Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles Reviews (26)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-05-01 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for over 2 years. I got it used with 30000 miles on the clock. Now it's got 75000 miles on the clock. Fast, hard and real. As soon as Harley starts remaking them, I'll get a new one.
- udi Hacohen, Tel Aviv , Israel

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-04 1999 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this Harley on eBay 2 years ago. I am the 3rd owner. Harley bought my first bike back under the Lemon Law and treated me very good so this purchase had some apprehension attached. The bike has been a blast to ride and real easy to own and service. I replaced a ZX11 so still wanting some 'sport' qualities in a bike I can honestly say that Harley has done it right in their Super Glide Sport. As long as you respect the limits and capabilities, this bike will not let you down. Plenty of power, flickability, lean angles you wouldn't expect on a Harley, and consistent 44mpg combined. I have never had a leak, a seep, or broken down. Dependable, Faithful, Assertive, and Reliable. Best of all it sounds great.
- Stephen JP Ingley, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-26 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Super Glide is the most affordable big twin. For the money you get 88ci 68hp [carb.] 81 lbs torque. Though over 600 pounds, the Super Glide feels like a sack of feathers. It is one of the most versitile bikes made. The Super Glide will turn on a dime and leave a nickle change. I am a sport bike rider, and a dirt biker. The Super Glide is my first Harley. After the short time riding it I must say I may never ride a superbike again. In the future I plan to write a review of performance upgrades. This will be in the Fall of 2005.
- Evan Stevens, Boardman, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-08 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this FXDXI last season. Only a few rides this year, (2005) so far. All the miles are my own. I like this bike. The handling is surprisingly good for a heavy Harley. The shocks and forks are adjustable for tuning a stiffer ride. I kept the mid-controls, I don't want to ride on a lazy boy. The "Sport" designation in the name of this bike is true to form. It is more like a sport cruiser than a road bike, but it will serve up the highway miles if needed, (a 1400 mile trip last Fall proved to be a comfortable trip). Harley options like the windshield, two-up seat, backrest and luggage rack are all clip on/off. They remove quickly and easily to change the look and feel. I also added quick release saddlebags. I take the extra 10 minutes to change the seat from the two-up sundowner to the corbin solo rider and I've got a great boulevard cruiser around town. Performance is stock at this stage. I plan on riding this scooter until it needs a new motor before upgrading. Seems to have plenty of power and torque for me. The added fork brace took the little wobble out of the front end on hard cornering and hard braking.
- Spadoman, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-30 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have replaced seat with H-D Sundowner seat. Also added backrest, quick detach saddlebags, and forward foot rest. Seat is much more comfortable and puts me further back, with forward foot rest it gives me the room I was needing. Fuel is to be ignored. Fuel low light comes on when there is still half a tank showing on the guage. Remove fuel cap and neither one seems to be correct. Looks like less than half a tank but not low enough to be needing a warning light. All in all, bike has been pretty good so far. haven't had much riding time so far due to weather. Can't wait until spring when I can put some serious miles on it.
- Marvin Catlett, Livorno, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-01 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One year into what I think will be a long, happy relationship with my '03 FXDX. Very responsive handling for a cruiser (adjustable suspension is the ticket), good looks, easy neutral riding position. But know this: you gotta do over the air cleaner and pipes for acceptable performance, straight out of break-in, and most folks will want a better seat. I had to put on handlebar risers, too, and am still fighting with adjustments on the carb to reduce decelleration "hiccups." If you want a responsive, strong cruiser, this'll do it. But just add on the price of these kinds of things to the price out of the dealership when you're doing your homework-- in my case, it's been well worth it-- I am one happy rider!
- Jenn, Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-04 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not sure if they take longer to send out to Australia. Maybe Willy G didn't put enough postage stamps on my bike when he sent it out. Nine months waiting and on road for a 2003 FXDX. Only went as far as a set of Vance & Hines 2 into 1 pipes and a Doherty Machine Power VACC and the Power vents. Not going to waste money trying to make the bike faster. It is ok as is. If you want a bike with 100 horsepower then buy a Japp bike as a spare. The only down side to this bike ( if you can call it that) is once you go for a ride you want to keep on going. Then you end up without enough time to wash the car, mow the lawn, and all the other exciting things in life.
- Dirty Larry, Adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-24 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having not been on a bike for ten years in feb 03 ibought a 01fxdx.They say harleys don't handle well have I got news for you,this baby does and with a stage 1 has plenty of power.The sticky tyres it wears give great grip in wet or dry the twin piston dual brakes have enough stopping power to cope with this big heavy bike.This is a great bike which you very quickly feel at home on.I am goiong to Italy on mine in July so i'll let you know how it handled the long haul.
- k.marks, london, Great Britain (UK)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Real Red 2002 FXDX for 13 months and would like to update my impressions. The original seat was terrible - I replaced it with Harley's Sundowner accessory touring seat and am very happy. I never liked the black exhaust - I replaced it with V&H Longshots (with baffles), had the carb rejetted, and had a Screaming Eagle high-flow breather installed. The improvement in throttle response is very impressive. It also runs a lot smoother and the occasional, annoying carb backfire is gone. The suspension and brakes are excellent - once I got the adjustable suspension set where I like it, I haven't messed with it. Better tires, than the stock Dunlops, would greatly improve the machine's handling and braking abilities. Nonetheless, it'll hustle down a twisty road at a satisfyingly brisk pace. I recommend using synthetic oils. I use Amsoil in the engine and tranny and Harley's primary lube in the primary. It shifts noticably better and runs a lot cooler. Finally, I like the fact that I've never seen another one like mine. Like it or not, it stands out from other Harleys because of it's lack of chrome. With the installation of a few select chrome goodies, it's a real stunner.
- Alan, Colonial Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-08 2003 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a sportster. Bought an '03 FXDX and the difference is night and day. Been on and off bikes for nearly 20 years. This one is the keeper! Some bikes are pure style, some pure comfort, and others pure handling. The FXDX is the perfect blend of all three. The motor is strong. It sounds great with Stage I. The most impressive is how solid it feels in the wind. It also tracks a line like nothing else I've been on. I very happy to have found the exact bike for me (6'00', 32" inseam, 200 lb). I really don't have a single complaint other than overall price-that's really mitigated with value retention in the end.
- B Brock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-03 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2001 model H-D Superglide Sport in June. The tank and fender color I chose was white pearl which is a beautiful color with the black. When the bike was new, I could feel quite a bit of engine vibration at idle, 2000rpm's and at 3000rpm's. At about 7000 miles, I noticed that the vibrations had deminished. The bike now has 8000 miles on it, and the engine vibrations are still deminishing. My guess is the engine is really getting broken in now. It takes a while with the 0.001" - 0.0015" piston to cylinder clearances. Other than a night prowler 340cfm breather kit and rejeting the carb, the engine is stock from the factory right down to the factory exhaust pipes. We estimate about 70hp and 85 ft-lbs of torque. The engine turns up very quickly, much like a small block chevy, with no vibration at all. At about 50 mph on the interstate, I can simply roll back the throttle in high gear, and the torque will slingshot the bike to 90 mph in just a few seconds. I took it to charlotte motor speedway last summer where I rode it around the track. I passed through the first turn at about 50mph. When I began to come out of the turn, I rolled back the throttle and held it wide open down the back stretch until I had to back off to negotiate the next turn. The bike hit 100 mph easily, and the distance between the two turn is only about 3/8 of a mile. For 70 hp, that's pretty impressive! The bike rides great and handles better than any bike I've riden in its class. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who's looking for a power cruiser. It will hold it value unlike most other motorcycles.
- Gary Kilpatrick, Jamestown, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-14 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my toy since Nov. It has 6300 miles on her. With a few engine mods and better pipes the Fxdx really roars. I can't wait to install the S.E. 103 cu. in. stroker kit on her to see what she'll do. The only problem I've had is a grounded stator and a 21/2 mile walk and push to the house. Other than that she's a damn fine machine, wouldn't trade her for the world.
- garemo, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-23 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2002 FXDX I purchased in April of this year. I love it but noticed your Dec. 2001 article about alterning the handlebars for better positioning. I'd be interested in what you did, where I can get the parts and now to do the work to upgrade them. I also had a HD previously...the first Superglide in 1971. Wish I had that baby today...I'm told it might be worth some money. Anyway, I'm very happy w/my 2002 FXDX (silver). It starts, runs, performs better than I'd dreamed. A real winner. Appreciate your input. Thanks. Randy
- Randy Kathmann, Fishkill

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i have 13000 miles since november 01. nothing has had to be touched on this machine. the 88-89-12200 sporty carb needle straightened out any running questions. the platinum plugs i installed are clean. the engine broke in perfectly with synthetic 20-50 amsoil and has never used a drop. syn in the primary and trans has worked perfectly. i converted my crash{engine guard}bar to an oil cooler along with 2 wimmer 8 1/2" coolers with a jag adapter and lockhart thermostat. the bike is exactly what i want in a motorcycle . i just wish i could talk the guy who bought my 72 super glide into selling it back to me, but his wife won't let him sell it.
- fred, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-20 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This really is a great looking & performing bike... on the Harley scale of performance, that is. However, it still blows my mind that after spending nearly $14,000 on the bike, I still have to put a LOAD of additional money into it to truly make it perform. I think that's what Harley Marketing Dept. calls a win-win situation. Make a slowish, expensive bike that people love (like me) to buy, and then sell them all the pricey parts they need to make it go. Oh, they're good.... and yup, I dig this bike!
- Mo, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-08 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Performance modifications I have made to my 2001 FXDX (Vivid Black, what else?) are as follows: Cams: H-D Screamin’ Eagle SE-203 Performance Ignition System: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 6,200 RPM Performance Exhaust: H-D Screamin’ Eagle II Slip-Fit Coil: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 6,200 RPM Performance Spark Plug Wires: H-D Screamin’ Eagle Air Intake: H-D Screamin’ Eagle Air Cleaner & Breather Kit Push Rods: H-D Screamin’ Eagle Adjustable Spark Plugs: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 12mm Triple Platinum Carburetor: H-D Screamin’ Eagle 42mm Mikuni Flatside #165 main jet, #20 pilot jet, #98 jet needle, #60 pump nozzle) DYNAMOMETER RESULTS (May 30, 2001) Max. Horsepower: 78.6 hp @ 5,800 rpm Max. Torque: 88.4 ft.-lbs. @ 3,900 rpm This bike easily beats all other local Harleys I have encountered, and regularly runs with my local sportbike friends running Honda VFRs. In a drag race, the superior torque of the FXDX easily allows my bike to outrun the sportbikes off the starting line (though they get past me in the turns later on).
- Steve Brantley, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-19 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike stock is already a great bike, lots of power and torque. The first thing I did was put foward controls, big air kit, thunderslide kit, and Screaming eagle Pro 2into1 pipe on it. (It woke up considerably). I still was not satisfied, so I then put Screaming Eagle 203 cams, and 9.5 to 1 flat top pistons(also high performance valves and springs) in it along with Andrews quick adjust pushrods, and a 7200 rpm screaming eagle ignotion and module. Let me tell you, The difference is Night and Day, I went from around 62hp and 78 ft/lbs torque to 92hp and 98 ft/lbs torque. All of that in conjunction with the awesome suspension already existing on the bike make it an awesome scooter. I also had to get rid of the "Pretty Jade Green Paint", I had it Painted Black Satin, just like the rocker boxes. It's alot of fun to pull up next to a "JAP" rocket and make them wonder "Should I? or Shouldn't I?". If you have any questions regarding the bike E-mail me.
- Bret Hinson, Brunswick, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-25 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third motorcycle and my first HD. I've only put 75 miles on it, so these are just my initial impressions - I'll submit an update in a few months. It's a surprisingly nimble handler. The brakes are first-rate, as is the clutch and the transmission shifts cleanly. I'm 6'1", with a 34" inseam, and find the riding position to be pretty good, although I'll eventually be wanting a seat better suited for two-up riding and with better low back support. I think certain colors look better with the blacked out engine treatment - mine is Real Red and looks stunning.
- Alan, Colonial Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-13 1999 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike 'cause I traditionally like the look, sound and nimble feel of the 1200 Sportster, but I tote my wife with me on many outings and we appreciate the extra saddle space afforded by the Dyna. I installed the stage II big bore kit with Screamin' Eagle mufflers and the K&N air filter assembly, and it makes this bike rock! 3rd or 4th gear roll-ons for passing are like afterburner time. Having owned many Italian, Jap and English bikes (2, 3 and 4 cylinder variety) I know the feeling of power, and this bike will blow many of the aforementiond bikes off the highway. It's not a Ducati or a Buell off the line, but it sure isn't anyone's patsy when those big pistons start to pump. I like it! H-D dealer service is as usual -- it sucks!! I try to do all of my maintenance work myself, and with the help of a friend that went to the H-D school, we manage to keep everything aligned and smooth. The engine with 8000 miles (4500 on the big bore kit) is smooth, oil tight and very reliable. I recommend this machine for anyone that likes a reasonably light, nimble sport touring American bike. The FXDX-T might be my second choice.
- V, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-18 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
finally got it! i put 500 miles on it and changed all the lubes out for synthetics. the amsoil 70-90w gear lube in the primary got rid of just about all the chain whirr and the clutch engages much smoother. the red line trans lube has the trans shifting 1000% better. all i hear is a very faint tick when i shift. the engine runs perfectly and just about all mechanical noise is gone , also near totaly vibration free. i have been using synthetcs for 30 years, but have never seen such an inprovement as i have seen with this harley. i have installed a jagg oil cooler set-up and am waiting for my engine guard to be drilled and taped for earls hose fittings . the bar is going to serve as a oil tank/cooler. should work . i am also waiting for a wimmers oil temp guage. this will tell me if i should add a regular oil cooler on top of the crash bar. the floor-boards from harley r much better than pegs . i find the bars a bit of a reach so i am going to try a set of risers from j&p that move the bars back a coulple of inches. this is a great bike, smooth, plenty fast an handles great after a bit of tinkering with the 5 adjustments on the suspension. anyone having problems should be sure to set the stuff at the settings in the owners manual and work from there one click at a time. the only thing that harley could ever do to get me off this machine is for them to come out with abs brakes. anyone not loving this ride either got a lemon or shouldnt be riding, maybe they should take up fishing.
- fred provan jr, fred provan jr

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-04 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden nothing but Harley's for the last eighteen years. My last four being Ultras I was pleasantly surprised at smooth ride of this one. Handling is excellent as is performance after installing a dyna jet kit, breather kit, and pipes. Yes people think it's a Sportster but only people who don't know Harleys. I guess that is to be expected with the same front end as a Sportster. My main complaint is the chrome pitting on the rear spokes at 1300 miles and Harley telling me it is not a warranty item. I'm supposed to wax the spokes and wipe them off after every ride. They are using excuses to avoid the cost of replacing their badly chromed parts. But now that that's off my chest I like the bike. Have installed some mags and will look for high quality aftermarket parts before giving Harley my cash for any cheap chrome!
- David Sprague, Sullivan, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2200+ miles on my 2000 FXDX. Only problem has been the loop on the side stand broke. But more my fault than the bike's I think. Put stage I Screaming Eagle carb kit in at 1,000 mile check up. Made good performer even better.
- Charles Davis, Americus, GA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-17 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great in town and short trips on twisty roads. It handles well enough to ride aggressively and it has the grunt and the sound that can only come from H-D. 1,500 miles have been flawless. The fit and finish quality is excellent. Two minor complaints: It's too tight for two-up riding; most people think it's a Sportster.
- Ray, Columbus, OH

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like the bike. It's my first Harley. I also have a VFR800FI Interceptor for when I ride alone, so I wanted a cruiser that could handle. I lucked out and was in the right place at the right time when the guy who ordered the bike backed out. It is sinister blue pearl. It handles very well. Much better than expected. It has decent acceleration, but with the torque, you don't have to shift much. So cruising is very relaxing. The suspension soaks up the bumps nicely and the adjustability of the suspension makes one-up or two-up riding more enjoyable. I've had one problem so far -- one of the three O rings that mount the carb to the manifold cracked and it sucked so much air that it wasn't driveable. Classic H-D, in Shillington, PA, had me up and running the next day (free pick up and delivery). There are four things I don't like about the bike: The canceling action of the turn signals, the clunkiness of the shifter, and the side stand and the position of the key. Since the first three complaints have been improved on the 2001's, I ordered one in black -- the color I prefer.
- DaveP, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-14 1999 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was totally happy with my 89 FXRS-SP (equipped with a 96" S&S Motor). Then I saw the new FXDX. After reading the specs, and seeing the potential of the new Twin Cam, I bought one. I have been smiling ever since. Out of the show room it's a better bike. It feels more nimble on the back roads and the new motor beats the EVO in every respect. It has more torque, higher revving and a lot less mechanical clatter. Now, with some help from the Screaming Eagle Catalog and R&R racing the 95" motor, it's more than a match for my old ride. It's a pleasure riding a Harley that's not running out of breath at 5000 RPM. The only down side in the last 8500 miles has been a defective speedometer and a faulty starter drive, both of which were cheerfully replaced by my dealer.
- Cliff Hotchkiss, Naugatuck, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: