Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles Reviews (11)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-09-10 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this 05 bike for two months and I've put 2,500 miles on it. Feels great,looks great and the retro look and feeling has a overwelming power over common sense. Have not shaved or had a hair cut since I bought it. My wife is still waiting for me at home. Honey I promise I'll be back soon. Embarrassing front brake squeal
- Alberto "Boricua" Marin, Apopka, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my FLHRS on June 26, 2004. It has 26 miles on it when I rode it away from the dealership. I have taken on some short road trips (approx 200-250 miles each way) and have not had too may issues with it. It has remained reliable and always started for me. Its design and appearance turn some heads. and overall, I love riding it. Some of the things I am not fond of, but can live with are: 1) It isn't as nimble as some of the other bikes so moving around the urban landscape can be a bit daunting 2) isn't as peppy as some, but hey when you look this good going down the road, what kind of rush could you be in to get there? 3) Brake noise. When I apply the brakes (and no, I do not mean the usual brake scrape sound) I get a loud squeak from the front brakes. I have taken it to the dealer twice and they are unable to resolve. The breaks work fine, just noisey when used. All and all, it is a great bike, comfortable, easy to ride, low center of gravity, ample storage in the saddle bags, unique design que's only found on this model. It is not a bike for the novice rider or someone who has problems holding up some weight. At 750lbs (when you get me on ther, over 1/2 ton), it needs some experience and strength to handle in traffic.
- Jon, Levittown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-28 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the nicest bike I have ever ridden. The seat height is perfect when riding or sitting at a light. The beach-style bars are more comfortable when riding then when sitting stationary. It handles the twisties as well as any 750lb bike could ever. I have a removable windshield which I only use for trips or to get out of the cold. For cruisin' I take her out bare. When the wife wants to come along I put on the two-up seat, slip on the padded backrest and the windshield. It is the most versatile bike in the Harley family. Mine is a carbuerated version with the slash cut slip-ons and the stage one kit. It sounds great whenever I roll on the throttle. When under way it just purrrrzz along. The fit and finish is typical Harley with just the right amount of chrome. Damn, I love my Custom. If you have the dough and are on the fence, do not hesitate any longer. I promise you will be a happy person.
- Tony Balo, Long island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-27 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike! When they announced the 2005 bikes I saw the Pearl Yellow Road King Custom had to have one! I sold my 2004 Pearl White Fat Boy and bought the custom. This is my 10th Harley and all have been flawless, have never needed warranty work on any of my Harleys. One thing had to go. I removed the chrome visor and replaced with standard Road King trim. Other than that, it's perfect.
- J Graham, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-10 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Custom last July as a late Father's Day present. I fell in love with it at first sight. I've been riding to and from work almost every day, weather permitting. On weekends we go two up and ride into the mountains. This bike handles differently than other bikes because of it's unique styling. It was intended to be a lowered, fat beach cruiser and that's what it excells at. I don't think the designers really had unlimited touring in mind. They certainly weren't thinking tight cornering! (scrape). For long rides I pop on my windshield and backrest. I have also added fancy adjustable hi-way pegs to ease leg fatigue on long excursions. I will eventually trade to a mustang saddle for passenger comfort and put more agressive sounding pipes on it. Retune on the dyno of course! I have no problem keeping up with everybody on group rides and passing the cagers when need be. If I ever need more horsepower I think I'll just get another bike. This bike would be a good candidate for a 103 S/E version though. Who Knows? Because beach bars can be painful on the wrist after a few hours at highway speed I recommend a palm rest on the throttle grip. One nice feature is the dual front discs I've praised them on several occasions. EFI rocks, it starts freezing cold or boiling hot, it runs from 10000 feet to sea level and back without a hiccup.
- Brad, Ogden, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2004 Road King Custom about three weeks ago, and have put 800 miles on it so far. I kept everything stock until the 1,000 mile service, but ordered some White Brothers E-Series slip-ons today. The bike handles extremely well for such a large cruiser. The handlebars take some getting used to, especially when making sharp turns in the parking lot. The bars will stick into your stomach on sharper turns, but then again, I do have a bit of a belly. The bike is surprisingly nimble at all speeds, and controlling it with the bars is never a problem, with the exception of the aforementioned tight turns. The seat is not the most comfortable in the world, but is suitable for longer trips. Oddly enough considering my short legs, I wish the floor boards were a little more forward. I feel like I need just a couple more inches to stretch out, and my legs feel sore on the inside of my thighs after a day's riding. The riding position is fine with the beach bars, otherwise. I don't think anything Harley makes compares as to appearance, this is the most awesome bike in the stable. I liked the Road King Custom because it was more suited for shorter riders like me, and it is a very comfortable machine. I intend to upgrade to the White Brothers pipes, re-map the EFI, and add the high flow air cleaner. I want to add a detachable backrest eventually to cut down on the nagging from the rear seat. I'm thinking about getting the short smoked windshield for long trips only, and this is the only windshield that doesn't completely ruin the bike's appearance. If you want something more comfortable, then choose the regular Road King, but if you want a looker and a cruiser, go for the Road King Custom.
- Malcolm, Troy, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-14 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just sold my 2002 Electra Glide Standard in late June and bought this bike. This bike seems to handle better than the E-Glide so far. Mine, the dealership "doctored up" with $2700 in additional chrome parts and accessories. So far, great bike I must say. The beach bars haven't created any problems for me so far either. I think after I put some highway miles on her, I will be able to expand on likes and dislikes a little more than now. So far, I love this bike though. Slow speed cornering for me has been no problem with this machine. Anybody who has a problem cornering a heavy weight motorcycle such as this, I recommend obtaining the "RIDE LIKE A PRO" video. Worked for me. I ride 100% better now and with more confidence, after watching this video. Again, Great Bike!
- J. TOWLES, SAN DIEGO, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-12 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for over 20 years and I've finally found Harley. I rented a FatBoy and was completely in awe of this bike. So much I came back and bought a RK Custom - FatBoy like, but I liked the "lines" of this bike better. It, or should I say the combination of the bike and me, corners exceptionally well. And the torque is just awesome, you can feel the engine just wanting to pull out of any speed. Now it does feel like a 1968 Cadillac compared to a cafe bike (just put my 2001 VFR on consignment). i.e. it is a lot of metal, and the transmission heartily clunks into each gear solidly and reliably. I've found the beach bars a little odd to handle at slow speeds. This bike is not going to break any land speed records, but it's looks, handling, and good portion of low end torque make this a great cruising/touring bike.
- L. Irvin, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my RK Custom in April '04, and have 5200K to date. Great handling bike and smooth ride. The previous reviewer stated rough ride-I suspect he has way too much air in the rear shocks. 10lbs is just right for my weight. My bike is very stable at up to 110mph (short distance)I like to ride the curves in NW Arkansas and it is more nimble than one would expect from a large bike. I have the fuel injected model and it never hesitates or has flat spots in any gear/speed. Only real complaint in the seat....buy an upgrade Mustang, Corbin, etc. Why I waited until 4500 miles to get a new seat... I'll never know. I can ride 150 miles before I need fuel and a butt break. I average 42-45 mpg at 65-70 mph. No oil leaks or oil usage.
- david vague, ottawa, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-12 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2000 FLHTCI last month for a 2004 FLHRSI. I found the ride to be quite different between the 2 bikes, even though they are built on the same frame. The FLHRSI corners much better and is much less top-heavy due to the low center of balance. The Screaming Eagle Stage 1 kit and mufflers put on the bike also gave it a bit more snap than my previous ride had. I found the review of another rider disheartening, but wonder what kind of bikes he has ridden in his YEARS of experience. If it has not been Harley's he has ridden, perhaps that explains his dissatisfaction.
- upharleyguy, Marquette, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-07 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first motorcycle ride was on a pre-1960 Harley at the age of 12. The year was 1973. I was visiting a farm in Paoli, Pa. with an aunt. The family had kids who were older than me and rode dirt bikes on a patch of their land. I knew from the smiles on their faces as they wheeled the Harley out of the barn that I was to be their fun for the day. It was huge, all black and it scared the hell out of me just looking at it. The oldest kid, about 17, kicked it over a few times and when it came to life I took a step back in terror. Not the kind of terror a Marine Gunny instills but the kind an older woman would instill in a young man. The feeling was both lust and love and you never forget your first. I climbed into the saddle and my feet were short of mother Earth. I was held upright while I was given 30 seconds of motorcycling safety and instruction and told to climb the hill in front of me. I was determined not to chicken out so when I gave it gas and let out the clutch as instructed, I rolled forward and increased speed not daring to shift. I couldn't get the stupid grin off my face even as I heard my aunt screaming my name from the bottom. I made it to the top and when I tried to turn around to come back down, I dropped the bike. It had to be ridden down by one of the boys but I was patted on the back and no longer an outsider. My aunt ensured there would be no futher rides that day. The rest of the day was spent staring at and asking questions about her (yes her). Due to life's circumstances, I never returned but never forgot her or that day. There have been many "hers" since then. Most were prettier, all faster and more refined but never as special. Until now. I have found what can only be a direct decendant/relative in the 2004 Road King Custom. While the technology is far advanced, she gives me that same feel and has most of the same retro contours of my first. They say you can never go back. Everytime I swing a leg over I time warp 30 years back. Thanks Harley, you've shown me that your first can come back and that it can be just as sweet.
- Alex, Lansdale, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: