Gas Gas Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Gas Gas Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Gas Gas Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-01-13 2006 Gas Gas EC 300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, this was my first non-Japanese brand motorcycle - it was a big leap for me to put money down on something other than a Honda or Yamaha which have always been my two favorite brands over the 30 years I've been riding dirt bikes. The quality of components and engineering on this GasGas is top notch. After 2 full seasons, there have been no problems that stopped me from riding, or leaving me stranded. I ride alone in deep forests of Northern Ontario, Canada and reliability was the number one item on my list of needs for a bike. (The population density in this area is less than 1 person per square mile - breaking down really sucks here) The only reason I looked at a brand other than Honda/Yamaha is that they don't make what I want - which is a very lightweight dirt oriented fully road legal bike - and the EC300 fit the bill to a T.' I tried the 4 stroke thing with 3 different bikes before the GasGas, but in my honest opinion, they just don't cut it for what I do. You either have a high strung, high cost, high maintenance lightweight 4 stroke, or you have a reliable tank. I didn't want either. I get on my bike, kick it once, and ride and ride. I change the tranny oil every 500km, lube the chain, check the bike over and that's it. I have so much work to do each day with just living in the woods (water, firewood, home maintenance), that I don't want some finicky high strung machine that needs babying BUT, I want the lightest machine I can get out there. My riding includes paved roads, gravel roads, maintained trails, rough cut trails, logging roads and abandoned gravel pits. I really did need a bike that could do it all, and this one does it. I can cruise at 100km/hour going to town and back (24km total round trip) on the highway with logging trucks all around and then spend the rest of the afternoon playing on trails. Here are the only things I found wrong with the bike. One, the kickstand design is just plain ridiculous in how it works. Thankfully, there is an easy cost free fix you can find out about by doing a web search. The second item was that the carb was miles out of whack new. It was so rich at low throttle positions that it gurgled, drank gas and fouled plugs. After getting that sorted out (#9 slider, #42 pilot, #180 main, air screw at 1.5 out) I'm getting around 50mpg on the road (Canadian gallons, which is = to about 40mpg to the American gallon) I have had the same plug for 1.5 seasons now. Here is the icing on the cake: The suspension and handling are just so good I can't even explain. I got the Ohlins rear and Marzocci front forks - I didn't think I needed the Ohlins front, besides the Ohlins have a reputation as being harder to work on. I change my fork oil once per year. I've hit 140km/hour on gravel, and there was plenty more to go, but I'm a chicken that wants to live, so who knows where the top end is? Options to get for this bike are the Honda style chain guide and oversize tank. I use Motul 800 at 50:1 and premium gas. At 4200km, I still have full compression. Other reviews mention 10,000 rpm - I don't know if it goes that high or not, but you sure don't need to. The low/mid is so fat when its jetted right that short shifting is the way to go, and you can break the rear tire loose on gravel in 4th gear with just a throttle whack. Guess who is never selling a 2006 EC300?
- dm, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2006 Gas Gas MC 125 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great for younger riders. It is very reliable; just fouls a spark plug here and there. When I bought it, I thought it wouldn't be as good as bigger brands such as Honda but it is just as good. You just can't get as many performance parts for it. I've taken it to the track and it's just as good as any other bike.
- Garrett, Hagerstown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2006 Gas Gas FSE 450 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2006 and 2007, both have Ohlins suspension and are pretty much loaded out of the box! They are very good and the power delivery is smooth and predictable. No surpises here, this motorcycle is, as with the Husaberg line, a true exotic machine for the woods and scrub; Not half bad as a commuter as well. For the beginner or first timer, the Gas Gas should be considered as it tends to be more forgiving and doesn't have as explosive power delivery as the Husaberg. After a point in the rpm's when the Hussy comes to pipe, she'll launch like a jet hitting the afterburner. don't get me wrong, they are both outstanding machines and I own both brands but each has its place. Husaberg to all out race, Gas Gas for more refined or every day pace.
- Rance, Salem, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-20 2005 Gas Gas EC 300cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second GasGas EC300. Mine has Ohlins front and rear and works fantastic. The bike turns very well and with the meaty power and the 6 speed gearbox the bike allows you to ride it wild or mild.
- Mike Baxter, Milpitas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-19 2003 Gas Gas EC 300cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike has been running awesome. Apart from normal maintenance, nothing has ever gone wrong.<br /> Best bike in the mud and for the normal tight trails we have around here.<br /> Did I say best bike for mud? I love mud.<br /> I will upgrade to an 07 or 08 model if finances allows.
- fiddler, HB, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2006 Gas Gas EC 300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far the best off-road motorcyle I have ridden. Power delivery is smooth and very strong. It pulls very well off the bottom, strong through the mid and revs way out on top to 10000 RPM. Handling is superb. It turns sharp regardless of rider position. It is stable at speed. It is very forgiving and confidence inspiring. Suspension is top notch. It will soak up rocks and roots at low speed very well and handle whoops at all speeds up to 50MPH+. The fit and finish on the engine is excellent. The frame has a few fit and finish issues with part alignment. Overall, there is not another off-road motorcycle I would rather have, except for an '07 EC300.
- Eric K, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2006 Gas Gas FSE 450 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride a 2007 model FSR450 from GasGas. Without a doubt it is the best machine I have ridden. It handles, it has fantastic smooth yet repsonsive power and everyone gleans over it with thier eyes in envy. I'm a happy man!
- JRDoz, Sydney , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2003 Gas Gas EC 200cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2003 model GasGas EC200 from a mate of kien who was up grading to the EC300. This was his second 200, the first one he had was a 2002 model a couple of years ago before he had a couple of accidents which injured his shoulder and knee. I bought this from him in April and have loved every ride I have had on it. The suspension is flawless, the motor is awesome, the ergos are fantastic and it just does what you expect it to.
- B. Herbert, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2006 Gas Gas MC 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike I've ever owned. The suspension worked flawlessly. It soaked up whoops and roots with no sharp spikes to the handle bars. I could double some of the whoops. This bike weighs about 20lbs (guess) less than my '01 and it feels it while riding. The handling is the same as my '01 which means surgical precision. Had to swap the front pads half way thru the ride. The metal pads had too much of a on-off feel. Just my personal preferance. Power suits my riding style perfectly-snaps out of corners like a bullet. If the power falls off, a quick blip of the clutch and throttle picks it back up. Motor is buttery smooth, trans shifting is just the same. Motor almost has no vibrations while riding, my '01 buzzed the pegs. Longer kick starter is very nice, easier to kick over.
- Girard Lall, Pearland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-22 2005 Gas Gas EC 250cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Gas Gas! I have ridden many Japanise made MX bikes over the years and none compare to my 2005 Gas Gas EC 250. I'm never going back! I do use this bike for Motocross riding in the Desert dunes near my home and it has never disappointed me in the slightest. This machine has so much power down low and in the midrange that it almost doesnt need the insanely powerful top end that it does have.
- FFR David, Richland , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-19 2005 Gas Gas EC 250cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an enduro bike... use it for tight eastern woods and it is just as good as it gets. I've owned and ridden them all... 4 and 2 strokes alike, this bike puts everything together if you ride the woods in the east. The power delivery is spot on, the suspension perfect, and the bike handles like it has a brain. Last bike was an 02 RM 250 $1700.00 worth of extras to make a good woods bike and it beat the heck out of me. I put hand guards on my GG and ride 3-4 hours at a clip and sometimes 3 days a week and never get beat up by the bike. It's been 13 months now and all I've done to it is the regular maintenance.... Oil,air filter, tighten chain, check spokes and tires as needed. I may never buy another bike this one is a keeper.
- Lou, South Park, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-31 2005 Gas Gas EC 125cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought on of these bikes and I only just tested it. For trail riding, it's perfect; I got the 125 so I could put it on the road on a provisional license! For enduro and stubble fields it's great because it's an enduro bike! For motocross I'm not no sure, it's really too soft but then it's the rider not the bike.
- mcorlett, isle of man, Florida, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-23 2003 Gas Gas EC 300cc Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my EC 300 new in the Spring of 2003 Arkansas sight-unseen. Moreover, I had never had any previous experience with Gas-Gas in the past. I'm very pleased with the build quality, nimble handling, and linear power of my EC 300--the OEM AJP juice clutch is a dream. In retrospect, it's the best bike I've ever ridden--compared to both four-strokes and two-strokes. Dependability has been flawless. I eagerly recommend Gas-Gas to anyone who is looking for a quality enduro competitor that's light years ahead of any current Japanese offering.
- T. P., Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-06 2003 Gas Gas EC 450cc fse Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2003 400cc Gas Gas thumper and love it. It starts easily all the time never a problem. It's a bit heavy but incredible power and quality. The EFI has been flawless. I do think the fuel line inlet set-up is a bit unreliable. i guess my experience has just been different.
- tim, chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-01 2003 Gas Gas PAMPERA 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm just getting back into biking after an 18 year layoff. I wanted dual sport but something really trail worthy. The Pampera 250 was a pleasant surprise. The bike is extremely light weight, is low enough for me to touch both feet to the ground (5'6") and has awesome low and midrange power and torque. The forks are a bit lightly sprung, but for moderate speeds over moderate terrain they work well. You have to run pre-mix too, no oil injection system on the Gas Gas.
- caster, Steinwenden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-21 2003 Gas Gas PAMPERA 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Durable, I give it only 4 stars though, but its a good bike!
- GrImIs, Hoosick, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: