Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles Reviews (28)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-10-17 2013 Harley-Davidson Heritage softail classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Originally looking at the road king but I have a 29” inseam and was unable to place my feet flat on the ground. I didn’t have this problem with the heritage- it fit my build perfectly. I am 64 and find the heritage is much more manageable for me than the road king. I love the handling around town & on the highway & prefer the classic look over the other models.
- Michael S, Southern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-20 2010 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 2003 Superglide and bought a 2010 Softail. The classic nostalgic look really appealed to me. On my first ride I felt like I had went from driving a Ford Escort to a Cadillac. It was so smooth and just as easy to manuever even though it was bigger all around. I downgraded the perfomance to four stars purely due to the fact the stock exhaust is too quiet. People around here hear you on the road before they see you. I have purchased some Vance and Hines Straight Shot Slip Ons and now I have the sound I want. I can't wait to take my first long distance ride on this beauty.
- Art, Interlochen, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-12 2012 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My riding background: I started riding in 1972 at 13 on a Yamaha 100 Enduro, moved on to a Yamaha IT 200 then Kawasaki 440 LTD, 1972 Harley XLCH Sportster, 1987 Harley 883 Sportster, 1989 Harley FLHS Electra Glide Sport, 2003 FLHRI Harley Road King and 2012 FLSTC. Wow, great bike! I traded my 2003 Road King in on this beauty. This bike has the 103ci B engine. This is my first Softail/balanced motor Harley. I had reservations about a "balanced" Harley motor, my last two bikes having been a 2003 Road King and a 1989 Electra Glide Sport, rubber mounted. I went for a 100-mile spin this morning and I'm convinced. The good/great: The 103" motor is smooth, fast, slightly better sounding than the old 88". The 6 Speed tranny, it is great to be able to hit 80 mph. at around 3000 rmp. The clutch is much easier on the hand than the old one and has a very smooth lock up. The ride, had to put progressive shocks on the Road King to ride this well, I hated the air shocks! I like the solid feel on the handle bars/steering. What needs work: The two up touring seat with rider back rest is going on tomorrow, the stock is not bad but I'm spoiled and want my back rest. The Drag Specialties straight shots are also going on. If I'm going to ride a Harley I want it to sound like a Harley. The twin cam motors will never sound as good as the old Shovel Heads but this bike is very (too) quite stock. The high flow air cleaner helps the new pipes flow better. I added the passenger floor boards because it is a tour bike. I like the low seating position on this bike but I do miss the 1" or so of cornering clearance, I never touched down on the R.K. but I have on this bike "once". Now I think I have the "feel" of it. The new 6 speed does whine a little on down shift but I think the new pipes will "fix" that.
- saddletramp, humble, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-23 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my 07 Heritage until this last December end of year 09. It is a excellent bike but did get warm sitting in hot traffic. Never did notice 5th gear problem I hear so much about it did change pitch in sound a little but I actually liked that so I knew when I was in 5th? This bike would fly with the rush slip on and ECM race tune and intake kit. Had plenty of power and sounded great. I upgraded to a tour bike the Ultra limited and it is good for the long runs but basically same as the Heritage. Overall comparison to each other is the tour does handle little better but it is heavier. The air shocks help in ride. I like the locking bags and fuel tank. You get six gallons fuel on tour bikes now also to run on. The Heritage is faster off the line but the tour is geared for smooth long runs under heavier loads so I think the Ultra has more torque bottom end.
- Long Rider, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-14 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been looking to upgrade from this Heritage to and Ultra Classic. I have seen numerous complaints of heat and 5th gear issues in both bikes. I have had this Heritage since February 2007 after trading my 2003 FXD and have not one heat or gear box complaint. The only time I have ever had a hot leg, it was my right thigh in 90-100 degree heat while sitting in a traffic jam after riding for 100 miles prior to. The 5th gear issue?!?! didn't even pipe the bike until summer 08 and never noticed it in sound or performance. Are the issues with heat and gears on the Ultra the same in type and severity as the issues with the Heritage? If so I'm cool. I value any input that can be given.
- Chris Rodriguez, Lake Village, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
LOVE THE BIKE, NO ISSUES OTHER THAN THE HEAT FROM THE REAR CYLINDER BUT THAT CAN BE FIXED EASILY!
- CRIMSON KING, Barrie, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-17 2008 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband said it was time for me to upgrade from the 750 Vulcan I drove. I saw the 105th in an airport while traveling and said, "Look at that good looking motorcycle.Last Feb. we were on our way to purchase a different make when at the last second my husband said, "Let's go to the Harley shop.They had a 105th chromed out and we were sold. The ride is awesome. The looks I get from others who see a woman driving this beautiful bike is awesome. I can't wait for summer! All I can say is awesome job Harley Davidson. I drive it every chance I get.
- Marjorie Nett, Chilton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 07 in April of last year and have had nothing but a great experience on it. I have absolutely no complaints regarding my bike. My dealer from the salesperson to service has been excellent to deal with. I completely customized the bike both from a performance point of view and curb appeal, with plenty of chrome and I am very pleased with the results. Bike season is just around the corner and I can't wait to get out and ride.
- Brian, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-27 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The wife and I bought our Heritage last August. We wasted no time getting to the 1000 mile mark in less than 2 weeks. We never looked back. We rode every weekend while weather permitted. Heat is noticeable, but never a problem. It is the worst in stop-and-go traffic going through town. It is hardly noticeable once you get some air moving. It has great comfort riding 2-up and has smooth, sweet handling through winding Southern Indiana roads. We are looking forward to warmer weather so we can hit the road again. The passenger pillion upgrade and passenger foot boards are strongly recommended for 2-up riding.
- MPortteus, Spencer, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most comfortable bike in the world. Bars, seat, footrests, screen so perfect. Just as good for a trip to the shops or cruising on a long journey. Saddlebags a bit OTT for my taste - but a terrific bike.
- John Berry, London, Engl;and, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-25 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my brand new Hertige Softail after trading in my old 02 model Fatboy. What a difference the extra cubes power and Six speed box made. After delivering the brand new Heritage I deciced to ride it around Australia in 6 weeks doing 30,000km. The Heritige didn't miss a beat and I rode it hard at times hitting 180 kmh in the Northern Territory but it didn't like that speed much but will sit on 150kmh all day no problem. Windshield provides ample protection from the elements, the saddlebags provide loads of room, ample amounts of chrome make it look great and sounds even better with the Vance hinze Long shot pipes. All I can say is get out there on the Heritage Softail Classic and do it. You will not be disappointed.
- Marc, Perth Western Australia, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I just hit the 5,000 mile mark and am ready to get the 5k mile inspection and fluid change and all I can say is I STILL LOVE THIS BIKE! Since buying this bike I have ridden several other bikes and found them to be inadequate. I have ridden the Dyna Wideglide, the Street Glide, and the Victory Vegas and all of them seem front heavy and clumsy. I guess I have been spoiled on this great well balanced, low center of gravity ride. I have upgraded to the stage 1 air cleaner and a set of V&H Big Shots Long for some extra pony power. It is still a wonderful bike. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in a great all around bike. It will get you around town or around the country and never miss a beat.
- Anonymous, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike all the way around. Only complaint or two is it is a little hot and the passenger seat is too stiff. Did the 1000 mile service and put synthetic oil in all three chambers as suggested. Runs a little cooler and now uses same oil for all. Shifts a little better now too. The stage 1 made a big difference in power and sounds great. My mileage is still around 45mpg checked on full tank to refill average. The rienhart pipes added very deep rumble and opens up when I lay into it. She will really jump now and sounds like a really big bore bike. The cost was around $1100 because the Rienharts are a little more but worth it. The black tips look great. After I did the stage on my bike I had a hard time getting it back from the Daytona mechanics. They loved it and have now made a display model on the show floot setup like mine for the 07 models. The bike gets a lot of attention everywhere I go now. Those darn mechanics ran a lot of my miles off - 10 to be exact for testing according to them. I had to jump on it and run to get it away from them. My turn boys, go buy your own.
- Lee, Edgewater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After six years of riding my 2001 Hertiage (and a great six years it was)...I decided it was time to buy a new Heitage. After searching on line and after many calls, I found the bike of my dreams. Three weeks ago, I purchased a new 2007 Heritage. I all ready knew that the custom seat that was put on with the paint set was not going to be comfortable for either myself or my wife the passenger...so I had a Deep Bucket Sundowner seat installed prior my picking up the bike from the dealership. I HIGHLY recommend this seat. Not only for comfort..but also it gives you a lower center of gravity making the handling of the bike even better than the good handling of a stock Heritage. Talk about power...1584cc's and a six speed tranny in 2007...then add the stage one...this is one quick sweet bike. I Love It!!!
- Glen, Traverse City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-31 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley after Hondas, Kawasakis ,and Triumphs. It is a lot more comfortable than the previous ones but I will probably need to change the handlebars for long runs. This is also the first bike that my wife will ride on. Highway pegs would be nice, but I would like to find some that do not require the engine guard. Needed to remove the heel shifter as I kept hitting it accidentaly (size 14 boots). Also changed the transmission oil to Royal Purple 85W140 synthetic - what a difference in shifting. Rear exhaust pipe is already blue - not sure of the cause.
- Dan, Painesville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-31 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First Harley for 35 yrs, retired, and it is so much better than the late 60's (XLCH)chopper I had before. 7 Hondas in between and not one of them has what the new 07 Heritage has to offer now. Ride, power, looks and the sound that is only produced by a Harley. It cost more but I am not put off by the price. For 1200 miles so far the wife and I have loved every minute of it. My seat is no problem but the only complaint is the wifes seat is needing help, haven't found the answer yet. It seems the new Harley touring is the first step to take. Overall I am loving it...
- Big Tom, Anderson , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles since I was a kid and let's just say I have a little snow on the roof now. I've owned Triumph, Honda and Suzuki. Have always wanted a Harley but kept telling myself it was too much money. Well one week ago I took the plunge and bought a new, leftover FLSTCI. I've only ridden 325 miles so far but I must say I am impressed. The motor has a balance shaft and in stock form is a little noisy. The windshield amplifies the noise, but I knew that going in. The bike is air cooled so it runs a little warm. The fuel injection is a joy. Starts right up, warms up quick and runs smooth. Acceleration is good, the ride is solid and the feeling you get riding this bike is beyond words. The stock seat is even comfortable. I went out for a ride last night 50 miles north took a break then 50 miles back home and could have kept riding. I'll update this review as I put on some more miles but for now I would have to say great bike.
- Nick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-06 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been dreaming about owning a big bike like this since I was a kid, but somehow other things always took priority . . . until NOW! I love everything about this bike. I've ridden for up to three hours straight with no discomfort. I was worried that the frame mounted engine might vibrate too much, but the counter balancing on the engine took care of that. It idles and runs very smoothly. If you're going to take your significant other for rides of more than 2 hours, you probably want a different passenger seat. I just bought the Harley Touring passenger seat. It wasn't very expensive and made a world of difference. Next I'll get the touring back rest and we'll be set.
- AL, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my new '07 Heritage for less than a month. I believe it to be the best motorcycle built today. I considered other Harley models but my wife and I wanted to take some road trips and with the standard equipment, saddle bags, windsheild, etc., it was the one for us. I will take mine in for its 1000 check up on the 20th of April so that will tell you how much I enjoy riding it. I would say that the increase for 80 to 96 HP is the most noticable. However, the adding of the 6th gear really changes the cruising on the highway. It handles great. After owning other bikes, I like this one 10 times better than any other and I like this one 10 times more than I even thought I would. It is truly a classy Classic.
- Thomas, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-23 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only had a month to ride before the snow stated flying but wow. I looked over every cruiser on the market and went for the Heritage. I hadn't rode for a few years but the Heritage handles so well it's like I never left the saddle. The roll on power and cornering ability of this big two wheeler is amazing. There is plenty of power from the 96B motor. You have to get the speedo up preety high to go into 6th gear, but when your there, it still rolls on with ease. Shifting is very smooth, the brakes are great and the comfort of the saddle on a long trip is outstanding.
- Ron, kelowna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with (47) miles on it in early December 2006. I have put about 300 more on it on short trips and around the town. I am so impressed with the handling and feel of it for such a big bike. I had an 05 Suzuki Boulevard c50 and loved it, but felt the desire to go the HD route this time. I am glad I did. The classic lines can't be beat. I have looked at different models of Roadkings, Dynas and Softails, and just thing the Heritage is the premier in style and classic lines. I can't wait for the weather to warm up to get some real riding in. I plan on adding some more chrome components, (i.e. master cylinder cases, grips and braided cables.) And also planning on the Stage 1 mod to be done soon.
- Jeff, Placerville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The new Heritage is a rider's dream, it handles great, responds, and rides smooth. I like the new engines 96B giving it more power. You cannot go wrong with getting the horse. I love mine.
- J Mo, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my cobalt blue/silver 2006 Softail Classic in November and put 10,000 miles on it the first year, traveling around the Midwest and a back-and-forth trip to Sturgis from Chicago. I've replaced just about every stock part on the bike with chrome and it looks just awesome. I would highly recommend upgrading the seat (I have a Mustang, a purchase for my wife) and also the exhaust (I went with V&H Longshots first and now have the BigShot Longs). At the 5000 mile service, I switched to synthetic fluids and that bought me an extra 5 mpg (from 35 to 40). I also installed Bag Bones in the saddlebags to keep them looking solid. A great bike for cruising around town or touring. I could not be happier with this bike and recommend it most highly.
- Eric Moore, Wheaton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-27 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got an 06 Heritage Softtail Classic in July. Traded an 05 Dyna Super Glide Custom...wanted bigger front end and foot boards. It's smooth, handles great and I still love the twin cam 88 and 5 speed...just put vance and hines big shot staggereds on it with the stage 1 kit...wow... Front end is chromed including fork, control housings and braided cables...I'm sure I'll think of something else to do to it...but for now I just love getting on it...and going anywhere...
- me, las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still very happy. A buddy's wife told him he should sell his Elecra-glide Ultra-Classic and get one of these! I've put 1100 miles on so far, and if I had time to ride I'd have quite a bit more. Now that I've had time to get to know the bike, I can handle it better than I could my 800 Suzuki. My wife finds the passenger seat much more comfortable than the last. I can ride this bike for a few hundred miles and still feel like riding. I hadn't intended on doing anything to be bike after I got it, but I should have known better. It doesn't need anything, but there's just so much you CAN do!
- Andy Dennis, LaMaddalena, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: