Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-29 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently lucked into a 2005 with only 2700 miles on it, and I'm not looking back. Being bike-less for two weeks, and going through withdrawal, I narrowed my choice down to three bikes. I kept coming back to the Road Glide which I think is Harley's best kept secret. I like the idea of the frame mounted fairing as there isn't any wind pressure against the handle bars, and due to the aerodynamic fairing shape, she slices through the air like a stealth. Felt a little odd on my first turn-out because of the fixed fairing, but within ten seconds or less, I felt very comforable with this machine. The bike exceeded my expectations on all counts. I never want to get off this bike thanks to electronic cruise control, (every bike should offer this feature), comfortable seat, and a smooth running well balanced machine. Funny thing, when I owned the Road Star, a lot of folk would tell me what a beautiful Harley I have, and now that I have the real thing they just say, what a beautiful motorcycle that is Does that beat all out, or what? With all the instrumentation, I think you need a pilots license to fly this one. Hmm, where's the turn and bank indicator? When in slow traffic, the bike stays smooth as long as I keep the rpms above 2200. I also appreciate the fixed fairing which houses an entertainment package and two storage areas. The pick-up could be better, but if you want a bike that goes from 0 to 60 in less than 4 seconds, then get something else. On the other hand, if you want a smooth luxury ride with enough power to get you out of trouble, you'll be very happy with this one. My copilot also finds this machine very comfortable.
- JJ Porter, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several motorcycles in my life, starting with a Honda Cub 50 back in the 60's. My wife and I wanted a bike that we could both ride on comfortably for long trips. We found it!! We have several 400 + miles days and I have got a couple of 600 mile days on this one. This is one fine motorcycle. I am amazed with the handling of this 800 lb motorcycle. I'm not saying that it will keep up with a crotch rocket in the obstacle course, but I'm more comfortable riding this bike than I am riding bikes half its size. I ride on interstates and in downtown Atlanta and this bike handles city traffic as well as being stable on the highway. It doesn't offer the wind protection that an Electra Glide offers, but it also doesn't have all of that extra weight on the handlebars. If you're looking for something you can ride two up for long distances and still be able to carve the canyons occasionally, this is the bike for you.
- Alvin, Alpharetta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 Road Glide. I have had a couple HD baggers prior. This is the best HD tour bike. Handles better than the Ultra especially at low speeds. Problems have been the gas gauge and moldings around the fairing and windshield. Would prefer a higher windshield and the passenger does not like the factory seat. Could use better speakers and CB but it is okay. Would recommend the Road Glide to anyone considering a tour bike.
- gary, harsens island, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-14 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2006 and after putting 3500 miles on this bike I love it. Dirty air does not upset it like a bike with batwing fairings/fork mounted windshields. Goes through the curves at slow speeds much better than a bike that big should. Lots of clearance. My next purchase will be a seat that gets me a little closer to the bars. Feels like I am reaching a little too much. Not the bikes fault I am short. Feet to the ground is no problem. Will never buy anything else. I also have had a problem with the rubber between the windshield and faring coming loose and the rubber between the inner and outer faring. Easy fixes.
- Richard, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a great ride! The only minor issues are the rubber around the windshield and the weather stripping between the inner and outer fairing (both easy fixes). I've owned mine for just over 1 year and have used it for long distance travel and around town. What surprised me the most was how well this bike handles the twisties as well as the open road. There are tons of accessories available from HD as well as after market. As much as I loved my Heritage, I don't think there's a finer HD than the Roadglide.
- Maximus, Davidsonville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just rode to Sturgis, it's like riding in a Lazy Boy, put your feet up and hit the cruise. All that is missing is the auto pilot. Great rode bike.
- Drumdaze, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2004 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was fortunate enough to come across the Sierra Red Road Glide that was featured in the 2004 Parts and Accessories Guide and didn't hesitate making the purchase. Not too many glide owners in the South, but I absolutely love the bike. Of course, I'm coming off a Sportster, so probably a skate board would be more comfortable. But so far with 1,500 miles, I love the bike. My only concern so far is that the bike seems to take more fluids than the manual says it sould take. About 4 quarts for the engine oil (Manual says 3.5) and the primary was almost 2 quarts (Manual says 1). Transmission took 20 ozs. Looking forward to taking an October ride to West Virginia.
- Keith Browning, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-12 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Road Glide for three weeks and have over 2000 miles on it, city and highway. Been riding since I was 17 and am 55 now. Remindes me of a Gold Wing which I rode between Harleys in the late 80's and early 90's. I LOVE it! Very smooth, responsive and it sounds like a bike should. I can't belive I spent all those years on a SoftTail. Love this bike. Everyone should ride one before they make the major purchase.
- E. N. Chadd, Moreno Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-07 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first bike I've owned that fits my size. Very Comfortable and easy to handle. Just a real pleasure to ride. It is a vivid black beauty. Go and check one out because they are much better looking than they are in pictures, don't worry!
- Gerald Parham, Oak Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-17 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a road king until my birthday in april, put over 40,000 miles in three years trouble free. I put 4,300 miles on the road glide going to washington and back through texas to r.o.t. ralley. I thought the king was nice but having cruise control & cd player made this trip extra enjoyable, I changed the seat to h-d sundowner with riders backrest,2 in 1 pro pipe & stage 1 air cleaner. I averaged 51 mpg at interstate speed. No problems at all except trying to explain what kind of Harley I had. Out of an estimated 500,000 bikes I've seen problably 10 road glides in D.C. Except for the rain I encountered on return trip this was one of my best vacations. Thank you Harley for this bike.
- jimmy moreau, artesia, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-14 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Road Glide. Handles great. Very comfortable. More features for less money than other models. Only one complaint, the stock stereo speaker are not the best. They have tiny magnets and sound distorted at high volume. I heard another bike with Hog Tunes upgrade speakers and they sounded 100% better. I Plan to buy a pair soon. However, can still hear tunes at highway speed. Overall, very satisfied with bike.
- Scot Schroeder, Holiday, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-03 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is no doubt the best I've ridden in 30 years. The bike's fit is very comfortable for me as well as my passenger. I love the cowling on the highway, I no longer fight with the bars when trucks pass or I pass them as I did with the fork mount fairing. Arm reach is perfect and my wrist is not bent in an uncomfortable position and the height is right. Controls are very easy to use, sound system is nice and I like the auto volume control when I slow down. The fuel injection is a great plus, fast, smooth, response and no choke or warm up time needed. It makes that twin cam take off when you hit the throttle. Harley did a great job on this one.
- Jim , Peabody, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 Road Glide about 3 weeks ago, and have 800 miles on it. The bike is likened to cruising on your living room couch, it is very comfortable at 55mph as well as higher speeds. Performance is very good and handling for a bike of that size and weight is phenominal. In taking it through curves you forget the size of touring cruiser you have underneath you. Cockpit is clean, gauges are easy to read and illuminate well at night, sound system is great. Fit and finish of the bike is absolute perfection. Harley really outdid themselves with the '05 Road Glide.
- Rick, Poughkeepsie, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-05 2004 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Put very simply, here is what I love about it: It stands out, its comfortable for longer rides, performs great if you are out hopping, good stereo, cruise control, alarm, great mileage, and last but not least, you can buy them cheaper than a road king, a fat boy, an ultra or an electra. Plus it has more goodies than most of those other bikes. I would buy another one in a minute.
- J. Mather, milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-30 2004 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started with a 2001 Low Rider, being short, and I loved it, then graduated up to a 2002 Road King Classic, thought I was in Heaven, then I tried the Road Glide. I have discovered true escallation in handling, comfort and dollar value. I bought my wife a 2004 Heritage Classic and it cost more than my Road Glide because of popularity, hence the best kept secret. The fixed fairing is a detrement to some of my friends but believe me, the only time it is a bother is when I have to make a tight turn in my garage to miss the other 2 bikes. I ride down Live Oak Canyon to Cooks Corner and at night the headlights are terrific. I've ridden over Ortega Hwy much faster than I could on the Road King, the reversed tripple clamps make a huge difference, the road bumps are smoothed out much more and the radio even at freeway speeds is great. You have to try this bike to believe it, don't hesitate!!
- Vince, Trabuco Canyon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2004 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded in my 2003 FXD for the 2004 FLTR. Oh man, the 2004 FLTR (Sierra Red) looks awesome! I was reluctant to trade the FXD for the FLTR at first. The FXD is a damn good bike, but I needed something that would provide more light in the dark (I leave home before the morning light) and storage since I commute about 50 miles to work one way in which I commute on a bike at least twice a week. For starters, I sat on an FLHTCI and the FLTR, it felt like I was sitting on the gas tank with the FLHT whereas I felt very comfortable with the FLTR because I was able to stretch my legs. My right hand normally gets sore on long rides because of lack of hand position, but not on the FLTR because it has cruise control. I can remove my right hand from the throttle momentarily and rest it. The actual ride is nice because of the air shocks. The bumps on the freeway that would bottom out my FXD are nothing on the FLTR. I love the sharknose fairing because since it's attached to the frame, you don't feel the wind buffeting on the handlebars. Oh, and the radio comes in handy too! I will get a tourpak eventually. I'm still debating on which exhaust system I will put on the FLTR. You can't go wrong with Screamin' Eagles or the Vance and Hines, but recently, I started hearing good things about the Rineharts.
- 14_blast, Oak Town, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: