Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-03-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike last summer privately and couldn't get over the power, ride and looks everyone gave it. The bike is a winning combination of everything right that Harley does. I have heard some complaints about the seat, but for a stock seat it wasn't too bad. I added a Big Sucker intake system, Arlen Ness slash pipes, pull back bars, new headlamp and GMA pulley-brake combo so that you can see the rear wheel. Overall it is a GREAT bike that demands attention.
- 03 Screamin Eagle Man, Brooklyn, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2003 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked the bike up a week ago and don't want to get off. I've owned import bike before but they don't compare to the Harley ride and nostalgia. I ordered the pearl white and absolutely love it. The paint job is world-class. The transmission is firm and definite. I have had a few coughs from the engine but it was before the bike fully warmed-up it isn't the EFI model. With a little tweaking of the carburator and a better intake and pipes would really open the engine up. It comes from the factory pretty chocked up because of the emission laws. I have heard mixed views on the factory saddles. I took her out for a 2-hour ride and never had a problem. My legs never had a tingle or went to sleep. I haven't taken the misses for a ride so I don't know how the back seat rides. The light isn't very bright on low on dark back roads. This can be alleviated with a halogen bulb replacement. The ride is very nice. The bike weighs over 600 pounds so see is going to give you a good ride. The front forks are also ultra smooth. I have ordered a detachable windshield and plan to purchase a sissy bar and bags soon. That will give her more personality. I haven't regretted buying it at all.
- Todd Crockett, Bitburg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-16 2003 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Totally hooked. that's all I can say. I wrote the first review 1 yr ago regarding my newly purchased 2003 FXSTI, and what an amazing year it's been. didn't get her out until May because of our heavier than usual snow. I now have a little over 5000 miles on it. Over the summer I had a power commander, K&N big sucker, slash-cut pythons, and sissy-bar put on it, and it has performed flawlessly. The only hiccup was my float in my fuel gage got stuck, but this was quickly fixed. So much for the "lack-of-quality" of a Harley. Like I said, 5000 miles and she runs great. Pythons are really loud(maybe too loud), but they really bring out that Harley sound that is missing with the stock pipes. Being that this is my first bike to own, I can't really compare it to other makes, but if your able to get one, do it. I have nothing against Hondas, Kawasaki, etc, just know that the times I've ridden with non-Harley riders, most of them (you can just tell) wish they had one. Most recently, I rode 40mi to my work in Indy in 20 and 16 degree temp. The bike ran perfect, and of course in those temps, the FI helps. didn't go to Milwaukee, I'm not a fan of big crowds, but will visit sometime along with Sturgis(of course, not when eveyone else is there). To all of you thinking about getting one, the softail standard is just a little higher price than a VTX or Valk and comparable to any BMW. I knew that if I had bought anything else, I'd always have asked myself what it's like to ride a Harley. Well I know,and nothing else will do.
- Dennis Litten, Lebanon, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-22 2003 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i bought this bike for my wife " I have a 02 electra gluide" the bike is light and handles very well. good power, looks great in gunmetal.wish they put a more comfortable seat on it thus the 4 star rating, fuel injection is great. we put the chrome kit on it a MUST. now for a better seat and she is ready. maybe pipes also then what with a harley you may never be done, cool. keep the shiney side up, jim
- jim , lone rock, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-11 2003 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We just purchased the 2003 FXSTI in Lux blue peral. The bike had 4 miles on it when I took delivery. Since then, I have been able to put on about 40 miles on it (mostly due to cold spring rain and of couse work). I can tell you I have riden hondas and yamahas in the past, but this is hands down the finest ride I have experienced. If your into wheelies and all out speed bikes, this ain't for you. Make no mistake, this bike is plenty fast and it sounds sweeeeeeet.... When I was 20 my priorities were different. Now that I'm through that phase of my life, comfort and appearance are priority. Even though this bike is weighs in at over 630 pounds, the balance is exceptional and it handle very well with no surprises. We bought this bike to enjoy rides in the evenings to unwind from work and longer rides on weekends. Only problem now is that we love it so much, things around the house are not getting done. Oh well, I guess that is one more change in priorities for us........
- Wayne Kirk, Gaithersburg, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-26 2002 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've spent one riding season on this bike. Mine is fuel injected and has the Harley Big Bore Stage II Kit, with Vance and Hines Big Shots Staggered pipes. The styling on the bike is simply and true. Believe it or not, this bike is easy to ride slow or fast. The balance shafts on the softail models mean you feel almost zero vibration. This bike is an awesome cruiser. Without adding a windshield, this bike would be tough on long highway rides. I'm a big guy, and while I fit well ont he bike, I take a lot of wind blast. The seat could use some work also. My butt and back get sore after about 2 hours. I'd recommend getting an aftermarket seat which is wider and has a more defined "butt spot" (to keep from sliding around) than the stock seat. The new Vance and Hines pipes make this bike really loud and really mean. Mine shakes the entire office building where I work. It will definitely turn heads when you're out and about. The Big Bore Stage II kit will make your FXST walk away from almost any Harley on the road. Definitely get fuel injection for zero hassle starts. Overall, a ton of fun to ride and cruise. Probably not worth $16,000 once you add the engine work and pipes, but hey, it's only money!
- Larry Eberhart, White lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-03 2002 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i got my standard after 3 month wait. was worth the wait.bike is very smooth and handles well.power is all i need for the type riding i do.i highly recommend this bike for the average sport rider.fit and finish are of high quality.
- david munday, dry prong, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: