Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles Reviews (81)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my first Harley, the 2005 Road King. I've owned many Japanese bikes but decided to make the move to a Harley. It's one of the smartest moves I have made. I can't believe how well built they are compared to the Japanese bikes. The paint and chrome is far superior, nevermind the awesome ride. I find any excuse to go out to the garage to drool over my lava red Road King. Now I know why people say there is just something about a Harley.
- Glen S., red deer, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-12 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this girl and some day she will be my grandsons. Brakes and tires are the only replacements due to the riding. She is semi-retired because there is a 2011 Ultra Limited in my garage with only one mile on her. I can't wait for our Michigan snow to melt!
- Steve Leng, Union, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-22 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last bike I owned in my early 20's was a 650 BSA. Before this one, 66 Honda cb450, the ugly one. Then, got in the firefighter force for 30 years, family, kids, no time for biking. Now at 60, thought it'd be cool to ride again (crazy old man I thought to myself). Then, that old far-hidden in my sub-conscious dream, resurfaced. From this day, I was doomed. I wouldn't settle for less then my dream bike, Harley Road-King. Though I was all fire, I realized I had never ridden a heavy bike, none the less, I started to search for my dream bike. Luckily, found it waiting, about 20 miles from home. Within a week I was hauling it in a closed trailer back home, under heavy snowfall. After waiting 2 months before winter took off, THE DAY FINALLY ARRIVED THAT I WOULD RIDE THIS BEAST. To tell you the truth, I was a bit scared, not having ridden a bike for long, anyway, I took off on the bike and my reflexes came back rapidly. Took me about 3 weeks to get the feel, mostly on corners. Now, after a whole summer, I feel confortable. And I must say, the bike handles much better than I would have expected. Tried my friend's VTX, the other day, there is no comparison on the handling (no bashing meant there). I must say that I'm in love with the Road-King now. Cornering easy, plenty power, and that sound, wow, blows your mind. Voila, had to express my joy, John
- john lauzon, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first bike ever in December and I fell for the Road King Classic 04'with 2132 miles. I did my homework and the local Harley dealer told me for the price you are getting a steal especially with all the chrome extras on the bike. I have put about 200 miles on the bike for I am not a big rider being my first bike but being 42 yrs old and always wanting a Harley I said why not and I don't regret one second of it. The ride though is pretty rough but I think changing the seat will do me good. I do have to admit though that these bikes if you don't be careful you can start spend money all day long getting things added so I must be careful.[smile]
- mark, waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this black beauty with 11.8K miles on the odometer. What a terrific ride - very enjoyable. Am getting around 42-46 mpg in overall riding. Had the handlebars tilted back and extended reach foot pegs put on - great! Rides great, handles superbly and gets a ton of looks and comments.
- Frank, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a used 2004 Road King Classic after 20yrs. of raising a family. This bike is more than what I expected. After riding the 1980 Shovel, which was a dream, this bike blows them away! Harley has come a long way - still pricey but every mans dream! Live free and ride a Harley!
- Knoxie, Dracut, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've ridden my 05 FLHRCI for over a year now and it's time for an update. I had to change the seat and the handlbars and added a set of Screamn Eagle II slipons. I've made 4 long trips, (over 800 miles each) and the rest of the trips have been short to the Parkway and mtns of Tenn and NC. The bike is now perfect for me. It has plenty of power, good stopping brakes and hasn't missed a beat yet. The seat is a Sundowner Touring seat and the hbars are the roadking touring bars which puts me right where I want to be. Harley has done a good job with this bike and they will get the 07 issues straightend out soon.
- sam, Conover, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my 03 Fatboy for a 06 Road King. I loved the Fatboy. Put 20,000 miles on it but it is not a tour bike. Great for around town and short trips but after a few long trips decided I needed something different. I purchased a Chopper Blue and Silver Road King. Got lots of compliments. It took some getting use to the Road King vibration, especially during idle. You got none of that with the Fatboy. Hardly knew it was running. But once I got the Road King on the highway it was smooth. Suspension is great and it seems to track a lot straighter than the Fatboy. Plus with the Road King I have storage and don't need to strap on bags. The only complaint...it's too quiet. Need to switch to a different exhaust.
- A David Samuels, Southfield, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-18 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a Yamaha VStar 1100 Classic. Now this is what I'm talking aboutthis is it, the dream bike! I love the nostalgic classic look with wide white walls, a lot of chrome details, classic spoked rims and head lamps. The bike has two personality looks; a touring look with the removable windshield and back rest and around town sport look without them, nice! The removable windshield and back rest are extremely easy and fast to remove & replace. Each saddle bag can actually hold a half-helmet with room to spare. The bike is comfortable with stock seat, no issues with the handle bar placement, even on a long ride. Two-up seating with back rest and footboards are comfortable and secure, far better than other bikes. The performance is more than adequate for a conservative local touring rider like myself. Perhaps I'll add stage one kit with screaming eagle slip fits later, for now, no need. It rides like a dream in low RPM as well as sure and stable over 70 MPH, smooth. Great bike.
- Bill, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-12 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A man on a motorcycle just doesn't look tough with a big, wide grin on his face. But I'm tellin' ya, that's what happens when I hit the throttle on my 2006 (yes, that's right. I said 2006!) Road King Classic. Ordered it in June, and it arrived last Tuesday (august 9th). I got the two-tone cobalt blue pearl and brilliant silver. It's a real eye-catcher. Got two compliments on it before I had it out the door at the dealer! And the compliments just keep on coming. But riding it is really where the thrill is at. This is my 4th bike, 2nd Harley. I'm coming off a 1996 Softail Custom that I had raked, lowered, chopped, the whole nine yards. Lowering it eliminated any suspension it may have had, so anything would be a plus. HOWEVER, the RK Classic is definitely the Cadillac of Harleys. Yes, it was expensive, but worth every penny. This thing is amazing in every way.
- Mike H., Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for almost 40 years and in that time have owned around 14 bikes. From a Honda 90, (1st bike), to Triumphs, BSA's, Hondas, a Yamaha, and of course a few Harley's. The FLHRC/I is by far the best motorcycle I have ever owned or ridden! The comfort level is awesome and it rides better than my wifes Mercedes did. Fit, finish, leather, just everything is perfect. The power level is good. Most of the time I have to check to see if my passenger is still there. The only negative is that I'm too poor to have one of every color! Hail to the Road King!
- Pappa Smurf, Iowa Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 15 months and over 10K miles on the clock I still enjoy every mile on the saddle. The quality, fit, and finish is top of the line. I enjoy getting out on the road for long two to three thousand mile trips every chance I can. I'm about to hit the road for my second of three planned trip this summer. First this year was to Southern Oregon then across to Sun Valley Idaho, (pic) a two thousand mile around trip of Seattle. On the open road this bike can't be beat. Hit the stock cruise control, kick back with my highway pegs, this bike is more comfortable then my former BMW and every bit as reliable. Only bad part of long roads trips are the straight, flat stretches. that's where I sit back and think of things I can do to personalize my bike, translation spend more money. Q) Would I buy another Harley? A) No, I like this one too much! Ride Safe
- John, Seattle / Everett, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-28 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this machine 5 days ago and I am most impressed. I have travelled 2000km on it already (since that's the nearest dealership to where I live) and I wasn't disappointed at all. I will do some upgrades at a later date, but I did add a detachable tour pack and I'm SO glad I did. The added room made a big difference on a long trip. Thanks to all who added their reviews to this site. You made up my mind on what Harley to get and I don't regret a thing. It's a sweet ride and you'll never look back. Cheers!
- New Harley Owner Al, Yellowknife, Northwest Territory

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-01 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Oh what a ride! The best way to test one of these gentle giants is hit a railway crossing that about throws you off your present bike now, try it with the Road King and see the remarkable difference. This bike or as far as that goes, any of the touring line bikes from Harley (frames and weight are the same)is just pure pleasure to operate. Do yourself a favor and try a Road King, you will see what I'm talking about.
- sdfg, naperville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-14 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a '97 Sporty as my first bike (you get what you can afford before you get what you want) but I have always liked the looks and comfort of the King. I only have two complaints!First is Harley's handling of the camshaft bearings (mine is okay for now). Second is the noisy transmission, this thing sounds like it is coming apart when shifting from 2nd to 3rd. I love my ride and it will be part of my life for a long time to come!
- gus, hancock, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-08 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About 6 months ago I decided to dive into the idea of adding another bike to my collection of "one" bikes, (2000 Fat Boy), and went searching for a touring bike that would satisfy my better half in the standpoint of comfort and storage, (she packs a lot), yet did not look old and stodgy. I selected the 2005 Harley Davidson Road King Classic due to its nostalgic styling (wide whitewalls, wire wheels, nostalgic leather bags, etc.), clean lines, wonderful support network with a huge array of aftermarket and factory goodies and RESALE VALUE!! Buying a motorcycle as an investment ranks up there with buying a Kia car. However... if you want to buy a bike that retains much of its original value for much of the same reason that I am buying one...buy a Harley. It's hard to beat down a Harley when most of the Japanese manufacturers spend a majority of their time trying to imitate them. They're trying, but as of today... No luck!! I purchased an EFI Road King which comes standard with cruise control and security system. The standard hard leather bags are enough for my lil' lady to stuff her gear in while I opt for a Travel bag strapped to the sissy bar and luggage rack (optional). The seat is extremely comfortable for me on the long haul but considering the thin width of the pillion pad, the passenger can get a bit irritated after 75 miles or so. Mustang makes a great seat that gives a wider 13.5" pillion pad. The performance at 0-60 is not mind-blowing, but with a few simple mods of a high flow air filter, performance slip-ons and a download you can be content. The handling is wonderful. I can take corners with a sharp lean and still not scrape the floorbpards, which to me is thrilling since my Fatboy scrapes the roads on almost every agressive lean. "That" is a scary feeling!! At higher speeds of 70-85 miles per hour the Road King cruises along like it was meant to be driven at that speed full time. There is never a wobble or waiver at higher speeds which really reduces fatique on those long distance rides. The handlebars on a Classic are like a beach bar and can take some getting used to. You have to lean over a bit which can be a little bit uncomfortable at first. I have gotten used to them and they really do not bother me... but I just bought today a set of chrome Heritage Softail bars which is one of the only set of bars which do not require you to buy new cables. (That can get expensive). They allow you to sit more upright and thus be more comfortable. We'll see. They sure felt good just sitting on the bike at 0 mph. Merely stating a fact.. not everyone can afford to buy a brand new Harley. However, I think that if presented with a choice of purchasing a new Japanese cruiser bike or a slightly used Harley Davidson Road King for the same price, I would pick the Harley. The Harley events and parties, the comorodorie, the endless array of chrome accessories, and most of all, the admiring stares and comments from women and men, young and old almost always saying "Nice Bike". If you are going to spend all that money on a nice bike... you might as well feed the ego as well!!
- Phil R., Seminole, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-15 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this machine in the middle of October. I moved up from a Sportster. It took a little getting used to, but now that I am... Wow!! What a sweet machine. The first time I took it out on the highway and set the cruise control for 75 mhp I was, and still am, totally impressed with its comfort and stability. With 2 up the way it seems to float over the highway takes a little getting used to. Especially after the stiff ride of my Sportster. The only problem I had initially was a cough when starting out from a stop. My buddy who also has a Road King said I was "jassing" the throttle a bit just before engaging the clutch. A habit I must have picked up from my Sportster. He advised me to just let the torque move the bike with a smooth clutch release and appropriate throttle increase and it wouldn't happen any more. Sure enough, he was right.
- Dave Soucy, Seekonk, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-14 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my 2002 Harley 1200C Sporty, which I loved, but had some things that *hurt*. I had been eyeing the Heritage ST and the Road King Classic and decided on the Classic. I haven't stopped to look back once so far. Driving it home from the store yesterday, it took everything I had just to bring it into the garage. It kept begging to be let loose on the highways. If it hadn't been raining, I sure would have. This bike doesn't ride, it absolutely glides on the roadway. There is that rumble and shake while at the stop lights, but the second that you hit the throttle, all the vibrations stop and the bike just starts cruising happily along. I'm looking forward to the upgrades to come.
- Steve, Sammamish, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-13 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have not had a bike for 15 years, (always wanted one), decided to go out to look at bikes. Checked several local dealers and bought a 2005 Sportster 1200 Custom which I owned for exactly 29 days, (too small for 2 up riding). Before the little Sporty was even sold I had picked out its replacement. Two-tone black and lava 2005 Injected Road King Classic. The Sporty was like a mini bike compared to this beauty, there is nothing I would change looks wise, the bags are gorgeous, windshield perfect, this bike is a dream come true. Am I caught up in the "Harley mystique"? Probably a little, I know some other companies also make beautiful, quality machines at lower prices than Harley, but there is a reason they keep trying to imitate the Harleys. Any of the big v-twins can get you from point a to point b, but only one is a Harley, if that's what you want there is no substitute. I have taken short trips and also used for driving around town, pop off the windshield and the bags, and it turns into a boulevard cruiser. Throw them back on and you are ready for a long or short trip. To me the looks and feel of this bike are all Harley. Get one, you won't be disappointed. Right now I'm in a state of deep depression, it's too cold to ride for a few more months here and the bike is stored for winter.
- HRT, Oconomowoc, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-21 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well what can I say, I've been riding for 33 years and never owned a Harley. My most recent bike was a 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 which I thought was a pretty darn good bike, however my new 2005 Road King Classic is just so much better! From a standpoint of fit, finish and overall assembly quality, my feeling is that they are equal. that's were the similarity ends! The Harley has so much more "soul", you feel like you are riding a real motorycle. It shifts better, it handles and turns much better, it rides smoother, it has just enough vibration to tingle and invigorate the senses but the vibration is never annoying. All I can say is WOW, why did I wait so long? The bike is visually stunning and I have received many compliments already. The Japanese manufactures have tried to copy the Harley and they must be frustrated trying to figure out why they can't grab more market share since they do make some good bikes. It's comforting to know that we can still manufacture a qaulity product in the good old USA. I guess to sum it up, Harley's are just like Baseball, Hot Dog's and Apple Pie... It's an American thing! Buy one, you won't regret it!
- gjnockie, Boynton Beach , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-16 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm Impressed I've ridden Indian motorcycles and Harleys my whole life and nothing compares to the 2005 Harley Road King. I live on an old gravel road and ride in all conditions. This Road King does it all. I've done 100 miles an hour on dirt roads and this bike sticks. My grandson showed me the Goldwings but one test ride on the Road King and I was sold. Absolutely nothing can stir the old soul like a ride on a Harley!
- Wild Archie, Alvinston, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I opted for the Road King because I wanted a bike that was capable of comfortably carrying my wife and I on long trips without committing to 'Long-Distance Touring Only' features like a fixed fairing, permanent backrest, fairing lowers, luggage racks, antannae, etc. Because the Road King has key touring features, including the rubber-mounted 88-inch motor, the adjustable air shock/touring suspension, saddlebags, throttle assist pseudo-cruise control, footboards rather than pegs, and removable windscreen, this bike is pretty much road ready for a trip to anywhere. Because I travel on my Road King and often ride 400-600 miles a day, I did add a few comfort items like highway pegs, softer grips and a removable passenger backrest, but it's important to note that none of these turn the Road King into a full-time dresser. For the wife's sake, we did invest in a second-hand touring seat from one of the full dressers to give her a wider 'back seat' and me some lumbar support. Because the Road King is on the same frame as the Ultra Classic no modifications were needed. We replaced the phillips screw that holds the seat in place with a slick looking thumbturn replacement screw. It's easy to swap out the seat when it's time for a long haul. In fact, my favorite thing about this bike is that I can pull the windscreen and backrest off in seconds and I have a great, classic-looking bike that lets me feel the wind in my face and doesn't look overdressed for a ride around town. The one drawback to the Road King is that while the saddle bags can also be removed in seconds it frankly looks terrible without them because of the saddlebag support frames and the big black air shocks. The convenience of having the saddlebags and the way they fit with the bike's big old school look pretty much nullify any concerns though. You just can't strip it down to look chopper-esque like you can with the Heritage Softail, for example. All of the touring bikes have a more upright riding position, but with the addition of some extended levers for the shifter and brake pedals and a set of highway pegs, it's easy to make this a more laid back ride. The bottom line is that this is a great motorcycle for those of us who want something we can be comfortable riding for a few miles around town or riding across country to Sturgis. I love my Road King Classic!
- Anonymous, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-11 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW, what a pleasure on the highway. This bike is a joy with some highway pegs and a (removable) backrest. The engine upgrade meant a ton of accessible power up and down hills, just twist the wrist and you are off, even with loaded saddlebags, leathers, pack, passenger, etc. This rig kept up with a packed college-football hungry crowd at 85-90 mph over hills and curves, and owned the road with a load. Dyno tests confirm 87 lb.-ft. of torque showing up at 2500 RPM. Plenty of power and a pretty flat curve through 4500 rpm for smooth highway power, even running a little rich. Very comfortable with the windshield, it's a real convertible for town or highway travel. It's an old-fashioned Caddy on two wheels... and everybody looks its way, whether you are stopping just for gasoline or to stay a while. Real conversation starter. Needed the higher/closer bars for the trip, position is more comfortable with hands a bit closer to the body. It's well worth it; they are chrome instead of the stock stainless. Found a minor flaw - the bottom of the seat had an exposed attachment (staple) to hold the leather to the mold, and it chipped the paint on the rear fender underneath the back of the driver's seat. Very easy fix, but something for everyone to check out next time they remove the seat. The saddlebags are roomy and pack well, and remove in a jiffy for instant motel/etc. storage. I can understand wanting it for different purposes, but I cannot understand someone not enjoying the heck out of this rig for what it is; it does it all for a cruiser or tourer.
- D WILLIAMS, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-26 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2005 H-D Road King Classic two days ago. If you can imagine not haven ridden any kind of a bike for 20 years, and a Honda 250 at that, taking the controls of this 700 lb beast got my attention. However, the King fits like a glove. Smooth, powerful and very forgiving are some of the words that come to mind. I put on 200 miles this weekend, and cannot tell you how delighted I am with my purchase. Will keep you apprised as I add some "stuffto this silver beauty.
- Michael, Lodi, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-31 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my 2004 Dyna for the RK and could not be happier. I only have a bit less then 500 miles on it but already I don't miss the Dyna. Smooth on the highway, even 2 up and suprising easy to manuever around town. I will update my review after putting some more miles on it.
- David Farrell-Garcia, Oak Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: