Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles Reviews (29)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-10-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still riding the Classic although the 2014's are looking good. No problems with the bike so far other than corrosion around the rear rim which caused a slow leak. I got it cleaned up and we're good. 5th gear is still noisy but not a problem. Ride safe.
- Wayner, Fredericton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-20 2011 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally made the switch to a Harley. I have owned, two Goldwings, two Ventures and an ST1300 plus a couple of smaller cruisers. My wife and I have spent the past 14 years taking bike trips. The Goldwings have the liner power, however the ride quality of the 2011 Classic is just as smooth. Harley has made numerous improvements in technology and it shows. I love the sound, feel and solid handling. You can turn on a dime. I'm very happy and my wife is a convert. I would recommend anyone looking for a full dresser to seriously ride a Glide - you won't be disappointed. I got a great deal and excellent service at the Orlando Harley dealership, the best Harley dealer I have visited.
- DPage, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-29 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now owned this bike for 3.5 years and have put over 25k on her. I've been on three long road trips, each in excess of 2k miles (two trips to Deals Gap, North Carolina and one trip to Cape Hatteras, starting in Central Florida) and numerous weekend trips around Central Florida. The bike has performed flawlessly. Most trips were 2up with a lot of highway miles. She has a little vibration at idle, which I like, but smooths out as soon as you start rolling. I've never had a problem with my radio and my wife says she can hear it well even at 75 mph. on the highway. By the way, my wife has actually fallen asleep on the back a couple of times. She has performed flawlessly for me thru cold, heat, rain and hard riding. The Brembo brakes are not ABS but perform well for me and, as a bonus, changing the pads is surprisingly easy. Speaking of maintenance, my brother has a 2008 Goldwing. My bike is much easier to work on than his. I bought a service manual and follow the recommended intervals and have never had a problem. She has never been into a shop for service as I do it all myself. The fit and finish is outstanding and has held up well over time. As with all twin cam scoots, she does run hot (thanks EPA) and I spent a considerable amount of time trying to cool her down. I finally installed a Stage 1 kit that seems to cool her off some. I will put on an Ultra Cool Oil Cooler this year though as she is still hot when stuck in traffic.
- Mark, Bartow, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-14 2009 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I love this bike. It's great to ride and great to go out to the garage and look at. It's so comfortable that after a long day of riding, you can't wait to ride some more. I owned a Goldwing for years, but this is way more fun.
- IronHorseman, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just had the bike serviced for the fifth trip to Sturgis, South Dakota. It was my only regular maintenance required for the past 21,500 miles. No surprises, it has exceeded my expectations of a big touring bike. I did 1,836 miles on her in 36 hours last year returning from Washington State. I'm 65 and found it to be very comfortable for that type of long distance riding. Heat; yes, Noise; no. It's all original except for two new rear tires, seems that 10,000 to 12,000 miles are all that I am able to get. I consistently get from 48 to 52 miles per gallon, not bad for a big bore tourer. If you can get your hands wrapped around a used one you won't be disappointed. Stay verticle and keep the shiny side up. Good riding in 2010.
- steve, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-13 2009 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I walked in to a HD dealership just to check things out. A day later I was back looking again at a used Kawasaki. Saw a 2009 EGC, inside, on the showroom floor with all the 2010's. I thought it was a new 2010 also. Well, needless to say, I ended up buying it with only 1100 km on the odometer. There were several reasons for purchasing this wonderful machine... 1.) I had a 2006 Sporty 883L. I loved it for myself yet, it was not comfy for my partner and I on it. She did not feel safe on it with the lack of room. It was also sluggish when we were both on it. 2.) My partner's cousin and her hubby (we ride with them) have a 2008 Road Glide (FLTR), all tricked out to 110 Screamin' Eagle kit Stage Three with full, detachable, touring pack. They love it and she has all the room she needs. He says she can fall asleep on the back. He took mine for a spin and was quite pissed off. I asked him what was up and he told me that he wished he had waited a tear and got the 2009 because he could feel how different it handled and braked and was seriously impressed. 3.) We want to tour with our friends but it would not really have been possible on the 883L. 4.) We decided that the next bike we get will be for the both of us. Big, with power and safety, good/reliable service record and also needed to look like we wanted to be on it. Looks awesome with the tour pack off and we like the Pewter Pearl colour. Doesn't show the dirt as much a the dark ones do. :) 5.) Our EGC was priced well and the dealership gave us a good trade in for my 2006 Sporty 883. WE ended up saving a lot from buying a 2010. that's with all the extras that were put on it from the 1st owner. 6.) We really saw that this was a great deal for a 'basically' brand new bike (exactly 1124 km / 702 miles when I picked it up). New frame and tire design, great new brakes, and all the add upgrades/accessories the previous owner (a doctor) put on it. 7.) The dealership also did the complete first service on it. This saved me! It runs great. I enjoy having all the extra room and power, especially when the two of us are on it. Feels comfortable and handles well. Yet, I am still getting used to the fact that it does not handle like the Sporty. They are two different beasts. I am not too happy with the fuel consumption. The bike is stock. If anyone has any ideas as to how I can increase my mileage and use less fuel, I'd truly appreciate it. Also, I am trying to figure out if it is necessary to always use 94 octane or if 91 and 92 will do? I did a test and found that I only got 1/2 km more on a litre using the 94 against using the 91 octane! The difference in cost is $0.03 per litre. Anyone out there have their thoughts on this? I am also happy with the fact that it has air shocks on the back. This is going to come in real handy when we are touring. The storage capacity is good for the two of us. We know we can get all we need on it when we head out on the road for a while like the fact that I can take off the tour pack and just ride with the saddle bags when I'm on my own. This seems to be a well built machine even though I have noticed after washing it that they cinched out in certain places using nuts and bolts that are already starting to show signs of rust! I guess I'll just have to replace them with something better. Hmmm... I have found it to be quite hot when having to sit at a red light in traffic. Purchased a Mid-Frame Air Deflector to help alleviate this. All in all, we are happy with our bike and are looking to enjoy many years of riding for fun and touring North America and, hopefully, Latin and South America. Okay, off for a ride now.
- Chiaroscurist, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Still Lovin It. Spent a lot of time riding in the hot desert southwest this summer. A lot of hard riding in 100+ degrees. Other than an intermittent problem with the Harmon Kardon radio the bike ran flawlessly. Harley needs to fix their radio! I'll probably stick in an aftermarket unit this winter rather than deal with a rebuilt radio(under warranty)that will probably fail again. Planning on a coast to coast trip next summer and have to have my tunes.
- mikekc7sdm, Western Wyoming, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-04 2009 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Still happy. Adjusted the rear shocks for two-up riding and she glides down the road. The Wife likes the glide and we spend more time together crusin the countryside. Little more road feel when it's just me but I like it that way. I get lots of compliments on the color and the style. Still planning out the extra chrome statement. I have added the rear turn signal modulator to have more lights on for night crusin. Got a few more lighting goodies planned to go with the chrome plan.
- Will, Covington, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-28 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the bike. No negatives at all. I have the quick release for the tour pak and also have a second shorter windshield. It is like having two bikes. I'd buy another one tomorrow.
- Murray Downey, Saint John, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-25 2009 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a follow up of my previous post concerning my 09 Elec.Glide. Just got it back from the 1,000 miles service. I was a little concerned about a transmission gear lash noise, however they reassured me that it is normal. I had them put Bel Ray fluid back in the tranny hoping to quiet the 5th gear whine. The noise is still there, but it is quieter. I will say again that the ride and handling are excellent, and NO excessive engine heat. I test drove a new Goldwing a week before we purchased the Elec.Glide, and the EG handles and rides every bit as good, if not better than the GW. Now it's time to concentrate on aftermarket exhaust.
- johneb09, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-19 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There may be a few folks out there that believe they may not want a 2007. Well it's going to be 3 model years soon. My bike has not giving me one problem. I do take good care of it. That is not hard to do. Heat is an issue. HD big twin and stock exhaust is a cooker! Any big twin is going to be hot. As long as a air cooled mill is moving foward it is OK. This bike is still stock. I will maybe one day spend the scratch to up grade it. But if if ain't broke don't fix it.
- Mike Scobie, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2 years into Harley EG Classic ownership and I still love the bike. Not much saddle time in in 2008 due to a summer of rainy weather but what time I did get was a pleasure. I don't care that 5th gear is noisy or that the engine gets hot. Once I hit 6th gear, nothing else matters. It doesn't get any better. Ride safe in 2009.
- Wayner, Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't done much riding yet this spring, still too cold and rainy in St Louis. However, I did add a few things like the quick detach hardware for the tour pak, and purchased a rider backrest. This gives the bike a sporty look, similar to the street glide, and also lowers the center of gravity just a bit. I also changed my exhaust. I installed Vance and Hines True Duals with their Monster Ovals. The sound is great. It has a very low rumble which is what I wanted, and is a bit louder for other car drivers to hear, but not excessive. I installed a high flow air filter which requires a recalibration of the fuel/air mixture. Of course HD charges $300 for the tuner plus labor. There hardly any increase in performance with the pipes and air filter, but the bike had plenty of power anyway. Check out the picture.
- Herb, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi from Brazil. My Glide 2007 is perfect in all manners. It is a passport to make new friends and admirers everywhere we go. She does well on climbing and descending hills as well as winding roads. In open roads I use 6th gear and let it go. Sometimes when we get to some small towns I reduce speed of course. The nice thing about that is to hear her strong and robust noise. I pay attention to the roads. My wife, the passenger, tells me that some car passengers take pictures. Sometimes in rural areas with farms I respond to waves people give. I make my own list of music to hear during my voyages. It is wonderful to feel that other people are happy because of my choice. This is the machine.
- Decio, Santos, Brazil

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-03 2009 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 2006 Kawasaki Nomad for my new Red Hot Sunglo Electra Glide Classic. It's the first bike I own that I don't feel the need to change the seat. It's real comfy right out of the box. The HD is shorter than my Nomad so it fits my 5'8" better. I don't need to stretch to reach the handlebars. Since it's my first Harley, I wasn't used to the shaking at idle and it smoothes out as the revs go up. Got all the power I need and the sixth speed is really a plus. I also have the factory cruise control. I don't know how I could live without it now. Radio is super nice too. Loud and clear at highway speeds. I added couple of goodies to make it look even better and sound better.
- Dominik, Sherbrooke, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-05 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it has been 12000 miles since I got her. I am still in love with it. The wife and I have had two 1000 mile weekends and a 400 miler at Laconia, NH. I cannot say enough. It uses and leaks absolutely no oil. I had to adjust the clutch only once and did the tranny service myself and will do the chain case service tonight. Oil changes every 3000 miles. Changing the oil filter is messy but I will figure out a clean way to do it soon. I can't wait for the weather to get a little cooler so we can run up to Bar Harbor to see the colors in the state of Maine.
- D. Nadeau, Bridgewater, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I both ride Harleys and have for several years. Our family has owned Hondas, including a Valkyrie, Yamahas, and Kawasakis. We take at least one, sometimes two, on long motorcycle vacations per year. Some of these are close to 4000 miles per trip. Of all the bikes we have had the HD-EGC is the best overall on the road. It is comfortable and easily accommodates a bunch of luggage. Its handling in town is very comfortable even fully loaded. Yes in stop and go traffic the 96 inch engine generates more heat than my 88 twin cam did. It also generates more torque and all the speed and acceleration you can use. Brakes are great and the handling even loaded is superior to the Japanese bikes. If you can't get there comfortably on this bike don't go. Zero problems; I love it.
- Roy Bradshaw, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-03 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike! I traded my 06 RKC for this ride and am loving it. I traded for the comfort and the radio. I didn't expect to feel like I was still riding my RKC. I know it is a heavier bike but she handles exceptionally well. I do like the bigger, beefier engine and the six speed tranny, although you've got to keep the rpm up if you're in sixth gear. The ride height is comparable to my RKC, however the floor boards actually seem like they're a little closer. Aesthetically, the bike is pleasing; the only thing that stands out is the fat six gallon tank. Coming from my old bike, this tank is fat and bulbous but nothing I won't adjust to. Absolutely none of the transmission rattle reported in the 07s, thanks to IDS. The radio performs well and can be heard by both driver and passenger at highway speeds; the CD doesn't skip. What can I say about the Brembo brakes? They are awesome. Not only do they work well, the silver mesh covers on the calipers look cool too. All in all - the radio, added storage, larger engine, smoother transmission - what's not to like?
- Mark Stroud, Bartow, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-14 2008 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well just when I thought I was sure Honda made the best ride on the road, Harley Davidson proves me wrong. I've been riding for more than 30 years and like most riders I started small and kept going to bigger and better bikes. After three Kawasakis I stepped onto a Honda Gold Wing 84 and loaded it to the gills. It handled and preformed well. It was a comfort for me as well as my wife on long rides (so we thought) and I put 78,000 miles on this beast. I call it that now because I just stepped onto my first Harley - a 08 FLHTC that I just picked up Friday. I sat on one a month ago. It felt good and the open lowers allowing for a view of the road again was a nice change. I had been thinking about a newer ride the past few years and decided to just do it and ordered one as soon as we arrived back home. I drove it home from the dealership last Friday and realized that I had been missing the real feel of the road for many years. This bike weighs in at just over 800 lbs. but handles like it is half that weight. The V-Twin 1584 CC (96CI) is so well balanced between the frame that I actually feel in control of it and not like it is controlling me. That is always how the Aspencade felt with its oversized fat 4 cylinder hanging out of both sides of the frame and its heavy front fairing. Its most noticeable when going from a dead still or stopping. The bike is solid with no jittery chatter when hitting road bumps, railroad tracks, etc. I'm still breaking in the motor and not cracking it too hard but so far it's very responsive to the new electronic throttle and has power to spare. The six gallon tank (new this year) sits perfectly between your knees and gives you that real motorcycle feel. The Honda always seemed to make me feel like I was sitting at the kitchen table. My wife says her seat is much more comfortable than the Gold Wing's and with much more room between riders. Front and rear disk brakes control the bike evenly and as big as this bike is it stops very well. It has all the features you want from the sound system, volume, bass, treble, control and a CD player. It has a clock display and a trip odometer as well that is a neat little feature that tells you approximately how far you can go on your remaining fuel. The 16-inch tires provide a really smooth ride (Dunlop 90 front; 85 rear) and still leave the driver sitting just 27-inches in the saddle. The absence of the hydraulic clutch was the hardest thing to adjust to. It took about 30 miles to finally get the feel of the quick go on the Harley. And after all of that we come to the sound. What can you say? Even with the stocks, nothing sounds like a Harley.
- James Kenworthy, Dover, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi All, I have just picked up my new 2007 Ultra Classic (after waiting 4 months) and mind you I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews that I read on this site. Four weeks ago after reading these reviews I sent off several emails to three different Chapters around Australia explaing the problems I had read about and if they were experiencing the same. I received back some really good response and was advised on how to fix these problems. I was told to put on a Powercommander iii usb to remap the fuel & a set of Vance & Hines Exhausts which I did. I rode the bike home from the dealers which was 300klm's from my home in Hervey Bay and had no problems with noise in 5th Gear or heat from the pipes. I was also told to put Synthetic Oil in the Gear Box. The only problem I found was getting used to a new riding position after riding an Anniversary Deuce for the past 5 years (much more comfortable, miss the old girl in that aspect) but for Power & Performance; MAN I will have to watch my speedo or I can see myself getting a few speeding fines. This bike has GRUNT!!!! Will write another review after I've put up some serious miles. Going on the Nat Rally to South Australia so that will be a good test.
- Peter Crane, Hervey Bay, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned a 2007 Classic for 2 weeks now and have put on 2170 miles. Finished a 5 day tour through Montana, Idaho, BC, and home to Alberta. Not one negative issue about this bike. In stop and go traffic through Missoula Montana with temperatures in the low 70's the bike put out a bit of heat but it is an air cooled engine and this should be expected. The gear whine in 5th can be heard but not objectionable. Power of the new engine combined with the 6 speed transmission gives ample power in any situation. Whether going up steep grades or accelerating to pass, the power is there. This is an engine that does not require any peformance work to satisfy a need for more power as far as I am concerned. I purchased the bike for strictly touring and it meets that need. The engine is much quieter then the 88 engine I ran previously. Comfort and fit for a guy my size is perfect. The fuel injection is a first for me and I enjoyed just hitting the start button and not adjusting a choke or waiting for the engine to warm to get a proper idle. No oil consumption on the trip. There was never a hint of pinging or preignition during any part of the trip. Manufacture date for this bike was January of 2007. This machine will meet my needs for the foreseeable future and I am a satisfied purchaser.
- Blaine, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have 1100 miles on my new EGC, but I have enjoyed all of them. I previously owned a Honda VTX and although I enjoyed it, there is no comparison to my new bike. I am scheduled to have my first service this week and will keep you posted on the overall rating as time passes, but up until now everything is looking really great. I purchased the black color because I personally think black motorcycles look the best and believe it or not they are the cheapest color...
- LTCKFC, Phenix City, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many Harley's over the years (1995 Road King, 1993 FXLRC, 1995 Dyna Glide, 2002 FLHT and others). This new model is the best ever! It has it all. The 6th speed allows smooth cruising at 80 plus. The radio and general electronics are superb. The attention to detail is wonderful (paint, chrome etc). The handling for a big bike can't be beat. The power and power band throughout all the gears is dialed in perfect. New to Harley owners should understand a few things unique to these great machine: They are air cooled and now with the bigger engines will feel hot when in traffic stops. You will get engine and running gear noises at times that come and go. This is Harley character and all Harley. Never lug these new 6 speed engines. I use 6th gear when cruising straight and level about 2800 rpm or so. I never use 6th while climbing hills. Let them warm up a minute or two before blasing off. These big iron engines need a little time to even the heat and get the oil moving. Other wise, ride it like you stole it!
- BIGGUMS, Lewistown , Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in the 2004 Softail Heritage with the Big Bore. HC pistons, and 211 cams. The 2007 Electra Glide Classic is much tamer, but what a ride. Bike is extremely comfortable, handles excellent, and has enough power to keep a grin on my face! No issues with heat or six speed.....In fact six speed is awesome! I have SE mufflers and Stage I air cleaner set up and these are definitely worth the investment. Bottom line.....After 40 years of biking, it doesn't get any better than this!
- Sam Greene, Mansfield, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-29 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my EG - Classic 2 weeks ago and couldn't be happier. Pleasure to ride and no noise complaints. I wasn't even aware that there was an issue with a whine in 5th until a friend asked me if it bothered me. I've now gone out of my way to listen for excessive 5th gear noise and there is nothing to listen for. So I guess I'm one of the lucky ones (or totally deaf). I just keep motoring on.
- Paul Skakum, Gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: