Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-02 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold an FX in 1982 and waited until 2010 to do it again. I love it. The Heritage has the best of everything - bags, windshield, foot boards. It's a great short trip cruiser and you can spend the day in the saddle. I really like the low seating - you're in the bike not on it.
- EJS , Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-14 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a mid-life crisis, told the wife, I needed a Harley. Got the bike and can't stay off it. Road my brothers bike 30 years ago, finally got my own. Everything is great. Ride, sound, maintenance, reliablity, whoaaaa! She's a dream. Should'a bought her years ago. Although she is used, the previous owner/s took great care of her. She's Aztec Orange Pearl, just like the pix, except Fatboy slotted rims. Wife and I ride 2up on weekends, planning bike trips everywhere, praying for more daylight.
- Gerry McCann, Andover, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-01 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a recliner. I have owned 5 differant bikes and none compare. I have had nothing but praise from others on the look of this bike. Deffinately a keeper!!
- Curt, Monroe, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I shopped every make and had to have this Harley. The bike is white pearl and has screamin eagle II pipes. It is very comfortable, fast and a looker. I can not comment on reliabilty just yet, but I was treated like a king so far by the dealership where I purchased it. I would assume it will be trouble free. Harley commands twice as much than any other brand and sells a lot of bikes. There has to be some reliablity somewhere.
- KEYGLASS, SYLVANIA, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-04 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It comes with everything you need, just add a rider and passenger. It rolls great on the highway at all speeds. I would like to see both exhausts at the rear of the bike, but that's about it. Everything else is great. You can't go wrong buying this one!
- w364, Des Moine, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-26 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Heritage for two months and already have 2,300 miles on it with no problems! The ride is very smooth with the balanced 88 B engine. I have put a stage 1 kit and Screamin' Eagle 2 pipes on and it sounds great when you take off or accelerate. When cruising at a steady speed the pipes quiet down so you can ride without earplugs but still enjoy the great sound of your pipes. It has good acceleration but I think I am going to put a big bore kit in it to really get some arm stretching! This bike handles great in turns, but if you lean too much your footboards will hit! I can't find any flaws with the bike and I am steadily customizing my Heritage and think it is the best H-D for customizing with many options for chrome. This is the type of bike that can look great going down the Boulevard or taking it on a cross-country ride in comfort!
- Cruisesman, Rockledge, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-06 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great looking motorcycle that handles with the agility of a much smaller bike. I appreciate the solid shifting of gears and highly responsive throttle. This bike is solid all the way around. The Twin Cam 88 is vibration free at idle, and provide plenty of power during acceleration. I have noticed the need for some quicker shifting due to the lower gear ratio compared to my previous Evo. The Screaming Eagle II exhaust also gives the bike that deeper mellow sound, reminiscing of my prior straight pipes. I have plenty of room for storage and enjoy the extra comfort the floorboards provide. Last but not least, my wife now enjoys the longer rides. :(
- Patrick, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-11 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I SOLD MY 2000 KAWASAKI CLASSIC AND PURCHASED A REAL BIKE.ITS NOT AS SMOOTH OR REFIENED AS THE KAW,BUT IT SAYS HARLEY ON THE TANK.I GOT IT FOR MSRP THOUGH PLUS 2500 IN ACCESORIES THE DEALER PUT ON IT AND 850 IN PREP.TOTAL BEFORE TAX WAS 21K,BUT IT SAYS HARLEY ON THE TANK.THE MOTOR SURE IS NOISY AND IT VIBRATES ABOVE 80 NOT LIKE THE KAW.WHICH WAS VERY SMOOTH,BUT IT SAYS HARLEY ON THE TANK.I TRIED TO TRADE IT FOR A ROAD KING BUT AFTER ONLY A MONTH THE DEALER WOULD ONLY GIVE ME 16K FOR IT BUT IT SAYS HARLEY....ITS CUT OUT ON ME A FEW TIMES IN THE FL.HEAT UNLIKE THE KAW.BUT IT SAYS HARLEY...
- BEER BELLY, EGOVILLE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-15 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 26 years and 15 bikes, I can state that this is by far the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden. Smooth and stable, it will cruise the highway two-up all day. The only "flaw" is that the windshield is too tall for me, but easily rectified. Biggest supply of aftermarket parts for looks and performance is a huge plus as well.
- FLSTC01, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put over 11,000 miles on this bike and have never regretted buying it for one minute. It has looks, power and reliability to boot. I've owned several bikes over the last 25 years and this is by far the best. I did replace the cam bearing for piece of mind because this one was built in 1999.
- Thumper, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-29 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
5 star plus Looking at it says it all. It has the classic look of the past and the technology of today. After you have turned off the security system with the double click of the fob it is ready to start. If you do not turn of the security system, you can not start the motor. The sound of the power can not be duplicated, either sitting at a light or taking off and going smoothly through the gears. The EFI (fuel injection) is the only way to go, no fuss and messing with a choke. Just hit the start button after the light goes out in about 3 to 5 seconds and it starts. The foot pedal for the brake is well positioned and comfortable and sized well not to be looking for it. The foot levers for either shifting or down shifting are also well positioned for either using the toe of the foot or the heel of the foot. I find its position available for easy use. It is superbly well balanced in the distribution of the weight, approx. 690 pounds. The low center of gravity with the seat level only about 25.6 inches off the ground gives the feeling of stability and ease of handling. Look, lean slight and touch the handlebars in the direction you want to got and it just reacts as part of your body action. To sum it up; it operates smoothly, it sounds awesome, it looks great and it feels good.
- Tom Patti, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The vibes are way down which makes the long haul a lot more enjoyable. I changed the OEM bags to Iron Bags. They are just so much more substantial. The stock bags are high quality. The OEM bags were just to close to that rear stock muffler for my comfort. The detachable windshield is great except it has no adjustability. I machined the OEM windshield brackets so the windshield sits back and is aligned with the fork angle. Then I cut, sanded and polished the windshield edge to my desired height. It was a lot of work but I just couldn't stand that windshield standing straight up. It doesn't fit the angles of the bike. I love this bike and now with the balanced engine, you can pound it down the road at 500+ miles per day. Anyone interested in my stock OEM bags?
- Joe Russo, Northern Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-04 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my bike six weeks ago and love it. My old Softail had my hands buzzing after an hour but this one is really smooth! Great power too. Much better than my '91. My only complaint is the pointy bags. They should have kept the rear of the bags rounded like the front. A trip to the saddle shop should fix that though. Other than that, it's a really great ride. The best part is that I got the bike at MSRP!!! Had to go three states away to do it, but it was well worth it to keep from getting ripped off by my local HD dealer (actually 7 local dealers). Ride free, Ride happy!
- Robert Clemens, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-19 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just turned 2500 miles on a 2001 FLSTC. Grew up riding and have loved bikes since I could barely see over a fuel tank. But there is nothing like a Harley, and this is the best of the best. Good storage (easy to expand, although I haven't perfect ergo's for a 6' 200 lb rider like me; the instant classic TC88B; and styling that no picture could begin to do justice. Ride one, and you'll get more positive attention. Or just park it and join the crowd of admirers. It is a hog, so yes it's heavy although I have no issues with the weight (but smaller riders? my wife won't even try it.) But its way-low center of gravity actually makes it a breeze to ride. I even love the stock seat- it cradles you and helps foster the classic Harley feeling of being in the bike, not on it. Maybe more than any other Harley, the FLSTC reminds you why H-D IS the standard and why the metric cruisers will always be just cheap imitations. If you are of the persuasion that judges bikes by stat sheets, then you may disagree with me. that's cool. And enjoy your reading. Now excuse me while I go out and enjoy life with my hog. Ride safe, ride hard, and ride on!
- Gino, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-09 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just turned over 1100 miles on this brand new FLSTC and all I can say is WOW! The bike has met all of my expectations and more. I put pipes on the bike and man does that new engine sound nice...very deep. Highly recommended!
- Paul, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-22 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year in Sept. While we were on vacation in Wisconsin around Labor Day, my wife & I test drove one at a new dealership just 40 miles north of Milwaukee. The ride was smooth and had great torque. I am presently riding a 78 Goldwing. I have had in the past a 42 Flathead and a 75 Superglide. I didn't want to get off my smoooooooooth GL and climb back on a vibration riddled H-D. But that was not the case. The ride was smooth and was what I expected. The 88 B engine is the only engine I would have in a H-D. I currently have one on order and thank H-D. for finally addressing the vibration problem.
- S.duga, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-12 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley and I love the way it looks and sounds. I never wanted one before because of the oil leaks and vibration. I have riding for over 30 years and have had many different rides. My Harley is the most conformable and love the way it looks. I would have rated a 5 star, but the oil that comes up through carb. [It has happened three times] is something I didn't count on and it makes me pissed. WHY hasn't Harley taken care of this? They know what the cause is [oil pump]. I DID NOT PAY TWENTY THOUSAND DOLLAR To have oil spill all over my engine and legs. Harley should do a recall on the cam and oil pump and get it behind them. IF they do not they will people like me will stop buying them and go back to other bikes. IN ALL the other bikes I have had I never have any oil leaks. And when I hear, ho, that just a Harley, I say bullshit. I don't care if I paid $9000.00 for a new bike, when something goes wrong, fix it.
- FRANK DUFAULT, SAN LUIS OBISPO

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Does not have the ride my dresser had but is close and a hell of a lot better looking. I was lucky to get one of harleys custom colors and it turns heads everywhere.{Candy Burgandy and Pearle Charcoal{ The new 88 is smoother than my previous Harleys and has plenty of power for me. It is a joy to ride,had to put on a set 2" ARs to get the good sounds. I would rcomend this bike to anyone.
- Dave Friend, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike; smooth, powerful and comfortable. I would give it 5 stars, but I have an early 2000 with the suspect cam bearings which could go at any time. H-D will repair them, but not until they break; possibly at 70 mph on a busy highway. Can't understand why H-D didn't do a recall.
- Norman Rifkin, Oakton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Moving from a 1999 1200XL to the 2001 FLSTC was like jumping from night to day. I took delivery on this fine machine on Aug. 18th, 2000. Within a week I pulled into my H-D shop for my 1000 mile check-up, everything was fine. A trip to Nebraska a week later and another to Chicago in Oct proved this is a superior ride. The mirrors even worked. This hunk of iron can cruise all day long at interstate speeds without killing the rider. It is really comfortable and vibration free. I presently have over 8700 miles on the bike and planning on a trip to Key West, Fla. after the first of the New Year. San Diego in the Spring, Rolling Thunder run (will meet the group midway) early summer and on to Sturgis 2001. I plan on having this bike for many years and so far it appears it is happy to keep me company.
- Max Green, New Orleans, Lousianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Heritage Classic from the local Adelaide dealer, Harley Heaven -- and that it has been. It was a big and expensive step up from my Honda 750 Cruiser, which in its self was a great bike. But the Harley is everything I was promised it would be and more. The new motor is vibration free and the ride and handling of the bike is first class. Fit and finish are also excellent. The big beast gets comments everywhere I take it. It is a magnificent bike. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Happy riding!
- Craig, Adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike bears no functional likeness to its predecessors except for looks and that typical Harley pull. Accelerating on the southbound uphill I-5 grapevine in 5th gear in is effortless, and, in case you've never been on that piece of road, that is one long, steep grade. The materials, fit, and finish are on par with the very best in the world. No leaks, squeaks, or cheeseball-grade components. I have been riding for 35 years, and owned, over time, a 1961 Triumph 650 Bonneville, 1972 Yamaha XS2 650 twin, 1974 Norton 750 Combat Commando, 1975 Kawasaki 903 Z-1B, 1975 Triumph Trident 750 triple, 1978 Yamaha XS750 triple, 1978 H-D XLCR (cafe type Sportster), 1979 Super Glide and a 1983 Honda Magna. Without question, this bike is head and shoulders the best of the bunch for pure quality. There was a cam bearing problem on some engines (about 5% of them) produced before 01/01/00 which H-D has addressed and no longer occurs. It has gobs of torque, acres of chrome, and draws admirers wherever it is parked. The vibration is gone from the big twin because of counter rotating mechanical balancers on the TC 88B engine. Harley couldn't have done this one any better. My only complaint is the exhaust. It is too quiet and I had to add a pair of Khrome Werks slip on tapered mufflers to make it sound like an H-D should. In all other ways it exceeded my highest expectations.
- Mike, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-12 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley, the best of the best right? Wrong! The twin cam still has problems. 5200 miles and the cam bearing failed leaving me stranded out in 105 temp. Think twice before getting a new Harley. They still spend time in the shop.
- John Laird, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-27 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTC Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No more butt itch!!! The ride is incredible. If you're considering anything else, you owe yourself at least a test ride on this baby...This is just like your Dad's Hog, but the ride would make you think you were on a Rice Burner. LIVE TO RIDE!!!
- Drew, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: