Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles Reviews (37)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-07-28 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote the (good so far) review back in febuary. Made a couple of small modiifications since then. don't wast money on the Harley stereo if you don't want to. I added a 200 watt head unit with mp3 input and two Pioneer 5 1/4 speakers I also added two pioneer tweeters where the two guages would be on the ultra classic. At a cost of about 400 dollars including the MP3 player. This has given my wife and I more than enough road music while on rides. I suggest the MP3 player because the vibration on the harley tends to make the cd skip on any head unit but harley radio but hey thats a 1200. The bike is still smooth but does tend to get a little windshear above 90. Oh and by the way I smoked some cat on a Road King during bike week who was talking smack about his fuel injection providing more power. Stage one Kicks some booty deffinately get the option if your bike is carburated. Great overall bike.
- kevin , Sunrise, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after riding my 2004 Softail Night Train to and from Sturgis last year, logging a 1157 mile/19 hour run from Denver to my home in Southern California on the last day of the ride. I almost crippled my 42 year old body in the process. Friends and I made plans to ride to Sturgis again this year, about 1600 miles one way, and there was no way I was going to do it again on a softail. I bought my 05 FLHTI and have been continuously amazed at how well the bike performs and how efortless it chews up the miles. I throw my leg over this beauty every morning and she always fires right up. On the road she is smooth and stable, and when the road gets twisty she handles the curves with smooth entry and exit and rock steady handling. Even the ground clearance is excellent. If I had any one complaint regarding this purchase it would not be with the motorcycle but rather with the dealers who have a "well if you don't buy it the next guy certainly will". Harley dealers are as varied as any other motorcycle brand I have come across. There are good ones and bad ones, selling bikes at MSRP or at a premium over MSRP. You will just have to shop dealers around till you find one you get along with. In my 26 years of riding, on 14 different bikes (Everything from a Yamaha SRX to a Ninja 900 to a Triumph RS) this bike just does it all and does it so comfortably I forget I am on a bike sometimes and not tooling around in a sports car. Great bike!
- Chris K., Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-17 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my electra glide standard, about 2 weeks ago. Before that I had a harley 1200R sportster which I loved, but wasn't too good on the highway. My harley dealer, (which is Roeders in sandusky, which is such a great place to buy a bike) let me demo a 05 electra glide standard. I took it up on the interstate...I was so impressed. For a bike its size it rides like a cadillac. It has such a stable ride...and trucks whizzing by at 75MPH, doesnt affect it. I got back at the dealership and signed on the dotted line. I have put over 1400 miles on it now in the last 2 weeks. Honestly, this is the best thing I ever bought in my life.....Thanks Harley for making such a great bike!!!
- Carl , Marblehead, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-12 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my 2005 XL1200R Sportster on this new Electra Glide and put all of my breakin miles on it this last weekend. This is the smoothest most comfortable ride I have ever had on any bike. I am happy to say this is money well spent.
- Larry Linch, Grand Prairie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-21 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchase my 05 Electra Glide and love every second I'm on it. I have had 2 Harleys in the past (91 Fatboy and Sportster 1200 Custom. Both bikes were great to ride but not as smooth as the Electra Glide. Freeway speeds are a pleasure and the batwing keeps you out of the wind from your head to your hands. The bike is nicely finished as stock and I don't feel the immediate need to buy chrome to make her look better (aleast for now). As is, she gets plenty of compliments. She was deffinately one of the best buys of my life.
- Michael in Texas, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-12 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my new FLHTI Electra Glide for about 3 months now and love everything about it. The stock engine has more than enough power for my needs, even when I am riding with my wife on board. The ride is smooth and comfortable. The handling, though heavy, is exactly as I expected. Both seats are very comfortable for long rides. It has classic H-D motorcycle beauty. It seems to be extremely well made. I have not had one problem with it so far. The fuel injection works perfectly. I had contemplated installing a stage one modification to the engine, but I now think that I will wait a year or so and see if I really do need the extra power. I bought a passenger backrest and a luggage rack for it, and both items are well made and look good. I opted for the spoke wheels option and don't regret it at all. The rims are chromed and very sharp looking. You can't go wrong if you want a Harley-Davidson motorcycle that is comfortable, rides well, looks great and is less expensive than most of the other big-twin models.
- Tom D, Owings Mills, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-09 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in a 2004 Sportster last September for this Electra Glide Chopper Blue Pearl FLHTI. As far as speed and agility goes, the Sportster would run circles around my Electra Glide but that doesn't mean I regret the trade. The Electra Glide is 200 pounds heavier and as a result you lose some of the "hurry up go fast" of the Sporty, but the there is no comparison in the ride. I love my new bike and personally I think it is one of the coolest bikes Harley offers. I was having a little trouble finding the right combination of jets on my Sporty to get it to run like I wanted so when I traded I was adamant I wanted electronic fuel injection. Turn on the switch, wait for the light to go out and hit the starter and it will start every time and runs great. I also had a cruise control put on it. That was the best $400 I ever spent. Since the Standard is somewhat Plain Jane right from the factory, I have added several $$ of bling bling over the winter and now I have it just about like I want it and the appearance has improved significantly. I also added a rider backrest. This was another worthwhile expenditure. That was probably one of the first things I should have bought. As far as the windshield goes I opted for a shorter one rather than a taller one. I was a little worried that it would allow too much wind to hit me but it doesn't. It is about perfect. If I put my hand in front of my face while I'm riding the tips of my fingers will start hitting blowing air at about the level of the top of my helmet. With the shorter windshield your vision is totally unrestricted but you still get lots of protection. I would recommend this windshield to any 6 footer. Overall this is a great bike. My wife is much more comfy riding than she was with the Sportster and would give 2 thumbs up also.
- One Happy guy, Boonville, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a truly wonderfull bike. It just seems to be the best value of all Harleys to me. The looks and handling are fantastic. I have left it stock so far except for a nice big backrest for the wife. This bike is fuel injected and has all the speed and power I need. The big hole where the radio would go does perturb me and why Harley wouldn't put a factory flap over that makes me wonder... but other than that, it's a great machine.
- q34534, Primgarh, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-06 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has exceeded every expectation I had. A large part of my history with motorcycles was about going fast.. turbo, wheelies, burnouts, flying through the canyons, etc. I also had skeptisism about the reliability of the Harley. The bottom line is that I have owned this 2004 FLHTI for 9 months, and have 10,500 miles on it. I have ridden this bike from Los Angeles to NYC Ground Zero and back. It did not even burn so much as a teaspoon of oil during the whole trip, and started like a new car every time. Even at 10,500 miles, not a rattle!! The back tire is also still original with about 1,000 miles left on it. I had rented Gold Wings for long rides previously, and this bike is far more comfortable. I have done several days of almost 800 miles in total comfort. With the right highway pegs, you can literally run until you need to sleep. The locking luggage with the detachable trunk held everything for my long trip, an amazing amount of stuff completely packed away safely. No need to worry about the rain or anything. Speaking of rain, the bike runs as solid as a car in even the heaviest rain. As far as canyons are concerned?? This bike slams through the corners with amazing agility for a bike it's size, far better than the Gold Wing in my opinion. The only advantage the Gold Wing had was in the area of pure power. But I did not buy this bike for power. I bought it for style, fun and comfort. I bought it for a certain kind of motorcycling experience, one of relaxation, to experience the world on 2 wheels in the glow of comfort and the sound of a Harley V-Twin under me. It does, however, have plenty of power. It gets right up to 80 or 90 mph in a very short snap and will easily give you 110 mph or so of you want it. Although not a drag bike, it goes plenty quick, I have never felt like I was short on power. On the highway 75 to 90 mph is a great zone for this bike. Even at these speeds it gives around 38 MPG's. If you are looking for a great looking, great sounding, reliable and fun bike to tour on, then there is none better!! I hope I can afford to keep it (I heard overall maintenance can be expensive)!!
- JPS, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third Harley, and clearly the best. I rode Wide Glides prior to getting the Electra Glide. I was skeptical to get a touring bike because I liked the aggresive handling of the Wide Glide. I was pleasantly suprised at how nimble the big bike could be. It sometimes drag floorboards with no problem and the bike handles flawlessly and with confidence. I took it up on the Blue Ridge Parkway in NC and VA and I was in total bliss. Classic good looks and an awesome ride. I have logged over 3300 miles in less than 2 months of ownership. I got caught in a monsoon rain on my way to the 2004 Myrtle Beach Bike Week and the windshield was a life saver. I still got wet, but no needle shots to the face. If you're considering this bike, don't look back.
- w rolfe, raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Third Harley I've had. The twin-cam engine is a huge improvement over the solid mounted engines (had a shovel-head FLH and a Sporster). I've ridden for nearly 16 years (everything from a dirt bike, Honda Magna, Kawasaki Ninja, Honda Shadow, Suzuki etc.) and this bike is a very heavy, yet very predictable bike, even in slow heavy traffic. The brakes are awesome, and it handles like a smaller bike (even when riding 2-up). The power is very nice, but the thing to praise is the low-end torque the bike delivers. From slow speeds it pulls smoothly even up-hill with a passenger. The gears are still very Harley-notchy and loud, but the smooth ride and great sound more than make up for the slight shifting noise. The fit and finish is great and the paint is very thick and shiny. For a custom touch I ordered the short (4" inch) wind deflector instead of the standard wind screen. It looks awesome but it performs aweful! Anything over 50 MPH and the wind strikes you and buffets right in the face, so I do not recomend the expense; not worth it for looks alone!! It is okay in city traffic below 50 MPH. The stock height clear windscreen, however, is awesome in performance, you can have a decent conversation with your passenger even at speeds of 65-70 MPH. I will soon try the 7" wind deflector to see how it performs. The sound from the engine is Harley all the way. The rich black paint and heavy chrome bike turns heads even from the metric-bike guys. Obviously the bike will feel heavy and clumsy at crawling speeds and slightly heavy around tight slow turns such as turning right from a dead stop, it was made for cruising speeds not traffic. Over bumps the bike feels very secure and even while on a deadly emergency stop the bike handled superbly! (some idiot made a right turn in front of me while I was going through a green light at 45 MPH) The price was as good as any Goldwing, even with all the chrome and special accessories.
- Will Solano, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Classics are just that, their beauty is in the eye of the beholder. My Electraglide Classic is the best looking, best riding, best bang for the buck in the motorcycle business. The classic design in this bike has been imitated but never surpassed. It is the bike of the masses. It is for those in pursuit of classic lines, excellent mechanicals, purity of design, and affordable price. This bike put a huge smile on my face the moment I first rode it out. It is very forgiving, it starts right up, and it fits a big guy like me with no problems.
- ROGER BARILLAS, FT KNOX, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I NEVER THOUGHT I'D OWN A HARLEY BUT A BUDDY OF MINE SUGGESTED I GET REAL MOTOTRCYCLE, SO I DID. HE TOLD ME THE HANDLING WOULD BE BETTER THAN I EXPECTED. HE WAS RIGHT THIS THING HANDLES BETTER THAN ANY BIKE I've EVER HAD. IT HAS PLENTY OF POWER TWO UP. IT WILL RUN 80MPH EASY AND THE 04'S ARE EVEN BETTER WITH A NEW BREAK IN YOU CAN ACTUALLY RUN 70. THIS THING GLIDES DOWN THE ROAD. IT'S AWESOME BELIEVE ME. I CAN'T BELIEVE IT. I HAD A DISAPPOINTING ROADSTAR IT WAS A GOOD BIKE BUT THIS IS BETTER. WAY BETTER. IT HANDLES A LOT QUICKER AND SMOOTHER RIDING. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING ELSE. THE FIT AND FINISH ARE IMPECCABLE AND THE STYLE, NOBODY DOES IT BETTER. THEY ALL TRY BUT THEY CAN'T DO IT. I GOT THE INJECTED MODEL, IT IS WORTH IT, VERY SMOOTH STARTS RIGHT UP AND NO CARB FARTS EVER HEARD. PEOPLE SAY HARLEY IS LOW TECH BUT ALL 4 MAJOR JAPANESE BRANDS ARE TRYING THEIR BEST TO IMITATE THEM... I WONDER WHY. HARLEY'S EVEN COME WITH AN ALARM BECAUSE PEOPLE ACTUALLY WANT TO TAKE THEM FROM YOU. THE FUEL INJECTION IS SECOND TO NONE, THE BRAKES ARE AS GOOD AS IT GETS AND THEY HAVE 2 YEAR FACTORY WARRANTY. WHO ELSE OFFERS THAT EXCEPT YAMAHA ON IT'S VENTURE? THESE THINGS ARE BETTER THAN EVER. I LOOKED LIKE A IDIOT ALL THE WAY HOME WITH THAT GOOFY GRIN AND GOD AWFUL LAUGH I WAS DOING. IT IS THE FUNNEST BIKE I EVER HAD. GOLDWING RIDERS SAY THEY ARE LOW TECH BUT THESE GLIDES ARE SMOOTHER RIDING. LIKE I SAID RIDE THE REST, THEN BUY THE BEST. METRIC BIKES ARE GOOD I KNOW that's ALL I EVER HAD UNTIL THIS AND IT IS BETTER. YOU don't HAVE TO BUY ENGINE GUARDS, REAR FLOOR BOARDS, LIGHT BARS, MORE COMFORTABLE SEATS, THESE THINGS ALREADY HAVE THEM. BY THE TIME YOU BUY ALL THAT AND PUT IT ON A METRIC BIKE YOU WOULD PAID FOR A HARLEY. OH AND ONE MORE THING THIS FAIRING REALLY CUTS THE WIND DOWN YOU don't NEED AN INTERCOM YOU CAN TALK NORMALLY AND STILL HEAR YOUR PASSENGER JUST FINE. BELIEVE ME TRY THEN BUY IT. IT IS WORTH IT, YOU won't REGRET. THE GAS MILEAGE IS REAL GOOD TO 40 PLUS MILES PER GALLON. YOU DO THE MATH. I HAVE YET TO SEE A BIKE BUILT THAT WILL NOT TEAR UP, THEY ALL DO. SOME DO IT QUICKER THAN OTHERS AND I KNOW HARLEY RIDERS THAT GO A LONG TIME WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS. that's ALL I HAVE TO SAY. SEE YOU ON THE ROAD BE SAFE.
- bigdawg, cedartown, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now my '02 FLHT has 21,000 miles on it. It's still as sweet as day one; even sweeter. Since I bought it I've upgraded the Breather and the Muffs to Screaming Eagle Performance. I hate the Muffs. They "work" fine but there are many Honda's and Suzuki's with a better sound than my Harley has. I have the little oil "seep" between the Engine and the Transmission but I just wipe it off during wash jobs. I added a passenger and rider back rest and now the wife and I can go all day with no lower back problems or with the wife feeling she's falling off. If you haven't noticed, the rear seat slopes towards the rear of the bike giving a passenger the feeling they're sliding off! (Harley marketing to get you to buy a backrest) Anyway, other than some loose engine mounts and a set of tires, nothing has broken or failed on this bike up to 21,000. Ride on!
- Phil Schatzer, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-22 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike I always really wanted deep down. I made excuses why it wasn't worth the money over many other bikes. The truth is, it's not, at least from a common sense standpoint. The reality is if you can afford it. The happiness factor is hard to explain, but well worth the price. Life is too short. I wrote a book "About Life & Motorcycles" by Jeff Davis, where I mention some of the shortcomings of Harleys, and teased some of my Harley friends about their bikes (all in good fun I might add). I had planned to never own another one after my Sportster. But the addition of Electronic Fuel Injection makes many of the things I didn't like about the bikes disappear. No, they are not the fastest bikes out there. It's not about speed. The handling is consistent and predictable. The power is smooth and solid. Beauty is only skin deep and that is some beautiful skin. The sound? Well everyone knows that sound. I don't plan to ruin it with loud pipes to gain a few horsepower. It has plenty of kick stock for an old man, and if I wanted high performance, it wouldn't have been a Harley. Too much weight to pull around to begin with. What it is however, is like being able to go out and buy a brand new 1957 Chevy coupe, with a new, updated 350 engine, and all the modern conveniences we have in cars today, like disc brakes. It's a brand new classic. Now where else can you go buy something like that?
- Jeff Davis, Bedford, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-09 2004 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my new bike a couple of days ago. I really like it a lot. I chose the standard because I can do my own thing to it such as a radio. The bike runs good and also handles very well.
- richie, gadsden, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-19 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my FLHT in May. I have put over 5500 mi on it. I will never own anything else. Ride safe my brothers.
- Anonymous, Louisburg, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-12 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked it up may 29th already have 1800 miles on it. grate balance and i love the compliments. i put on the king tour pak and stereo plus 12 disc cd. wifes choice should of got the classic well live and learn i always had honda's before but the harley truly is more fun. i will purchase another.
- jim layton, lone rock, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the way this bike has been from day one. It is fast, smooth, and it handles way better than it looks like it it should. I like the unpainted engine's clean simple look. I'm a "don't need it, don't want it" kind of guy.
- Kenny Rosen, Tarzana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-23 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my new (2002)FLHT at the end of March. Just completed the 1000 mile service. Love this bike! Parts and service are kind of spendy but that comes with owning a Harley. This bike does it all. On a recent trip down to Oregon I came across a road with 11 miles of 25 MPH twisties. YEAH!!! Scraped both floor boards with the wife on back howlin'. The total trip was over 300 miles and my hind-end was just starting to complain when we pulled back in our driveway. All the lights up front offer great daytime visibility and at night they really light up the road. The engine has a slight cough during throttle changes but my mechanic sez a new breather and a rejet will cure this. I have no major complaints and sure do love all the compliments I get about the bike. Ride on!!
- Phil Schatzer, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-02 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I rented a big beautiful touring bike yesterday and reluctantly turned it in today. It was an all black Harley Davidson Electra Glide Classic FI. What a nice bike that was! This one had a factory alarm in addition to the standard hardbags/trunk, front fairing w/AM/FM/Cassette/Weather Info, spot lamps, full size engine guard, floorboards and heel/toe shifter. First things first, the weight. It must be twice what I'm used to, 750 pounds dry (no doubt at least 850 wet). So it ain't no canyon carver. It has a mind of its own in a parking lot with a passenger onboard. Fortunately the riding stance was perfect for me. It's the only modern touring bike I've been able to flat foot at a stop (and even able to bend my knees!). Once I got over that, the controls took a little getting used to. The turn signal switches are different, there's one on each side for each blinker. Easy and convenient to reach, but felt awkward hitting what would normally be on my bike the "starter switch" while moving! The high/low beam switch and horn button are located above the left turn signal switch (horn is outside button/light is inside), and sport a little wierd of a reach to get to. Above the right blinker switch is the engine on/off switch and starter switch (engine switch is outside/starter is inside). Below the grip area is the radio controls, a thumb lever on each side: the left side was volume up/down and pushing it in allows adjusting the bass/treble. The right one is a tuning up/down and pushing it in selects AM, FM, or weather/cassette (if no cassette is inserted you hear the weather info). The dash featured a speedo and tach in the middle, flanked by outside air temperature and oil pressure guages. The windshield/fairing provides excellent protection from wind. One could lose themself for hours in the plush saddle on this bike! I adapted to the heel/toe shifter right away and it became second nature quickly. The brake pedal took a little more getting used to. As an additional note, this thing was a real sight at night time, it really lights up. The black powder coated engine flanked with chrome covers, the velvet black paint, and the all-over lighting on these rigs really made a statement. The Engine: Power was okay, but then again it's not a drag racer either. None of that arm-stiffening, butt-relocating acceleration, but it does roll up to speed quickly and smoothly. I did manage a fair rolling burnout once, and let off as the back end started to go squirrelly...The big FI TC-88 fires right up with a push of the button, no additional turning or winding ever occured, even after a stall. The motor only shakes at idle, once you start moving it becomes smooth as silk. the 88ci motor winds up to 5500 RPM but I never really took it that far, the exhaust is quiet but the throbbing cadence is ever present. The FI was no doubt a great addition to this finely sculptured machine, the trip up into the mountains was effortless. The freeway experience: What more can I say? This bike handles better at 90mph than the middle-weights I'm accustomed to, incidently the tach reported 4000 RPM at this speed. Riding the legal speed limit was effortless, and I had to check my speedo often to make sure I wasn't breaking any posted limits as the motor runs so smooth at 65-75mph. I didn't try to max out the speedo. Tracking was straight as an arrow at all times. Mud/Gravel/Rough Stuff experience: I ran the bike through a street that was under construction, there was mud and water all over the entire 1.5 mile length of the road construction area. The deeply valanced front fender doesn't keep the stuff from slinging all over your feet, but it didn't spary very high either. Only the lower frame, floorboards, and outer engine guards had dirt spots on them. The tip of the rear fender was coated and some spray went on the mufflers and rear of the bags. In gravel, you can blip the throttle and the rear doesn't kick out much at all. I didn't attempt any fishtailing though, I was by myself in the middle of nowhere and the bike weighs over 800 pounds...it handled the rougher roads well enough, the suspension absorbed the bumps quite well without any substantial rebounds, you won't get catapulted off one of these big brutes. A slow jaunt down a gravel road proved rather easy despite all the mass of these brutes. Brakes: the brakes on this bike are incredible! I never expected a huge leviathan to slow down so quickly. The back tire will lock up before the front though, and I had a couple instances where the rear would start moving sideways so you can't get on the back brake too hard. Shifting: The gear changes were swift and solid, and you not only felt the gears engage but there is an audible clunk during each shift. Neutral is a chore to find, I'm sure there is some trick to it that eluded me. Sometimes I could stick it in neutral without a thought and other times it took some serious effort and balance with one foot holding the beast upright. The clutch lever was like any big twin Harley: stiff and long in reach. After a few hours of city riding I found myself grabbing at it with my entire hand rather than my fingers. But then again this particular bike is intended for long distance top gear cruising so for it's role I can't condemn the clutch. Twisties: The bike was a bit of a bear when the straight lines began to sweep sharper. I had to wrestle the front end a few times to get it pointed in the right direction. Still, the bike didn't shift or shudder in the rougher and tighter turns. I didn't try to scrape the boards, wasn't sure if they would contact the ground first before the solid wide guard. The stiff clutch made the frequent pre-curve downshifting precarious. Therefore, no break-neck velocities were attained in this event. My middle-weight bike is better suited for that chore. Storage space: Okay, I'll be the first to admit it. I didn't like the styling of the trunk, I would have wanted to remove it right away and sell it off. Then I filled it, and filled it, and filled it some more. 62 quart capacity, it's almost twice that of the Valkyrie Interstate trunk! Just over 15 milk jugs' worth of space. The sidebags were spacious as well, I believe they're rated at 28-32 quarts (can't remember) and the lids removed easily and conveniently out of the way, nothing to obstruct loading/unloading. So the trunk's a keeper; yeah...I'd still remove it for city slickin' but to head out of town I'd slap it right back on! Passenger Accomodation: My wife loved the rear seat, and didn't have any complaints of the footing position either. Grab rails are located on either side of the seat cushion, and that backrest was very inviting and offered plenty of support. Overall, I give the bike a high rating, especially for the role it was intended for. Comfort, capacity, and sheer style and grace on the open road. This is definitely my choice for the next big bike, unless someone comes out with something better in the next few years. This is what I'll be judging the competition against, this is the bar that has been raised, this is the one to beat. High Points: Comfort, comfort, and comfort. Visually appealing, good wind protection, lots of storage space, loved the stereo, good brakes, really loud horn. Low Points: Clutch lever, city commuting/slow speed handling, mirrors (couldn't see behind me), OEM mufflers were copper colored w/10K miles on bike. First Changes: mirrors w/taller & wider stems to see behind the trunk, V&H Touring mufflers, exchange the "cyber-eye" air cleaner (the last one is my personal preference...)
- Richard , Southern Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-06 2002 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll admit that I've wanted a Harley since about age 8, but this bike is more than I ever though any bike could be. The feel of the bike is, well, you just have to try one, as the saying goes. After having, and enjoying, a goldwing for several years, I wish I had bought this bike years ago. After being very happy to get the bike at MSRP (14,000!!, what a deal!!), it has yet to disappoint me in any way. It rides great, has incredible torque ( found out almost by accident as passing a bus!!), and you just can't beat the stares and comments everwhere you go. I also found it to be very comfortable, and having had a goldwing for several years and many thousands of miles, that's saying something. No, it's not a sport bike, not supposed to be either. But then again, why would you want to go that fast anyway, enjoy the ride, enjoy the scenery, and enjoy the eyeballs popping as you glide by!!!
- Mike B, Fall River, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-26 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up the bike in Sept.2000, after six thousand plus and several road trips, the bike is still a thrill. First you have to shed the stock air box and exhaust and let it breathe. Add what goodies suits your fancy -- gauges, detachable rack and sissy bar etc. Finish it off with a screaming eagle Mikuni 42mm carb. Now you've got a touring machine that's still a good bang for the buck.
- Bob Garcia, Paradise, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-11 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2001 FLHT is the ultimate buy at $15,000 for what you get for your money. What other motorcycle offers the standard equipment (bags, crash bars, touring seat, air shocks, dual disk brakes, full fairing and the same ride as the $21,000 fully equiped FL). The TC88 power plant is full of torque but as smooth above idle as a Gold Wing. I put Vance & Hines slip on's and now the sound is awsome. I WILL OWN THE MATERPIECE FOREVER!! There's so many ways you can individualize this uncluttered slate just use your imagination.
- Dave Beggins, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-07 2000 Harley-Davidson FLHT Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's taken me almost two years to find a new FLHT, but it was certainly worth the wait. This bike has great looks, excellent paint and finish, and tons of torque. The brakes are average and the steering is rather slow. My 2001 FLHT came standard with Harley-Davidson's new Security System. The system includes a key chain fob. When the fob (button) is depressed, it grounds the ignition. Unfortunately, H-D didn't include an audible siren; it's available separately at about $100. And don't expect a tool kit either because the boys in Milwaukee don't provide one.
- Geoff, Des Plaines, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: