Harley-Davidson ROAD KING Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (47)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson ROAD KING Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson ROAD KING Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-10-13 2016 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for my bike for the last year and finally found it at Freedom Road Cycles and Sales in Wichita, Kansas. Shannon made it easy to purchase exactly what I wanted and was a pleasure to work with him.
- Phillip Friedland, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-03 2012 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just sold my 1999 K1200RS BMW. It was too uncomfortable for me. I got a "great" deal on a 2012 Road King. This is an all day-bike. It's comfortable and relaxing to ride. The new Brembo brakes do very well. The motor is a honey. The tranny is great. The new frame is very rigid. The bike handles well for a big machine. I added heated grips for the riding in cool weather in New Hampshire's fall. You will not be disappointed with this tourer.
- omaho5bill, Pembroke, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2005 Road King with the twin cam 88 and loved the bike. But 10 klm. down the road I was convinced I'd made a great choice to trade her in. The refinement of the new RC is amazing - better motor, better frame, better brakes and transmission. I had to keep looking to see if I was on a Japanese sport bike.
- Jake, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-18 2012 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2009 Ultra. I had owned two Harley Ultras previously (2004 and 2009). The 103 is an improvement over the 96" - enough power for two up riding. Agility, braking, visiblity all are very good. It runs cooler, probaly because of the oil cooler, than my 2009 Ultra with a noticeable improvement in power. The transmission is smoother and no 5th gear whine. I used ABS once - it was good - but there is a groning noise (was not used to it.) The only negative is from the passenger - I now replaced seat and side guards (with comfort guards) - big improvement for her. I really like the bike.
- Bill C, Hamilton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2012 Road King Classic after owning a 2001 Superglide. When I first rode the bike, I did not like it because it felt like a scooter, especially if you buy it out of the showroom. It sounds like a Suzuki. But put on Vance pipes and now it sounds good and makes a big difference on how you feel on it. I am starting to enjoy it more with every ride. If you're used to a Dyna, you're going miss the first three gears of the quick respondence that the Dyna's offer. you're also going to miss leaning in the turns. But overall, this bike you get a lot of miles in before your body feels exhausted. I also feel good in being tall and weighing 200 lbs. The bike fits me better. It takes a little getting used to the weight but you can't feel that weight until you brake and come to a stop. In the look department I think this bike gets an A+.
- harley owner, arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-01 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took better than six months for me to find a pre-owned Road King Classic, and I found my '06 in vivid black (looks just like the pic) with only 3K miles in cleaner than new condition and all the right mods alreaady made for me: V & H slip ons and re-chipped, HD backrest, plus all HD upgraged chromed grips and lower controls...the bike is pure eye candy. I've ridden sportbikes since 1984, and still own a 2000 Hyabusa. But my sixth grade son says the Busa scares him (it scares me too!)...so I finally made the jump. My boy and I always go out together riding on the Harley, and all I can say is that you just can't stop smiling while you're on it. It is the most comfortable riding experience and really lets you enjoy your surroundings in a completely different way than on a crotch rocket. I have yet to try out the cruise control. If I ever do get rid of my '06 Road King Classic, it'll be for only one reason - to get into a newer 103c.i. version!
- J D K, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-25 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We had an 09 Electra Glide Classic, but being as though we don't ride long distances very often, the bike was almost too much. We went back to a Road King, and for the wife and I, it's the perfect machine. The comfort, performance, and handling are sensational. I did add a comfort stitch seat, rider & passenger backrests, and 14" ape hangers handle bars. The bars make all the difference in the world. It's a great all-purpose bike.
- JB, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-03 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike over a year ago and 5500 miles later it is still running perfect. The performance on the bike is the only negative especially if you want to get on the freeway. It vibrates badly at speeds over 80 mph. I solved this problem by having a 103 engine installed and now it is perfect. The handling, comfort (with modifications), style, reliability and now performance are perfect. I have had three different Harleys and this one by far is the best. In my humble opinion the Road King Classic is the perfect blend of a classic and modern cruiser.
- thefloasyouknow, Auburn hills , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 49 years of age, 6 feet tall and just over 300 pounds, I knew my first bike was not going to be a 250cc rice burner or current crop of Euro naked bikes. Nor was it going to be one of the smaller Harleys on the market either. So I went with the base model Road King and have not second guessed that decision yet. The bike is solid, sturdy, stable when it needs to be and responsive when you need it to be. Drawbacks? I have laid her on her side twice and at 850# she is a real bear to get back upright. Despite the advertising there is still a lot of vibration but that smoothes out the faster you go and even with after-market Rinehart pipes she still sounds like a riding lawnmower. I have no other motorcycle riding experience to base this on but for my dollar I do not think I could have bought a better first motorcycle. I commute with it regularly and have taken it up into the Colorado Rocky Mountains with ease. She is a real joy to ride. Worse thing: the vibration. Best thing: Setting off car alarms in parking garages.
- KevinM40, Littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-28 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can't wipe the smile off of my face! I had a super glide and Yamaha Roadliner. This bike handles great, very smooth on the highway and sounds great. Just have to get used to finding nuetral. Best of all, I don't have to explain why I'm not on a Harley, it's good to be back!
- Paul, Peekskill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-07 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this fine machine after a lifetime of second hand Harleys. I wanted a bagger but didn't want all the radio BS so this was perfect. The two years didn't see many miles due to a busted leg but 2009 proved to be the true test. I rode from Michigan to the florida Keys 2 times and to LA once and numurous 3-5 hundred mile weekend rides. The only problem I have is the seat because of my large body and boney butt. I love this bike. It even was a small part in the reason for a divorce :)
- Me, Rochester, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I waited for my first full riding season to be over before submitting this: Searched and reviewed for months the various makes and models. From the patience of the local Harley sales folks to the great people in the service department, this has been an extremely satisfying experience. I knew I wanted a bike large enough to carry a passenger, me and our stuff for a quick weekend getaway, yet small enough to have fun on by myself. With every model I looked at I kept coming back to the Road King. The bike is large enough to carry everything you need for a weekend trip and still have plenty of power to get up a go when passing on the interstate while being fully loaded with two people. A really stable, comfortable machine. We ride for hours without that stiffness. Yet when I am by myself on the twisties, she is responsive and agile. Like others the only complaint I have is the fith gear whine. Plenty of torque and a comfortable ride. The 4 point rubber engine mounting system has all but done away with the vibrations from hell that Harleys were known for. Being of short stature, I outfitted the bike with a Reach Seat. This pushed me forward and lowered my legs enough to comfortably hold the bike at a red light. She is heavy (800 lbs) and you need to respect the fact that if you drop it, you won't be picking it up by yourself. Have replaced all fluids with the synthetics. This helped the gas mileage and the whine on the 5th gear. Will be replacing the stock mufflers in the spring. With everything from the windshield to the backrest being quick disconnects, you can radically change the look of the bike within seconds. Long road trip, windshield, back rest & luggage rack go on. Riding by myself without any interstates, Off everything comes and you have a classic, big muscled bike. I would recommend for anyone who wants that in-between bike. Not a heavy cross country cruiser yet not a rough riding, bare bones sportster. If this is you, get the Road King!!!
- Bill Cote, Waterford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice bike. No, I don't work for the dealer but the deal I got at a decent price started my love for this bike. Longest ride was from Connecticut to Nova Scotia Canada. 7 out of the 9 days were like riding in a monsoon. The bike performed flawlessly. I wasn't always a Harley fan...leaned toward Kawasakis... but this bike I like a lot. My downside to it was twice while riding in below freezing temps, the fuel injector seemed to hate the cold...for the first 10 miles on those mornings it idled at a higher speed requiring extra pressure on the brakes to bring it to a stop, also, it had hic-cups with the bike pulling away from the stop, bucking a few times. I can afford a new 2010 but with the economic situation I think I will hold onto it and not be disappointed. 35 mpg, great dealer service, decent price, good bike and great looking too. What else can a guy ask for?
- Stephen Getchell, Columbia, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started my Harley ownership with a 2004 Superglide and was very happy. I test rode a 2006 Roadking and fell in love. I bought the Roadking the same day. The bike fits me well, I just need to change the handle bars to Heritage bars and a more comfortable seat. I have to make it my own. Overall this is my perfect bike and I plan on having this bike for years to come.
- Bill, New Oxford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-30 2008 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own this and a gl1800 Goldwing, I enjoy this more because it feels more like a motorcycle. I use the the Wing on 1000 mile days and trips because it eats up miles. I ride the FLHR on day or weekend trips because it is more fun. You can make it a one of a kind. No problems with either bike.
- wolfislands, elk river, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 3 years and 15,000 miles, this has been an great bike for me. I have occasional problems with the starter not 'catching' properly but it always starts after the second crank. The paint and chrome are high quality and the finish still looks the same as when I bought the bike. It's comfortable on longer trips and I ride all day without any seat problem. The bike is a little unstable on rougher roads at high speed, but I don't like to drive that way. For a large bike, it's balanced and handles very well, even with a passenger. It's a real pleasure to ride this bike and I would buy a new one.
- Anonymous, Potsdam, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been almost 2000 miles and about 3 years after our first review of our new RKC. We have added many accessores to get the bike where we like it. The reliability has been great - no breakdowns or mechanical problems of any kind. The performance is good for pretty much a stock set up. We only added true duals from Vance & Hines, Dyno Jet Tuner, and a Screamin Eagle Stage I air box kit. Quality overall is up there. Comfort for us got the lowest rating this go round. After an hour or 50 miles we do need a rest break. Overall we gave it a four.
- Joe, Gladys, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-18 2009 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I knew for years I wanted a big bike, even though my previous riding experience was on smaller bikes. So I did my homework and waited and watched HD's models over several years, then I couldn't hold out any longer. I've been lovin' my 2009 Road King since day one that I rode it home. I call him my new horse. Due to frigid weather, I haven't been able to ride a lot, but I've gotten my break-in mileage in, and have no complaints. Bike looks good, rides superbly -- handles well, is very comfortable, and gets up and goes when I roll the throttle -- and is all around great. Now I'm just waiting for warmer days, which will be here real soon. The ride is smooth. No heat issues like the pre-09 models. Stock pipes sound pretty good, but a little more volume (and associated HP) wouldn't hurt anything. Cruise control is nice, and works well (just as it should). Another good weather day to ride on and I'll be due for my first maintenance. that's when I'll switch to synthetic oil.
- Elk Richardson, Hollister, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden more than 10K miles on my 2006 Road King. It has a variety of accessories added now including Screaming Eagle Slips-on's and the Stage One air filter system. For all the naysayers regarding this bike, hear this: This machine is not only reliable and capable but it is plenty comfortable for any long haul you can think of. A recent trip thru the Idaho and Montana mountains made up of hundreds of miles of twisty roads, long climbs, high altitudes and open highway stretches showed just how versatile the Road King is overall. This bike performed wonderfully. The stock seat is more than comfortable for all day riding. The handling is impeccable and I've never had a mechanical failure of any kind. I can't say the same for the many metrics that I've owned. If you're looking for a bike that bridges the gap between full dresser and average cruiser - the Road King is it. It is a do-it-all marvel in every respect. Mine is the '06, an 88 cu in 5 speed. I know that every manufacturer has its issues, but after all those years on metrics, I'll never, ever go back. This Harley has made a true believer out of me.
- idrider, Eagle, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned motorcycles for 30 years. All makes all sizes...too many to count. This is my 4th Harley and I've loved everyone of them. This RK Custom is another example of why owning a Harley is different from any other motorcycle. No other make gives you the feeling a Harley does. This bike performs and rides better than any cruiser I've owned. It handles like a sports car compared to those Japanese knock-offs that handle like a truck. Does it pump out some heat? Yup, all newer bikes do and you can blame that on the EPA. Put a new fuel management system on it and the temp drops a lot. Is the new 6 speed transmission noisy? A little, but it's make cruising at speed effortless. I may keep this one forever.
- Bluesdad, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. I had a Dyna Low Rider for years, and it was time for a touring bike. I walked around this bike after reviewing it on the web. The 5th gear noise is not a big deal at all. The engine does run hot, but I live in Naples, FL. It gets hot here people. I made some changes the are listed below that really helped cool the bike down.
- Bill Konn, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to resume motorcycle riding again after a 30 year lay off, and I bought a new 2007 FLHR Road King from the local Harley dealer. I purchased a Harley 'reach seat' to lower my riding position and move me forward to the handlebars - it works well and is comfortable. I also bought a passenger grab rail kit, a new saddlebag guard kit (easier on the passengers legs), and a passenger backrest - and now my wife is happy too. It took several days to get used to the motorcycle, but I quickly found it to be well balanced and easy to maneuver around town. I was real happy the first time I pulled out into highway traffic and really tested the acceleration. This beast really roars and moves out in a hurry! Shifting is smooth and easy. I love the gearing - 6th gear is perfect for highway cruising and is only effective above 60 mph. It's like an overdrive gear. The 'beast' whines a little in 5th gear, but it isn't enough to bother me. Actually it reminds me that I'm in 5th gear rather than 4th. At highway speed, this bike feels steady and secure. It's great to slip off the windshield around town or for backroad rides - then it feels a little more like a cruiser than a touring bike. I haven't had trouble with heating up in heavy traffic, but the weather doesn't get very hot in northern New York state. Overall, it's a great motorcycle that hits all of the senses. It rumbles and shakes at the traffic light, it roars when you really twist the throttle, and the chrome and retro styling makes it a beautiful bike. This 'beast' has great manners and is a lot of fun to ride.
- wartbuster, potsdam, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely love this bike. I waited until I actually had a few miles on it to review it. Now that I do (5000+), I can say that this bike is made to run! It looks great! Turns heads wherever I go! The engine has more than enough power to do what I need it to do. I am not a stoplight-to-stoplight kind of person but, then again, this bike wasn't designed for that either. On the highway it rolls effortlessly at 80+ and still had the guts to pass trucks and such. I have had it faster but that is classified! The cruise control is a nice touch too. In town, it turns great and I don't feel like I am trying to steer a tank. Great stopping distance too. Even my wife enjoys the ride. Only thing that I would have changed on this bike (other than the pricetag) would be the things I have already changed...the bars, seat and adding highway pegs. I will probably do a Stage 1 upgrade and put on some V&H Big Shot Duals but that is a want, not a need. I rode several bikes before choosing this one (Sportster, Wide-Glide and Heritage Softail CLassic). This one is IT. If your riding habits run like mine, 60% trips under a hundred miles and 40% day/weekend trips then you won't be disappointed. I have no doubts I could take this machine on a three-month long cross country tour with no problems. As for the issues you may have heard about like 5th gear noise, engine heat, etc...I haven't had a problem. Does the bike sound different in 5th gear? Yep. But if I wanted complete quiet, I would have bought a Honda....or a washing machine. ..or just stayed home. When you ride this bike, you know you are on a Harley. If you are expecting something else, I would say get something else. Does the engine get hot...well, duh, it is an air-cooled V-Twin. If you are at a stoplight or in a lot of stop-and-go traffic, you WILL notice some heat. I imagine the Stage 1 will help with that but honestly, I haven't noticed it enough to say it is a problem. I live in Oklahoma and I bought the bike in February. It is now August and through cold months and hot months I haven't had any issues with this bike. If you get one, I doubt you will be disappointed.
- J. Stubblefield, Lawton, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded in my '05 Wide Glide for an '07 Road King Classic, and I absolutely love it. No factory related problems at all...but a bit of a problem when I took delivery, a consequence of adding new V&H header pipes and mufflers prior to drive-out. It seems that V&H didn't do a very good job of testing the new 96 engine with their exhaust systems, and as a result their exhaust mappings were not up to date. I rode the new bike for a day, and after nearly getting run over a couple of times (when I rolled on the throttle trying to overtake someone, and the damn thing died on me), I took it back to the dealer. After 3 days of to'ing and fro'ing between V&H and The Motor Company, they finally got an exhaust map that would work. Fortunately, the dealer did the right thing and put me on a demo bike, so I wasn't without a ride during this time. All in all, I love it. Plenty of power with the new exhaust system and Stage 1; lots of bling, and a very comfortable ride. I haven't seen the need to replace the bars like lots of folks have, but I'm a tad over 6' and I have long arms, so I don't feel as if I'm reaching. Not a single problem related to over-heating, and the clutch whine in 5th gear is barely noticeable. I typically try to get into 6th gear as soon as I can...it just rides too smoothly there not to.
- JTN, Notre-Dame-du-Laus, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2008 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished 450 miles on the new RG. NO 5th gear noise, smoothest shifting HD I have owned. Very smooth bike overall I think due to a combo of ISO drive, fly by wire, new ECU and new fuel injection. Seems more refined than my past HD's. Still an 800lbs bike with 65 HP, SLOW. Build quality is very good, heat is not excessive for air cooled big twin. Better than expected so far.
- Charles DeRider, Barneveld, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: