Harley-Davidson ROAD KING CLASSIC Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (105)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson ROAD KING CLASSIC Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Steve Leng from Union, Michigan says:

I love this girl and some day she will be my grandsons. Brakes and tires are the only replacements due to the riding. She is semi-retired because t

Read More (105 reviews)

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson ROAD KING CLASSIC Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this girl and some day she will be my grandsons. Brakes and tires are the only replacements due to the riding. She is semi-retired because there is a 2011 Ultra Limited in my garage with only one mile on her. I can't wait for our Michigan snow to melt!
- Steve Leng, Union, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my first Harley, the 2005 Road King. I've owned many Japanese bikes but decided to make the move to a Harley. It's one of the smartest moves I have made. I can't believe how well built they are compared to the Japanese bikes. The paint and chrome is far superior, nevermind the awesome ride. I find any excuse to go out to the garage to drool over my lava red Road King. Now I know why people say there is just something about a Harley.
- Glen S., red deer, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-18 2012 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2009 Ultra. I had owned two Harley Ultras previously (2004 and 2009). The 103 is an improvement over the 96" - enough power for two up riding. Agility, braking, visiblity all are very good. It runs cooler, probaly because of the oil cooler, than my 2009 Ultra with a noticeable improvement in power. The transmission is smoother and no 5th gear whine. I used ABS once - it was good - but there is a groning noise (was not used to it.) The only negative is from the passenger - I now replaced seat and side guards (with comfort guards) - big improvement for her. I really like the bike.
- Bill C, Hamilton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2012 Road King Classic after owning a 2001 Superglide. When I first rode the bike, I did not like it because it felt like a scooter, especially if you buy it out of the showroom. It sounds like a Suzuki. But put on Vance pipes and now it sounds good and makes a big difference on how you feel on it. I am starting to enjoy it more with every ride. If you're used to a Dyna, you're going miss the first three gears of the quick respondence that the Dyna's offer. you're also going to miss leaning in the turns. But overall, this bike you get a lot of miles in before your body feels exhausted. I also feel good in being tall and weighing 200 lbs. The bike fits me better. It takes a little getting used to the weight but you can't feel that weight until you brake and come to a stop. In the look department I think this bike gets an A+.
- harley owner, arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-01 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took better than six months for me to find a pre-owned Road King Classic, and I found my '06 in vivid black (looks just like the pic) with only 3K miles in cleaner than new condition and all the right mods alreaady made for me: V & H slip ons and re-chipped, HD backrest, plus all HD upgraged chromed grips and lower controls...the bike is pure eye candy. I've ridden sportbikes since 1984, and still own a 2000 Hyabusa. But my sixth grade son says the Busa scares him (it scares me too!)...so I finally made the jump. My boy and I always go out together riding on the Harley, and all I can say is that you just can't stop smiling while you're on it. It is the most comfortable riding experience and really lets you enjoy your surroundings in a completely different way than on a crotch rocket. I have yet to try out the cruise control. If I ever do get rid of my '06 Road King Classic, it'll be for only one reason - to get into a newer 103c.i. version!
- J D K, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-25 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We had an 09 Electra Glide Classic, but being as though we don't ride long distances very often, the bike was almost too much. We went back to a Road King, and for the wife and I, it's the perfect machine. The comfort, performance, and handling are sensational. I did add a comfort stitch seat, rider & passenger backrests, and 14" ape hangers handle bars. The bars make all the difference in the world. It's a great all-purpose bike.
- JB, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-03 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike over a year ago and 5500 miles later it is still running perfect. The performance on the bike is the only negative especially if you want to get on the freeway. It vibrates badly at speeds over 80 mph. I solved this problem by having a 103 engine installed and now it is perfect. The handling, comfort (with modifications), style, reliability and now performance are perfect. I have had three different Harleys and this one by far is the best. In my humble opinion the Road King Classic is the perfect blend of a classic and modern cruiser.
- thefloasyouknow, Auburn hills , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-28 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can't wipe the smile off of my face! I had a super glide and Yamaha Roadliner. This bike handles great, very smooth on the highway and sounds great. Just have to get used to finding nuetral. Best of all, I don't have to explain why I'm not on a Harley, it's good to be back!
- Paul, Peekskill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-07 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this fine machine after a lifetime of second hand Harleys. I wanted a bagger but didn't want all the radio BS so this was perfect. The two years didn't see many miles due to a busted leg but 2009 proved to be the true test. I rode from Michigan to the florida Keys 2 times and to LA once and numurous 3-5 hundred mile weekend rides. The only problem I have is the seat because of my large body and boney butt. I love this bike. It even was a small part in the reason for a divorce :)
- Me, Rochester, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started my Harley ownership with a 2004 Superglide and was very happy. I test rode a 2006 Roadking and fell in love. I bought the Roadking the same day. The bike fits me well, I just need to change the handle bars to Heritage bars and a more comfortable seat. I have to make it my own. Overall this is my perfect bike and I plan on having this bike for years to come.
- Bill, New Oxford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-22 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last bike I owned in my early 20's was a 650 BSA. Before this one, 66 Honda cb450, the ugly one. Then, got in the firefighter force for 30 years, family, kids, no time for biking. Now at 60, thought it'd be cool to ride again (crazy old man I thought to myself). Then, that old far-hidden in my sub-conscious dream, resurfaced. From this day, I was doomed. I wouldn't settle for less then my dream bike, Harley Road-King. Though I was all fire, I realized I had never ridden a heavy bike, none the less, I started to search for my dream bike. Luckily, found it waiting, about 20 miles from home. Within a week I was hauling it in a closed trailer back home, under heavy snowfall. After waiting 2 months before winter took off, THE DAY FINALLY ARRIVED THAT I WOULD RIDE THIS BEAST. To tell you the truth, I was a bit scared, not having ridden a bike for long, anyway, I took off on the bike and my reflexes came back rapidly. Took me about 3 weeks to get the feel, mostly on corners. Now, after a whole summer, I feel confortable. And I must say, the bike handles much better than I would have expected. Tried my friend's VTX, the other day, there is no comparison on the handling (no bashing meant there). I must say that I'm in love with the Road-King now. Cornering easy, plenty power, and that sound, wow, blows your mind. Voila, had to express my joy, John
- john lauzon, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first bike ever in December and I fell for the Road King Classic 04'with 2132 miles. I did my homework and the local Harley dealer told me for the price you are getting a steal especially with all the chrome extras on the bike. I have put about 200 miles on the bike for I am not a big rider being my first bike but being 42 yrs old and always wanting a Harley I said why not and I don't regret one second of it. The ride though is pretty rough but I think changing the seat will do me good. I do have to admit though that these bikes if you don't be careful you can start spend money all day long getting things added so I must be careful.[smile]
- mark, waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. I had a Dyna Low Rider for years, and it was time for a touring bike. I walked around this bike after reviewing it on the web. The 5th gear noise is not a big deal at all. The engine does run hot, but I live in Naples, FL. It gets hot here people. I made some changes the are listed below that really helped cool the bike down.
- Bill Konn, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely love this bike. I waited until I actually had a few miles on it to review it. Now that I do (5000+), I can say that this bike is made to run! It looks great! Turns heads wherever I go! The engine has more than enough power to do what I need it to do. I am not a stoplight-to-stoplight kind of person but, then again, this bike wasn't designed for that either. On the highway it rolls effortlessly at 80+ and still had the guts to pass trucks and such. I have had it faster but that is classified! The cruise control is a nice touch too. In town, it turns great and I don't feel like I am trying to steer a tank. Great stopping distance too. Even my wife enjoys the ride. Only thing that I would have changed on this bike (other than the pricetag) would be the things I have already changed...the bars, seat and adding highway pegs. I will probably do a Stage 1 upgrade and put on some V&H Big Shot Duals but that is a want, not a need. I rode several bikes before choosing this one (Sportster, Wide-Glide and Heritage Softail CLassic). This one is IT. If your riding habits run like mine, 60% trips under a hundred miles and 40% day/weekend trips then you won't be disappointed. I have no doubts I could take this machine on a three-month long cross country tour with no problems. As for the issues you may have heard about like 5th gear noise, engine heat, etc...I haven't had a problem. Does the bike sound different in 5th gear? Yep. But if I wanted complete quiet, I would have bought a Honda....or a washing machine. ..or just stayed home. When you ride this bike, you know you are on a Harley. If you are expecting something else, I would say get something else. Does the engine get hot...well, duh, it is an air-cooled V-Twin. If you are at a stoplight or in a lot of stop-and-go traffic, you WILL notice some heat. I imagine the Stage 1 will help with that but honestly, I haven't noticed it enough to say it is a problem. I live in Oklahoma and I bought the bike in February. It is now August and through cold months and hot months I haven't had any issues with this bike. If you get one, I doubt you will be disappointed.
- J. Stubblefield, Lawton, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded in my '05 Wide Glide for an '07 Road King Classic, and I absolutely love it. No factory related problems at all...but a bit of a problem when I took delivery, a consequence of adding new V&H header pipes and mufflers prior to drive-out. It seems that V&H didn't do a very good job of testing the new 96 engine with their exhaust systems, and as a result their exhaust mappings were not up to date. I rode the new bike for a day, and after nearly getting run over a couple of times (when I rolled on the throttle trying to overtake someone, and the damn thing died on me), I took it back to the dealer. After 3 days of to'ing and fro'ing between V&H and The Motor Company, they finally got an exhaust map that would work. Fortunately, the dealer did the right thing and put me on a demo bike, so I wasn't without a ride during this time. All in all, I love it. Plenty of power with the new exhaust system and Stage 1; lots of bling, and a very comfortable ride. I haven't seen the need to replace the bars like lots of folks have, but I'm a tad over 6' and I have long arms, so I don't feel as if I'm reaching. Not a single problem related to over-heating, and the clutch whine in 5th gear is barely noticeable. I typically try to get into 6th gear as soon as I can...it just rides too smoothly there not to.
- JTN, Notre-Dame-du-Laus, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best damn bike I have ever owned. If you can't handle the heat, ride a Honda. I wouldn't sacrifice the power or the cool points. This bike gets moore looks than most custom choppers. I would buy a couple just for my friends if I had the cash...
- smeow, somewhere, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-22 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike. Very easy to handle and comfort for my bad back was important to me. I just got the bike the other day and did the engine break-in. I think all in all, this bike is the total package. My only complaint...the pipes are too quiet, but we will soon fix that!
- Munkeyman, St.Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just began riding this year and was a little intimidated on rushing to ride the Road King. Thankfully, I made the right decision and love the bike. This motorcycle is so well balanced that is a joy to manuever. In my opinion, this bike is the definition of classic. As noted in other reviews, the engine does run hot in short slow rides. Otherwise I have no other issues and am glad I made the right decision.
- Drew, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-06 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am updating a review that I did back in August of 2006 after purchasing my 05 Classic. I have ridden the bike almost 10,000 miles since the purchase. After adding a different seat, handlebars, pc III, stage 1 K&n, Rinehart true dual headers and mufflers and some chrome here and there, I have made this Harley into my own. The bike has been ridden to Wash. DC, Daytona, W Va, Va, Tennessee and 5 other states with all or most of my trips being medium to long distance rides. I have never had a problem. It has been dynotuned and has 80 hp and 80 ft, lbs of torgue on the sheet. HD got it right and am now considering purchasing a second bike just to ride around. This will be a Softtail with the new 96 engine and the 6 spd cruise. that's it!!!! I would buy one of em all if I had the smack to do it...
- sam, Conover, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first Harley and will never buy any thing else again. The only thing is the sound from the stock pipes. I put a set of after market pipes screaming egales still not the sound I wanted. They say the only way to get the sound I want will cost me a lot of $. Does any body know any other way? I was looking at maybe drilling some holes in the baffles but don't know if this will this hurt anything.
- SGMMP1, Fort Meade, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this black beauty with 11.8K miles on the odometer. What a terrific ride - very enjoyable. Am getting around 42-46 mpg in overall riding. Had the handlebars tilted back and extended reach foot pegs put on - great! Rides great, handles superbly and gets a ton of looks and comments.
- Frank, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike probably about 4 months now. I traded my '06 Sportster in after having it about 6. I've got about 4000 miles, 2800 of which were 2 round trips to Indiana and back. This bike is at home on the interstate. You can run 6th gear from 50 up to 90 without breaking a sweat. In the city though you do notice the heat from the engine. In the summer it's horrendous at stop lights, but as long as you're moving it is ok. I give reliability 5 stars because I haven't had a single problem yet. hasn't lost or burned oil, and it's started on the first try every time. Performance gets 5 stars as well. Once you're moving, this thing handles better than my Sportster. It's rock solid at high speed, and it can really get up and go when you want to. May not want to race a sport bike, but you've got most cars beat. Comfort gets 4 because you're gonna have to upgrade if you make a lot of long trips. The floorboards don't move out, so my feet seem like they're way too close to the engine. Without highway pegs, your legs are going to kill you after a couple hours. On the 10 hour trips I take I have to put the passenger boards down and use them to help stretch my legs. A backrest is also a must. It wouldn't be a big deal, but if you buy one from Harley, plan on spending 600 bucks. On a more positive note, the windshield is the perfect height, I actually like the stock seat, and the electronic cruise control is about the best feature on this thing. Quality. It gets 4 because it's definitely above average. But on a bike that is this outstanding, you find things to nitpick. The little wire catches on the windshield vibrate and makes noise. The engine gets really hot when stopped. The front brake makes a lot of noise at low speed, at least with my wire wheels. The transmission is noisy. And once again, I wish the floorboards were adjustable. Just an afterthought... everyone complains about the noise in fifth gear. This is because fifth gear is cut differently than the others, with the exception of 1st. First is also noisy, but you hardly use it so you don't notice much. It's not a bad noise, just a whine, but I have already gotten used to it.
- Evan, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was browsing the web for info on the skipping problem and bam there it was. It was covered under warranty. They changed the fuel injector size and it is great. Easy fix, but the company did not let anyone know. Very happy and having a great time.
- Mike Spencer, Big Flats, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my Superglide for this beauty, should have done it sooner. Being on the short side, I was a little concerned about its size. The dealer said - go take one for a ride. I went back & took delivery of a white one the next day! This machine just crusies effortlessly. I did not know what I was missing. The wife enjoys it as much as I do. I hear lots of complaining about heat, tranny, etc., but not mine. 6 speed is spaced perfectly, no need to do any motor work with the bigger motor. Will try not to chrome it. Yeah right.
- tom bennett, staten island , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a used 2004 Road King Classic after 20yrs. of raising a family. This bike is more than what I expected. After riding the 1980 Shovel, which was a dream, this bike blows them away! Harley has come a long way - still pricey but every mans dream! Live free and ride a Harley!
- Knoxie, Dracut, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: