Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Diana

McKinney, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a Yamaha 650 V Star, hit a tree and broke my left wrist 2 plates and 9 pins, I new I had to ride again. The Yamaha was not the bike for me. The Low Rider fits me well and handles even better! The only problem is the seat is uncomfortable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Sarrouf

North Adams, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2009-04-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 2005 Lowrider in Feb of 09. Today was the first day I rode it. Picked it up from the dealer after winter storage and this day could not come fast enough. I was coming off of a Honda Shadow VLX 600 and that was a great bike to get back into the saddle with after a 10 year hiatus. I soon realized that I was going to need a bigger machine. I looked at the Sportster 1200 as well as the Lowrider. I went to buy a Sportster and it sold before I got to the dealer, and BOY am I glad I fell onto the Lowrider. I was a little intimidated with the lowrider at first but after 5 minutes of riding, it was like I had owned it all along. I can't get over how SMOOTH this bike rides. She has a nice low center of gravity, making it easy to handle especially in the corners. She takes the bumps like they are nothing, and wind resistance, wow she trucks right along. VERY VERY VERY Stable machine. The Fuel injection is great, she starts right up no problem. The stock seat for me is comfortable, then again I am not very tall so that probably has a lot to do with it. I have no problem flat footing the bike at all, the seat height is perfect. If you are a smaller rider, male or female, this would make the perfect bike. The only two complaints I have is, 1: The Mid controls take a little getting use to. 2: The Initial price to get into this machine is higher than it should be. If you have experience riding and are contemplating a Sportster, do yourself a favor and move into the Dyna series if you can afford to. You don't have to buy new. You will be happy you did, trust me!!! My final words, this is a top Notch, quality built, stable Smooooth Ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Deerfield, New York

Reviewed on 2005-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a total of 1 mile riding on two wheels over a motor. I had to get a H.D. as my first bike. Powder black coating with pimped out chroming is very eye appealing. Feet touch the ground easily for my height which was ideal. Re-sale value on these bikes is tremendous. don't loose much off the lot with a H.D. Attention to detail is great!!! No complaints! Based on carb'ed not fuel injected. Also, last year H.D. is putting out carb'ed bikes! Should add value to the right customer in years to come!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glenn

Philadelphia Area, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-12-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased the Low Rider as my first motorcycle, instead of starting out with a smaller bike. It's turned out to be a great decision! It handles much better than I expected for its weight class. Quick maneuvers in traffic or in tight places are not a problem. Very smooth ride out on the road with good feel. Brakes are excellent once broken in sufficently. This is the 2005 model with fuel injection; black with lava red. Looks great as is. No real need at this time to add chrome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lou Dockery II

Dayton, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love this bike. It's fairly fast, handles well, and is a blast to ride. I have the fuel injected model and it starts right up everytime. I don't think H-D makes a better looking bike. I also like the Deuce but the Low Rider suites my eye better. While I have made a lot of modifications to my bike, and plan on doing even more, stock is still a work of art.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Aid

Norfolk, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Powerful bike. Pulls through gears with no hesitation and will easily accelerate with a passenger from 75 to 95 mph effortlessly. With that said, this bike is a comfortable cruiser. The factory highway pegs and recently installed passenger backrest provide for an enjoyable ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike

chula vista, California

Reviewed on 2004-10-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since moving up this year to my '05 Low Rider, I'm one happy Harley owner. This bike just fits me to a Tee. Love to ride on the back roads, bike corners well and eats up the miles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phyllis M

Springfield, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Coming from a 1999 Sportster 883 it's like riding a Cadillac, even though my husband thinks it rides like a rock, he owns a Honda Shadow Spirit. The bike is very comfortable(it should be for the price). Mileage is excellent, rode 175 nonstop miles on one trip, and didn't even hit reserve. Acceleration is excellent. I have developed a leak at the gear shift shaft where the gear shift bolts on, at least it's under warranty. After all it is a Harley. I also have a problem scraping the pipes and bottom of engine when cornering. We stiffened the shocks two clicks but I still occasionally scrape. Taking a trip to California in a few days, if it breaks down I'll have to consider switching brands. Once my Sportster hit 23000 miles it broke down too often. So far I'm satisfied with my Low Rider.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got the bike July 16th 2004, I have the exact bike shown here, it's black and all chrome. I picked low rider because it is still sporty but still retains the classic Harley look. And with all the chrome, not many upgrades needed. Bike is easy to handle. Still getting used to the bike being so low to the ground. It almost made me feel that I was too big for the bike. After purchase, I went back to store and sat on other models and noticed foot spacing was about same on most of the models. You just have to get used to sitting lower than on other bikes (Honda for me). I did have sticker shock since it was twice the price of the other bike I was looking at (2004 Honda 1300 VTX). But Harleys retain their value, just try buying a used one! Bike is not quite loud enough for me, I'm going to get stage 1 kit and louder slip on pipes soon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Ledfors

Tokyo, Japan

Reviewed on 2004-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2003 FXDL used from a dealer here in Japan. I love it. Rides and handles better than my Sporty. Effortless riding in the mountains here in Japan. Great bike for shorter people. Sits low and comfortable. I made an excellent choice with my Low Rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: