Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Alberto "Boricua" Marin

Apopka, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had this 05 bike for two months and I've put 2,500 miles on it. Feels great,looks great and the retro look and feeling has a overwelming power over common sense. Have not shaved or had a hair cut since I bought it. My wife is still waiting for me at home. Honey I promise I'll be back soon. Embarrassing front brake squeal
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jon

Levittown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my FLHRS on June 26, 2004. It has 26 miles on it when I rode it away from the dealership. I have taken on some short road trips (approx 200-250 miles each way) and have not had too may issues with it. It has remained reliable and always started for me. Its design and appearance turn some heads. and overall, I love riding it. Some of the things I am not fond of, but can live with are: 1) It isn't as nimble as some of the other bikes so moving around the urban landscape can be a bit daunting 2) isn't as peppy as some, but hey when you look this good going down the road, what kind of rush could you be in to get there? 3) Brake noise. When I apply the brakes (and no, I do not mean the usual brake scrape sound) I get a loud squeak from the front brakes. I have taken it to the dealer twice and they are unable to resolve. The breaks work fine, just noisey when used. All and all, it is a great bike, comfortable, easy to ride, low center of gravity, ample storage in the saddle bags, unique design que's only found on this model. It is not a bike for the novice rider or someone who has problems holding up some weight. At 750lbs (when you get me on ther, over 1/2 ton), it needs some experience and strength to handle in traffic.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony Balo

Long island, New York

Reviewed on 2005-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is the nicest bike I have ever ridden. The seat height is perfect when riding or sitting at a light. The beach-style bars are more comfortable when riding then when sitting stationary. It handles the twisties as well as any 750lb bike could ever. I have a removable windshield which I only use for trips or to get out of the cold. For cruisin' I take her out bare. When the wife wants to come along I put on the two-up seat, slip on the padded backrest and the windshield. It is the most versatile bike in the Harley family. Mine is a carbuerated version with the slash cut slip-ons and the stage one kit. It sounds great whenever I roll on the throttle. When under way it just purrrrzz along. The fit and finish is typical Harley with just the right amount of chrome. Damn, I love my Custom. If you have the dough and are on the fence, do not hesitate any longer. I promise you will be a happy person.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Graham

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Love this bike! When they announced the 2005 bikes I saw the Pearl Yellow Road King Custom had to have one! I sold my 2004 Pearl White Fat Boy and bought the custom. This is my 10th Harley and all have been flawless, have never needed warranty work on any of my Harleys. One thing had to go. I removed the chrome visor and replaced with standard Road King trim. Other than that, it's perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brad

Ogden, Utah

Reviewed on 2005-03-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my Custom last July as a late Father's Day present. I fell in love with it at first sight. I've been riding to and from work almost every day, weather permitting. On weekends we go two up and ride into the mountains. This bike handles differently than other bikes because of it's unique styling. It was intended to be a lowered, fat beach cruiser and that's what it excells at. I don't think the designers really had unlimited touring in mind. They certainly weren't thinking tight cornering! (scrape). For long rides I pop on my windshield and backrest. I have also added fancy adjustable hi-way pegs to ease leg fatigue on long excursions. I will eventually trade to a mustang saddle for passenger comfort and put more agressive sounding pipes on it. Retune on the dyno of course! I have no problem keeping up with everybody on group rides and passing the cagers when need be. If I ever need more horsepower I think I'll just get another bike. This bike would be a good candidate for a 103 S/E version though. Who Knows? Because beach bars can be painful on the wrist after a few hours at highway speed I recommend a palm rest on the throttle grip. One nice feature is the dual front discs I've praised them on several occasions. EFI rocks, it starts freezing cold or boiling hot, it runs from 10000 feet to sea level and back without a hiccup.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Malcolm

Troy, Alabama

Reviewed on 2004-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the 2004 Road King Custom about three weeks ago, and have put 800 miles on it so far. I kept everything stock until the 1,000 mile service, but ordered some White Brothers E-Series slip-ons today. The bike handles extremely well for such a large cruiser. The handlebars take some getting used to, especially when making sharp turns in the parking lot. The bars will stick into your stomach on sharper turns, but then again, I do have a bit of a belly. The bike is surprisingly nimble at all speeds, and controlling it with the bars is never a problem, with the exception of the aforementioned tight turns. The seat is not the most comfortable in the world, but is suitable for longer trips. Oddly enough considering my short legs, I wish the floor boards were a little more forward. I feel like I need just a couple more inches to stretch out, and my legs feel sore on the inside of my thighs after a day's riding. The riding position is fine with the beach bars, otherwise. I don't think anything Harley makes compares as to appearance, this is the most awesome bike in the stable. I liked the Road King Custom because it was more suited for shorter riders like me, and it is a very comfortable machine. I intend to upgrade to the White Brothers pipes, re-map the EFI, and add the high flow air cleaner. I want to add a detachable backrest eventually to cut down on the nagging from the rear seat. I'm thinking about getting the short smoked windshield for long trips only, and this is the only windshield that doesn't completely ruin the bike's appearance. If you want something more comfortable, then choose the regular Road King, but if you want a looker and a cruiser, go for the Road King Custom.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. TOWLES

SAN DIEGO, California

Reviewed on 2004-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just sold my 2002 Electra Glide Standard in late June and bought this bike. This bike seems to handle better than the E-Glide so far. Mine, the dealership "doctored up" with $2700 in additional chrome parts and accessories. So far, great bike I must say. The beach bars haven't created any problems for me so far either. I think after I put some highway miles on her, I will be able to expand on likes and dislikes a little more than now. So far, I love this bike though. Slow speed cornering for me has been no problem with this machine. Anybody who has a problem cornering a heavy weight motorcycle such as this, I recommend obtaining the "RIDE LIKE A PRO" video. Worked for me. I ride 100% better now and with more confidence, after watching this video. Again, Great Bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

L. Irvin

Raleigh, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for over 20 years and I've finally found Harley. I rented a FatBoy and was completely in awe of this bike. So much I came back and bought a RK Custom - FatBoy like, but I liked the "lines" of this bike better. It, or should I say the combination of the bike and me, corners exceptionally well. And the torque is just awesome, you can feel the engine just wanting to pull out of any speed. Now it does feel like a 1968 Cadillac compared to a cafe bike (just put my 2001 VFR on consignment). i.e. it is a lot of metal, and the transmission heartily clunks into each gear solidly and reliably. I've found the beach bars a little odd to handle at slow speeds. This bike is not going to break any land speed records, but it's looks, handling, and good portion of low end torque make this a great cruising/touring bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david vague

ottawa, Kansas

Reviewed on 2004-07-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my RK Custom in April '04, and have 5200K to date. Great handling bike and smooth ride. The previous reviewer stated rough ride-I suspect he has way too much air in the rear shocks. 10lbs is just right for my weight. My bike is very stable at up to 110mph (short distance)I like to ride the curves in NW Arkansas and it is more nimble than one would expect from a large bike. I have the fuel injected model and it never hesitates or has flat spots in any gear/speed. Only real complaint in the seat....buy an upgrade Mustang, Corbin, etc. Why I waited until 4500 miles to get a new seat... I'll never know. I can ride 150 miles before I need fuel and a butt break. I average 42-45 mpg at 65-70 mph. No oil leaks or oil usage.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

upharleyguy

Marquette, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLHRS FLHRSI Road King Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded in my 2000 FLHTCI last month for a 2004 FLHRSI. I found the ride to be quite different between the 2 bikes, even though they are built on the same frame. The FLHRSI corners much better and is much less top-heavy due to the low center of balance. The Screaming Eagle Stage 1 kit and mufflers put on the bike also gave it a bit more snap than my previous ride had. I found the review of another rider disheartening, but wonder what kind of bikes he has ridden in his YEARS of experience. If it has not been Harley's he has ridden, perhaps that explains his dissatisfaction.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: