement to my "riding" bike - a 97 Wide Glide....
- Alexl1, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-09 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My girlfriend convinced me to buy this. I own three late model Ducati's and never thought I would go cruiser. I have ridden many of HD's, and this beats them, for fit, finish, acceleration, smoothness of ride, handling, braking and quality design and finish. I love it. It is unusual and beautiful in its own way, and turns heads.
- tasso pappas, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-06 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I selected this bike because of the design and style. When I come out of the store or restaurant I can tell which one is mine. The suspension works well for a cruiser, I did not expect it to handle like my Ducati. The engine smooths out on mine between 2900 and 4000 rpm.-- that puts me at 62 to 74 mph in 4th and 75 to 90 in 5th gear. I had to put plugs in when I got the bike as it ran rough because they were fouled and misgapped. I put the factory optional pipes on and it was nice to have a fuel injection system that self adjusts for such a change. Overall very happy with machine.
- ERIC ECKHOFF, Castle Rock, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-21 2000 Excelsior Henderson Super X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently spent a weekend riding Excelsior-Henderson's 2000 Super X. A dealer friend let me use one of his road test bikes, as interest in the bike seems to have diminished since the company filed chapter 11. The bike, at a glance was somewhat ungainly looking with the huge springed forks and odd looking front fender. A closer inspection revealed a finely conceived design, quality components, fit and finish. The ride, however, was disappointing. It is a heavey bike that seems to be geared a little too high for the torque its twin cam fuel injected engine is able to handle. Fifth gear is an overdrive gear, no roll back acceleration from this gear. Handling was not what this bike was designed for, it's a cruiser, and it definitely doesn't handle well. Another annoying aspect of the Super X was its constant vibration. I would think that a bike of such recent design would include some sort of vibration dampening. All in all the bike is a disapoointment but I didn't regret spending a weekend exploring Southern Maryland on this unique machine.
- Anonymous, Annapolis, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: