Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-09 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Fatboy used with right at 5,000 miles on it. It handles well for a big bike and it has all the torque you'll ever need for a bike of its size. The ride is comfortable just as it came from the factory. I'm really pleased with the engineers at Harley Davidson. (I think they may have ridden a few bikes).
- Elmer, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must say that this is one of the finest and fastest bikes I've ever owned! It took a 2008 Screamin' Eagle Road King to make me even consider letting this one go. Well maintained, loaded to the nines, kept clean 24-7, and runs like a charm! The 95 ci engine was just getting loosened up at the 10,000 mark... I think this one is going to get even faster. The rider that gets this bike will get a motorcycle masterpiece. Food for thought!
- Edward Freytag, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-16 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2000 Fat Boy in April - saw it on the dealers showroom floor, loaded with chrome and 6700 miles on the clock - I had brought in my 1988 FXSTC Softail Custom for service and got hooked on the Fatboy. 88 motor a great improvement over the 80 evo - really smooth. Much more comfortable bike for long trips, especially as I am getting older! More power also - took it on a 2500 mile jaunt around California two days after I picked it up and it was great. It had a detachable windshield on it, I added detach sissy bar, luggage rack and fox creek bags - goes from touring model to cruising model in 10 minutes.
- Mike Davis, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-02 2004 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Used Fatboy SEFI 4,400 miles Stage-1 After riding this for a few weeks I find this bike to be everything they say it is and more. My only complaint is the stock seat. But I haven't seen a stock seat that I liked yet anyway. I am a previous owner of a V-Star 650 classic. The fatboy handles as easy or even easier. Keeping this in mind, if you are looking for your first bike. Something easy to learn and something you want to keep. This is it! Wish I had ridden one of these before.
- MC, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up the "new" bike on 2-7-05 from a Harley mechanic (after selling my last bike 16 years ago) and already have put on 2600 miles in Washington, and in February no less. Did a 10K service when bought, and also replaced right front fork tube which was leaking oil. Bike is in excellent shape, is LOUD (Hooker DynaTune Shotgun Pipes) and FAST (Screamin Eagle 1550 kit with 45mm cam). She handles extrememly well, and there is no hesitation on the throttle. She cruises with EASE at 80mph with my lady on the back. The two up seat is uncomfortbale at times on longer runs, so I am adding a backrest for the lady, and perhaps some highway bars and pegs. The twisties are okay, but getting into the lean had produced some floorboard scrapeage. I really don't care though, as I bought this baby to RIDE and not look at in my garage. I have researched bikes for the last two years, and am VERY HAPPY with my Fat Boy purchase. She's fast, she screams, and she turns heads wherever I go. And best of all, she's American made. Ride safe... Peace.
- screamnfatboy, olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-21 2004 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 62 years old and have ridden them all. The Fat Boy is by far the greatest all around bike I have ever owned. Runs great, looks great, makes me happy just when I sit on it. These bikes are very easy to handle, and my wife loves going as a passenger as soon as I put a corbin saddle on it. We ride around the mountains of Georgia and love every minute of it. All the torque and low center of gravity make this bike the perfect bike for comfortable cruising.
- jim winston, blairsville , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-17 1999 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been wanting a Harley for about seven years and I was finally able to get one about a month ago. When I first saw a Fat Boy years ago, I knew this was the bike for me. The solid chrome rims, the cruiser body style, the fat tires; this bike just demands attention. This is my first bike so it was a handful to ride at first but once I got used to the size and weight, I have enjoyed every minute of it. The Fat Boy rides well, handles nicely and definitely turns heads!!
- Leo, Irvine, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-02 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the '05 Fat Boy in September, and have put 1000 miles on her as of today. I have ridden interstate, city, and winding mountain roads. The lean angle means taking corners slow, but it's a look-cool bike, not a crotch rocket!
- Bill Thompson, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-15 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally got delivery of the 2005 Fat Boy. It's been a long summer riding my 250 Yamaha Virago (but I did really love that bike and I'm glad I spent the two years learning to ride on it). Ordered a Fat Boy back in June. It's been a real dream to ride. It's taken me time to get use to the added power - I now can go more than 50 mph without having to do it going downhill. It has proven to be a great commuter bike - I ride it to and from work each day. I just hate to put it away at the end of the day. I did find out that you can kill the battery very quickly if you don't turn the ignition switch off so I will not do that again. Strange thing happened to me last week. I pretty much stayed at the speed limit and let drivers who want to go faster pass. I had a big black bike in the rearview mirror so I slowed down to let the guy pass but he slowed down. I didn't know what was going on and thought "here comes the mugging". I pulled up to the light and he pulled up along side of me, looked me over and said "nice bike!". Nobody ever said that to me with the Virago. I guess I now "belong" and I love it!
- Kevin Bitz, Reading, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought "My-Boy" in April...as a brand new rider. I love it...have 5000 miles on it, with two solo 750 mile trips already under my belt! Maybe Sturgis isn't too far to ride!
- Linda Wendel, St. Stephens Church, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2004 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just hit the 1800 mile mark and could not be happier. I was looking at the Road King and the Heratige Classic but kept coming back to the Fatboy and have never looked back. Put python 3's instead of the boaring stock pipes, detachable windsheild, detachable sissy bar, and floorboards for the little lady. The seat is fine for my needs even on long trips, but if you are going to have a passenger you may want an aftermarket seat. People said I would be sorry with the soild wheels on windy days but it has not bothered me for the most part, strong gusts will blow anyone around. Plenty of power and handles like a dream. have had no problems with anything. This is the first of many Harleys for myself. Now my wife wants to learn to ride one of her own. If you haven't got one yet go get one. I have ridden the foreign bikes, but they are no Harley. It's the only way to go.
- JMac, Cicero, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-21 2004 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say enough about my 2004 Fat Boy. It is simply a joy to ride and own. I did upgrade my exhaust to the Screaming Eagle pipes and modified the carb jetting. The bike runs and sounds the way I dreamed it should. I have ridden a lot of bikes in my 40 years, but, nothing compares to this. If you have the means I recommend running, not walking, to your HD dealer and buy one.
- Nate, Davison, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2004 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before I bought, I debated on a Fat Boy, Heritage Classic, and Road King Custom. Am I ever glad I got the Boy...great ride, great looks, a real head turner and attention getter whenever I stop anywhere. The custom had the looks (don't they all though?) the fuel injection and bags standard...the Heritage had the bags, the driving lights...basically all the extras I bought anyway, but the Boy just grabbed me and wouldn't let me go. You know, you just know. The only thing bad I can say about it is the seat I put on it (diamondback solo) was a little "hard for my tail", but since the weather has warmed up, it's softened somewhat. Taking it in for his 1000-mile checkup tomorrow, getting synthetic oil put in it along with a chrome lower belt guard. Can't wait to put the next 1000 on it! If you're thinking...don't hesitate!
- Keith O'Leary, Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-09 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned a '02 Superglide before jumping into purchasing a used '00 Fatboy with 9,600 miles. Having test driven a '99 FLSTF, I found a noticeable, smooth difference between the two. I just have to think about turning and there she goes. Sporting Vance & Hines strightshots, Kuryakyn Air Cleaner, and a rejetted CV, this Fatboy always turns heads
- Harry IV, Ulster Park, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the Fat Boy in mid May and by mid September I've clocked nearly 8000 miles on it. Comfort is great allowing me to ride until the gas gauge is in the red, approximatly three and half hours at a wack. Handling is near perfection except for the solid wheels. In the wind they can be a safety factor add rain and you've got a problem. It feels as if the wheels a being kicked out from underneath you. The bike is surprisingly reliable. So far it has got me to where I'm going and back home again everytime. All stock equipment provides a smooth, vibration free, and maybe an all too quiet ride. Changing out the pipes is a must. One problem: the shifter has stuck in second gear a few times and once in fourth. This started at around 6000 miles and was corrected by simple linkage maintenance. If it's the classic look you want this is the bike for you. The balance of vivid black and chrome is exceptional and I always receive positive comments on the Fat Boys styling. The 2003 Fat Boy is one fantastic ride!
- Randall Wareing, Poultney, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-12 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Fatboy on August 1st, 2003. It is still stock. I was surprised by how quiet it was for being a Harley. It's vivid black. I have arrived at the conclusion that the detachable windshield is a necessary option. I plan to add the stage 1 and screamin eagles also, possibly small saddlebags. I have put over 350 miles on it so far and no complaints. It is my first Harley.
- DOGMAN, FRANKFORT, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I PURCHASED MY BIKE IN APRIL HAVE 1200 MILES ON IT.I HAVE OWNED BIKES ALL MY 50 YEARS AND THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST I HAVE OWNED.INSTALLED THE STAGE ONE KIT AND SCREAMING EAGLE II SLIP-ON'S.JUST HAD 1000 MILE SERVICE DONE ON IT,WENT WITH SCREAMING EAGLE OIL.IF ANYBODY HAS ANY INFO ON THIS OIL PLEASE LET ME KNOW
- MOLBERTRICKY, NEW IBERIA, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-15 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden a two wheeler in over 15 years. I got a 100th Anniversary Fat Boy for my 50th birthday. All I can say is that is it the greatest combination of power and ease of handling that one could ever imagine. One other fantastic thing about Harleys is the fact their accessories (windshields and sissy bars) are so easy to pop on and off. In just a few minutes you can go from highway tourer to a sleek street cruiser! Way to go HD!
- Lee Beauchamp, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike. After riding an '81 Ironhead for a year,this is a much smoother ride. Even when flirting with 85-95 m.p.h. speeds seems smooth and power to spare.
- Johnny White, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 2000 Roadking Classic for the 2003 fatboy.Dont get me wrong, the King classic is a fine machine,I just wanted a bike that was a little less to handle but still big and comfortable enough to ride all day.Mine has windshield,saddlebags and backrest so its ready.This bike is a slightly stiffer ride but atleast as smooth as the King, maybe a bit smoother.Im not a big guy so I really enjoy it being just a bit easier to handle but still having the feel of a bigger bike.The only thing I would change are the handlebars, just too wide and low for long term comfort.You just cannot go wrong with any Harley, its just a matter of which bike fits your needs and this Fatboy is the best I have found.
- anonymous, anonymous, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-26 2003 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my new 2003 Fuel Injected Fatboy this week, I was quite suprised at how quiet it was, you could hear the workings of the engines above the exhaust gases coming out of the stock mufflers, a quick visit to the dealership and I put on a set of Sreaming Eagle II slip on's, suffice to say it now sounds like a H.D instead of a Yamaha Intruder. Anyway its a great bike to ride and Im enjoying myself immensely on it, can't really fault anything on it. If you've been contemplating getting one just do it.
- potato potato, Australia, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Fat Boy since November of 2001 and this is the most I have ever enjoyed riding. The bike is built great, is comfortable to ride, and looks great! The Japanese bikes may be faster, but even you pin heads who make a habit out of slamming Harleys have to see where the Japanese got their styling from.
- Robbob, Pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 chrome yellow beauty after being very disapointed with my 99 FXST and it was the best decision I ever made.The 88B delivers excellent power as well as torque,the suspension is greatly improved,the breaking is gretly improved,the extra fuel is great for the long haul.I added a removable windsheild,as as much as I hated to mess with thegorgeous looks of this beauty, I added a sissy bar and highway crash bar.I am on the road riding across Indiana,Ohio and Michigan and thanks to the improvements to the softail I am able to ride my bikeit makes work fun.The only problems I have encountered was,the paint chips easier than any bike i have owned and the solid wheels do catch the wind,you will need to get used to the feeling of having the wheels swept from under you.
- Bill D, Brighton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-27 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new 00 Fat Boy two and a half weeks ago and put about 2000 miles on it I sold a 99 Fat Boy to change to the new twinkie motor. A great decision I might add -- the bike out performs and handles the 99 by far. I think Harley finally got it right. No vibrations to speak of and I have only been riding a short time around 35 years.
- Moose, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-27 2000 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The motor is smooth, and the transmission is precise. It's my wife's ride, so I narrowed the seat to 9" and changed the handlebars for the HD narrow set. She moved up from the FXDL and appreciates the overall refinements. It's a little more of a stretch compared the FXDL so a set of risers with a 2" set back will probably be next. Makes my 97 FLHRI seem very traditional.
- Anonymous, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: