Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-06-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after months of back and forth decisions on other Harleys. I decided on the ST because of the clean simple look. I am not a doctor or lawyer, don't hang out with any at the Harley bar, could have bought any bike, price was not the issue I chose this one. I gave it a 3 on comfort because for me the stock seat is very uncomfortable. Have since put a low solo seat on. Recommended to everyone!!
- Huey, Lafayette, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-19 2005 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I started shopping for a bigger bike, I didn't even consider Harley-Davidson because of the price. One rainy Saturday we went into a Harley dealership just to look around, and I saw this bike. This is my favorite style of motorcycle, and when I sat on it, it seemed everything fit me. My wife and I talked about it, and she thought I should just go ahead and get the Harley, so of course I didn't argue with her! The more I ride this bike, the better I like it! There's plenty of power, the handling is great, it's very well balanced, and it rides very well. I was surprised about the gas mileage, even with Screamin' Eagle mufflers and the Stage 1 air cleaner kit, I get over 47 mpg on the highway. So far, I have no regrets about buying this motorcycle.
- Dave Roush, Sunbury, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an '04 Softail Standard in April of this year and I have to say that it's the best bike I ever had. I had Kawi's and Suzuki's but for my size and weight and style of riding this is the best. It's a bit intimidating when you first ride one but now after 7 months it's almost too easy to get wild with it. One of the reasons I chose a Standard was the vast array of after market parts and accessaries. You can make this bike look anyway you want(after you have grown tired of it in its stock condition). But for now I'm just tearing up the roads around here. Thank gooodness I live in California (long riding season).
- Mike Keel, Simi Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-17 2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am now 35 years old and have been riding lots of different bikes since I was 7 years old. I bought my first harley this year, a softail standard, black with fuel injection. I have since added a set of vance and hines large radius exhaust to my bike. There is nothing that can describe riding a harley! I will never go back to other bikes again! Ride on from Canada!
- danny, st marys, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-25 2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I purchased my 04'Softail I have spent alot of money to make it right for me. I found that the stock seat is not very comfortable for the rear on longer road trips, and the stock bars need to be adjusted for comfort, or replaced by some more desirable bars. The bike is rather bland and should really be dressed with some chrome and uniqueness, otherwise the FXST is a very "STANDARD" bike. I went with Vance&Hines Big-Shots, Performnce Machine 240 Tire kit, Burley 1.5 T-Drag bars, 7 gegree triple trees, lots of chrome. I still want to do a few key things such as get rid of the ugly stock emblems and put some old school HD emblems on it, and ad a carb and cams. The great thing is that it will always be a piece of American Herritage, and the Twin Cam 88-B is a great place to start if you want quality. Also note that the insurance and financing terms are much much better with a Harley Davidson! Over-all, the Harley will always have my vote when it comes to a real road bike! But, don't be suprised if you end up spending lots of money customizing it to your liking!
- Mark, Booth, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-29 2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just getting back into riding after about 17 years and got a red 04 Softtail Standard. So far I am very impressed with this bike. The quality seems to be night and day above my old 81 Sportster. The Softtail handles well and seems very solid. I was leaning towards a low rider, but this Softtail seems bigger and more substantial. The forward controls/pegs are much better for me and the riding position seems better. The fuel injection is nice and the bike has tons of torque. I took delivery with S/E slash down pipes and they sound great (just loud enough for a 45 year old). This is definitely a bike for cruising on nice sunny days. You have to remember though, if you never had a Harley, it's not a rice burner. It's older technology and takes getting used to. But it's style and sounds are unique. I haven't had this much fun in a long time. I am very, very happy with this bike. See you on the road.
- Jim, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-26 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike I ever had. If you plan on customizing it's also the best value.
- R. Svatos, Watertown, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-17 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new in 2000. I now have 15,000 kms on it and I still love it. I can ride for hours without getting sore or tired. the upright riding position is great for long trips without getting a sore back. The fuel economy is good for such a large heavy bike. I had to change the pipes to make it sound like a harley though. Good power & handling, can't keep keep up with sport bikes but who cares. The hardest part about riding this bike is trying to look cool when your grinning from ear to ear.
- Bob Finn, Whitby, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-26 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the 4000 km i have been riding in the last 3 months since i bought my bike i have done lot's of mountain riding ,and it's easy to ride,have plenty of power and good brakes. The seat is fine for solo rides but if i had to ride with a passenger a lot ,a new seat would make it nicer to ride. Nice bike,no problems
- Bigtwin, Iwakuni, Japan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-30 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just hit the 1,000 mile mark on my 2002 FXSTI. This bike is fantastic. A very smooth and comfortable ride. I got rid of a 2000 1200C Sportster for this, and I am so glad I did. The ride is 10x's better. The suspension is much better. This is the best Harley for the money that you can get.
- chris rankin, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-19 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2001 model. Love this bike, best V-Twin on the market! Harley Davidson is getting it right. Watch out Honda VTX, Valkyrie. I also own a 1988 Honda Hawk NT650GT(V-Twin sport bike)which is also a great bike. Brakes better, corners great-more cornering clearance than other H-D and other cruisers. Great article in 2000 issue of Motorcycle Consumer News. Hits this bike's talents right on the head.
- Dman, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-20 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 11 years filled with a CBR 600, VFR 700, FZR 600 and a GSXR 1100, I thought I was ready to just ride and enjoy. I had always wanted a Harley and this seemed to be the perfect one. I bought it new in April of 2000 and since then I've put 7600 miles on the clock. Most of those miles have been commuting back and forth to work, some were racked up on a solo trip to New Orleans. A few 300-mile joy rides were squeezed in as well. It has a comfortable riding position, though after 3 hours I do need a break to stretch. I have a 35-inch inseam so the stock peg location is a little to close but still workable. The tranny is no problem. Simple to find neutral and slick positive shifts. The clutch is heavy, if you're in a slow moving traffic jam your left forearm is in for a workout! Power is adequate for a cruiser as are the brakes. Over all, I think Harley has made an out standing bike that just begs to see the open road. From chicks out cruising on Saturday night to the old men you meet at a gas station on some old road, people love and respect Harley Davidson. It just doesn't give me that silly grin after a hard day. This bike is going to be sold to some one who will really appreciate it. And when it does... I'm going to visit Mr. 929RR.
- Jess, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I managed to get my standard in 2 weeks from the time I had ordered it... I have put on about 5000 km over the summer period.... I have to say that the comfort of the seat, and the riding postion is terrific... I have had a few 8 hr rides.. and have never felt any discomfort...I have owned many bikes, the last being a Honda magna, and must say that there is no comparison!.. the Softail Standard wins hands down in every department... my only two complaints are that the stock pipes are much too quiet and I need more chrome!... needless to say my screaming eagle pipes and carb kit are in the garage ready to be installed!! It is the best Harley for your money!! I have rented the Heritage softail and Fatboy.. but, find the Softail Standard, the most relaxed for all day cruiseing..... cheers.....
- Olli, Vancouver BC ,Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-19 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Moved from a 97 FXDWG with some engine mods to a 2000 fxst....what a kick! Before the new bike left the shop, she got a 100% chrome package, fxdwg bars, the big bore kit, a Mikuni 42mm, 9.6/1 pistons, free flow air filter kit, ignition module and coil, and Vance/Hines exhaust. I wasn't 100 yards from the dealership before the grin broke out. The 88B is as smooth as my rubber mounts up to 85mph, maybe smoother. With 4100 miles, she is now running better than new, and stronger, as if everything is just seating. The ride and feel is improved over my FXDWG, probably due to the trans/engine hookup, and the new frame. Have no complaints, or changes I'd want, other than what I've added, such as bags, a tach, and sissybar.
- bob stavis, Marblehead, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-10 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a 2001 Softail standard. The bike is real nice -- smooth as silk and just right for my five-foot-seven height. I can hit neutral from second gear. The grease fitting on the fork neck is only 150 miles but feels just right. It holds the road real well. The winding roads are no problem. I would recommend this bike to anyone nice low seat height. And it's so smooth and looks real sharp. It has a lot of chrome for a standard.
- bob, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-12 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can relate to other rider about stock FXST. Before I took delivery I had a few things done to the bike. Not really into how I should look on my HOG. So I dress up my Sled for creature comfort. Put a windshield on to keep air blasts at bay. Put Buckhorn bars on to get that more relax feel. Got floorboards put on to ease that long ride fatigue. Put bags and sissy to pack stuff and T-bag. Crash bars front and rear. Mounted old highway pegs on the crash bar. Did something to the Air cleaner and stock exhaust. Runs real good around town; I just love the ride. But the real test was out on the highway. This year was my 11th year going to Sturgis. Rather than take my Heritage (also a Y2K) I took the standard. Just to see what an FX would do. With the five-gallon gas tank, it had the endurance to go the whole way. Just outside of Cheyenne, there was a 40 to 50 mph headwind. So the bikes we passed were all leaning left. Skullman (riding his 1999 FLHR) and I were still doing 80 mph, while the EVO bikes were struggling up the hills. The counter balance TC88B, works wonders. Can cruise all day at 85 with no problem. My '95 Hertiage couldn't do that. The final change that made the all day trip great was the old sheepskin I put on the saddle. didn't get a seat rash. Endurance can now be measured in hundreds of miles. I guess for owners of Harleys, it is a combination of variables that decide how comfortable you will ride. The FXST can be set up for distance riding. You just have to look at a lot of catalogs and customize your bike to fit your needs.
- Dirty Harry, Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-08 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
was really hoping for a black Softail standard but my dealer informed me that I would have to take the silver pearl standard or I would have to wait longer...well when I came in and gazed at my bike I almost couldn't believe it...it was the most killer looking bare bones factory style bike I have ever seen, many more parts are chromed this year, and the forward controls are so precise, no wandering movement, the twin cam motor is astounding...the monster amount of torque is transmitted so effortlessly you wont ever be shifting down for more power to pass just roll on the throttle and you are gone,,, the air box has been modified to create a ram air effect for more noticeable power over last years model The quality is unbelievable the seat is also much improved over lasts years badland style seat,, it's plenty soft but supportive enough to take 8 hour trips. Now for my gripes...they are few: The main (high-speed jet) is too lean The exhaust is to quiet even from the factory And there is no tach. God knows they even put tachs in the crappiest cars made today so there better be one on my bike Oh one other note the oil filter housing is drilled and tapped and then blocked off with plugs which one would assume are for an oil cooler that will really make for a clean installation
- hog head, Clinton Township, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-15 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new soft tail this spring. It doesn't sound like a Harley, and I can't stand the sound of the chain in the gear case. I took it to Sturgis last week, and had to stop every 70-80 miles just get some relief for my butt. I already paid enough money for this bike. I refuse to spend any more on a seat to make it more comfortable. My wife and I both agree that we are going to sell it and go back to a FLHTC, so we can ride 700 miles or more in comfort. We are going to put a sticker on which reads "NOT RECOMENDED FOR ADULTS OVER 40!
- David Barnes, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At the laughline river run I test rode the new 2000 Softail for a 30 minute demo ride. What a great smooth cruiser... I sold my 91 Softail in 97 due to extreme vibration. Next day after the river run I ordered a 2001 Softail Standard. I also own several other bikes but the Softail will be the ultimate cruiser in my collection. Can't wait till September to get it.
- Joel Kasof, Cupertino, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-28 2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Doesn't sound like a Harley does it? I put 300 miles on my rental bike with my girlfriend on the pillion in one day. We rode up to the mountains to 5000 ft. and along the Pacific Coast Highway. The bike ran good at all elevations. I could have ridden 500 miles in comfort, but my girlfriend says that the seat turns into a 2 by 4 up on edge after 150 miles. Take this bike, add an aftermarket seat, 95 inch stage II Screamin' Eagle kit, and a 150 tire on the rear, and it's the ultimate cruiser.
- Larry Alvey, Great Mills, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: