Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike Keel

Simi Valley, California

Reviewed on 2004-11-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought an '04 Softail Standard in April of this year and I have to say that it's the best bike I ever had. I had Kawi's and Suzuki's but for my size and weight and style of riding this is the best. It's a bit intimidating when you first ride one but now after 7 months it's almost too easy to get wild with it. One of the reasons I chose a Standard was the vast array of after market parts and accessaries. You can make this bike look anyway you want(after you have grown tired of it in its stock condition). But for now I'm just tearing up the roads around here. Thank gooodness I live in California (long riding season).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Huey

Lafayette, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike after months of back and forth decisions on other Harleys. I decided on the ST because of the clean simple look. I am not a doctor or lawyer, don't hang out with any at the Harley bar, could have bought any bike, price was not the issue I chose this one. I gave it a 3 on comfort because for me the stock seat is very uncomfortable. Have since put a low solo seat on. Recommended to everyone!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Roush

Sunbury, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-06-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I started shopping for a bigger bike, I didn't even consider Harley-Davidson because of the price. One rainy Saturday we went into a Harley dealership just to look around, and I saw this bike. This is my favorite style of motorcycle, and when I sat on it, it seemed everything fit me. My wife and I talked about it, and she thought I should just go ahead and get the Harley, so of course I didn't argue with her! The more I ride this bike, the better I like it! There's plenty of power, the handling is great, it's very well balanced, and it rides very well. I was surprised about the gas mileage, even with Screamin' Eagle mufflers and the Stage 1 air cleaner kit, I get over 47 mpg on the highway. So far, I have no regrets about buying this motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

danny

st marys, Ontario

Reviewed on 2004-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am now 35 years old and have been riding lots of different bikes since I was 7 years old. I bought my first harley this year, a softail standard, black with fuel injection. I have since added a set of vance and hines large radius exhaust to my bike. There is nothing that can describe riding a harley! I will never go back to other bikes again! Ride on from Canada!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Booth, Oregon

Reviewed on 2004-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Since I purchased my 04'Softail I have spent alot of money to make it right for me. I found that the stock seat is not very comfortable for the rear on longer road trips, and the stock bars need to be adjusted for comfort, or replaced by some more desirable bars. The bike is rather bland and should really be dressed with some chrome and uniqueness, otherwise the FXST is a very "STANDARD" bike. I went with Vance&Hines Big-Shots, Performnce Machine 240 Tire kit, Burley 1.5 T-Drag bars, 7 gegree triple trees, lots of chrome. I still want to do a few key things such as get rid of the ugly stock emblems and put some old school HD emblems on it, and ad a carb and cams. The great thing is that it will always be a piece of American Herritage, and the Twin Cam 88-B is a great place to start if you want quality. Also note that the insurance and financing terms are much much better with a Harley Davidson! Over-all, the Harley will always have my vote when it comes to a real road bike! But, don't be suprised if you end up spending lots of money customizing it to your liking!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just getting back into riding after about 17 years and got a red 04 Softtail Standard. So far I am very impressed with this bike. The quality seems to be night and day above my old 81 Sportster. The Softtail handles well and seems very solid. I was leaning towards a low rider, but this Softtail seems bigger and more substantial. The forward controls/pegs are much better for me and the riding position seems better. The fuel injection is nice and the bike has tons of torque. I took delivery with S/E slash down pipes and they sound great (just loud enough for a 45 year old). This is definitely a bike for cruising on nice sunny days. You have to remember though, if you never had a Harley, it's not a rice burner. It's older technology and takes getting used to. But it's style and sounds are unique. I haven't had this much fun in a long time. I am very, very happy with this bike. See you on the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R. Svatos

Watertown, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Best bike I ever had. If you plan on customizing it's also the best value.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Finn

Whitby, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-06-17

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine new in 2000. I now have 15,000 kms on it and I still love it. I can ride for hours without getting sore or tired. the upright riding position is great for long trips without getting a sore back. The fuel economy is good for such a large heavy bike. I had to change the pipes to make it sound like a harley though. Good power & handling, can't keep keep up with sport bikes but who cares. The hardest part about riding this bike is trying to look cool when your grinning from ear to ear.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bigtwin

Iwakuni, Japan

Reviewed on 2002-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
In the 4000 km i have been riding in the last 3 months since i bought my bike i have done lot's of mountain riding ,and it's easy to ride,have plenty of power and good brakes. The seat is fine for solo rides but if i had to ride with a passenger a lot ,a new seat would make it nicer to ride. Nice bike,no problems
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris rankin

USA

Reviewed on 2001-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXST Softail Standard

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just hit the 1,000 mile mark on my 2002 FXSTI. This bike is fantastic. A very smooth and comfortable ride. I got rid of a 2000 1200C Sportster for this, and I am so glad I did. The ride is 10x's better. The suspension is much better. This is the best Harley for the money that you can get.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: