Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-03-05 2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very good stock ride. After some upgrades....Great Freakin'Ride! Smooth, fast with plenty of torque. I have a Softtail sitting in my garage and for anyone who knows, they are the most easy riding Harley ever made, this glide surpasses it. Con... The first get is just a bit to tall in the stock tranny for 500+ lbs of the line, Ok for 1 up but two could use a shorter gear. I have plans for that issue though
- Anonymous, Midwest

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-28 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the RG a little over a year now, and I've had a chance for a couple of long trips. When the weather got hot I decided to take off the lower fairings, which brought the buffeting back. I found some new wind deflectors that Harley just released this year, that mount in between the gas tank and forks. I also went from the Klockwerks shield to a Clearview (large). WOW! What a difference! This bike is 100% more comfortable than the stock version. With or without helmet - no buffeting! My glasses don't get ripped off my face anymore either. Well done Harley. I also added a Power Commander from FuelMoto. Right now the bike is dialed in just like I want, and I'm really looking forward to some major trips next year.
- Rob, Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-03 2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the most fun I've had on a motorcycle, and I've had a lot of them. It's super comfortable, handles great, has adequate (although certainly not overwhelming) power, and looks fantastic. The quality of the paint and chrome on a Harley is in a class by itself. I've done lots of 500 mile days and even a 750 mile day and the bike runs smooth and comfortable the whole way. I traded in a Goldwing to get this bike. The Goldwing is an awesome motorcycle, and I would also give it five stars. However, it has no soul like the Harley. It's more like a Civic on two wheels. The RG looks better, sounds better, feels better, and is just overall a more enjoyable ride.
- caymen8, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-12 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I am now about 10,300mi and the snow has arrived. Overall this bike has performed better than I thought. I changed the oil 4x and won't be due till 15k. The only thing I do not like is the bolts that hold the windshield on, I switched to a shorty windshield when it got real warm, the plastic bolts never seem tight so you end up overtightening them and I had one fall into the fairing. I have yet to find a permanent fix for this and have written to HD but I guess they have had this set up for years and do not intend on creating a permanent fix. Other than that this bike rides like a champ, I have not experienced any wind buffeting even with the shorty on. MPG is app. 45 normally and about 52 with cruise control. The rear tire is in great shape after 10k and I bet I can easily get another 5k out of it. I may do the stage 1 this spring but I really don't see a need for it. The radio is a great addition but is kinda tough to hear above 75mph, although the CD player is much louder. Definetly getting the J&M speakers this spring. Have looked at the 2010's and the lowered rear end does not look right to me and I imagine will not corner nearly as well, although the rear fascia looks beautiful, also the 2-1 pipe looks ridiculous from the rear of the bike IMO. If you can find an 09 go for it, they are truly one offs. Feel free to write me if you have any questions.
- Me, Rochester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-08 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. I sold my 2003 Roadglide and when I learned H.D was discontinuing the FLTR, I went down to my dealer and came away with a superior bike in every way. Abs brembos, 6 speed cruise drive, 96 cu in., 6 gal.tank, big 180 rear tire, much stiffer and better handling frame, less heat as muffler is now under bike and not next to the passengers left leg, better cd, radio, better speakers, more watts, I can easily hear at 80 m.p.h., better looking tank console, seat is more confortable, all in all this 2009 will run circles around my 2003. The old frame is what realy is bad about pre-2009s, as it wants to flex and wobble in corners, and the way too small rear tire (130) does not put enough rubber on the road. The new 2010 Roadglide does not come with cruise control, has too short a windshield and has lowered suspension, so the ride is harsher. If you want the best, buy an 09. I am surprised it took Harley soo long to finally upgrade the frame after 28 years. An 800-plus lb. bike does not need to be rolling on a skinny rear tire! Thank you H.D. - you hit this one out the park!
- jason, san diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a hard time choosing my first Harley 3 years ago. The RKC won out over the Heritage softail classic and the Road Glide. Well...I rocked 37,000+ on my Blue Moose RKC. Rode it like a sports bike a good part of the time. Rubbed her boards on mountain roads on the right coast from Maine to Georgia. Even rode the highways (only when real life interfered). Loved it, but it did have its limitations. Well...the 2009 RG does not have such limitations. It is one totally fantastic machine. Rides steady and predictably, has good power, and comfortable. The new frame is SOLID, the new brakes are REAL BRAKES, the ABS works real well. So far heat is not an issue, but the re-routed exhaust can't hurt. The new wheels are HOT. The radio is way cool. No more earphones, it sounds great and even has an input for my Zumo to play mp3s. The only negative is the windshield is a couple of inches too low. (Sing along with me: A shopping I will go, a shopping I will go, hi ho my derriere, a shopping I will go). Anyway, to wrap it up, this is absolutely the funnest thing I've ever made payments on in my life. Still need a name: maybe simply Orange Crush, or Creamsicle (mines in Mirage Orange Pearl and I'm the old vanilla boy in the middle, hee hee). Ride on and ride safe.
- Marko, New City, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a Road Glide. I had rode a couple of new stock 08 models. I liked the ride and feel of the 08 but I have to have the loud pipes and ape hangers. The used model had all this on it and 13000 miles. I also got the 103 motor, with true duals, and race tuner. The 96 inch motor with six speed was not bad that I drove, but it wasn't all that people made it out to be. The 103 is a better option. I think riders looking to compare this to any sport import will be disappointed. It's apples and oranges. I would have gone along with the 96 inch motor but when I saved a few thousand and got more for my money, why not? I have not heard the 5th gear whine. I have noticed I do listen closer to the transmission. I think this has more to do with less wind. I never rode a bike with windsheild and fairing. I did test ride Electra and Street Glide and found this more comfortable for my size. The motor does put out some heat at stop and go traffic. I don't do a lot of that so not an issue. I also think it's important to keep in mind it's an air cooled bike so it should be expected. The bike to me feels like a tour bike, but will also be great for day rides. I plan to ride it on vacation next month putting on 3000 miles, with the wife on back. I do hear that most riders go thru various wind shields. I have a klock works wind shield. It allows the bugs to fly over head and for me to feel the right amount of wind. I did not like the stock look or trying to look thru or over it. Besides that's what makes Harleys great - dressing them the way you want. I have had a few Harleys and will proably buy another Road Glide when I wear this one out.
- blur, butte, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-30 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for a few years but this is my first Harley. I almost bought a Star, but then I test drove the Road Glide. Thank God. It's an awesome ride. I've ridden in wind, pouring rain, even caught hail once. This bike handles it all extremely well. Took a four day camping trip on the bike and it was a blast. Great value, no matter what people may say about HDs. My buddy got a 09 Classic about the same time I picked up my FLTR, and I gotta say you can't go wrong with either bike. For a bike this large, she handles amazingly. Turns great at slow and fast speeds. Once you start riding you hardly feel the weight. It's very well balanced and a smooth ride.
- Charlie, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with Richs' review. I came from a 2007 Ultra and this is a definite improvement over what is a good bike. My first day out was windy and the bike tracked so much better than the Ultra. I know some people don't like the looks of the fairing but it sure seems to work better than the handlebar mounted ones.
- John, San Luis Obispo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-17 2009 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having come from the 08 Street Glide, my take on this new platform is that it's just so much nicer with the new frame, shocks, swing arm, larger rear tire and taller front. This bike handles very well and at any speed. The stretched out gears are even an improvement over the '08; much smoother. I highly recommend this ride. The redesigned exhaust is not next to your legs anymore. I think HD finally got it right.
- Rich, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-04 2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 30+ year lapse in motorcycling (marriages, kids, whatever), I decided to take up riding again. So, bought a Honda Spirit 1100, took the safety class, etc. and began. Honda was a good bike but horrible in the wind. I looked at Harleys and was drawn to the Road Glide, although questioned riding with its stationery faring. So I rented one in another city for a 'test ride.' I bought one several days later and haven't regretted it yet as this bike can really handle the wind and is comfortable. It has the power when you need it, and is literally designed for the highway although it's relatively easy to handle at low speeds when in parking lots and/or urban traffic. Truly a multifunctional bike!
- Ed, Jeffersonville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an add-on from my previous review: <br /> I have been riding for over 20 years. This is my first Harley. What I wanted in my first Harley was a bike I could play around with and more or less have the best of both worlds like playing around town and some serious long distance riding. I was not sure how much my wife was going to enjoy being on the back. My opinion is the Road Glide was an excellent choice. She thought of getting a bike for herself but decided she was more comfortable riding as a passenger. We have been on quite a few road trips and really enjoyed what this bike has to offer us. The suspension is great, the accessories are excellent and the cruise control and CD/radio are very nice features. I have put on quite a few accessories for our comfort like a seat backrest (detachable of course) and many other features. There is plenty of power and I have no complaints on the transmission. My dealer gave me excellent advice and service. We have ordered a 2008 Ultra Classic that will be delivered to us in January. I recommend anyone thinking of getting a Road Glide to go for it. I sure am happy I did.
- MDIONNE, STURGEON FALLS, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike after 13 years on my '95 Road King. I don't know what the Motor Co. has done but this bike is hugely different from my old mount. The engine is 20% larger but 100% smoother than the old Evo. The stock seat is very plush. With six gears to choose from the engine never feels stressed and with all that torque there's no need to rev it out to 5000 rpm. 80 mph comes on at a very quiet and smooth 3000 rpm in 6th and it'll run all day on the 6 gallon tank. I am very impressed with the build quality but this thing is so amazingly smooth for a big twin that at first I thought I was on a BMW or a Honda Goldwing. I think I'm going to like this bike.
- John Tymn, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley and I really like it. This bike is totally stock. I'm not sure if I'll change anything. It handles really well, I can lean that bike way over and the power from the new engine is decent; even the stock exhaust sounds good to me. I'm taking it easy with it as I'm still breaking it in. I look forward to being more aggresive with it once it's broken in. I haven't had any issues with it so far and I'm surprised at how good it is on gas(about50mpg). If there's any gripe it's that inner fairring. The gauges look great but the rest of the plastic is just ok. I may take the fairring apart over the winter and have the inner painted. I've seen how nice that looks; huge difference. Anyway, this bike was meant to be ridden and that's what I plan on doing as much as I can. THIS ROAD GLIDE SUITS ME TO A TEE!
- Jeff B, Dorchester, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my second 07 Road Glide in Dec. First one was totaled in Sep with 600 miles on it. A little disappointed in the power from the 96 ci engine. Stage 1 kit, vance &#038; hines ovals, and dyno tuning helped power and reduced the heat from the engine. Kuryakyn saddle shields help deflect the heat also. Great highway bike, set the cruise and roll.
- Eric, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I expected and more. I had been told by many different people that this is the best kept secret Harley has. They are right. The power is great, coming from a 800cc bike. The stereo sounds good even in the wind. I have no complaints so far. I'll update again after a few thousand miles.
- Dan, Huntley, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a 2002 Sportster 1200 Custom. The ride, performance and styling of this hog are outstanding. I wish I had bought one sooner. If you're looking for a touring bike, this is the one. It's like a part time job. I don't feel beat up after a 30 mile ride. All I wanna do is ride. Harley out did themselves again.
- Aaron Ponchaud, crystal falls, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ordered my Road Glide after doing a fair amount of shopping and comparing similar touring bikes. I have to say, nothing compared to it. The Electra Glide doesn't fit a guy my height and the Street Glide didn't offer the fairing protection the Road Glide does. The Road Glide really offers a tall man a comfortable cockpit to ride in comfort. I've put 500 miles on it already in less than 2 weeks and it's a pleasure to ride. Comfortable, responsive, beautifully crafted...it's the complete bike. It was the perfect 50th birthday present to myself!
- Alan G., St. Cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-06 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yesterday I borrowed my buddies 07 Road Glide. I put about 320 miles on the bike. I rode on both the hiway and on the twisty mountain roads. The bike handled like a dream. I currently ride an 05 Softail Heritage Classic and I was a bit concerned about the fixed faring. I actually loved it! The bike handled fantastic on the turns and the fixed faring didn't bother me at all. I did notice the noise in 5th gear but hey, it's only a noise and it doesn't effect the performance. The bike ran a bit hot but again, it wasn't a big issue for me. I loved the bike so much that I went out and bought one for myself today.
- Russ, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-26 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last week I purchased a 2007 Road Glide FLTR and left the next day on a 700 mile ride. I had the dealer put a 103 kit in it prior to picking it up. The only problem was breaking it in on the ride. Other than that, WHAT A RIDE! I also ride a Softail Classic with a big bore kit, and I just sold an Ultra because I didn't like the way it handled in traffic. The ride on the Road Glide was fantastic. I have several friends who will ride nothing else, and now I know why. One of them has an 01 with over 60,000 miles on it. He told me on the ride that when his 01 wears out, he will buy another Road Glide. It is just a comfortable as the Ultra, and handles like the Softail. I highly recomend it to anyone, whether they ride short rides, or go cross country.
- DAVE, CELINA, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-20 2006 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my eighth bike, but only my second Harley. My other is a 2003 Dyna Wide Glide, which I still have and use for day trips. I bought the Road Glide for touring, which I'm doing more of lately, and the Wide Glide, while nimble and quick, was just too uncomfortable on these 60-year-old bones for days-on-end in the saddle. The Road Glide has definitely solved that problem. The only reason to stop now is to fill up the tank, but I can go over 200 miles before that happens! I chose the Road Glide over the Electra-Glides or Road Kings due to its frame-mounted fairing, and the ride is rock-steady as promised. Very low vibration, smooth shifting, and standard creature comforts like cruise control and CD player make touring a pleasure. I even like the stock seat, to which I added a backrest (a simple install), and now the bike is more comfortable than my favorite easy chair at home. My 2006 (with the TC-88 engine) was a left-over model, and I saved thousands by forgoing the 2007 upgrades. I don't miss the new 6-speed gearbox they added to the 2007s, but I am a bit disappointed with the power--sometimes I find myself wishing I'd gone for the 2007 TC-96. Maybe that's just because I keep comparing it to my Wide Glide, which is fitted with aftermarket pipes and a re-jetted carb and weighs about a hundred pounds less than the Road Glide. Besides, touring is a different kind of riding. So why am I complaining? I'm not. I love it! Just don't make me give up the Wide Glide!
- Raptor, Albany, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Gotta say I love this bike. Put over 3200 miles in since September and this thing is sweet. I traded in 2000 Softail, which was a good ride, for this beauty. Liked it because of the fixed fairing and because it's a little different from the zillions of Electra Glides out there. The bike runs flawlessly and handles great with only a hint of a whine in 5th (if I listen for it). I haven't experienced any grinding, bucket bolts, etc. noises from the tranny that I've read on some of the Electra Glide reviews. I know it's the same tranny so I don't understand it. The bike does run HOT but not unbearable and hopefully will improve with new pipes, stage 1 kit and remapping. I gotta recommend this bike. When I took it in the 1000 mile fluid change, I had no items for the dealer to fix! Hope the tranny thing you guys had issues with is fixed because this motor and tranny combo is sweet.
- Gary, Clarkston, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-29 2006 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
'A lot easier to control then my 2000 Road King, at high speeds, and around town as well. I don't feel like I'm fighting the wind anymore. The front end on the Road Glide always seems light and the fairing does a great job cutting through the wind. I would buy this bike again,even though I was disappointed with the initial quality.
- Anthony Tavormina, Staten Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-21 2006 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my 2000 Softail for a 2007 Road Glide (Black Cherry). Man is this bike sweet!!! Just got back from an 1800 mile trip and the bike ran and performed flawlessly. Pulls really well with the new 96 CI Engine and 6 speed tranny. Really doesn't need a stage 1 kit for more power. The new stock exhaust system is louder than the 2006 but still a little too quiet for me. The fixed fairing really cuts through the wind and makes this bike handle well at slow or high speeds! Really love this bike and highly recommend it!
- Gary, Clarkston, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides great! The nose mounted fairing makes it easy to handle at slow speeds and rock steady when cutting through the wind. Those heavy gusts of wind just sort of "tap" the bike when you would have to brace yourself if you had a handlebar mounted fairing. The twin cam 88 engine is enough, it's a touring bike not a crotch rocket. Only complaints are the CD cover pops open on its own and the tint on the windshield near the mounting screws is wearing off from vibration. You would think for this much $ those things would be better quality. Nothing is perfect, so I'll take it anyway.
- Russ, Anchorage, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: