Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jerry Bryant

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2022-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I have owned this bike for over 14 years and never had any problem at all, I have owned a few Harleys and the Night Train has been the best, the most reliable machine I have ever owned, it has been all over and seen the country for years and when it comes down to it I would get on it before any other, dependable reliable and I have had more compliments on this bike everywhere I go, it’s a true Harley Davidson.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tread

'Quitman, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2007-04-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This has been a great bike. I have been known to go up to 700 miles a day on her. I've never had a minutes worth of trouble. This is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Bilger

'Fremont, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great ride....Rode Harleys years ago with no comparision. Quality and dependability excellent. Seat is a brick covered with leather and front tire could be an inch or two wider, and the bars could pullback about 2-3 inches. Those are the only changes that need to be made. I love the Jadeglow green and the blacked out engine. Ran 10,000 miles last year and running strong. Using Amsoil in everything, that makes it sing. Very nice ride for a middle aged crazy with limited social skills. Enjoy.....Ride Safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BRG

'Shreveport, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2003-11-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been a bike rider for the last 34yrs and at age 39 this is one of the most comfortable bikes I have ever been on. I have been a harley rider only for the last 8yrs with my first harley being a 1981 FLH. Going from the older bike to this one was the difference between night and day. I rode my bike to the east coast four years ago. We rode over 3,800 miles not knowing what to expect riding with striaght bars on such a long trip. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life. I had never ridden a bike across half the country before and would recommend it to anyone wanting to try it. It had been a dream for me to ride a bike through several states that I had never been. I took weeks vacation and just decided to take off with a buddy not knowing where we would go. The nighttrain is no different than any other bike I've ridden as far as my ass and legs going to sleep, but it's really easy to lift yourself up off the seat to get the blood circulating again. I have ridden many other harley's and for the money this is the best one going. I think the only drawback with this bike is that at 115 mph the front wheel starts to shake a little.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich

Ridgecrest, California

Reviewed on 2003-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Santa brought me a FXSTB (2003) for Christmas. My occupation as a reliability engineer for major Navy weapon systems caused me to be very concerned with Harleys staying power. Please to report over 7K miles of desert/mountain riding without a wimper of poor quality. Needless, I am very pleased with my nighttrain.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

'Hightstown, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2003-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got a 2002 FXSTB and I have to say this has got to be the coolest machine ever built. It was worth emptying out my garage for (my car, my honda, and my sportster were sacrificed). But I have no regrets, this bike has been the wallpaper of my computer for two years and I finally have one to call my own. This particular one has vance and hines pipes and a bigger seat that can take two whole people. The sound is impressive and the best way to describe it in the turns is "point and shoot". You don't feel the extra weight at all. Since the pipes are done the only thing left to change on this bike is a wider rear tire. Harley should stop making these so mine keeps it's value, because I plan on putting some serious miles on it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray

'Pickerington, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can't say enough good things about my Night Train. This is my second H-D, after a couple of Honda's and Suzukis. The 88B engine with counter balancing gives the best of both worlds. The traditional torque and that perfect sound can only come from Harley. Now the power and rumble are vibration free. The engine is as smooth as any 2 cylinder bike I've ridden. The styling is sinister bad-ass. I have had people comment on the lack of chrome. You either like the all black soft tail look or you don't. Handling is respectable, given the 21 inch front wheel. The drag bars were a little uncomfortable after about an hour ride, but they've been replaced. Overall, the bike has been flawless in reliabilty and the fit and finish of all components is excellent. I think Harley's quality of manufacture is now second to none. My only complaint is that for this money, (I paid list plus freight) Harley would have supplied a decent width rear tire.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

butch

'oklahoma city, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2002-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
my nightrain is the 8th harley I,ve owned. I love the look. The black finish on the engine parts is very durable and easy to keep clean. My bike is mostly stock, except for exhaust, air cleaner, and carb mods. In other words the way Harley would sell the bike if not for the EPA. I love the look, sound, and performance.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Zitch

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My 2001 Night Train has exceeded all my expectations of what a iron horse is. It has 211 cams, v/h pipes, wide tire kit, high out putting. And loves to eat 1600cc Yam. My bike is very smooth and with the t/c 88 motor. I have not experienced any vibration at 127mph.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jed the Bike

'Parts Unknown

Reviewed on 2001-04-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Night Train

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
It's a Harley - so it has the basic equation of: 1. 800 lbs. chug-a-lugged along by about 50 hp at the back wheel 2. A wobbly chicken-bone frame (the swingarm is a particularly spindly piece, for example, that's narrower than the handlebars) 3. Pre-historic, agricultural-era level of technology and performance in every other respect, too. Basically, it's a Softail that's been spray-painted black for an extra $2000.00. Actually, that's a pretty fair deal considering the price of some of Harley's chrome doodles and ding-dongs, given that chrome actually cost about $2.00 per square foot to make. How come I'm not writing about how it rides? 'Cause I'm sure anyone who is considering this thing doesn't care a whit. I got mine when I was puke-drunk. When I sobered up and saw what I'd done, I went straight back to the cupboard for another bottle.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: