Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles Reviews (36)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-03-20 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently had a VStar 650 Custom that was a very nice bike in its own way, but not for my true riding need of putting on some big mile days solo or two up. I've put 450 miles on the bike in the last two days and all I can say is wow. It isn't going to win any speed titles, but the way it pulls through the gears to 100mph is pure fun. The weight of this bike is so balanced that it doesn't seem like 700lbs under you. Rock solid at speed, but does run out of corner clearance quickly and scrapes the boards, but doesn't unsettle the turn...just gets your attention! The thing is that you just can't understand how beautiful this bike is until you really look her over. The fit and finish on the bike are excellent...far better than the competition. Love the EFI...just turn it on, wait for the injector light to go out and thumb the starter and ride on. The rumble is something that is imitated but never duplicated. I plan to do future updates with my take on two up and long hauls. This bike is truly fantastic!
- J Dog, Fishers, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-20 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife purchased our 2003 Heritage Softail April 2003 for my birthday. It has been a great ride. I have the Carburated model and the only problem I had was that in cool weather I had to run with the choke out. I found a dealer who said "let me put a sound package on" The cost $100.00 That was considerably less then I had been quoted. Other dealers talked about different pipes, air filters etc. all for $600 to $900. What I didn't know is that anytime you modify your bike, even with H-D parts, you essentially void you warranty. The dealer assured me they will stand behind the warranty. What they did was bore out the baffles, and re-jet the carburator. The sound is great, not too loud, and the performance is greatly improved. The down side is I get around 40 mpg. It is worth it for the added performance. Also I have a service plan with my dealer. For a flat, up front fee of around $1600 I have free life time service on all my maintenance. It will pay for itself if you are sure the bike you have is the one you want to keep. Mine is!! I started looking this Spring at a touring bike, but after test riding and talking with a number of individuals, some salesmen, they convince me the the Heritage Softail is the best all round bike in the Harley line up.
- Richard Rodgers, Hartfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-01 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my share of Yamaha's and Kawasaki's back when I was into dirt bikes and even owned a couple "metric" street bikes, but I gotta tell ya, the only way to go on the street is Harley. I recently bought a new '04 Heritage (June of '04) and feel like I am reborn when I ride! I feel like a kid on a new mini bike. I started riding some 35 years ago (46 now) and I know what I'm talking about, so don't even try to argue.
- Flyin Coop, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-15 2004 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Knew nothing about motorcycles, I decided after my course to opt for this FLSTCI 2004. No regrets, lots of jealous people though who own other brands who'd like to own one, but won't admit it. I average 100 kilometers a day , just installed the easy boy clutch, a big improvement I recommend it, of course the stock pipes are too quiet, however no one's bothering you and my neighbours still talk to me, I'm not afraid to wake them up if I decide to ride at 2:00 in the morning. I can't judge other brands, however for my first motorcycle I know it's the right choice
- R�jean Harvey, Montr�al, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned three Harley Davidson's since I began riding about a year and a half ago. I'm 23 years old, and I'm caught up in the chopper craze and the first bike I bought was a 2002 FXST, and I highly customized it and rode it for about 6 months, and then I did the same with a 2003 FXSTI, and sold that one as well. Both bikes had about $8000 a piece in custom accessories, and looked great, but riding with my wife was very uncomfortable. About a month ago, I bought a 2004 FLSTCI in Glacier White, the BEST looking color in the HD lineup this year. It actually has a blue tint in the sunlight because a blue base paint is sprayed before the white is applied according to the factory. Being into the chopper craze, the styling is the best of the touring style bikes but still had to grow on me. There is absolutely no vibration from the 1450cc Twin Cam, and the bike handles flawlessly. And anyone who complains about rubber mounting the engine is crazy. There is no vibration, and the rubber mounted engines actually vibrate more. Next time you see a FLH type bike look at the rear view mirrors as he's traveling you can hardly see what's behind you. I have already began customizing this bike with Vance and Hines bigshots, and many H-D accessories. This is the ride to own first, then get the chopper.
- Millican, Rome, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nope, this bike won't do that even with a ton of upgrades. First of all, I have ridden Harleys for the last 20 years and this is without a doubt, the best one I have ridden. The vibration is almost non-existent compared to my 84 softail. Balanced motor, 5 speed trannie and no kick start. Fit and finish were excellent. The first thing I noticed was a definite lack of power on the stock motor. I wanted to keep it quiet, but with the many nimrods on the road and a few near misses I decided to go with a Vance and Hines pro pipe HS, stage one intake and ECM. I immediately noticed the motor breathed easier and had more umph... Going from a 21" front wheel to a 16" is quite a change for manuverability. This bike doesn't like hard cornering. I prefer my 84 for twisties. Comfort level. After about an hour my thighs were killing me. I had to put on a crash bar and pegs in order to stretch out. I am a pretty big guy. If you are 6' or over, I recommend doing this modification right away. EFI is the only way to go now. Throttle response is crisp. I did have to have my computer replaced after 1500 miles, but it has been fine with the new one. Overall this is a great bike. You don't buy a heritage to hit the twisties. You get one to cruise. I am looking forward to retiring and getting back to the mainland to do some touring with it. Hawaii is nice, but you can only go so far on an island.
- Tcarwile, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-19 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A nice bike. Handles reasonably well although it is too easy to drag the boards. It is down on power compared to many Metric cruisers (even with Stage 1 Kit). It is a head turner, everyone loves to look at it. Should come stock with a 6 speed because 5th is geared too low for highway speeds.
- Bob Thomson, Surrey, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-19 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2003 Softail Heritage Classic in 5/03. The dealer was great to work with; it wasn't necessary to pay any premium over MSRP, amazing since the dealer is in a Milwaukee suburb! What I like: The bike is very well engineered, beautifully made and detailed, and carefully finished. Good job, Willie G; it just looks great! It is reasonably comfortable for around-town riding, either solo or two-up. The fuel injection system is flawless--I'll never own another bike without FI. The 88B engine is nearly free of vibration. What I dislike: The factory seat and pillion are awful, and induce butt burn in about 45 minutes. Both need to be replaced. The bike lacks power in stock configuration. In order to get a modest increase in horsepower and torque, it will be necessary to spend about $3,000 for the Stage I intake, exhaust and ECM upgrade, plus a mild upgrade in camshafts. A $20,000 bike shouldn't need another $3,000 expenditure to bring the power up to and "average" level compared to competing bikes. It is not a comfortable long distance bike, especially two-up. The rear shocks have a small range of travel, and will bottom out over bumps even with the pre-load adjusted for the weight of a passenger and rider. Adjusting the rear shocks involves getting under the bike with a special wrench and working like nuts to turn the pre-load dial on the shocks--there must be a better way! This bike is not fun in the twisties. It doesn't have the turn-in and cornering ability of other, even some larger bikes. A long ride on back roads leaves the rider tired after only a couple of hours. It is hard work making this bike turn in; hold a line and exit at proper highway speeds. It needs a rider seat positioned closer to the front, and pulled back bars and relocated foot controls. I'm 5'-7" and have to sit in the awkward "C" position when riding this bike. I like this bike; it's beautiful! But I expect to trade it on a BMW K1200LT or (gasp!) a Honda GL1800 this summer. Both bikes are far better for long distance two-up travel. If HD would build an Ultra-Glide with the V-Rod engine, I gladly stay in the HD family, but it seems that a better drive train is available only by changing brands.
- BikerMike, New Berlin, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ever since I was a little boy, I knew I wanted the "cool looking bike with the studded bags." Back then, I didn't know it was the FLSTCI; I just thought it looked the way a motorcycle should look. Every time I saw one on the road from the time I was 8, I would tell my mom that I would get one when I was older. Well, I'm finally older and all I have to do to see one now is walk into my garage. From the 2-tone 100th anniversary paint to the 88B engine, everything is in perfect harmony. I just put on a set of Screamin Eagle II slip on's so it will finally sound as good as it looks. I bought it at the end of the summer in 03 and was only able to get about 500 miles on it, but I can't wait for the snow to melt. My advice to anyone considering a Heritage is just do it. It is a decision you will never regret! Have fun and keep it rubber side down.
- Mike Ray, Westchester, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-24 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put about 1500 miles on the bike so far and I have nothing but good things to say. It rides like a dream! I often ride my 10 year old son with me and he loves it. It is a big bike and you will not want to do much counter steering with it, unless you like to hear your floorboards drag. However turns on the highway are as smooth as can be. I really like the feature of a detachable windshield which you can put on or take off in seconds. The bags are also easy to remove and it change the look of the bike significantly.
- Saad, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased a 2002 Heritage with fuel injection. Love the bike, its the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. My wife says I better like it cause its the last bike I will own.
- AJ, Orofino, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2002 Heritage Softail. I started out on a 550 Honda and worked up to a 883 Sportster. I now have a black Heritage and love every minute of it. I think that you should start out on something smaller and work your way up to this bike. I road the Honda for 1 season and the Sportster for 1 season. It's a great ridging bike and it's big enough for just about anyone to ride.
- Piglet, Midland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought my 2003 Heritage Classic the end of August. Last August I bought a Sportster 1200C. Hadn't ridden for 15 years. The Sportster is a great bike but it just didn't fit the bill for two-up riding. I was leaning toward a Fatboy, a friend has one, until I got a really good look at a Heritage Classic in Sturgis this summer. I have 400 miles on the bike so far and couldn't be happier with it! My wife complains a little about the sissybar pad being too short (she's used to the tall pad on the sportster) and the seat not being as comfortable as the sportster seat (we have a Mustang touring seat on the Sportster). This weekend I will have the SEII pipes and the new breather kit put on. The extended warranty sounds like a good deal and I may opt for that also. I really liked riding the Sportster but the Heritage is a whole different world. No more "unbuzzing' after a 50 mile ride. The transition from a smaller Harley to a BigTwin was really easy on the Heritage. It handles great and feels solid and secure on the road. Trying to follow the proper break-in procedure but it's hard!! My dealer offers a winter special on the 95 upgrade so I think I will do that also. My Heritage is the Silver and Black and I assume Harley will not repeat that color again since it was a special two-tone for the 100th anniversary. My friend with the Fatboy is now having second thoughts since he had to buy bags, windshield and etc after the price of the bike. More after I put some real miles on the bike and have the changes done.
- R Money, Buffalo, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-01 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best all around bike for the $$$$. I have owned all the jap styles and this is by far the best i have ever ridden. The people at Harley have it right. Maybe when the jap market makes it to 100 they will be close.
- Tim in VA, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-26 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st Harley (FLSTCI) and I'm living a dream. This bike is very smooth, unlike the older Harley's I've ridden (that wasn't a complaint, nothing compares to a HD!). This was my 2nd day taking it to work and all the other bike riders can't get over how balanced the engine is. I have the Vivid Black, with the 100th Aniversery package and it turns heads where ever I go. I added the Vance Hines Pro Pipe and it sounds and performs great! Worth your time, to consider this as your next bike. See ya on the road...
- Anthony, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike 2 weeks now & I have logged 1200 miles. All I can say is wow!!This bike is awesome it handles & rides perfectly. I would recommend this bike to anyone who is thinking about a Harley. Total satisfaction.
- Buzzy, Bedford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-18 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a Honda CB350 in High School, always wanted a Harley, but like most I had to wait till the kids were gone. Well, It's 30 years later ,the kids are gone and a dream came true. I bought 03 Heritage Softail Classic. I got the Vivid Black Fuel Injected model. This is THE smoothest riding bike I have ever riden. Absolutely no vibration at all. I put on a set of SEII slip on mufflers, Great Sound, and plan on the Stage 1 breather kit when I take it in for the 1000 mile checkup. I added the passenger floor boards and a touring passenger seat. My wife loves it!!! I highly recommend the FLSTCI.
- Farm, Satsuma, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My front wheel hop problem turned out to be a flat spot and I am waiting for new wheel to arrive. Dealer straightened out issues I was having, now I'm happy once again, and rightfully so. I rode the Big Dogs and American Ironhorses; they just don't measure up to the real thing.
- James L, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought Valentine's Day - with the lousy weather et al still have put over 5500 miles on it, with trips to Myrtle Beach bikeweek (6 hour ride), Rolling Thunder (4 hour ride), and Sturgis (1,700 miles one way and no trailer) coming up in two weeks. Had bikes for over 30 years, all metrics until this transition. Rinehart pipes, wheel change, numerous HD part additions too, it's a great ride. Also rode '03 FatBoy on Myrtle trip, and it actually was smoother than mine. Brother's Road King is similar at speed, but not at idle. Dealer was great - no gouging, paying the list for black FI. Great service and support too. No problems and nothing but smiles just thinking about riding. Owning/riding a HD is a completely different experience from any other brand - period. I know I'm on a motorcycle - and I love it. The FatBoy owner also got his at the same dealer - list - in just 4 weeks (two-tone). There are a lot of great bikes out there, but only one HD and I wouldn't own another brand (except as a second bike) again.
- B. Novicki, Roanoke, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-08 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my Heritage Classic on July 1, 2003. So far it's been a great ride. I live in the Clearwater area and so the only difficulty is the rainy weather. The FLSTCI handles great and the decision to buy this one was made with a great deal of research. It's my first HD so I was a little apprehensive about such a large and powerful ride. Research paid off and I am thrilled. I am going to have the stock pipes changed to the SE II slip ons. I thought about drilling the baffles but the wife didn't want anything that could drown out her voice so I think this is the right way to go. I talked to several riders who love the pipes and they sound great on the two Fatboys that I've had a chance to listen to. If you do switch the pipes make sure you change the air cleaner and get the ECM download. (So my research tells me) The engine and transmission noise is a little louder that I was expecting but I'm told by the dealer that this is normal. The only problem so far is the gas gauge doesn't work right. It was stuck the first two days at 1/4 of a tank. Since then it has gone to full but is now stuck there. HD says they will fix it when they put the pipes on next week. I've only got 400 miles on it so far but everything is running great. (Except the fuel gauge.) I will update this when I've got some more miles under my belt. Jim in Clearwater
- Jim, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-30 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the FLSTC 2003 in Feb. Awesome is all I can say! Handles great runs smooth and very comfortable ride. The silver& black paint looks great. I put on some cycle shack pipes and now it sounds great too. I would recommend this bike to any cruisers out there. Very Classic Looking Machine!
- C. Rinehart, Chillicothe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've just purchased a 2003 FLSTCI in March. I got the gunmetal pearl with the new Vance & Hines Big Shot Staggereds. In addition to some small chrome doodads, I replaced the standard handlebars (which I never really liked from an aesthetic point of view), with the fatboy style- which give it a much lower profile. I oriniginally fell in love with the bike when my wife and I honeymooned in Hawaii. Driving around Maui with tradewinds attempting to blow you off the bike, but never succeeding, I realized this bike is a beast with many different personalities. I've owned and ridden crotch-rockets, and imported cruisers, but nothing I've ridden has commanded the same presence or repspect on the road. I know that I will enjoy this bike for years, because my wife told me I can't get another one until my kids are out of college. By the way, did I mention, I don't have kids yet. For now, I'll enjoy roaring down the street, setting off teenager's car alarms, and long rides in the Amish country in the summer. If you got the $$, the bike is worth the mark-up.
- Chris, Prospect Park, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-31 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
but then it is a Harley Softail Heritage Classic. I have been riding for almost 36 years and this has to be one of the best "Motor Cycles" I have ever ridden. From the large headlight to the bright tail light and everything in-between Harley Davidson has done a perfect job in the sculpturing of this machine. I have owned just about every brand of the Nippon super bikes and have raced Kaw's professionally for several years. When you sit and look at the Heritage Classic you begin to realize that the HD guys took a bit of history from many of their models and coupled that with the absolute latest innovation and technology. As far as the vibrations go - well put your leg across the bikes of earlier days and then come back and talk about vibration. Then you read about price gouging - well as long as there are buyers out here putting the demand on HS to deliver there will always be stores across the world that will have an ADM (additional dealer markup). Go to Dodge and try to buy a "Stealth". Look at the bottom line on the monroney sticker and you will see something like - ADM $15,000 Popularity will always get the asking price and today Harley Davidson's are more popular than ever. So - suck it up and pay for a quality piece of motorcycle and in 15 years sell it for close to the original MSRP or you can go buy the other guys bike and lose 30 - 50 % of the value before you hit third gear the first time. BTW - how many of you complainers can kick-start a Harley? As far as that goes how many of you know what a kick-starter is? signed - a loyal HD fan and a true 1 %er Ride easy and "don't spit into the wind"
- Steve, Cottage Grove, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2001 FLHT Standard about 3 months ago for a new 2003 FLSTC. I couldn't be happier about the new FLSTC. It was everything I had hoped for and more. If you are buying a new Harley you owe it to yourself to check-out this bike. Great ride, great styling, etc...
- Ed Linberg, Richardson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-07 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTC-FLSTCI Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You know there comes a time in a man's life were he just has to go for the gusto. After riding Jap for a long time and being able to afford a masterpiece at my present age of 45, I am very proud of my choice. The 2003 Heritage Softail Classic with the two tone black and silver anniversary colors just blew me away. The real mind blower though was the ride, I had never experienced such smoothness and handling such as this Heritage Softail. After listening to many Jap bike lovers for years about the vibration of Harleys ect, They were highly surprised as I was, when they took a look at my 88B in idle. This counter balanced engine has to be the ultimate in state of the art technology. My friends, I do not pretend to be a motorcycle knowing all mogul, however,I wake up every morning with a smile on my face knowing that I indeed made the right decision when I bought this Heritage, This bike comes with a great deal of chrome from factory, The leather studded bags are a dream and very classic looking,Lets face it I have bought a masterpiece on two wheels. The looks and the questions keep coming everytime and anywhere I ride to, I'm just glad I could finally afford a Harley and I'm very glad that I chose this anniversary Heritage, I just had to have it....
- F.Delgado, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: