Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bill

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for almost 6 years now. For all practical purposes there have been no real issues. Routine maitenance is all that's been required to keep her running like new. The only thing not original on the bike is (of course) oils and front brake pads. Probably the most maintenance free bike I've ever owned. Fit and finish remain top notch. Chrome does require some polish now and shows no dulling or pitting. If comfort and reliability are important to you look no further than the road king. Wife loves it too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is simply amazing. Four years of ownership and completely trouble free. It shines both on and off the road just like the day it was bought. It is an absolute joy to ride. Approaching the ten thousand mile maintenance and will let the dealership do their thing. I've learned how to change and primary case oil and adjust the chain. I've also changed the transmission and crankcase oil. It was easy to learn and enjoyable to do because that's pretty much all there is to do between scheduled maintenance intervals. This is definitely a keeper for life. I think the 04 models are the best and I prefer the carbureted version too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been a while since I last made any comments regarding my 04 rk. I now have 7000 miles on the odometer without a single problem. I've owned the bike for 2 1/2 years and only get to ride it every other weekend or so but when my wife and I go out it is usually for no less than 100 + miles. It's just so ridiculously easy to put miles on. Great gas mileage recorded in the upper 40 mpg range. More comfortable than any bike I've ever owned. Fit and finish remain as new. Smoother and a little quicker with age. I don't think it's broken in yet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shore King

Audubon, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently had service done to my bike about 120 miles ago (actual service on 4-28-05, haven't had a chance to ride this summer). My last ride was a few weeks ago and I noticed a metallic sound like a washer vibrating loose. I was just checking on my fluids and noticed there is no fluid in the tranny. Just to recap, I had a full synth fluid change 120 miles ago and the tranny is bone dry. This isn't a review of the bike which I still love to death, but just a heads up to folks who have a warranty and get your fluids changed by a dealer, check your levels before leaving the dealer. I'm going there tonight to 'suggest' that they come pick up the bike, check the trans for any possible damage (I can't wait to hear, "it was only 120 miles, you will be fine". If I will be fine, then they wouldn't have a place to store fluid for the device then, know what I mean? I don't have a great relationship with my dealer, so I'm hoping for cooperation there. Happy riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As I have noted before, this bike has earned my absolute trust with regard to reliability. It sat for 6 weeks over the cooler months and fired up immediately with no hesitation. This really impressed me. The fit, finish, and function remain as new. She will be going in for the 5,000 mile check-up shortly and I plan to add the H-D sundowner seat as the only upgrade since purchase. I have no complaints with the original seat but the wife would appreciate more padding for her. The sundowner seems to have received many favorable reviews and is less expensive than the Corbin or Sargent brands. My wife and I hope to circumnavigate the state of Florida this summer for our vacation. There is no doubt in my mind that the Road King is up to the task.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Navyman

Cincinnati, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2004 RK used with 950 miles on it. In one month I have put 1200 more miles on it, smiling all the way. I have had three other bikes (Japanese brands) over the last 25 years. Nothing compares to the Harley experience. People admire the bike whereever you go and ask a lot of questions. You have instant friends in all the other Harley owners you meet. The bike itself is terrific. I'll never own anything else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dennis wilcox

roch., New York

Reviewed on 2004-10-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike in 15 years. Used to ride a '79 shovelhead FLH. Purchased this bike from a local dealer for 12 grand with 8800 miles on it 1.5 months ago. Twin cam engine. Has air ride suspension front and rear along with the air ride police solo which I changed out to a regular stock Road King seat. The bike has the custom Houston color scheme. I have put about 1700 miles on it since purchasing and really couldn't be more pleased with the bike. No vibration of any kind at cruising speeds and surprise of surprises I can use my rear view mirrors! I have punched out the baffles with no upgrade in air filter so it doesn't need to be remapped. Now I have that nice blat sound at highway speed so people can know you're coming but not obnoxious at low speed, although still sounds like a Harley as it should. The bike seems to be very quick up through the first 3 gears and then 4th kind of mellows out at around 70 mph before shifting into 5th. I don't have a lot of clunk when shifting either. The transmission is extremely smooth and truthfully the smoothest I have yet to experience on all the demo rides I have done. The bike has just the right amount of chrome and the twin bags with a full fairing. The only real complaint I have is the space on the footboard on the left side. With the heal shifter on a long run just isn't that comfortable. So I remove the heal shifter when I am know I am going to be putting some miles on the bike. Anyways this is a bike I will have until the day I die. I like it that much. The handling is extremely nimble feeling. I mean it turns on a dime it seems. The front and rear air ride adjustment is really trick too. You can stiffen it up or leave it wallowy, whichever you prefer. The best money I have spent on a toy to date and the best bargain I have found in this type of bike. My brother even bought an identical bike and that is saying something. thanks
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R. Nelson

Red Deer, Alberta

Reviewed on 2004-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Took my first long trip on my new 2004 Road King Classic. My wife and I agree, it was great. Rode 2600 km (1600 miles) with no fatigue. When I purchased the bike I installed a RKC touring seat, Stage 1 air cleaner and Screaming Eagle touring mufflers (at the urging of the reviewers on this site). The seat was great and even better when I added a nice thick sheepskin. I have ridden Hondas for 30 years and this is my first Harley. I'm wondering, "Why did I wait?". If I have any complaints at all, it would be that the bike could use a little more performance.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill

pensacola

Reviewed on 2004-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My experience has been that if you are going to encounter problems with your bike they usually manifest themselves in the first 6 months. I have had my Road King for about 9 months and have enjoyed trouble free motoring. Granted, I only have 2,750 miles on the odometer. Any concerns regarding reliability have pretty much gone away. I have gained complete confidence in this bike. It does make a little more mechanical noise with the synthetic oil. These sounds will get your attention if you are used to riding Japanese products. My mechanic informed me that they are normal and that I should worry if the sounds disappear. I think this was his attempt at humor. Point taken. Anyway, this bike continues to impress as my wife and I enjoy longer rides with greater comfort. Many people don't let these Harley seats break in. If given a chance, they conform just fine. The shocks handle our 350 lb. gross weight with ease. I do wish the access to the air nozzle could be reached without disconnecting the saddle bag. The only concern I have noted over time is the ability of some of the chrome pieces to start rusting. My bike is garage kept and up until two days ago has never seen rain. It has been dutifully waxed. Even after the rain incident it was immediately cleaned and buffed again. There simply is no reason for rust to exhibit itself this early under these circumstances. I guess the only remedy is to replace the parts as necessary. Several of my friends that own Harleys have experienced the same thing. Happy motoring and keep the shiny side up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Smathers

Columbia, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FLHR Road King

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded up from a Yamaha Royal Star to the Road King. Both bikes were priced pretty much the same. I had been worried about the so called "reputation" of HD (breaks down, leaks oil, vibration, etc.) I have discovered the NONE of it was true. This bike is extremely user friendly and very smooth. If you're interested in customizing lightly with bolt ons, paint, etc this is the bike. Tons and tons of aftermarket is available. Has won many shows in SC and holds its value.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: