Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles Reviews (53)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-08-28 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most all of the other reviews on here are from 2004 when the motorcycle was new. This is a review of a motorcycle that is 5 years old and has 14000 miles on it. I purchased it used with 7000 miles. It was beautifully maintained. In the time I've had it I've ridden it 7000 miles in a little over a year. There has not been one issue nor inconvenience with this bike. It has been simply fabulous to own and ride. It is great around town or even on a 1000 mile trip. The only thing I really don't like is the small front tire and fender but then again that's what makes it a Dyna I guess.
- Me, Lees Summit, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Feet up and in front, arms hanging up at the shoulders, eyes forward, fists in the wind. Not a cooler look in Harley's as far as I'm concerned. Ride for a couple hours comforably, road unfolding in front of you. The rumble beneath you verifying that everything is alright in the world. Just don't try to corner too hard. The long rake and big skinny tire don't wanna be pushed at high speeds in the turns... this bike wants to glide and cruise. Plenty of juice to get you up to any speed you like. The brakes will take you down nicely from that top end. Heads turn everywhere you go and everyone knows instantly that it's a Harley Davidson.
- DJ, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-04 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 02 Wide Glide last year used with 14000 miles on it, now it has 20000 miles. Best bike I've ever ridden. No problems with it. It runs great and looks great. It has massive power, a sleek design, and an all around great bike.
- Bill, Marysville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-22 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I came across this review thread and couldn't resist adding to it. I've had my Harley Wide Glide since new. I bought it at the thirty year mark of my riding experience and have found nothing better that I wanted to replace it with! Now, seven years later, I'm still in lust with this bike. I can't really say why but I've never felt safer on a motorcycle (this being my 13th warrior). Perhaps it is the strong, smooth engine that responds EXACTLY to my input. Maybe it is the settled chassis on a long wheelbase railing through the corners. It's just a sweet machine that feels so right. This is a hard pulling, cool running, stone reliable Wide Glide. After 37 years behind bars (handle bars that is) I've never experienced it's equal!
- anonymous, Oak Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-06 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a 2001 FXDWG in 2007. Prior to that I owned a mid-size Metric cruiser. The Harley definitely lives up to its name in sound and performance. Compared to the Metrics, a bit more maintenance required, 3 places hold oil instead of 1, Hex screws instead of bolts, but if you thought purchasing a V-Twin metric would be like riding a Herley... you're WRONG. I now know what it means when they say Welcome to the club.
- Steve LeBlanc, Mission Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley after 3 imports. I love the machine as a whole-very nimble, quick, and visually appealing. I agree with the other fellow who said it's the perfect mix of bar hopper, highway and just a good ole Sunday riding bike. FI model is very worth it. My only complaint is in the stopping power of the front brake. I'm looking into doing a braided line then move onto pads if needed. A must ride if considering a bare bone Harley!
- Jeff, Goldsboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-05 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my Wide Glide from Saginaw Valley Harley-Davidson in Bay City, Michigan. I did the negotiation/ finance application over the phone. These guys were more helpful in selling me a Harley than dealers in Chicago, Toledo, Detroit or Milwaukee. My local dealer in Muskego couldn't come close in price, terms or interest rate. I rode my brand new Wide Glide 140 miles from Bay City to Muskegon in 45 degree weather, through 2 rain showers. The bike ran flawlessly. Much more comfortable than my SV650. My first change will be to Screaming Eagle mufflers. I love this bike.
- Michael Sweet, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-06 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Wide Glide is where Harley gets it right, in my opinion. It's the perfect blend of old school Chopper, bar hopping looks and highway comfort. Surprisingly agile in the twisties (used to own a sporty). Mini-apes and forward controls are super comfortable, especially if you get some stir-ups for the front pegs. Pulls great, smoothe on the highway with just enough vibes at idle to let you know you're on an American air-cooled V-Twin. Throw on a V&H Pro-pipe for "that sound" and all is right in the world.
- Mercutio, Santa Monica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-03 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a Yamaha Virago 1100 Special for the past 4 years. That was my first bike. I purchased my Wide Glide because it fits my frame better than any bike I have straddled. When I took possesion the salesman said your're gonna get about 3 miles down the road and let out a big Yee Ha! Well he was wrong. My first turn and acceleration on to the main street outside the shop was enough for me to feel the tight frame scoot around a corner and move me easily into traffic. Yee Ha! And I have been Yee Ha'ing ever since. I have been in strong winds, and on curvy roads and the bike feels sturdy and grips the road. Acceleration on the highway is twist and gone. I purchased the fuel injection model and very happy that I did.
- Chucko, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-20 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have a hundred miles on my new Harley Wide Glide. I love the ample amount of power and looks...they are so stylish. I think it's really a factory custom bike.
- Scott Bishop, Opelika, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-13 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding my new 2004 WG, and at 450 miles, no problems and lots of fun. This bike is wonderful. As of now, everything is stock. I'm still in the break in miles so I haven't really pushed the bike to do too much. Regardless, I can tell it will perform when needed. It handles well, and seems to smooth out the faster it goes. The one thing to get used to are the forward foot controls. I'm used to my feet going straight down to the pegs, but on the WG you have to kick those feet up a little. Actually, it took me about a day to get used to this, now it's all natural. Anyone thinking of buying a WG should be happy with the decision. My experiences thus far have been very pleasing. This bike ROCKS!!! Good riding
- T, Waterford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-20 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first Harley 2 years ago. It was a 2000 1200C. I never thought life could be better... until I met my wonderful wife Megan. She begged me to buy a bigger bike, so how could I turn that down? We picked the Wide Glide because it just looked awesome and I heard great things about it. Well, everyone was right! I could live on this bike! It handles like a dream, it's fast and it just looks beautiful! I can't tell you how many compliments I get on this one. The only dislike is the stock seat. After about 100 miles your butt needs a rest. Other than that, you must be crazy not to buy this bike!
- Kevin, Great Falls, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-28 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding BMW, Honda and Suzki bikes for a long time and have been generally happy with them. But this 2004 Dyna Wide Glide really impresses me. I got the fuel injection model because I like to get on and go, not wait for the bike to warm up. I have also installed a Harley windshield. The local Harley dealer gave me a fair price and didn't force on me Harley financing or insurance. Good to deal with. Anyway after all these different bikes I have had over the years, the Harley is the first one my wife said, unsolicited, " it's beautiful" and it really is. Break-in has been uneventful and smooth. Only 200 miles so far. I am surprised at the quality of the bike, engine and transmission. Shifting is smoother than my 2003 Suzuki Volusia. The bike seems very stable and handles well at low speeds. A few things I want to improve. I will add some bags, and probably a BMW-style receptacle plug for heated clothing I have. The Harley-style throttle set screw to lock the throttle is not easy to use, so I'll get the palm-rest or a throttle lock of some kind. I will also get the Stage I or II performance upgrade at the first maintenance. My buddy and I we going to get BMW GS 1150s, but the excitement wasn't there for me.
- Dan, Rochester, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-01 1999 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have one of the early TC88 models that have had some engine trouble. Mine has held together well and has been 100% reliable. It is completely stock except for Screaming Eagle slip-ons. Last summer I had the rear cam and cam bearing replaced because I keep reading about the cam bearing failure. They said mine was fine but I replaced it anyways. I ride mine hard but I keep the revs down. There is no need to hit the rev limiter on a stock bike because it's power band levels off before you get there. Keep it stock and service it regularly.
- Kevin Bragg, Charletown, N.H., New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a dream to drive, well balanced, good power, very comfortable riding. Have had no problems with this bike. My neighbor has a 03 Softail; he wishes we would have bought a wide glide.
- Jim B, New Berlin, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new Wide Glide last Tuesday. So far, I have about 110miles on it and I have to say that I'm in love. I traded in my 04 XL1200C to get this bike and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The Sportster was a good bike, but the Wide Glide fits me better. I found that with my size (6'1", 220lbs.) the Sportster cant match the feel that the WG gives me on the highway. If I could afford to keep both bikes I would, but the WG is a better bike for me. I plan on replacing the exhaust with V&H staggers, replacing the carb with an S&S, and replacing the stock ignition in a few weeks. I heard good things from others that have done similar upgrades.... I will send another review after I've gotten past the 500mile point.
- Juice, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 1995 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
SOUNDS LIKE A TRUE HARLEY THICK GLOVES HELP. FIRST TIME I RODE A HARLEY IT REMINDED ME OF AN OLD 4 SPEED CHEVELLE. THATS THE FUN OF IT. I PUT 15000 MILES ON MINE NOT A PROBLEM....SOO ENJOY SUPER CAMPER
- tom rohn, brewster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-25 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Prior to this '03 Dyna Wide, I owned a '03 Suzuki Intruder 1400. Not much comparison between the two...the Harley rides smoother, straighter, and is quicker off the mark; even though it only has 90 more cc's. It's also almost 100 lbs. heavier. Best I've owned! And, the 100th Aniversary markings and emblems are outstanding!
- BaldEagle, Grand Rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-23 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a nice light bike compared to the road kings and heritage classics....about 100lbs......handles like a dream on twisty highway 1 here in northern california....comfortable for all day cruising with harleys touring seat even my wife likes to ride. shocks a little weak and the exhaust bracket scrapes on hard rights and could use one more place to put my feet on long trips...other wise I love it better than all the other harleys...and I've ridden them all. 11k miles so far on my 02 Wide Glide and just getting good.
- Hollis, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-27 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I been riding harleys since high school,starting on a'67 sportster 900,then a 1971 & a 1974.I rode my dads superglide for a while before getting a 48 pan.I'm glad i finally bought a new one,it handles and rides nice, it's better than what i thought it would be.
- dana cook, copley,, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-08 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a motorcycle enthusiast pretty much my whole life (43 years) but until I got the FXDWG I really was in the dark as to what a motorcyle was really suppose to feel like, what a blast, this baby really got my enthusiasm back to a high level. I want to ride ALL the time...
- Bill, LIvermore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-29 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love everything about the bike except the suspension. It wobbles a bit in high speed turns and the rear bottoms out easily even when cranked all the way up. I still love the bike.
- Kevin Bragg, Charlestown, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-26 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In April of 2002 I got my first Harley: an FXD, Super Glide. I have a review of it on this site. In late December 2002 I traded up for a 2002 FXDWG, Wide Glide, that had been a rental bike with just under 5000 miles on it. It was delivered the day before Christmas Eve, four days ago now. There isn't any snow here yet this year in the Midwest, so I was able to take it out the day of delivery and then again today, the day after Christmas. So this report is a first impression and comparison with the 2002 FXD. I loved the FXD, except for the narrow front end, and I was envious of the black and chrome engines of some of the other bikes. At the time I bought the Super Glide I didn't like the chopper look, so even if I could have afforded a different model at the time it wouldn't have been the FXDWG. But by the end of the summer my tastes had changed. And now I own a black Wide Glide. The difference in riding is immediately apparent. The FXDWG is much more straight line stable. I'd read that it would be and it's very evident. It feels more "anchored" to the road. At highway speeds it's amazing. 70mph feels smooth and easy. The FXD always felt like a somewhat lightweight ride at high speeds, like a horse that's a bit skitty, but behaving at the moment. The mini ape hangers on the Wide Glide are perfect for me - and I liked the bars on the Super Glide, so it isn't that I was looking for a different style. This Wide Glide is going to be a blast riding long distance. It feels very comfortable, even with the stock seat, which I may change in the Spring to a Le Pera, either Sorrento or Maverick. Wind at highway speeds doesn't seem as pushy on this bike as on the FXD. But all of this is still a first impression. I've ridden it less than 50 miles at this point. The thing I want to emphasize, though, is that there is an appreciable difference in the comfort of the two bikes. My vote goes for the FXDWG by far. I'd say, too, that in my opinion, for anyone that is too short for the Wide Glide but wants a great looking and comfortable bike, that the Low Rider has got to be a wonderful choice. It's raked out like the Wide Glide, has the black and chrome engine, and the gas tank speedo (unlike the Super Glide). While talking to the salesman after buying this bike, I learned that there were a handful of other riders that were moving up from Super Glides. It's something to consider. Once you're "in the family" you may get the urge to move up in models. I did and am very very happy I now have a Wide Glide. I don't think there's a better bike for me in the Harley lineup.
- DNMcKay, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-10 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2001 wide glyde.Living in North Dakota you have a very short riding season. But I've put 15000 miles on in two summers. Not one problem and every things is as tight as it was when I bought it.I put a hyper charger free flowing air cleaner, dyna jet kit and sc mufflers.Thats called a cheap giddy up, It's all the power ya need unless you go to the strip. Also put a HD sundowner solo seat and passenger pillion on, best thing I ever did next to buying the bike. Did I mention it was chrome yellow? No matter where I go I draw a crowd. Wide Glyde? I would buy another one in a minute. Ride safe and ride often. Mr Smooth
- Smoooth, Oakes, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-29 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had, and rode several bikes, and swore that I would never own a Harley Davidson for years, not that I didn't like them , I did. But all my friends, for years gone by, that had them, and they always had the privilage of riding for a couple of months - in between repairs, and then rebuilding them during all the winter months - at a great expense! Not for me! I swore that I would NEVER have a HD until they were far more reliable - hell, a Triumph would always kick and run, sure, the lights always failed, but it ran! Then I was watching the EVO engine, and the rest of the bikes that HD built, and low and behold, there I found a 2002 FX Dyna Wide Glide for sale! Catch my eye? U huh! My Wifes? U huh! Did the deal, and bought it used with just over 4K miles on it, (I call it new) for $17,500 !!! So far nothing has loosened up or fallen off, and we now have about 5K on it. I bought a jack for it at Costco for $89 so I can give it it's first oil change, and 5K inspection / adjustments. I can hear that the Primary chain is loose and flopping a little, you can feel the jerking at lower riding speeds,expected with new equipment, also cable adj. etc. are now due along with everything else in your manual, but everything, and I mean everything is "OK Fine" with this bike. It is so much fun to ride solo, and having the Wife onboard, well she is in heaven for sure, too freak'n cool! THIS is the bike that HD should have made for several years for sure! No Problemo I say, GET ONE! Gary
- The Prospector, Burlington, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: