Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles Reviews (31)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-08-24 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for almost 6 years now. For all practical purposes there have been no real issues. Routine maitenance is all that's been required to keep her running like new. The only thing not original on the bike is (of course) oils and front brake pads. Probably the most maintenance free bike I've ever owned. Fit and finish remain top notch. Chrome does require some polish now and shows no dulling or pitting. If comfort and reliability are important to you look no further than the road king. Wife loves it too.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is simply amazing. Four years of ownership and completely trouble free. It shines both on and off the road just like the day it was bought. It is an absolute joy to ride. Approaching the ten thousand mile maintenance and will let the dealership do their thing. I've learned how to change and primary case oil and adjust the chain. I've also changed the transmission and crankcase oil. It was easy to learn and enjoyable to do because that's pretty much all there is to do between scheduled maintenance intervals. This is definitely a keeper for life. I think the 04 models are the best and I prefer the carbureted version too.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-24 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a while since I last made any comments regarding my 04 rk. I now have 7000 miles on the odometer without a single problem. I've owned the bike for 2 1/2 years and only get to ride it every other weekend or so but when my wife and I go out it is usually for no less than 100 + miles. It's just so ridiculously easy to put miles on. Great gas mileage recorded in the upper 40 mpg range. More comfortable than any bike I've ever owned. Fit and finish remain as new. Smoother and a little quicker with age. I don't think it's broken in yet.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently had service done to my bike about 120 miles ago (actual service on 4-28-05, haven't had a chance to ride this summer). My last ride was a few weeks ago and I noticed a metallic sound like a washer vibrating loose. I was just checking on my fluids and noticed there is no fluid in the tranny. Just to recap, I had a full synth fluid change 120 miles ago and the tranny is bone dry. This isn't a review of the bike which I still love to death, but just a heads up to folks who have a warranty and get your fluids changed by a dealer, check your levels before leaving the dealer. I'm going there tonight to 'suggest' that they come pick up the bike, check the trans for any possible damage (I can't wait to hear, "it was only 120 miles, you will be fine". If I will be fine, then they wouldn't have a place to store fluid for the device then, know what I mean? I don't have a great relationship with my dealer, so I'm hoping for cooperation there. Happy riding.
- Shore King, Audubon, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-29 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As I have noted before, this bike has earned my absolute trust with regard to reliability. It sat for 6 weeks over the cooler months and fired up immediately with no hesitation. This really impressed me. The fit, finish, and function remain as new. She will be going in for the 5,000 mile check-up shortly and I plan to add the H-D sundowner seat as the only upgrade since purchase. I have no complaints with the original seat but the wife would appreciate more padding for her. The sundowner seems to have received many favorable reviews and is less expensive than the Corbin or Sargent brands. My wife and I hope to circumnavigate the state of Florida this summer for our vacation. There is no doubt in my mind that the Road King is up to the task.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-03 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 RK used with 950 miles on it. In one month I have put 1200 more miles on it, smiling all the way. I have had three other bikes (Japanese brands) over the last 25 years. Nothing compares to the Harley experience. People admire the bike whereever you go and ask a lot of questions. You have instant friends in all the other Harley owners you meet. The bike itself is terrific. I'll never own anything else.
- Navyman, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-30 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike in 15 years. Used to ride a '79 shovelhead FLH. Purchased this bike from a local dealer for 12 grand with 8800 miles on it 1.5 months ago. Twin cam engine. Has air ride suspension front and rear along with the air ride police solo which I changed out to a regular stock Road King seat. The bike has the custom Houston color scheme. I have put about 1700 miles on it since purchasing and really couldn't be more pleased with the bike. No vibration of any kind at cruising speeds and surprise of surprises I can use my rear view mirrors! I have punched out the baffles with no upgrade in air filter so it doesn't need to be remapped. Now I have that nice blat sound at highway speed so people can know you're coming but not obnoxious at low speed, although still sounds like a Harley as it should. The bike seems to be very quick up through the first 3 gears and then 4th kind of mellows out at around 70 mph before shifting into 5th. I don't have a lot of clunk when shifting either. The transmission is extremely smooth and truthfully the smoothest I have yet to experience on all the demo rides I have done. The bike has just the right amount of chrome and the twin bags with a full fairing. The only real complaint I have is the space on the footboard on the left side. With the heal shifter on a long run just isn't that comfortable. So I remove the heal shifter when I am know I am going to be putting some miles on the bike. Anyways this is a bike I will have until the day I die. I like it that much. The handling is extremely nimble feeling. I mean it turns on a dime it seems. The front and rear air ride adjustment is really trick too. You can stiffen it up or leave it wallowy, whichever you prefer. The best money I have spent on a toy to date and the best bargain I have found in this type of bike. My brother even bought an identical bike and that is saying something. thanks
- dennis wilcox, roch., New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-15 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took my first long trip on my new 2004 Road King Classic. My wife and I agree, it was great. Rode 2600 km (1600 miles) with no fatigue. When I purchased the bike I installed a RKC touring seat, Stage 1 air cleaner and Screaming Eagle touring mufflers (at the urging of the reviewers on this site). The seat was great and even better when I added a nice thick sheepskin. I have ridden Hondas for 30 years and this is my first Harley. I'm wondering, "Why did I wait?". If I have any complaints at all, it would be that the bike could use a little more performance.
- R. Nelson, Red Deer, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-07 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My experience has been that if you are going to encounter problems with your bike they usually manifest themselves in the first 6 months. I have had my Road King for about 9 months and have enjoyed trouble free motoring. Granted, I only have 2,750 miles on the odometer. Any concerns regarding reliability have pretty much gone away. I have gained complete confidence in this bike. It does make a little more mechanical noise with the synthetic oil. These sounds will get your attention if you are used to riding Japanese products. My mechanic informed me that they are normal and that I should worry if the sounds disappear. I think this was his attempt at humor. Point taken. Anyway, this bike continues to impress as my wife and I enjoy longer rides with greater comfort. Many people don't let these Harley seats break in. If given a chance, they conform just fine. The shocks handle our 350 lb. gross weight with ease. I do wish the access to the air nozzle could be reached without disconnecting the saddle bag. The only concern I have noted over time is the ability of some of the chrome pieces to start rusting. My bike is garage kept and up until two days ago has never seen rain. It has been dutifully waxed. Even after the rain incident it was immediately cleaned and buffed again. There simply is no reason for rust to exhibit itself this early under these circumstances. I guess the only remedy is to replace the parts as necessary. Several of my friends that own Harleys have experienced the same thing. Happy motoring and keep the shiny side up.
- bill, pensacola

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded up from a Yamaha Royal Star to the Road King. Both bikes were priced pretty much the same. I had been worried about the so called "reputation" of HD (breaks down, leaks oil, vibration, etc.) I have discovered the NONE of it was true. This bike is extremely user friendly and very smooth. If you're interested in customizing lightly with bolt ons, paint, etc this is the bike. Tons and tons of aftermarket is available. Has won many shows in SC and holds its value.
- Michael Smathers, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-20 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got it up to 2600 miles and having a great time. I'm starting to agree with people where they say that getting the 95" or 103" upgrade could be necessary, but only if there is a lot of mountain riding. The stock power is sufficient for me. In taking a ride up thru Pennsylvania into New York up to the (ex) Hawk's Nest, there were times where more power would have been nice, but the bike pulled strongly enough up the mountain roads. I've gotten to the point where I wash the brakes down much more often to decrease the brake squealing, and it does work pretty well. The bike handles really well on some of those mountain semi-twisties, keeping its size and weight in mind. I still recommend this bike to anybody who appreciates the style and function. There are times I've wished for the tour trunk, but I get over it. I've also been thinking about getting the 6-speed tranny as well. Speeds over 65mpg are not an issue, but I want it for keeping the engine at a better RPM for engine longetivity and reduced vibration (not that there is a lot at that speed anyway). The bike is awesome and I don't regret getting it one bit. I've grown to love the mechanical sounds of the lifters and everything else that is going on down there. It's all just awesome to me. Lets ride.
- Shore King, Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-26 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally racked up a few miles. She will be getting the required check-up in a few days. The dealership recommends the synthetic oil from this point on. It seems a little early for the switch to me. Anyway, the bike has performed, as I would have expected. Not one single problem noted. It motors out well and has become smoother all around. I have acclimated to the bike quicker than I thought I would. I'm not sure if the bike is accommodating me or vice-versa. Nice symbiotic relationship developing here. Anyway, I could not be more pleased with this purchase.
- bill, pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-05 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 20 year break from riding, I succumbed to the lure of the Harley "rumbleand went out and purchased a 2004 FLHRI Road King. I got a few options, such as detachable sissy bar for the missus and some extra chrome, and the absolutely essential Screamin' Eagle Stage I kit, with freer breathing air filter, revised fuel injection mapping and the FLH track pipes for that unmistakable "potato potatosound. When I took delivery, my first thoughts were, "wow, this is a heavy sumbitch with a decent stretch to the handlebars, so not conducive to witches hat maneuvers. But thumb the starter, the engine coughs into life, and the deep-seated rumble evokes images of a World War I fighter ace. There's something about the uneven firing order that creates that wonderful sound. Power away and the weight melts away. Within four blocks, I was in hog's heaven! The easy going engine torque coupled with the low center of gravity makes this a bike that really fits. I have read road testers' comments that a bike should be something almost transparent to the rider - the weight and steering effort shouldn't be apparent. That may be so for an expert track rider, but for my money, I love that weighty feeling that a big-twin Harley imparts. It makes you feel powerful and in control. The day after delivery, my wife and I went for a ride out to Red Rock Canyon (we live in Las Vegas) and two-up, this hog resists freeway turbulence better than our Ford Expedition. I'm not kidding - it really has better directional stability and feels more stable in cross winds. For some reason, two words kept springing into my mind, and they were "stunning achievement. This seems like an anachronism, but let me explain: if you could drive a '68 Mustang that was as reliable, fast, smooth and comfortable as an 03 model, but still retains all the looks, character, sound and appeal of the classic, you'd be tempted, right? Well, that's what Harley has achieved. It has all the emotional pull but without the setbacks and compromises. In an era when technology leaps forward for no apparent real advance, this is where I think the appeal of the Harleys is. Two weeks ago, my wife and I set forth on an epic (for us it was, anyway) trip across the desert to San Diego, stopping at Palm Springs. We met the most interesting (and some of the weirdest) people en route, with many people rolling down their windows to ask where we from and where we were going to. We met some young dudes in a convertible who gave us the thumbs-up as they sped past, we met a born-again who carried a cross clear across the country from Baltimore, we met some friendly but terribly racist people from Oregon, we met an old timer who used to ride an HD WLA in the US Army in WWII, and we met an ex-Australian who'd been living here for 30 years and claimed he still had his Australian accent (I couldn't pick it) - all were keen to know if this was a "realHarley (I can understand why, with all the Japanese clones on the road). Everyone seems to take to the hog. The only real complaints I would have the bike concern the seat (serious butt-ache after an hour in the saddle) and the long stretch to the handlebars, which becomes a pain the neck for me. Otherwise, the thing ran like a Swiss watch, purring away and instilling a feeling of real confidence and affection. Twist the throttle at 60mph to pass that semi and suddenly you're powering up to 85mph with plenty in reserve. On one lonely stretch, we were sitting on 100mph just to see how it felt, and it was fine. I'm not sure how much it had left (we were pretty loaded up), but that should be enough for most sane folk. Having owned Jap bikes, they have all the latest techno gee-whizardry, but all their claimed technical advances still can't prevent them from being buzzy on the highway, cramped in the seat, and somehow soulless. The Harley on the other hand is more alive. It's almost the way that a cowboy would feel about a horse - it's more personal and involving. If I sound like a big fan, then you picked it right.
- Hogheaven, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2003 Road King Classic in May of 2003. I have put about 7k miles of trouble-free riding on her. I was clipped for about $300 on the 1k mile service maintenance. Bought the shop manual and did the 5k miles myself for about $150.00 (including the $60 book and a $20 oil filter wrench). The bike is superb, handles great, starts every time, and looks great too. Have taken the bike on multi-state trips and it runs like a charm. I am very happy with mine. Fuel injection is a must, recommend synthetic oil if you live in an area with 100F temperatures.
- Big D, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-18 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just passed the 500 mile break in mark and what a ride! This is my first Harley Davidson and so far I have been extremely impressed. The Harley Davidson Dealer handled everything extremely well. I wish that I could find a car dealer with that level of service! Only additions are a passenger back rest and at the 1000 mile service -I plan to replace the pipes.....Cheers! Jeff
- Jeff Polizzotto, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-24 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley and so far it's everything I imagined it would be. Our local dealer is dealing honestly with its customers, selling all of its bikes at MSRP and I've put about 2,600 miles on my ride. I added the sundowner seat, an adjustable seat back for the rider, the detachable tour pak, cruise control, and a few other minor accessories to meet my needs. From the moment I took the bike home I knew this was going to be an adventure. The bike is equipped with fuel injection and has the typical Harley vibration at idle, but the moment you hit the throttle and accelerate, the engine smooths out and provides a wonderful, low-key rumble at cruising speed. With the detachable tour pak, a detachable passenger seatback, and the removable windshield, the bike can be reconfigured for any number of looks, givng it great flexibility. There is ample storage space and plenty of power, even when riding two-up. The comfort is there, although this is not your comfy, cushy, Gold Wing ride--this is definitely Milwaukee steel. So far, there have been no maintenance surprises, although I did opt for a five year extended service plan--a lesson I learned from my Yamaha V-Star 1100, which caused me all kinds of headaches. If you're a rag top kind of person--go for the Road King. If you're more of a sedan kind of guy or gal, ya may want to think of the Ultra Classic or one of the other less flexible models that come equipped with a radio and CD player. Either way, you'll have what appears to be a nice machine.
- Deerslayer, Northern Virginia, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-20 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great road bike. I had the dealer change to the Heritage bars before I even picked up the bike and have since added the Sundowner one piece touring seat. Now it's perfect.
- John Jorgensen, Warrensburg, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-24 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had a 883 Sportster and a Dyna Super Glide and my Road King is by far the best ride.I put the touring seat on,extended reach brake pedal,grips,luggage rack,backrest.We road it to South Dakota in complete comfort.MY wife loves it.
- Ivan Danay, Moline, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-27 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The King is a great tourer. Comfortable at 85 and competent on the back roads. Will hold a curve and lean nicely, surprisingly because of its size. I put bars on mine that give me just the right position (everyone's different). Smooth ride, good low speed handling...only caution..DO NOT ROMP ON THE REAR BRAKE...Kings are a little prone to lock up quickly.
- johnboy, tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-10 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've waited a long time to own a Harley Davidson Road King. I've just purchased a 2002 RK Standard. I love it. I can'y believe how smooth the ride is. Every time I get in the saddle I want to go on a trip. I've only got about 300 miles on the bike, but I can't wait each day to add more. I would ride this bike anywhere. I'm planning a trip to New York next year, and can't wait.
- Bud Gargiulo, Huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-02 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased mine in May '02 and I am very satisfied with the quality and the ride. This is my sixth motorcycle (all new purchases) since 1972 and my first Harley. After 30 years of Japanese bikes (all brands), I finally wanted a Harley in my garage. The Road King is a fine motorcycle with all of the comfort and style I will need for a long time. I have changed the seat to a Sundowner touring style (driver and passenger) and a removable backrest for my wife. The handlebars are too far forward for me (5'8") but that will change as soon as I find the right set of pullback bars. I added a factory oil cooler for the 90-100 degree days here in the inland areas of LA and the digital temperature indicator so that I can monitor the thermostat's operation. Other than those functional changes, the rest of the bike is fine in its stock form. The only other changes planned are a Stage I upgrade for the EFI version and some more luggage hardware...perhaps the touring package.
- Tom, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-14 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the opportunity to rent a 2002 Road King FLHRI for the Milwaukee rally. I put 400 miles on it in two days and feel it is one of the best bikes I have ever ridden. I found it handled better than my sportster and was much more comfortable. Until now, I felt like the Sportster was a great ride, which it is, but the Road King is now my favorite. Anyone wanna buy a 99 1200 Sport?
- Mike L, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-04 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1. Replace stock seat. Not comfortable on long trips and passenger(wife) suffers. 2. Replace stock grips. My hands tingled after about 50 miles or so. 3. Replace stock handlebars. At 5'9", I sometimes feel like I'm not as comfortable as I could be. All in all, I love my bike and have 15K on it in less than 1 year. I ride it in downtown Atlanta, GA traffic EVERY DAY as long as it's above freezing and not pouring down rain. To make more visible from behind, I replaced rear lights with Kuryakyn Panacea light kit. Good investment for $250. Wife was in van behind me one day and said it really made a difference.
- Nelson, Ellenwood, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-03 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine stock in July 2001. I have almost 15,000 miles on it(mostly expressway). I love the bike. It is a lot better than the 1995 FXDSC I had before. Only things I can suggest to folks is: 1. Buy aftermarket seat. Stock seat is not comfortable after a while and passenger really suffers. I went with HD touring seat. I would go with Mustang seat if I had it to do over again. 2. Replace grips. Stock grips caused my fingers to tingle like hands were going to sleep after about 50 miles or so. 3. Back rest if planning on long trips solo.
- Nelson Easler, Ellenwood, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-11 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my Road King in Orlando on Saturday. The 130 mile ride home was great. I owned a 1200C Sportster for a year and did not realize what I was missing until I rode my FLHR. Even though the Sportster is also a great bike I'll never turn back. The acceleration and smooth ride of the Road King is unmatched. As one fellow said in his review, I also thank my wife every day for "allowing" me to purchase this bike. Yes people we are granted permission to have such wonderful toys. I guess I'll let her ride with me now. Thanks again Harley for an outstanding product.
- Craig Johnson, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: