Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-25 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortble bike I have ridden. Of course, I did some modification because I like to ride distance. The bike is awesome looking and good for traveling. I would trade my 2001 even up for another brand new bike.
- Mike, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-23 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike does it all for me, I rode a hardtail Evo for 10 year's and had many crotch bikes as well, Included in there was 2 FJ1100's. Lets see, I push the button and the thing go's and I meen fast, hugs the road great, took it to Sturgis last year, no probs at all.
- Dennis Nelson, Seattle , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-03 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had mine for 1 year and love it. To me it is the best looking Harley. I like everything about it except for cornering. The foot boards scrape if you lean into a turn too much. A lot earlier than you would think. Otherwise, Awesome!!!
- D. Etheredge, Birmingham, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A nice bike, and it better be for $20K. Smooth and crisp response with the EFI. Exceptional ride, especially in the rain. Now the bad points. 1. On the EFI model there is NO reserve. When you're out, you push. And don't trust the fuel guage. I ran out once, and the guage said I had a half tank left. 2. The EFI gobbles gas in altitude. In Sturgis I was getting about 170 miles to the tank and my carb buddy was getting 250. 3. I threw a Hypercharger on mine and I can barely get my heel on the right floorboard, it should sit out an inch or two more.
- TW, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-26 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 42 and grew up on motocross and dirt bikes of all makes and models. I have owned about 20 bikes and currently ride a 1981 Honda CB 750 Custom and a 2002 Goldwing. I recently rented a 2002 Fatboy and rode it about 100 miles. To me it was too smooth and resembled a rice burner except that the performance was not at all stimulating. My 750 will eat it for lunch and my wing will wheelie through the first three gears fully loaded with two up!! the brake is in a good position for you to be killed in a panic stop. but, it is a Harley and it does have a certain SEX appeal that only a Harley has, so, to each his own!!!
- Andy, Tupelo, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-09 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a 41 year old motorcycle enthusiast for many years I have been through the crotch rocket stage (thank god I'm still alive). With age, you look for a more comfortable riding position and speed is really of no big concern any more. The Fatboy is really without a doubt the best cruiser on the planet. I have a pearl white fuel infected 2002 and LOVE IT. It is really hard to describe the feeling of riding a harley. You can't help but smile because it makes you feel like a cross between James Dean, Marlon Brando, Peter Fonda and Arnold from Terminator 2. It is a deep visceral experience like none other. I've also had 2 jap cruisers (Vulcan 1500 and the V-Star Clasic) and still everytime I passed a Harley I had serious Harley envy. They were great bikes but they just weren't for me. In short, ride a Fatboy and experience it for yourself.
- Abby, Ft Walton Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-24 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is more than I imagined.Looks great, sounds great, and works and handles even better. My Fat Boy has fuel injection and I added screaming Eagle 2 belony cut slip fit mufflers.Owning several bikes before this one I am glad I bought a harley.
- Dale Preston, Moncton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-09 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding two wheelers for the past 35 years with some 20 new bikes under my belt including H-D's. After continued pressure to buy a Harley instead of the metric bike I currently own, I took an 02 Fatboy for a test drive in September. To start off with, anyone stating this thing has lots of power must have been riding a moped all their life! My wife's V-Star 1100 will run away from the Fatboy in a roll on without any problem. When you shift gears, it sounds like someone beating on a big tin can from the inside out. Vibration wise, it okay, about the same as the V-Star. Since the mid 80's, H-D has said, "buy American motorcycles". A recent program on TLC stated that on the average, only 52-54% of the parts in a Harley are made in the USA. Good one Harley, by America, right! I've seen more American made accessories in a Honda shop than you see hanging on the walls at your local HD dealer. The dealer thought 20 G's about the right price, 12 more than I paid for my wife's 01 V-Star 1100. I thought, 20 grand FOR WHAT!, to stuff the pockets of HD and the dealer, no thanks! To sum my ride and experience with the Fatboy, "fat price...for what?", possibly image, which is worth zip to me. I am buying a Honda VTX. For what its worth, it too, is made in America.
- Barry, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-05 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just turned over 2700 miles on my 01 Fatboy and have had no problems. I recently went to the KC plant "open house" to ride the new V-Rod which was great, but while I was there I also rode an '02 Fat Boy to see how mine compared with a stock bike before I payed the "Harley tax". I was surprised how much improvement a pair of slip-on's and jetting would do. It seemed the stock bike would not build any revs. I've never owned a "new" bike (Harley or otherwise) and I had this $300 modification made before I picked it up. This may explain why riders that rent bikes are not thrilled with the stock performance. I think it runs pretty good, although it still would be beat in a flat out race by a Jap bike. Oh well...I guess a Jap guitar may play better than my American Fender Strat, but I wouldn't play one!
- Terry, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rented one of these for a day in Hawaii. I own a Honda 929RR and thought this would be an interesting experience since I have never driven a Harley. All I can say is get it into top gear as fast as possible, as it does not like revs. Cruise at about 50mph and hope the wind is with you. This bike sounds great at low revs when you open it up. It also looks good. Other than that it is slow, heavy, does not brake or shift well and handles and brakes like a log rolling down a hill. It reminds me of my first bike, a 1968 Triumph. Imagine, 1960's technology at 2001 prices. It is expensive. I guess it does hold its value, although I do not know why. There must be a lot of insecure males out there that want to be seen on a tough looking machine. I will take a Japanese sport bike any day. that's a mans bike. A Harley will never scare the shit out of you like a litre sport bike. See you in my rear view mirror.
- Greg Greenham, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-30 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rented the 2001 Fatboy here in San Fran and once in Hawaii. Runs great, looks great and holds it value for years. The 2002 Fatboy is a machine!
- Hawk, Northern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
have 2002 fat boy and love it new front brake position is excellent pipes air cleaner rejet and plenty of power (for now) great ride very comfortable easy to handle im a 1st time rider and i am totally pleased
- namhogger, San Luis Obispo

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-21 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rented one of these to try it out. Thank God I hadn't bought it! Transmission goes kerchunk every time you change gears. The engine needs Medicaid to go 75. Sounds good, but that's a lot of money for sound...and to be a member of the church of Harley. This thing couldn't keep up with a Japanese 250.
- Rice burner, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-18 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great ride - very smooth. Lots of stares with the awesome retro look. I have made quite a few mods to really customize it. Most important is getting some V&H pro 2-in-1 pipes. Adds terrific sound and gives room for passengers legs without burning boots. Overall, best bike I have ever been on. Get the /I model - well worth it.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-09 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As my former Triumph owner my 1st Harley, an '01 Fat Boy is the ride of my life! It's 11 months old and I'm approaching 10,000 miles. Two thousand of which were a one-week trip to the mountains of GA, NC and TN. This bike is the ultimate comfort machine for my 5' 8", 220lb. frame. Ten hours in the saddle and I was as fresh as when I began. I've put over $5,000 in a 2-into-1 V&H Pro Pipe, Thunderstar wheels, chrome brake calipers w/polished brake rotors, chrome forks/sliders, chrome switch housings and front brake reservoir, detachable sissy bar & windshield and a variety of other small items. The V&H Pro Pipe provides me 3 distinct benefits. The first is increased power on the low end. Second is a deep "throaty" sound that typifies the Fat Boy appearance. Third is the elimination of my wife melting her black boot heels on the original pipes. I've ridden other Harleys and find myself at home on the Fat Boy!
- Gene Hollenbeck, Fort Myers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-01 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What's up with the bearings going out on this overpriced piece of junk? Half the parts are from Japan,Taiwan and Australia. And they call it an American bike? AMF might as well still own it.
- Jim, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-18 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a new 2001 Fat Boy, Jade Sunglo, fuel-injected and could not be happier with it. Some initial thoughts: Awesome torque. You can drive all day in 3rd gear, 5 to 45 MPH. Smooth. The new Twin Cam has very little vibration, the mirrors are clear. Fuel injection is the way to go. Starting is effortless (no choke) and idles smoothly when cold. No back-firing, no "pinging". You do give up the gas reserve capability though.... that's enough for now. I'm hitting the road!
- Terry, KC, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-05 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my bike 6 weeks ago and have already logged 2,100 smooth and exciting miles. I have owned several other brands of motorcycles, but this is my first Harley, and I went with the fuel injected FatBoy. I couldn't have made a better choice. The first thing I did was replace the exhaust system. The stagger shotgun exhaust was replace with Python 3 slash cut. Now the exhaust goes under the rear peg and the other added benefit was the sound. I realize you can save money by buying a different brand of motorcycle, but feeling you receive when you ride it, I don't think you can place a dollar figure on that feeling. It's hard to explain until you own one.
- L White, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-11 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike about seven months ago and have had nothing but good times since. The ride is smooth and the braking is good. It's got plenty of power and good looks. Got mine in Jade Sunglo Pearl and I love the way a blue tint shines through in the sun and how it looks almost black at night. Wife says the passenger seat has got plenty of cushions and she likes the detachable sissy bar I added. It gets pretty hot under your right thigh on rides and I keep having to clean rubber off the muffler from her boot as the passenger foot peg is just under it, but that's a small price to pay for such a nice ride.
- Fat Boy, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2001 Harley-Davidson FLSTF FLSTFI Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my chrome yellow Fatboy a month ago and fell in love before she ever left the dealer. Extras include chromed forks, HD nut-covers, Screaming Eagle pipes, custom seat, tons of chrome. Easy to ride and handle at all speeds, great breaking, sounds great. I went with the carb version of the 88ci, and couldn't be happier with this beautiful machine.
- Fat Boy Rhino, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: