Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a newbie (Nov 06), I was not sure if I wanted to move up to a bigger bike having gotten comfortable with my Honda 600 Shadow. My husband and the salesmen tried to convince me that I would be fine, that the Deluxe would be much easier to handle than the Shadow. I had my doubts being a bigger bike. There everyone stood as it was brought out of the dealership on a busy Sunday afternoon. All waiting for me to drop it. The butterflys felt like 747's. I took it around the corner and what a great feeling that was. It handles like a dream, well balanced and smooth. It will be a long relationship. My husband likes the fact that he can trade off from his RoadKing to my Deluxe as well.
- Kim, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW! When I first sat on this bike, I knew I had to have it. The fit and feel are perfect, with Harley's lowest stock seat height of 24 inches, and large swayback handlebars, the fit is perfect, and is the way a motorcycle is suppose to be. More torque than I need and a ride that is what put Harley Davidson on the market as a true leader in cruisers. This bike turns heads at every light. Its vintage looks with that nostalgia design make this a true legend in the Harley line, and a bike for all serious riders. I added a few items to make it unique to me, and the additions are all designed specifically for this model to ensure the look stays consistent. The ride is so smooth, and with those Hines Big Shot pipes, the sound is exactly what you would expect. I have never had a bike where you can just turn the throttle in any gear you are in and it just goes! So, if you are in the market for a bike which in my mind and experience is far above the rest, this bike is the one for you. I don't want to look like everyone else, I want to represent me, and this Harley Davidson Deluxe it the answer. Live to Ride!
- Michael Wright, Jericho, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One word--wow--This bike is so nice. I told my husband it is time we get Harley's and just this September, we did. I have always rode Honda's and this is my first Harley. I will never go back to a Honda. This bike is so easy to ride, low center of gravity make it a breeze. I have a windshild, bags, and sissy bar; which all are detachable. As for the engine, it has the stage 1 powercommander III done with the upgrade air cleaner and pipes. This bike has more then enough power, with a great sound. I really like the old school look of this Deluxe.
- Robin F., Racine, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Black and White Deluxe for a year now. Except for a flat back tire, I haven't had a problem with the Bike. I bought the short smoked HD windshield, it caused more buffeting than myself or my wife could handle. I bought a taller one and the problem went away! The bike handles like a dream which I believe is a result of the low center of gravity. I am fairly tall and contrary to most of the forums I find the bike very comfortable, although some Hiway pegs would give me another position to adjust to! I am still looking for some attractive pegs to buy that can be combined with the foot boards(not the engine guard type). Looking forward to more exciting cruising miles on the Deluxe, and am trying to talk my Wife into buying one as well. Next purchase will be the Stage 1 kit, not so much for more power but for some more sound!
- Al B., Grande Prairie, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Deluxe in Feb. 2005. My first bike ever..as soon as I saw it I had to have it! It rides as good as it looks. Went to my first rally with my wife in Hollister, had a blast. She complained a little about the comfort of the seat, but had a great time anyway. The best part of the whole thing is the absolute freedom you feel on the open road, the Deluxe is the best way to experience it. Ride on!
- EJ, Los Banos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You be the judge. After looking to buy a Harley again after 20 years for my 50th Birthday, I did a lot of talking with a good friend who recommended the Deluxe. I wanted a bike to go to Sturgis and wanted the flexibility this bike offered. I can swap seats, add a windshield and a sissy bar and turn it from a great looking cruiser to a touring bike in 10 minutes, for real! The bonus was how fabulous this bike rides. I have never ridden a Harley this smooth. The ride to Sturgis was a delight and after 3600 miles, I can't get off the bike. The only negative are the stocks seats, for me I was always riding on the bar attached to the driver seat, my legs are too long. The stock passenger pillion was a joke, way too small. Not a single problem so far, what a great bike.
- Keith, Minneapolis, MN, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-26 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrecked my 2001 Roadking I have ridden for 30,000 miles. Before that I had a 1200 sporty. I wasn't sure about a softail but I loved the old school looks of the deluxe. Local dealer made me a great deal on thier last 2005 I jumped. Coming off a touring bike I was suprised at how nice the deluxe rode. I liked the handle bars being pulled back easy a comfortable to ride. Windshield is a must on this bike but get the old school one mad for this bike. Bike is in desperate need of stage 1 upgrade for my type of riding but stock should be fine for others. Very comfortable for my height but taller riders would struggle to find comfort. Have been riding for a few weeks now and am glad of my choice to purchase this bike.
- Eric, Newnan, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Handle bars are to far back and turned in to much, otherwise she's amazing at hauling my big butt around. Fuel injection is a must. Get wheel option or you will regret it later. Major improvement over last softail 92' heritage.
- thomas lynch, atlantic highlands, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I received a pair of 05 deluxe's as a gift from my brother..One has every available chrome accessory ever made along with the hoystein cowhide custom seat..The other was done completely in 24kt gold, every inch of that bike shines from wheel to wheel..The ride compares to that of my Rolls Royces, smooth as can be...The fuel injection starts those bike up everytime...Truly an american work of art!!!!
- Ed, Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-07 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike. It has great lines, great performance, and brought back the old school look with Harley's improved performance. You'll not be disappointed with this bike UNLESS you are 6'2" or taller. If so, this isn't your bike for long rides. It handles great in traffic around the city and for longer rides (I've only got 1,000 miles on mine so far) it is comfortable. I think it is the best stock seat Harley has put on a bike....and the kicker was. I just traded my BMW bike for this and my insurance dropped $178 a year. I'm happy with the decision to buy the Softail.
- Brian McElyea, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a wicked machine with great stability and comfort. It handles great and has plenty of power at 1450cc's. Now I can't wait to trick it out with some cool accessories. An all around great bike.
- daniel scozzari, fortworth , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-20 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been an absolutely wonderful experience. The ride is plush. The seat height and handle bar placement for me is perfect. I usually have to move the bars or change them with my long arms. The bike has ample power for its weight. I'm stoked. See you on the road....
- Jeff, Huntington Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been twenty years since I rode on the streets. I have been in the dirt for all this time. What a great ride, this bike handles so well. Stock brakes are nice, but I may switch them to Chrome Brembos, or P/M's. I already spent too much before delivery, lol. Anyway, I would highly recommend this to someone six feet or under, I still wonder if I should have gotten an R/K, with the air-ride to carry my old rear end around.
- Jeff VanSant, Coplay, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-02 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley and I must say... The moment I saw the "NEW" Deluxe I fell in love. I told myself that I was going to get one. To my surprise my loving wife beat me to it. She already purchased the bike for me as a 25th wedding anversary gift and had setup the complete turn of events that got me to the dealer. As you may have guessed I was a very happy man. It is the blue and white model and after driving this bike I would never own anything else. It fits my 6' 1" body like the bike was made for me the lower seat and the reach work for me just great. I have ordered the bags, windshield and sissy bar and it should be here any day!!
- Shawn Miller, Lake Mary, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-25 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Due to the poor weather in upstate NY, I've only put 550 miles on my Deluxe so far (vivid black). This is my seventh bike in 13 years of riding, but is my first H-D, and is by far my favorite. It rides and handles extremely well, once I got used to the single disk front brake. Looks are amazing, it's the look I've always wanted, in a size that fits me perfectly. I originally thought I'd have to replace the stock seat, but I gave it a little time to break in, and it's gotten much more comfortable. I can't tell what kind of mileage I'm getting yet, since I've just finished breaking it in. Power is good, though I've had a few upgrades. The Deluxe has fulfilled all of my expectations so far, and then some.
- grt62, new hartford, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-17 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my softail deluxe in vivid black, I love it, at 5' 7" and 150 lbs. The bike was made for me, I removed the baffles and the bike roars, I see a lot of chrome in my future.
- steve, canandaigua, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-10 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever. I took the safety course and bought a deluxe. My husband thought I was crazy, but supports me 100%. He is taking the safety course now also. The bike is big for a first time rider, but easy to master with the right attitude. IT handles so smooth. I can finally fly now. And the cool points for this bike awesome.
- dkubietta, elizabeth , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-21 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first new Harley purchase. I have bought other new bikes & had a Road King prior to this bike but none were as sweet as this Deluxe. I could not leave the dealership without the assurance that this blue & white beauty was going to be mine. The profile wheels are a nice touch, much easier to detail than standard laced wheels. The exhaust system is not exactly thrilling. In Canadian H-D's come with catalist mufflers, as in CA. I think these might be even more muted than the stock mufflers the rest of North America gets. I have a very retro set of pipes on order to correct this mandated short coming. I will also be upgrading to stage one as well. I too have the disease. CHROME! I've got to have it! I am constantly shopping & buying chrome. The only real disapointment with the bike is the comfort or lack there of, from the seat. I doubt that I could put in more than a couple of hours without being in pain. Perhaps I'll find a chrome seat to replace it with. Ha!
- Erin Francis, Langley

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-15 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first Harley was an '03 Anniversary Wide Glide; (black & silver). It was fun to ride, but I never truly felt comfortable on it, despite many add-ons. Now, with this '05 Softail Deluxe; (black & white), with just a few changes, I couldn't have a better ride. I get more stares and stop-off comments now, than I ever did with the Dyna. Day trips to Lake Michigan for girl watch, I mean people watching, are heaven on earth. It usually pays to carry a second helmut. See ya on the boulavard...
- Al, Grand Rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-15 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FLSTNI is my first Harley and simply put, it's a dream! Although I've held a valid VA class "M" license for almost 20 years I had only owned one previous ride; the Suzuki Intruder - and that was sold 10 years ago. So, like many other husbands and fathers, after a few years of ridin' I put fun aside for bills and headaches. Now that my youngest is 12 and I'm 50, it was time for some catch-up and the Softail Deluxe was the ideal choice. This review will give you some of my impressions as well as addressing some of the most frequent comments and criticisms made by others. There are really two ways the MOCO makes money: First by selling you a bike and Second by selling you thousands and thousands of dollars of aftermarket-goodies. Chrome truely is an addiction! Therefore, it could be said that there are really two types of Harley's: Bare bones ones like the Superglide and Softail Standard that you completely customize yourself and AllTheRest, which are in various stages of dress to appeal to particular tastes. For example, in the Softail Family, you can start with a Fatboy, or Heritage, or even a Springer and go from there. Now there's also the Softail Deluxe. And Yum, Yum, Yum ! This bike really IS a dream - to ride as well as to look at. Is this ride nimble like some rice-burner? Never! you're buying a Cadillac here folks, not a Porshe. You don't "zip" down twisty roads, you glide along to the confident rumble of a Twin Cam88B's throaty notes. What's the hurry? Handling of the Harley, while not really nimble, is still confident and authoritative. Any doubts and just give that big throttle a twist and you'll hear and feel it right away. Stability? With fuel and oil you're sitting on 700 lbs.+ easy. Poor lean angles and stiff frame? With 4.8" of clearance and footboards to boot what do you want to do? Grind your foot-boards into the asphalt? Forget all these criticsms and just enjoy the ride, not to mention all the looks and admiration from others you're sure to get. Not one person has told me, "You got a bike?" Nope. Everyone has said, "You got a Harley? Cooool!" Now on to some criticisms common to the bike and this review board. Ride is cramped for all but the vertically challenged. Some truth here. I'm 5'10" and the first time I sat on it (Newbie that I was) the seating was great, the overall posture low but errect and forward feeling. Very pleasant and confident feeling to me. Now that I've had it for a month I notice that sometimes I want more leg room. I'm not upset about it and there are fixes available. You can buy a Tall Boy seat for one. I also don't have highway pegs and I bet that would be a great fix for me. Everything about the bike fits me perfectly above the knees - I just need the option to stretch my legs out a little, that's all. By the time you add a windshield, bags, and a sissy bar it's just a Heritage, only you spent more. I made this same objection to the saleman at the dealership and his simple response was, "Sit on them". And he was right, they are quite different. The Heritage - for all its good qualities - just felt stiffer, the bars seemed higher, very, very upright posture but not so forward. The FLSTNI has an unmistakeably smooth and slinky, almost brooding feel the Heritage can't even begin to match. If the Heritage is Buddy Holly, then the Deluxe is pure Rockabilly. Needs better pipes. *ALL* Harleys need better pipes. But don't sweat it, the stock ones work just fine and once you start hanging with other riders you'll want to swap them in good time. My own advise is that the kindest thing for your engine is to re-map the EFI when you do and change the aircleaner at the same time (Which is basically what a Stage I upgrade is anyway). Why give the Dealer another 1,000 you could be putting into other goodies? Just wait until your 1K mile Service Check, do the pipe/muffler and Aircleaner swap yourself and roll it down to the Dealer for the $150 remap. Save hundreds and gain confidence and a better feeling of true ownership by doing some things for yourself - isn't that what Harley types are like ? Finally, my thanks to this site - The reviews here were very helpful to me and I encourage you to read them all and all the questions as well *before* you set foot in a Dealership. Happy Riding !
- Andrew , Fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-24 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I fell in love with the looks of this scooter the moment I saw it. I went with the two-tone white on black with security system, profile laced wheels and fuel injection. Before I ever took delivery I had my dealer install the 204 cam, 10.5 to 1 forged pistons, the 95" bore kit and ported and polished heads. WOW... this is a torque MONSTER. I love the bike. I put on the windscreen, bags and motor guards as well. My only disatisfaction with the bike is the seat comfort and location. The bike is "tight" and may not be suitable for taller riders. I find myself trying to "get away" from the handlebars and there's no where to go because of the high rise back bicycle type seat. The bike garners stares and gawks wherever I go. I love my new 2005 Harley Davidson Softail Deluxe!
- Ken Losasso, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-05 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The moment I saw the "NEW" Deluxe I fell in Love. I told myself that I was gonna get one. I've said that to myself ever time I saw one I liked. 3 months earlier I bought a 2005 XL (very nice agile bike), I outgrew the Sporty fast. After a 700 mile round trip to York, PA, on the Sporty I bought the Deluxe... my only negative remark would be the bars, I'm not tall but I can't get enough of a strech and I'm always shifting around trying to get in the comfort zone. I may replace with Fatboy bars but I'd like to see what they'd look like first. I sat on a 2004 Heritage with Fatboys and the reach seemed fine. I've added Screamin' Eagle 16 gauge pipes and the required Injector Kit... a little more get up and go was acquired. Overall I'm real satisfied. Now to sell the Sporty and get a Nightrain... dreamin' again!!
- Scott K, Aliquippa, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-03 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my FLSTNI in Watsonville, CA. It is just perfect for my size but at times does seem gutless. Stage 1 Sreaming Eagle will clear that up. It did on my 2003 Low Rider. This bike is fine for long rides if you are light. I can see that if you have long legs how it would be cramped. My fuel gauage has not worked since day one and a new one is on order. I did find that it worked fine if I filled the tank with a gas can but not at the gas pump. The float sending unit would stick @ 3/4 tank. I feel that this is an impressive machine and easy for my size to control with 2-up.
- Hans Kohlhoefer, Hollister, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-13 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really think this is the last bike I'll own because it is the perfect bike for me. Looks, style, performance, and the prestige of being a Harley owner. Not to mention the COOL FACTOR.
- marvin, hickman, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The looks drew me to this bike like a magnet. The bike I owned before this one was a Yamaha Roadstar. It was an excellent machine, but the Softail Deluxe goes one step further in the fun factor. I was never going to be happy until I tried the Harley lifestyle. This bike turns heads everywhere it goes. It is very early in my ownership experience, but so far it is great.
- K Ray, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: