Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

JJ Porter

Miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-11-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently lucked into a 2005 with only 2700 miles on it, and I'm not looking back. Being bike-less for two weeks, and going through withdrawal, I narrowed my choice down to three bikes. I kept coming back to the Road Glide which I think is Harley's best kept secret. I like the idea of the frame mounted fairing as there isn't any wind pressure against the handle bars, and due to the aerodynamic fairing shape, she slices through the air like a stealth. Felt a little odd on my first turn-out because of the fixed fairing, but within ten seconds or less, I felt very comforable with this machine. The bike exceeded my expectations on all counts. I never want to get off this bike thanks to electronic cruise control, (every bike should offer this feature), comfortable seat, and a smooth running well balanced machine. Funny thing, when I owned the Road Star, a lot of folk would tell me what a beautiful Harley I have, and now that I have the real thing they just say, what a beautiful motorcycle that is Does that beat all out, or what? With all the instrumentation, I think you need a pilots license to fly this one. Hmm, where's the turn and bank indicator? When in slow traffic, the bike stays smooth as long as I keep the rpms above 2200. I also appreciate the fixed fairing which houses an entertainment package and two storage areas. The pick-up could be better, but if you want a bike that goes from 0 to 60 in less than 4 seconds, then get something else. On the other hand, if you want a smooth luxury ride with enough power to get you out of trouble, you'll be very happy with this one. My copilot also finds this machine very comfortable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alvin

Alpharetta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned several motorcycles in my life, starting with a Honda Cub 50 back in the 60's. My wife and I wanted a bike that we could both ride on comfortably for long trips. We found it!! We have several 400 + miles days and I have got a couple of 600 mile days on this one. This is one fine motorcycle. I am amazed with the handling of this 800 lb motorcycle. I'm not saying that it will keep up with a crotch rocket in the obstacle course, but I'm more comfortable riding this bike than I am riding bikes half its size. I ride on interstates and in downtown Atlanta and this bike handles city traffic as well as being stable on the highway. It doesn't offer the wind protection that an Electra Glide offers, but it also doesn't have all of that extra weight on the handlebars. If you're looking for something you can ride two up for long distances and still be able to carve the canyons occasionally, this is the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

gary

harsens island, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have a 2005 Road Glide. I have had a couple HD baggers prior. This is the best HD tour bike. Handles better than the Ultra especially at low speeds. Problems have been the gas gauge and moldings around the fairing and windshield. Would prefer a higher windshield and the passenger does not like the factory seat. Could use better speakers and CB but it is okay. Would recommend the Road Glide to anyone considering a tour bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard

Alexandria, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Mine is a 2006 and after putting 3500 miles on this bike I love it. Dirty air does not upset it like a bike with batwing fairings/fork mounted windshields. Goes through the curves at slow speeds much better than a bike that big should. Lots of clearance. My next purchase will be a seat that gets me a little closer to the bars. Feels like I am reaching a little too much. Not the bikes fault I am short. Feet to the ground is no problem. Will never buy anything else. I also have had a problem with the rubber between the windshield and faring coming loose and the rubber between the inner and outer faring. Easy fixes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Maximus

Davidsonville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just a great ride! The only minor issues are the rubber around the windshield and the weather stripping between the inner and outer fairing (both easy fixes). I've owned mine for just over 1 year and have used it for long distance travel and around town. What surprised me the most was how well this bike handles the twisties as well as the open road. There are tons of accessories available from HD as well as after market. As much as I loved my Heritage, I don't think there's a finer HD than the Roadglide.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Drumdaze

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just rode to Sturgis, it's like riding in a Lazy Boy, put your feet up and hit the cruise. All that is missing is the auto pilot. Great rode bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith Browning

Jacksonville, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was fortunate enough to come across the Sierra Red Road Glide that was featured in the 2004 Parts and Accessories Guide and didn't hesitate making the purchase. Not too many glide owners in the South, but I absolutely love the bike. Of course, I'm coming off a Sportster, so probably a skate board would be more comfortable. But so far with 1,500 miles, I love the bike. My only concern so far is that the bike seems to take more fluids than the manual says it sould take. About 4 quarts for the engine oil (Manual says 3.5) and the primary was almost 2 quarts (Manual says 1). Transmission took 20 ozs. Looking forward to taking an October ride to West Virginia.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

E. N. Chadd

Moreno Valley, California

Reviewed on 2005-07-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned my Road Glide for three weeks and have over 2000 miles on it, city and highway. Been riding since I was 17 and am 55 now. Remindes me of a Gold Wing which I rode between Harleys in the late 80's and early 90's. I LOVE it! Very smooth, responsive and it sounds like a bike should. I can't belive I spent all those years on a SoftTail. Love this bike. Everyone should ride one before they make the major purchase.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gerald Parham

Oak Park, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The first bike I've owned that fits my size. Very Comfortable and easy to handle. Just a real pleasure to ride. It is a vivid black beauty. Go and check one out because they are much better looking than they are in pictures, don't worry!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jimmy moreau

artesia, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2005-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FLTRI Road Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a road king until my birthday in april, put over 40,000 miles in three years trouble free. I put 4,300 miles on the road glide going to washington and back through texas to r.o.t. ralley. I thought the king was nice but having cruise control & cd player made this trip extra enjoyable, I changed the seat to h-d sundowner with riders backrest,2 in 1 pro pipe & stage 1 air cleaner. I averaged 51 mpg at interstate speed. No problems at all except trying to explain what kind of Harley I had. Out of an estimated 500,000 bikes I've seen problably 10 road glides in D.C. Except for the rain I encountered on return trip this was one of my best vacations. Thank you Harley for this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: