Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-07-02 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I wrote my last piece on the FXDXT. We have been lucky enough to travel thousands of trouble free miles. One trip that I will never ever forget was in 2003. We shipped our bike from the UK to San Fransisco, rode along the west coast to visit friends in Mount Vernon, Washington state. At the Cascades NP we turned right across the US to Milwaukee, stayed a couple of days for the party, then on down the Mississippi and then back to Chicago for home, we had sunshine every inch of the way and the "T" sport never missed a beat. It's a shame Harley dropped this model from their range. It does it for me and it does so well.
- Chris Spies, Cambridgeshire, Great Britain (UK)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-06 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About eight weeks ago, I bought a used 2001 T-Sport with 500 miles on it, and I now have about 3,500 miles on it. I ride the bike fairly hard, and I'm very pleased with the way the bike handles. I've had no problems with shifting, detonation, or squeaking brakes. I did find that upgrading to a stage 1 (pipes, jet kit, and air cleaner) gave me about 10% more horsepower and made the engine run smoother and cooler. Besides the stage 1, I added an engine guard with halogen lights and long-stem mirrors. I've been riding for more than 25 years, and this is the best bike I've ever owned. I especially like the fact that this bike has a tack, dual-disk brakes, standard footpegs, and good ground clearance.
- Dave, Bonifay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-08 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding Harleys for 11 years and have owned an array of shovels and evos. If you had to pick one Harley to do it all it would be hard to beat the T-Sport. In standard form, performance is not that great. With the following mods it is quick: 1 size bigger low speed jet, 1 size bigger main jet, Ness air cleaner, free flowing slip-on mufflers. Suspension could be better (firmer) for improved ride but otherwise it is a ripper.
- Dave, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-29 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned sportster for 10 years , FXR for 8 years ,loved this bike as soon as I saw it.mag wheels,black motor,not much chrome,even the back of the mirrors are black.So I have more time to ride than cleaning.Best brakes ,surspension & A! comfort , with screaming eagle aircleaner&mufflers & bigger slow jet goes 50% better even better fuel economy . But I still scrap pipes round corner.
- mongrel, queensland, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-23 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a Sporster because I wanted to keep my teeth fillings intact, and wasn't disappointed. I chose the T-Sport because it best met my needs for a reliable commuter, sporty enough to be fun on twisty roads, and comfortable enough for long mountainous day rides or overnighters. If you can only keep one bike, and want a Harley, this is it! After 20 months and 21K troublefree miles, (only addition was a new seat) I'd acquired a used Road Glide and a Honda VFR. My wife no longer wanted to ride on the Dyna. I found myself using the other bikes except for commuting, and there are better (i.e. cheaper)commuters out there. But it was fun while it lasted, and held its resale value pretty well too.
- Ben, Bay Area, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-04 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, Ive had my bike for exactly 2 weeks and managed to put on 480 miles !. I am very pleased with it, great torque, good ride & handling, predictable & powerful brakes. Must be getting over 40 MPG. It is loosening up nicely & I think it will be more than fast enough for me when it is fully run in. I will probably fit some nice exhausts - but not too loud. Downsides, I have also experienced the brake noise, although this seems to be getting better as the miles roll by. I also find the windscreen a bit low, but have fitted a Badlander seat(similar to the standard Sport) which drops the rider down a bit, as I almost never carry a pillion this is not an issue, & I find it comfortable enough. I find the bike very heavy and low speed manouvering is a pain. As this is my first Harley I think it is just a matter of getting used to it.
- Paul Roberts, Newcastle, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-29 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the T-Sport used from a Phoenix car dealer. It had 1350 miles on it and I paid $11,650. Because of the lack of history I then paid the local Harley dealer $250 for a 5000 mile check. I did this one because it drains all the fluids, lubricates all areas and tightens all fasteners. This bike rides much smoother that my 1200S sportster. It handles my wife and I much better and the ride is much less harsh. The torque feels strong, even with two up and the handling is really solid and predictable. The mileage with two up has been a bit only 40mpg vs. 48 with the sportster. It is totally stock and I am considering the air cleaner, jets and exhaust. At this time I do not want to get into the motor. My wife wants a back pad which we will invest in soon. So far I like it very well. I have experienced the brake noise related in other reviews, but not the backfire/hesitation. It has run perfectly.
- Steve B., Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-05 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Two gripes: 1)Windshield too short 2) brakes make a constant rubbing noise. The windshield problem is fixed by buying the optional taller windshield (P/N 57736-01) Harley dual rotor machines all make the rubbing noise and while it is very irratating, it is normal.... I just finished a 600 mile road trip over two mountain passes and it was a blast. The bike handles well and has plenty of power. I did drill holes in the baffles and add a Screaming Eagle air cleaner. Also added an engine guard with twin halogen lights. Otherwise, the bike is stock. I like the fact that I can alter the suspension based on the load I am carrying to tune the ride and handling to my preferences. The saddle bags carry quite a bit of "stuff" when expanded yet I can take them off in 10 seconds for the sporty look when riding around locally. All in all I think this is an outstanding machine. Kind of a mix between the Sportster and the Road King.
- Rick, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-28 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just took delivery of my FXDXT about a month ago. I have just a few complaints that I must get out of the way first: (1) The carb pops which is quite annoying. The dealer says it is due to my addition of screaming eagle slip-on pipes? I will live with the pop sounds, rather than the factory roar similar to a Suzuki Intruder. (2) The front brakes scrape most of the time. I have found that cleaning the discs with a little bit of brake cleaner after a few hundred miles does away with the noise for awhile. (3) One nylon saddlebag pops loose sometimes due to a faulty latch/spring that the dealer cant fix. (4) The useless mirrors belong on my 10 year old's plastic BigWheel, as I can only see myself with them. The good news: Great acceleration and low end torque. Tranny Shifts with precision, and I have no first gear problems to this day as other riders complain about. This bike really loves those twisties and is also comfortable cruising around town. I have adjusted the front and rear supspension a few times and could never do without it now. The fit and finish is excellent including the paint which is simply perfect. I hope Harley considers a bit larger windshield as standard equipment for taller riders. I ordered the optional windshield which is about 3" higher. Some locks would be great for the bags to deter theft. Overall IM 100% satisfied with my new Dyna T-Sport!
- Jeff, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-20 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my 2002 FXDXT last February and by and large I am very satisfied. I had previously owned an XL1200 Sport so when I decided to move up to a big twin the FXDXT seemed to be the logical choice. I loved the look, performance, and feel of the 1200 Sport and the FXDXT is just a larger version of this great bike. I now have 2400 miles on my FXDXT and I have to admit that I've experienced some of the same annoying quirks described in some of the other reviews. I too have experienced the brake dragging noise from the dual front discs but I had the same noise from my Sportster so I figured it was no big deal. I assume that this is from the new brake pads rubbing the discs and the slower I go the more noticeable it is. I've never had this checked out and it doesn't appear to affect braking. I also experiencing the carburator popping described by the other reviewers. I did have this checked out and the dealer told me that it was caused by insufficient jetting in the carburator. I also have the high flo air cleaner and Screaming Eagle 2 into 1 pipes so it apparently was not getting enough fuel air mixture. Why they didn't install the new jets upon delivery remains a mystery. Bottom line though the popping problem went away. I have not experienced the shifting problem but I suspect this may be more due to my riding style than anything else. I always shift down to 1st when decelerating to a stop and I hold in the clutch while waiting to proceed. Consequently I've never had a problem with the bike not being in 1st gear when I take off. I also installed the longer mirrors to solve the problem of not seeing around your shouldders. The only other complaint I have, although it is more of a quibble than anything, is that I couldn't get my FXDXT in Real Red like my old Sportster. I like the Diamond Ice though and it really looks good with the blacked out engine. This is the perfect bike for my riding style and I love the power and torque while riding the back roads here in Virginia. The bags provide a much needed storage option that was not available on my Sporster and I put them to good use. This is a great bike overall and I would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a Sport Touring machine
- Jeff Kilgo, Spotsylvania, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my new T-Sport at the end of January. Just over 400 miles on it so far.My prior ride was an '82 Sportster.I thought I would be light-years ahead w/ my new bike.Not quite. The things I really like about this bike are:#1 The ride. The fully adjustable( which I have not adjusted yet) suspension rides excellent. No jarring over bumps, etc. Top notch!. #2 The torque. This engine has torque!. Roll-on in any gear is very good. I have not had it over 3,000 rpm yet due to break in procedure, but I am impressed none the less.#3 The saddle bags. Ballistic nylon w/ a leather flap. They seem rugged so far & they expand to about twice the size by opening a zipper. Detach w/ the push of a button & have a carry handle. ( down side= no way to lock them to the bike= easy to steal if someone wanted them. Takes 2 seconds to remove.How about coming up w/ a locking feature Harley?)#4 The quality of the paint/chrome/engine paint/etc is excellent. No flaws detected anywhere. #5 The security system is kind of cool. I installed the accessory ($89) siren which is very loud.It should come standard w/ the security system ,though. This got me a 5% annual discount on my insurance(no discount w/out the siren). Will pay for itself quickly.#6 Fuel economy(not that anybody cares about gas mileage on a bike) I am getting 200 miles before I need to hit reserve. That works out to 50mpg. Very good ....... Now , what I am not so happy about for my $16.5k out the door. #1 The damn carb still pops & sputters sometimes off idle just like my friggin '82 Sporty did.It's down-right embarrassing at a traffic light,etc. I thought they would have fixed it 20 years later.(yeah,I know ,put some pipes on it, the breather kit & do the carb over) Well , I would like it to run right out the dealer's door w/out spending another couple hundred on it!!. #2 The half fairing. At speeds over 50mph (when you need it most) , I have to crank open the windshield all the way to get the air flow over my head instead of buffeting the heck out of me(I am 6'). That is fine, but when I do this, it makes a very annoying whistling noise. #3 The mirrors. They are too short. I mostly see my shoulders in them when adjusted properly. I guess I will have to spend $60 to get the taller ones . #4 Noises. There is a tapping that seems to be coming from the left side of the engine.#5 The brakes. The front brakes make a rubbing sound when they are not applied. Can hear it at almost any speed. #6 The thing that bothers me the most is the fact that the service dept. at the dealer tells me that the carb popping & the brake noise are normal.Sheesh ! Was not the answer I wanted to hear.#7 Security system. The factory installed security system is $275. Not bad ,but for that money it just disables the ignition & flashes the lights if you move the bike.Who is gonna pay attention to that at 3 o'clock in the morning while some crook is pushing your bike into a trailer ? You need to buy the optional siren (see above)to obtain any value from the security system.........Overall , I like the bike but I expected more.The major things are very good.The power,ride & handling are top notch. The noises from the engine ,brakes & fairing are very annoying.
- Steve, Chalfont, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-29 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a Dyna super glide T-Sport. I leave in Rome where the traffic is very heavy and this byke works very well. I had a scooter suzuki burgman 250 and this harley is my first true motorbyke. Indeed it is very easy to drive, fast also in traffic and the confort is enough as well as brakes. The only problem, very little indeed, is the distance of the rugs, too short for a 185 cm tall. Tha byke can also be driven in tipical harley dresses but also with a prince of wales and tie. Indeed this model and its colours (my dyna is gray pearl)are very elegant with nothing to envy to BMW smart models.
- Cesare, Roma, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-24 2002 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's hard to describe this bike. It just doesn't fit. Not a touring bike. Not a sport bike. Not a cruiser. I've seen some people complain that this bike is none of these, and thus it isn't a classic harley. Well... I picked mine up last week, and I can report that this bike is all of these things. Sure, if you just want to cruise down mainstreet, buy a fatboy. If you want to go cross-country, buy a electra-glide. But if you need a bike you could do both on, this is it. Even the fairing has grown on me. Rides like a dream. I highly recommend this bike.
- Greg, Newark, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-13 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
PICKED UP BIKE, NEW, AUGUST OF 2000.PUT 7300 MILES ON IT IN 3 MONTHS.NO PROBLEMS MECHANICALLY,45-50MPG ON OPEN ROAD,ACCELERATION EXCELLENT,BRAKES VERY GOOD,COMFORT AND RIDEABILITY EXCELLENT.TOKE A RIDE TO LOST WAGES THIS YEAR,2001,BIKE PERFORMED EXCELLENT,COMPARED TO DRESSERS I've OWNED (4)I CHOOSE THIS BIKE OVER THEM.HAVE 20,000 ON BIKE AND NO PROBLEMS.IT TOURS LIKE A DRESSER AND HANDLES LIKE A SPORT BIKE,NUFF SAID.
- FREDERICK L MCCAIN, GASPORT, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-29 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded a Honda in on my 2001 T-Sport. I'm a motorcyclist first and a Harley guy second. Did my homework and this bike has not disapointed. I'm still learning how to dial in the adjustable suspension. But I love this bike. It is a Harley in every sense of the word. This bike is very comfortable running the twisties through the foothills of the Ozarks orrunning 75+ MPH down the intersate. No, the windscreen doesn't totally shield you but then what windshield really does? It's fast, it's torquey and it handles like butter! I like the way the bags easily come off if I don't want to run with the bags attached or they don't get in the way if I leave them on when they are empty. My T Sport never had the stock seat so i can't speak to that. I also have two into one exhaust as well as a number of other performance enhancing parts. We absolutely love this bike. Hope you enjoy yours!
- Steve Brandt, Saint Louis (Des Peres), Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-17 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a former FXDX and FLHT owner. I loved the Dyna Sport but I also liked the highway comfort of the Electra Glide. The T Sport is a good compromise. It has a comfortable stock seat, the adjustable windshield works well, (although the wind protection around the head is not as good as the EG fairing). The bags are great and the rest of the bike is an FXDX, which means it is one of the best all around bikes Harley makes, if you listen to the motorcycle reviews in the various magazines. According to dealers it is a very slow seller to the point where it might be discontinued in a year or so. If you just have to have a big bike (Electra Glide or Road King) then get that because that's not what this bike is about. But if you like Dynas, which I do, and you want a little more comfort and road readiness, get this one.
- DD, Louisianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-03 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes. Next to a Yahama RD400 that I had back in the seventies this bike is the most fun to ride. I had some problems when I first got it but the dealer has made it right. I had Screaming Eagle pipes & low restriction air cleaner installed along with a set of crash bars.I paid a little over 16,000 out the door.I know that is not cheap but to me the bike is worth it.
- Pat, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 2001 Harley-Davidson FXDXT Dyna Super Glide T-Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, a disclaimer: I don't own this bike. Rather, I rented one and put over 400 miles on it during a trip up California's Highway 1 (more on that later). Overall, I enjoyed this ride, but I had a few nits to pick. First, the front end felt far too flexible. It had a wobbly quality that didn't inspire to-the-limit turning. Perhaps this could have been remedied by resetting the fully adjustable suspension, but, hey, I was on the move! Second annoyance was the engine: between 55 and 65 mph on the highway, there was a very annoying buzz from the Twin Cam 88 motor. Uncannily, this funny-bone-tingling buzz disappeared below 55 and above 65, which, as it turned out, was just fine, as the former speed was appropriate for Highway 1's twisties, while 70-75 mph was great on straighter US Highway 101. The power was adequate on the "Stage 1" modified example, and torque was unbelievable--how does 20 mph in fourth sound? Glubba-Glubba, Bubba! Turning was slightly above adequate; I found that I was really beginning to savor tossing the sporty Dyna around, and it began to feel more like a Sportster than a big ol' HOG. Comfort was also decent: the touring seat was very good for a typical Harley squat, and the adjustable windscreen offered adequate protection (I was blessed with perfect California weather). As for fit and finish, this particular ride felt a little loose for a bike with about 7,000 miles on it. I attribute this to two factors: (1) it was due for the 7,500 mile service by the time I turned it in, and (2), it was a rental. Individual owners will undoubtedly be more meticulous in the care of their bikes. Would I buy this bike? Maybe. I can't think of too many other bikes on which I'd have more fun on a 400 mile trip (Goldwings are too Winnebago-ish, and many "Sport Touring" jobs are tortuor racks!). And it'll cruise just as well as any Fat Boy. On the other hand, once you add all of the baubles and bolt-ons to the bottom line (Stage 1 is mandatory), you can't get out the door without leaving $20k behind. Yes, it'd be a serious commitment!
- Johnny, Pleasanton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: