Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-16 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2 nd. Twin cam, Put 87,500 mi. on a 99 FLHT. Have put 38,000 on this 03 FLHTI. Added Vance & Hines Long Shots. Awesome, everyone admires sound. This winter will install Stage 1 and P. Com. Can not say anything bad about these scooters. Have 2nd. set of Donlop E-3 skins. The front lasted 22,000 miles and the rear lasted 14,500. Try them, you will like them.
- R.C.B., Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now had this bike a little over a year, and it's the best of both worlds. Full dresser or add a chopped windshield, low profile seat and you got a nice boulevad cruiser.
- Super Dave, Calumet Region, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-02 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having a 1999 Sportster Custom 1200 I wanted a Touring H.D. with comparable power. This bike has it all. I like the the fact the dealer was able to install the bigger motor and still have all the good things still available, ride, handling, and comfort. The 103cid motor never stops pulling and has lots of Torque. If you want a Cadilac with a Corvette engine this is the ticket.
- Bill Simmons, Anchorage, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-15 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the bike; just right for someone who's been riding a Sporty for 13 years. Just enough cushion and protection from road crap and wind, but power and handling to not feel like I'm driving a truck. Lose the stock horn, though, and get a Howard's Horn... a bike this big deserves a horn this good, and the volume will keep the "But I didn't see him, Officer" at bay.
- Red, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-29 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2003 Standard last January, from the San Jose Harley Davidson. The Standard is simple, not too much chrome, is a real value and has all the important parts that make it a joy to ride. Nothing like sitting on a big Harley, touring the countryside while listening to the rumble of the big twin. My wife and I ride every chance we get, mostly short weekend trips around California. The quality and assembly is exceptional, the black paint is flawless, chrome is deep, dealer very helpful who treats us as part of the family. Life is pure heaven to be able to rumble down a country road on a beautiful day, just me, my wife and my Harley.
- Dennis, Saratoga, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-16 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a Dyna Super Glide Sport for my FLHTI and couldn't be happier. The Electra Glide Standard represents one of the best values in Harley's lineup. Since the 2004s were already selling when I bought my 2003, I got it at a reasonable price. I added the CD player and air temp and oil pressure gauges. The radio's antenna whipped around way too much, so I cut it down to about 31" - it still works just fine and no longer whacks me on the helmet. I also added a set of Desert Dawgs engine guard chaps for winter riding. My only performance alteration was the installation of a K&N air filter and to have the ECM reprogrammed with the Stage 1 map. This really smoothed the engine and improved its power (a little). I get about 40 mpg, but it isn't totally broken in yet. (I'm hoping this improves some.) Since I've owned both a carbureted and injected TC88, I can unreservedly recommend the injection. It eliminates the annoying, occasional carb fart and greatly improves throttle response - the engine feels like it has an extra 5 HP. Be prepared for a little extra noise coming from under the tank, though. Strengths: surprisingly good handling, great wind and weather protection, comfortable, decent price, good looking. Weaknesses: I'm 6'1" and get some helmet turbulence from wind coming over the screen (the aftermarket can fix this), if you pump the shocks up too much (even a little) the ride gets harsh in a hurry.
- Alan, Elizabeth City, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-14 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't help it, 10 weeks and 4800 miles into it, and it just keeps getting better. Put on a set of slip-ons, Rolling Thunder Pipes, and ended up having the breather and recal mods done (Stg One). Still running a shade lean, thinking about a DFO now. I can't believe how well this big fat machine handles, and it doesn't wear me out. I can't say enough about it. This is as good as it gets. ---gman
- gman, Lizton, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-28 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The value of the FLHTI is great. Dollar for dollar it is the best value in the harley lineup. There is nothing about this bike that I do not like. I purchased mine in July and the roads have never been the same. My advice is to purchase the factory sound system if you like a radio on your bike. I know it is a lot of money for a radio, but it is worth every penny of it! I purchased the Tour-pak recently and I finally have a bike I can go to the grocery store on...and that gives me another excuse to ride this super machine. I have been a Harly man for 25 years now and once I threw my leg across the saddle of this Electra I knew that "It does't get any better than this."
- Fletch, Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Speechless, I went from a mean Fatboy custom to an Electra glide Classic and I don't know why I didn't do it sooner. This is pure road fun
- Johnny P, Woburn, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-08 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you can get by the aluminum engine, it's the best buy in the lineup. The fact that it has passenger footboards, extra instrumentation, full bags, full fairing, crash bars fore and aft, and that black paint that costs extra on a Road King. It's a rider's machine, no frills. I personally don't care for pinstriping and fancy paint schemes, nor do I want a radio on a motorcycle, so for me it was the perfect choice. I did however, get the fuel injection and security options. Since I got it, I got the quick detach backrests for both operator and the passenger, the chrome fork mount air deflectors , and the black fairing mount air deflectors. I drilled the plugs out of the stock mufflers, but I don't care for the sound. Thanks to this forum, I'm gonna get some aftermarket mufflers. I didn't think I could do that without a program change. But now I know better. It's a bitch being on a budget. ---gman
- gman, Lizton, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my new 2003 carbureted FLHT in March of this year. I've just passed 10,000 miles, all trouble free except maybe for the goofy grin permanently plastered on my face. I traded a bothersome, disappointing Yamaha Road Star, and although I paid more money for the Harley I've not regretted a penny. After adding chrome pieces here & there, rejetting the carb (a must), and fitting Vance & Hines oval dresser slip-ons (WOW, what a sound!), the 'Glide is uniquely mine. Smooth handling, knockout looks, superb fit & finish, and top-notch customer support.
- Ben, Beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-06 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE STORY - Let's see how to begin this...at the beginning I'm sure. I worked at a bike shop in Georgia for a couple years part-time while I was stationed there in the US Army. The owner and I used to discuss H-Ds, but he was more in tune with Goldwings. Can't blame him really, they're cumfy and they fly on straights or curves. He and I built a Suzuki street-racer that I'll not soon forget; she chewed up Autobahn for mile upon mile at 155mph steady. I sold it to buy my new FLHT. I purchased my new FLHTI through Military New Car Sales Overseas (for US Servicemembers). A friend of mine recommended FLHT last year, but I wasn't ready for a cruiser. Then I "slowed down". I felt kinda bad when I first purchased my new H-D, because I initially ordered an FXD (Dyna Super Glide)in April, which would arrive in September. OK, all summer, no ride - ug; but it'd be worth it right? When my sales rep called me that Thursday to say that there was a fluke problem, and my order didn't get through central processing [hence, no bike] I was initially livid. But he's good, and he said he found me a fully-chromed low rider, and it was already in country waiting to be delivered! Cool! Not, it was $3,200 more than my FXD - now my wife was livid. So all weekend he and I searched the listings of what was in-country because they stopped their orders for 2003 Anniversary models. After 3 bikes, he finally found me an FLHTI [injected] with cast wheels. RECEIVING - So a week later I was picking it up. When I first saw it I was in shock. Why in the world did I go from a speedy 400lb corner-burner to this 800lb monster? AGH! Then I got the basic once-over from the mechanic; then I sat on it. WOW! Now I knew why. A Harley with comfort and a full windshield, and it was mine! I hit the started and she thumped to life with a beautiful "potatoe-potatoe-potatoe". FIRST RIDE - I rode her home some 170 miles in 90 degree heat - and I only stopped at an intersection to check my map once, but I didn't get off the bike. I was getting used to the noises, thumps, and torque of a V-Twin after a screaming inline-four, and it was great. At between 2-2,500rpm I did notice my head being buffetted in time with the engine, presumably due to vibration of the windshield disrupting the wind flow. With a huge grin, I stopped by to pick up my wife, and she gasped, "it's a bit big, are you sure that's what you wanted?" My only concern really was her comfort, she likes to ride but that Suzuki seat wasn't doing her rear [or me] any good. So she sat on it and said "I could ride this for a while". Since that day [26 June] I've logged 1200 miles around Europe. No leaks, one hiccup [speedo didn't register correctly once], and no issues other than scheduling my first servie at 1,500 miles. I wasn't ready for the cost, or the wait; over here things are a little different than the States. Anyway, My issues were small, a sissybar and backrest for my wife to lean against, and highway pegs, and fairing bag [for that big hole in the dash] for me; my pasrts list is slowly growing. Gina says there's an exhaust-heat problem on the right side only. Apparently it's coming up between the saddle bag and seat, and really warming her leg up. FINAL WRAP - It's everything I expected and more. It's injected, no carbs to deal with; fully faired, no wind to deal with; it's comfortable, no sore butt to deal with [mine or hers] and it's a 100th Anniversary in all black.
- Brian, Kitzingen

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since you can't test drive Motorcycles like cars,we often have to go thru several bikes to find what we're looking for. I was a die hard 1800CC Goldwing guy, but the side fairings with the radiators in them pushed my legs open too far and I was never comfortable. The Electra Glide, if we idle it up to 1100 RPM, idles as smooth as a Counter balanced motor. The ride is superior to a Goldwing(I've had 5) the front seat has exponentially 5 times more room than the short front seat of the new Goldwing. You can stretch your legs out even if you're 6'5" like I am. The back seat pad is the thickest in the business. However, the King Tour Pack, if covers about 1/3 of it. I got the detachable mounting kit which allowed me to move the tour pack back so all the back seat is exposed. It lets my wife, who stomach is suffering inflation, ride with my drivers backrest not even touching her. It's the ultimate touring bike. The most comfortable and best priced Harley there is. I've added cruise control and a cd player, radio, and a tall windshield. I could ride this bike forever and never get tired, other from what you get from the elements. The new Goldwing, has overheating problems, a front seat designed for someone 5'6"-5'8", and the ride is much worst with the new swing arm and screw height adjustment that replaced the automatic air shocks on the bike. You set up the tour pack right on this Bike and no Goldwing or any other touring bike can touch this Electra Glide Standard. I strongly recommend it to big men and women. I've had 36 motorcycles in my life of 54 years and this is far and away the Tiger Woods of Motorcyles. It's a winner. Buy one today.
- Bert May, Evans,, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great motorcycle for the money.If you really don't need the tour pak and the stereo,why pay the extra money for it?By all means,go with the Fuel Injection and the laced wheels.
- Robert Newland, Zanesfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was amazed at the comfort, handling, breaks and overall performance upgrade from my previous v-twin cruiser. This bike is rock solid, starts easy even in the cold with fuel injection, and stops on a dime. My wife never bugged me to go riding before the Electra Glide Standard.
- Norm Ross, Churchville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2003 FLHT. I went out for some break-in time Good Friday and after 170 miles still did not want to go home. From the moment I left the driveway I felt this bike was made for me. Smooth, comfortable, well handling. Great machine. This is my sixth Harley and by far my favorite. One of the stops I made was to have the windshield cut down a bit. I will probably have it cut even lower. I like to have enough to duck behind but do not like looking through it. Great bike. I love it!
- JP, Orchard Park, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A heck of a lot of bike for the money ! 100 % Milwaukee iron without the price of the Road King. Comfortable ride and nice fairing that really protects from the elements. Recommend the newly optioned Fuel injection on the 2003. New option for black tires without the white walls. Highly recommend it !
- Mark, Oak Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-14 2003 Harley-Davidson FLHT FLHTI Electra Glide Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WHAT CAN YOU CAN YOU SAY BAD ABOUT IT.I've HAD SOFTAILS AND OLDER EARLY 70'S FLH'SS, BUT THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST. FOR THE MONEY.AND IF YOU don't LIKE ALL THAT EXTRA CHROME AND SIDE RAILS AND LETS NOT FORGET THAT BLACKED OUT MOTOR THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO GO.NOW YOU CAN ADD SOME THINGS IF YOU WANT AND STILL BE AHEAD.NO PROBLEMS WITH IT. A GREAT RIDE.TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK!!
- TERRY BURGESS, ROSEVILLE, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: