Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-03-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks. Like some reviewers here, I've had a long history of riding metric bikes. These days, H-D is making a reliable bike with all the Harley mystique intact. Still freezing my butt now, so not getting to put a lot of miles on this machine, but looking forward to nice weather and the chance to do some serious riding. I agree with the reviewers that have mentioned the lack of a tach. This will be one of my first upgrades. I bought my Super Glide used and the previous owner added a ton of chrome, but as y'all know, there can never be enough chrome, so I've compiled an extensive 'wish list' already. Only complaint I have is the inflated price of the H-D's, but of course they also hold their value much better than any other bike, so I guess I can live with it. Highly recommend this bike!
- Fred, Wilmington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved up from a Sportster to the Super Glide. What a difference! I absolutely love my new bike. It handles great. I get a lot of looks. With the upgrades I made, it looks more like a custom bike.
- Pj Broussard, Sour Lake, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far, I'm impressed. This is my first Harley after 24 years of owning Japanese motorcyles. So far, I've only put 210 miles on it. This weekend I got to take it on my a favorite back road and I was pleasantly suprised by the handling. It won't hang with my Honda Superhawk, but it was nice and stable and nothing hard touched the ground. It could use a bit more power. Today I rode it to work so some of the guys could see it. All was good until the ride home when the shift knob went bye-bye as I shifted into first at a stop light. The biggest down side is the cost of Harley's accessories. I had a Tachometer installed for a wopping $365 ($265 for the Tach and $100 for labor). WOW!
- J. Wilson, Round Rock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-15 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 4K miles on my '04 Super Glide. I did a Stage I mod (high flow air cleaner (Big SuckerII), carb kit and Python, and Quickstrikes and it really made a difference in the feel of my bike. Before, riding was fun, now it's a blast. The sound of the Pythons is terrific. However, the heat shields show the welds as bumps on the outside! I didn't expect this from a Vance & Hines product. The bike has more top end power and sounds great! I also painted my spokes and rear sprocket black and removed the stock air cleaner cover.
- tim, cleburne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
While it is early this seems to be a great bike. I just got a 05 Super Glide Custom which has the chrome engine. This looks like it is going to be a lot of fun.
- Douglas Daniel, Lewisville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2004 fxdi superglide,I love everything about this bike, the way it sounds, the way it rides, and the way it looks. The dealer put the screamin eagle slash down exhaust, k&n air filter, and reprogram the fuel injection. I put some highway pegs that are stock on the lowrider on my bike. You can really stretch your legs out. I am really pleased with the power this bike puts out. A mechanic at my dealer said this bike is the choice for the drag strip. I don`t think I'll be doing that. This one will be in my garage for many years to come.
- Mark Chatagnier, Gray, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-31 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my fxdi last Saturday and I can't get off it. This is my 1st big bike and it handles great. I was looking at the 1200C sporster, but went with this bike. I am so glad I did. The bike has a low center of gravity and you can throw this bike into the turns and it will respond well. I had the stage 1 set up done with V & H Staight Shots and it sounds awsome. I past the 500 mile break in point yesterday and I opened her up to celerbrate. The seat feels good and I put highway pegs on I was a little cramped with just the mid controls. If you want a bike that you could keep forever this could be the one. I am so glad that I went with the Dyna over the Sporty. I also love the EFI, no choke or petcock to mess with, just hit the starer and your ready to rock. Ride safe and have fun.
- Charlie, Edison, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-23 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an FXDI last week. I've had a couple of used Sportsters and a Shovelhead years ago, but this is my first new Harley. So far I'm very satisfied with it. With the rubber mounted engine you can actually use the mirrors and see traffic. The torque is massive pulling away from the lights. Can't have too much fun until break in is complete. Build quality seems much better than years ago. Hope to enjoy this bike for years to come.
- Bob, Anchorage, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a brand new Super Glide and I think it is great. I love all the chrome and I think the new style gage on the tank looks better then the one on the Low rider. The bike is the perfect height for a guy my size and it feels really well balance. The FXD is an easy bike to ride and has a lot of power. My only complaint is that the stock pipes are to quiet. You also have to give the bike awhile to warm up with the carbureted one.
- Casey McCullin, San Clemente, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is more than I had hoped, other than the stock bar being a somewhat uncomfortable reach. I purchased this bike so my wife would spend more time riding with me and so I could say, "I owned a Harley" at some time in my life. The bike rides well and actually handles sweepers better than my old BMW RS. The power delivery is pure Harley, in my mind...gobs of torque when you crack the throttle. I'm anxious to get my 500 miles in so I can really see what she'll do. My wife loves the ride though I'm going to add passenger footboards as the factory pegs cause her to bend her injured knee uncomfortably. The bike gets rave comments from my co-workers on how attractive it is. The leather bags really add to the look. I really like the leather accessories though the Harley bags are noticeably smaller in capacity than my BMW bags. Also, there is neither any under seat storage or stock helmet locks. It would be nice to be able to leave the helmets with the bike when convenient though add-on locks are available. The stock rider pegs are very good at isolating my feet from vibration. Also, even though I've read complaints about vibration from other posters, it's nothing compared to the hand numbing vibration I got from my old Honda 750 4 banger. Though it was suggested I try to find an anniversary edition bike, I found the availability of fuel injection and a 2-year warranty pretty hard to beat. Also, the dealer was cranking 'em out at factory MSRP instead of jacking the price up 4 grand for riding season (like others I called). I didn't even pay shipping or dealer prep! The bike starts quickly, shifts cleanly (and quietly) and feels very stable when accelerating from a dead stop. The EFI version lacks a petcock so, you can't select reserve. However, there is a low fuel light that is really handy, along with the electric fuel gauge. The horn is too embarrassing to use and the turn signals are somewhat of a chore to learn as they are on separate ends of the handlebar. The self-canceling feature has never failed, though and the emergency flasher feature is too cool. All in all, I can hardly wait till I'm ready to buy my next Harley...
- Randy, Colville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like my 04, black FXD but there is some room for improvement. The looks, sound and handling are outstanding. H-D really paid a lot of attention to detail on this bike. I also like that it gets 50mpg. The final drive is a belt, which I prefer over a shaft, and it has a nice "aircraft" style fuel cap and gas gauge on the tank. At low speeds it is a vibrator though. Hopefully this will subside once I break in the rubber motor mounts. When I go over railroad tracks the front end makes a disconcerting rattle sound. I don't know what this is. The shifting is clunky and noisy and sometimes I will be in neutral and the light will not be on. It has no tachometer. The turn signals don't always cancel but generally they work well. The horn button is too close to the turn signal and is not loud enough. Overall though I really like this bike. It is a relatively simple, reliable machine that does not leak oil. In my honest opinion it is THE best-looking H-D with the exception of the Road King Custom. I would be much happier though if H-D offered this bike with an 88b (balanced) motor. Currently the only Harley with a rubber mounted and balanced motor is the V-rod.
- tab, cleburne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-29 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up the FXDI (black) a week ago and was able to ride for 2 days because of decent weather. It has great acceleration, smooth shifting, and handles twisty's with ease. I have added some accessories to include a tachometer, new seat, the dealer completed forward controls and stage one. The pipes sound nice (not too loud) and the smooth ride is exhilarating. I will follow up this review when I have more miles on the bike.
- JAPCODE, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-28 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2004 FXD today and put 60 miles on it, not an easy feat in Michigan, in February. It was everything I was looking for in a bike. I paid the Harley tax up front and it runs and sounds perfect. The ride was excellent, but cold. I will update this as the weather changes and I can get more time in the saddle.
- Zues, Adrian, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-20 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only put a little over 40 miles on my new Superglide so a full review will be forthcoming. For now though I must say that during the break-in period on this bike it vibrates more than I thought it would. The dealer said that the mounts are still a bit stiff. Everybody tells me that once I get this bike up to speed it smoothes out. So far I haven't had a ton of fun on it like I thought I would. Maybe I'll give it some time. These are the reasons I bought a Superglide over all the other bikes out there: It looks and sounds great, The Superglide is a straight forward simple machine that I can wrench on if and when I have to, The twin cam 88ci engine is a thing of beauty and there is no shortage of aftermarket mods for it, It doesn't leak oil, and has torque to spare, My grandkids (providing I have them) will be able to get parts for this bike long after I am gone, I don't want to race around corners or pull wheel stands. I just want to cruise down the road at a reasonable, safe speed or do a long haul across the country with some fellow Hardly men and women, It has a separate engine and transmission, You don't find any Harley's in the scrap yards but there is no shortage of Japanese "super-bikes" there. This is not a throw away bike. When the engine needs a rebuild it will be worth doing. If the transmission breaks I can order any number of aftermarket transmissions made for this bike. I can always order another V-twin from S&S if I desire. On a Japanese bike when the motor goes it's generally not worth rebuilding, and it has a simple, belt drive not a crappy shaft.
- drag, cleburne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-17 2004 Harley-Davidson FXD FXDI Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2004 FXDI a few weeks ago. I really love this bike. I have found it to be the best multi-purpose bike I have ever owned. Dress it up for touring with a detachable windshield and saddlebags or strip those off for a day cruiser. The bike is heavy enough at 622 lbs (dry) to feel stable on the highway yet still has good handling in the tight corners. I only have 400 miles on it now, but will be taking a road trip from Pac NW to Southern Cal the end of March. I will update my review after that trip.
- David Farrell-Garcia, Oak Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: