Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles Reviews (69)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-31 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 H-D FXD in July, 2005 with 14,000 mi. Finally, after owning Suzuki and Yamaha, my first Harley! I knew for a long time I always wanted a Big Twin, but I didn't truly understand why until I finally owned one. The feel, sound and power are euphoric. It gets people's attention everywhere I ride. The bike is reliable and comfortable: commuting to work, cruising swiftly on the Interstate at high speed with ease or twisting through The Dragon. I've got over 26,000 miles on it now and it just wants to keep going! Thanks to H-D for making such a great ride.
- buckeyenick, Adrian, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2002 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this carbureted Superglide on ebay almost two years ago (immaculate, 8,300 miles, already fully accessorized). I previously had owned an 883 Sportster, after numerous UJM's (1970's-80's Universal Japanese Motorcycles) and then a 12 year hiatus from cycling. To anyone who wants a Harley and is considering the Sportster as a starting point, do yourself a favor and get a Superglide. It's a lot more bike for just a little more money. The bike has just turned 30,000 miles, with no problems whatever. I have done only the prescribed maintenance plus replacing tires and brake pads, and without Harley's high dealer shop rates. It's a solid, low tech machine. With basic tools you can do your own routine maintenance. With proper care, my Superglide should go a long ways yet. For the kind of riding I do, this bike is ideal. I typically ride one-up 30 or so miles daily, with a 80-100 mile ride once a week and some summer tours of 2,000+ miles. The bike handles the tours nicely (it's not been that long since a 650cc bike was regarded as a big road machine!) and is a dream for evening cruising close to home. However, I would not recommend it without highway pegs or forward controls, as the stock mid-controls are somewhat confining. Also, it is not a suitable machine for two-up touring. Power is ample, but the seating isn't spacious enough for two people to go any real distance in comfort. Every now and then I get the itch to trade for a larger Harley or a metric, but keep coming back to my Superglide. The price difference between this bike and an Electraglide or Road King just isn't justifiable for the kind of riding I do. As for metrics, I've recently tried the Yamaha Road Star and Stratoliner, and the Kawasaki Nomad. They are excellent bikes, and Harley prices are indefensible when compared to them. But they just don't give the almost indescribable feel that the Harley look/sound/pulse does. The Japanese consistently build bikes that are just a little too smooth and refined. If they ever figure this out and correct it, Harley will be in trouble! So I will stick with my Superglide a while longer, and let you know how things look at 50,000!
- Richard Eggerman, Stillwater, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-24 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden for 15 years ( on enduro bikes)...Have always wanted a Harley but timid about the size ( and my age...47) This bike rides so smoothly. Easy to handle. No regrets at all. This model doesn't have many bells and whistles but that's how I like it! I highly recommend the safety course even if you know how to ride. Worth every penny (the bike and the safety course) .....Enjoy!
- Dave, Kailua, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles for 30 Years now all Kawasaki except when a friend loaned me a Honda and a few times a Sportster. I have dreamed of owning a Harley Davidson my whole life as long as I can remember and this bike has made that dream come true. So far I only have 110 Miles on her, but they have been the greatest 110 Miles I have ever driven. This machine provies Great torque with speed and comfort. I've owned Dirt bikes and been riding on the street for over 30 Years and I have to say I will keep this bike until I die. don't get me wrong I will buy another Harley down the line, but I will NOT EVER get rid of this beauty. I hope you take my advice and go buy a Dyna Super Glide FXDI especially a 2005 model if you can find one, because you WILL NOT be disappointed. Thank you for your time and Please everyone Ride Hard Die Free and Enjoy every minute on those beautiful Machines.
- JCB, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-02 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I just bought our 05 FXDCI Superglide Customs on July 3rd. I traded in a 99 Softail Custom and she traded in her Honda Shadow VLX. I thought I would be downgrading by going with the Dyna, but I was wrong. The ride is impeccable and the performance is arm-stretching. The only thing that bugs me is the narrow front end and headlight. When seen from the front, less experienced people mistake it for a sportster. It DEFFINATELY is no sportster!
- Sarge, Greencastle, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-30 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We just got our Super Glide April 28, 2005. It rained that day and I drove it home anyway. This bike handles great and runs great. I put new pipes on the first day, just didn't care for the sound, put a set of screamin' eagle 2`s on it and a lowering kit (for my lady to learn to drive). This bike has all the power you need to just enjoy riding. It's rained for 2 days and as weird as it may sound we`ve been out on it for 2 days. Easy to do upgrades and customization however you want. Took about 30 minutes to do both the changes. There is nothing bad I can say about this bike and I sure hope you enjoy yours as much as I have enjoyed mine.
- Kenny Krietemeyer, Evansville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike in over 20 years. I looked at all cruisers from all manufacturers. Love being American, love buying American. The Super Glide was the best choice for me. I've got 850 miles on it so far. I don't believe any other bike known to man has the level of character that Harley does. This thing feels good, looks good, and rides good. Take my advice, at least go look at Harley before you buy something else.
- Eric Preuss, Liverpool, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike because I really liked lowriders and especialy FXRs, but I knew I would be changing and adding a lot of things so went with the lowest priced big twin. Best decision I could have made. I haven't done a thing to it repair wise besides typical maintenance. I can only dream that my snowmobile ran as good as this.
- Steve Forte, Westrford , Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-25 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started with the Sportster which was just a little small for me. So I upgraded to this bike. This bike has plenty of power and looks to go with it. I am very pleased with my decision to purchase this bike. I'll be out to Laconiain this June, see ya there!
- chip leahey, blairstown, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-23 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been 20 years since I was on two wheels, the last one being a Yamaha 650 Twin. The Super Glide fits me perfectly! Just the right seat height, comfortable, plenty of power and easy to handle even with two up. I rode a Wide Glide but the peg placement was uncomfortable for me. Plenty of bang for your buck. No frills, just raw Harley-Davidson power and looks. I love it!
- Dennis, Port Royal, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2005 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have had in thirty years. I love it and so far no problems. I may have to have it lowered a little bit. Plenty of power and easy to ride. I want to get some different pipes for a little more noise. I want other traffic to know I am around. It will take a rider's course and some miles for me to get more comfortable. Best purchase I have made in some time.
- Jim, Escondido, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put approximately 3000 miles on my new 2004 Dyna Super Glide. With each passing mile, I am ever more pleased with the performance of this machine. Yes, I have boosted the performance of the EFI engine with the "Harley Tax" stage 1 upgrade (bigger air intake and filter, bored out the stock pipes, and remapped the EFI). The results in increased torque were worth the money, particularly with both me and my wife on board. The only negatives I have about this bike is that I feel the front forks could be a little beefier and the ignition key definitely needs to be moved somewhere up to the console versus underneath the rider's right side seat area. The key is very difficult, almost impossible, to insert while sitting on the bike! By the way, for your next oil change, switch to the Harley synthetic Screamin eagle lubricant... it costs more and it doesn't extend the miles between oil changes, but the bike runs about 15 to 20 degrees cooler with the synthetic versus the standard Harley oil... in my book that spells longer engine life. Also, the synthetic can be used in the primary chain case and the transmission making it a "one size fits all" choice. Overall, I am very pleased with my choice in the Super Glide versus the other Harleys I looked at, which included most other models. This bike is super responsive when you crack the throttle no matter if you are solo or if a passenger is on board.
- Roger Farmer, Marietta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-10 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not counting the 2 months I rode the 1200 Sport, the '03 FXD is the best first Harley I have owned. I find it impossible to stay off the throttle for very long. It could use more brakes like the FXDS and a steering damper if you ride the way I do. Even then I still get 33 MPG making black lines from light to light. The bars seem a little low but then it is a sport cruiser. I cruised from the LA Harbor to Fresno with one stop at about 85 MPH most of the way. My girlfriend was falling asleep so we made a coffee stop just before Fresno.
- Prospect Oil Slick, Harbor City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley Davidson and I have no regrets. Factory performance through a stock airbox and mufflers were OK but very restricted and lean. After rejetting the carb and upgrading the intake and exhaust, the bike was amazing. No stalling or popping and 12 more HP/8 lb-ft of torque. The best thing I ever did. Just installed a 14" tinted windvest windshield, the 2nd best thing I have done to the bike. I do alot of highway riding, and what a difference it makes. It looks great, too. Another plus is all of the things you can customize on this particular motorcycle to make it your own. The bike is stable, handles well and is very smooth. With the addition of the windshield, riding is effortless combined with the rubber mounted engine. You can't tell that you've been riding a motorcycle when you get off. I highly recommend this motorcycle to entry-level and experienced Harley enthusiasts. I was a little intimidated at first, but after a few miles the bike grows on you and fits like a glove. Good Luck.
- Jim C, Somerset, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-28 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The quest was simple. One black FXD. It took a month to find the right bike. I figured it would take a year to put together an adequate review. Harley has made a great effort at putting forward a good platform for the beginning rider (that'd be me) to get a big twin with full suspension. I'd been on Sportys and Softails, and at 6'2" and 274 lbs, I need suspension, power, and a bike that didn't look like the Harley equivalent of the clown car. At the time, I also needed a bike that was relatively inexpensive. Truth be told, I think the FXD is the best, all around, value in the Harley-Davidson family. I cannot praise this bike enough. The stock handlebars are outstanding. A couple of friends have ditched their bars to pick up the stock FXD bars. The only issue of comfort is the stock seat. It's a mighty grim ride after about 45 minutes. Otherwise, this is a great solid bike. I've had no trouble starting, and I live in Chicago. We ride in pretty brutal weather. Hey, once the snow melts, the bikes are out. Yep, I rejetted the engine, put on the Screamin' Eagle air cleaner, and new pipes. I know everybody gripes about this so called "Harley Tax." that's really not it. It's the federal EPA and state/local noise restrictions that make a stock Harley a bit anemic in performance. Like everyone who buys a new air cooled bike, if you want performance, you'll be modifying. I learned to ride on this bike, and I strongly recommend it for a new rider with some talent at riding (it's not a straight beginner bike). I just never was comfortable with a Sportster, but a big tourer was daunting. After six months on this bike, tragedy struck, and I buried a parent. Certainly a sad situation, but my dear departed left some money to a good son. I paid off my debt and went to the dealership to get an upgraded bike. Maybe a Heritage Softail or Road King. You know, after a bunch of rides and price comparisons, I kept the FXD. Remember Harley fans, it's got the same engine of the other two bikes, but has over 100 fewer pounds of weight. Instead, I added some nice chrome bits, a new seat, and outstanding (and roomy) saddlebags. Oh, yes, she'll tour like a Road King for 5 grand less. If you're looking for a deal and don't want the bike everyone else has got (Road King, Heritage Softail, Ultra Glide) try out the FXD. I'm glad I kept mine.
- Rob, Oak Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-14 1999 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike-best deal for a big twin! No problems of any kind. I have taken 4 trips to Sturgis and 1 to the Milwaukee 100th. Got 45-50mpg (British gallon=4.54 liters).
- Harley #1, Manitoba, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine new in 7/03 it had floorboards, windshield, stage one, and saddlebags. I've added a tachometer and heritage detachable backrest. I got to have the floorboards, forget the saddlebags. They are way too small for the cost! I ride mainly in Sierra foothills and it is fabulous. Mileage is great and at 3,800 miles I love it. The only one complaint would be rear shocks are way too light when riding two up. It will bottom out over RR tracks at 40mph with 125lbs passenger. Just need spring to get here!
- John Strohmaier, Galt, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-02 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my glide in October of 2003! Reviewed it then and am gonna post a follow up! This bike is a lot more than I expected. Put 10,000 miles on the first year, neglect the car and pretty much everything else...that's the only bad thing about it...You tend not to give a damn about anything and just wanna ride! As far as extras...Vance and Hines short shots, 12 inch apes(which really look cool as hell cuz it offsets the way the speedo looks on the bars), solo seat, tall sissy bar with no pad, and lowered it an inch in the ass end. This bike ran great when I got it and only seems to get better. Hoping to take it to Myrtle Beach Bike week this year. If you're looking for a traditional style low and short bike this machine is tough to beat.
- m031, Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-08 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like so many of the other readers/reviewers have owned other types of motorcycles. I decided on the FXD mainly because it was the least expensive and had a big engine. I have enjoyed every mile; well maybe not the first 500, because I had to keep the speed under the recommended 55 MPH. I have added enhancements to the bike, to include pipes, chrome pieces etc,. The only complaint is that the accessories are very expensive. But, if you look hard enough via the Internet you can find discounts. Otherwise, I am very happy with my First Harley.
- Scott McCabe, St. Leonard, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-05 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up mine in earley June installed python III exhaust system highway pegs , never had foreward controls don't miss them , highflow air kit , and jetted the carby , the bike is one sweet machine handles great , runs great , sounds excellent , love to ride her as much as I can , this Harley is a gem , can't stay off my bike for a long time its addictive and therapeutic to say the least , great bike for money , very content.
- Joe, Manville , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-29 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2003 FXD in May 2003 and find myself creating errands to run so I can ride it more. My only complaints are the stock pipes too quiet, and the lack of forward controls. I don't know anyone who has owned a Dyna for long without putting forward controls on it.
- Gavin Still, Fort St. John, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-17 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for 20 years and this my 4th HD. This is by far the best one. Quick, nimble and comfortable.
- Tom Delsordo, Little Meadows, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-06 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got it back in Oct.02 Vivid black put 3700 miles so far.This is 1 sweet running machine.I had the dealer put on the s/e air box,rejet the carb at the first service 685 miles took the baffles out of the stock mufflers myself sounds sweet and the performance is right on the money.If you are looking for a true road warrior go for the FXD!
- Buzz Chatman, Bedford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2003 FXD in October 2002. I fell in love with it my first ride, but wanted to wait awhile before I bragged or complained about it. Let me tell you, for the money, this is an awesome ride. It's reliable, handles well and has great power and gets looks and compliments everywhere it goes. There are many after market goodies available to make customizing very easy. Some people say it's a Sportster with a big engine. I rode sportsters, it's nothing like a Sportster. If you want to own a Harley that performs just as good as the expensive ones, this is it.
- Frank M. Semeraro, West Paterson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-21 2003 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Diggin this bike big time. Had a 1997 Suzuki Intruder 800. Not enough power like this FDX. I jumped on this great buy.
- Dino, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: