Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

54 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bill

Marysville, Ohio

Reviewed on 2008-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this 02 Wide Glide last year used with 14000 miles on it, now it has 20000 miles. Best bike I've ever ridden. No problems with it. It runs great and looks great. It has massive power, a sleek design, and an all around great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

2.8
After 4 weeks of riding, the engine just suddenly stopped while I was cruising at 45 mph, like I had pressed the engine's off switch. I rolled to the side, turned off and on the ignition again and it started like normal. It seems this is pretty normal for these bikes according to many Harley members on a forum. Even HD mechanics wasn't sure what it was since it's difficult to replicate the problem since it is happening rare and very random. Some said it could happen 3 times a month, others 1 time per year. The second problem with the bike is the riding position = the air filter and engine is so big and wide that your legs get spread out way too much, making it hard to reach break pedal. Another problem with this is wind during higher speeds: At 70 to 80 mph the wind will hit your spread out legs so hard that it feels you will lose grip on the foot-pegs. So you sort of hold on to the bike as you feel the wind will pull you off. Another issue with the bike is the dreaded fork "clunk" = every time you hit a small bump in the road or breaks a bit hard on your forward breaks your forks will give this metallic "clunk" sound. This is apparently something that is normal with the bikes and HD mechanics says it's just the way it's constructed. Also on forums many have various meanings why this sound occurs. All from lose gas tank, not enough oil in the forks, or some bolts not screwed tight enough. But none seems to be able to fix this. Also having 70 hp, the bike's torque and acceleration is very bad. Maybe it's due to it's heavy weight of 661 lbs or just old engine technology. My 1400 Intruder with it's 60 hp would smoke this heavy hog any day. Coming back to my Intruder after many weeks of riding the Harley I came to a conclusion = The Harley felt like something from world war 2. Noisy, shaky and unreliable with bad performance. The Intruder outperforms the Harley in every department. It even looks slicker and cooler. I am selling my Harley and will keep the best cruiser bike I ever ridden
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Me

Lees Summit, Missouri

Reviewed on 2009-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Most all of the other reviews on here are from 2004 when the motorcycle was new. This is a review of a motorcycle that is 5 years old and has 14000 miles on it. I purchased it used with 7000 miles. It was beautifully maintained. In the time I've had it I've ridden it 7000 miles in a little over a year. There has not been one issue nor inconvenience with this bike. It has been simply fabulous to own and ride. It is great around town or even on a 1000 mile trip. The only thing I really don't like is the small front tire and fender but then again that's what makes it a Dyna I guess.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DJ

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2009-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Feet up and in front, arms hanging up at the shoulders, eyes forward, fists in the wind. Not a cooler look in Harley's as far as I'm concerned. Ride for a couple hours comforably, road unfolding in front of you. The rumble beneath you verifying that everything is alright in the world. Just don't try to corner too hard. The long rake and big skinny tire don't wanna be pushed at high speeds in the turns... this bike wants to glide and cruise. Plenty of juice to get you up to any speed you like. The brakes will take you down nicely from that top end. Heads turn everywhere you go and everyone knows instantly that it's a Harley Davidson.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

anonymous

Oak Harbor, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I came across this review thread and couldn't resist adding to it. I've had my Harley Wide Glide since new. I bought it at the thirty year mark of my riding experience and have found nothing better that I wanted to replace it with! Now, seven years later, I'm still in lust with this bike. I can't really say why but I've never felt safer on a motorcycle (this being my 13th warrior). Perhaps it is the strong, smooth engine that responds EXACTLY to my input. Maybe it is the settled chassis on a long wheelbase railing through the corners. It's just a sweet machine that feels so right. This is a hard pulling, cool running, stone reliable Wide Glide. After 37 years behind bars (handle bars that is) I've never experienced it's equal!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve LeBlanc

Mission Viejo, California

Reviewed on 2007-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Just purchased a 2001 FXDWG in 2007. Prior to that I owned a mid-size Metric cruiser. The Harley definitely lives up to its name in sound and performance. Compared to the Metrics, a bit more maintenance required, 3 places hold oil instead of 1, Hex screws instead of bolts, but if you thought purchasing a V-Twin metric would be like riding a Herley... you're WRONG. I now know what it means when they say Welcome to the club.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Goldsboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first Harley after 3 imports. I love the machine as a whole-very nimble, quick, and visually appealing. I agree with the other fellow who said it's the perfect mix of bar hopper, highway and just a good ole Sunday riding bike. FI model is very worth it. My only complaint is in the stopping power of the front brake. I'm looking into doing a braided line then move onto pads if needed. A must ride if considering a bare bone Harley!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Sweet

Muskegon, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-05-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Picked up my Wide Glide from Saginaw Valley Harley-Davidson in Bay City, Michigan. I did the negotiation/ finance application over the phone. These guys were more helpful in selling me a Harley than dealers in Chicago, Toledo, Detroit or Milwaukee. My local dealer in Muskego couldn't come close in price, terms or interest rate. I rode my brand new Wide Glide 140 miles from Bay City to Muskegon in 45 degree weather, through 2 rain showers. The bike ran flawlessly. Much more comfortable than my SV650. My first change will be to Screaming Eagle mufflers. I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mercutio

Santa Monica, California

Reviewed on 2004-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Wide Glide is where Harley gets it right, in my opinion. It's the perfect blend of old school Chopper, bar hopping looks and highway comfort. Surprisingly agile in the twisties (used to own a sporty). Mini-apes and forward controls are super comfortable, especially if you get some stir-ups for the front pegs. Pulls great, smoothe on the highway with just enough vibes at idle to let you know you're on an American air-cooled V-Twin. Throw on a V&H Pro-pipe for "that sound" and all is right in the world.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chucko

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2004-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding a Yamaha Virago 1100 Special for the past 4 years. That was my first bike. I purchased my Wide Glide because it fits my frame better than any bike I have straddled. When I took possesion the salesman said your're gonna get about 3 miles down the road and let out a big Yee Ha! Well he was wrong. My first turn and acceleration on to the main street outside the shop was enough for me to feel the tight frame scoot around a corner and move me easily into traffic. Yee Ha! And I have been Yee Ha'ing ever since. I have been in strong winds, and on curvy roads and the bike feels sturdy and grips the road. Acceleration on the highway is twist and gone. I purchased the fuel injection model and very happy that I did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 54 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: