Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-10-13 2016 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for my bike for the last year and finally found it at Freedom Road Cycles and Sales in Wichita, Kansas. Shannon made it easy to purchase exactly what I wanted and was a pleasure to work with him.
- Phillip Friedland, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-03 2012 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just sold my 1999 K1200RS BMW. It was too uncomfortable for me. I got a "great" deal on a 2012 Road King. This is an all day-bike. It's comfortable and relaxing to ride. The new Brembo brakes do very well. The motor is a honey. The tranny is great. The new frame is very rigid. The bike handles well for a big machine. I added heated grips for the riding in cool weather in New Hampshire's fall. You will not be disappointed with this tourer.
- omaho5bill, Pembroke, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2005 Road King with the twin cam 88 and loved the bike. But 10 klm. down the road I was convinced I'd made a great choice to trade her in. The refinement of the new RC is amazing - better motor, better frame, better brakes and transmission. I had to keep looking to see if I was on a Japanese sport bike.
- Jake, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2010 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 49 years of age, 6 feet tall and just over 300 pounds, I knew my first bike was not going to be a 250cc rice burner or current crop of Euro naked bikes. Nor was it going to be one of the smaller Harleys on the market either. So I went with the base model Road King and have not second guessed that decision yet. The bike is solid, sturdy, stable when it needs to be and responsive when you need it to be. Drawbacks? I have laid her on her side twice and at 850# she is a real bear to get back upright. Despite the advertising there is still a lot of vibration but that smoothes out the faster you go and even with after-market Rinehart pipes she still sounds like a riding lawnmower. I have no other motorcycle riding experience to base this on but for my dollar I do not think I could have bought a better first motorcycle. I commute with it regularly and have taken it up into the Colorado Rocky Mountains with ease. She is a real joy to ride. Worse thing: the vibration. Best thing: Setting off car alarms in parking garages.
- KevinM40, Littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I waited for my first full riding season to be over before submitting this: Searched and reviewed for months the various makes and models. From the patience of the local Harley sales folks to the great people in the service department, this has been an extremely satisfying experience. I knew I wanted a bike large enough to carry a passenger, me and our stuff for a quick weekend getaway, yet small enough to have fun on by myself. With every model I looked at I kept coming back to the Road King. The bike is large enough to carry everything you need for a weekend trip and still have plenty of power to get up a go when passing on the interstate while being fully loaded with two people. A really stable, comfortable machine. We ride for hours without that stiffness. Yet when I am by myself on the twisties, she is responsive and agile. Like others the only complaint I have is the fith gear whine. Plenty of torque and a comfortable ride. The 4 point rubber engine mounting system has all but done away with the vibrations from hell that Harleys were known for. Being of short stature, I outfitted the bike with a Reach Seat. This pushed me forward and lowered my legs enough to comfortably hold the bike at a red light. She is heavy (800 lbs) and you need to respect the fact that if you drop it, you won't be picking it up by yourself. Have replaced all fluids with the synthetics. This helped the gas mileage and the whine on the 5th gear. Will be replacing the stock mufflers in the spring. With everything from the windshield to the backrest being quick disconnects, you can radically change the look of the bike within seconds. Long road trip, windshield, back rest & luggage rack go on. Riding by myself without any interstates, Off everything comes and you have a classic, big muscled bike. I would recommend for anyone who wants that in-between bike. Not a heavy cross country cruiser yet not a rough riding, bare bones sportster. If this is you, get the Road King!!!
- Bill Cote, Waterford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-30 2008 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own this and a gl1800 Goldwing, I enjoy this more because it feels more like a motorcycle. I use the the Wing on 1000 mile days and trips because it eats up miles. I ride the FLHR on day or weekend trips because it is more fun. You can make it a one of a kind. No problems with either bike.
- wolfislands, elk river, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 3 years and 15,000 miles, this has been an great bike for me. I have occasional problems with the starter not 'catching' properly but it always starts after the second crank. The paint and chrome are high quality and the finish still looks the same as when I bought the bike. It's comfortable on longer trips and I ride all day without any seat problem. The bike is a little unstable on rougher roads at high speed, but I don't like to drive that way. For a large bike, it's balanced and handles very well, even with a passenger. It's a real pleasure to ride this bike and I would buy a new one.
- Anonymous, Potsdam, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-18 2009 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I knew for years I wanted a big bike, even though my previous riding experience was on smaller bikes. So I did my homework and waited and watched HD's models over several years, then I couldn't hold out any longer. I've been lovin' my 2009 Road King since day one that I rode it home. I call him my new horse. Due to frigid weather, I haven't been able to ride a lot, but I've gotten my break-in mileage in, and have no complaints. Bike looks good, rides superbly -- handles well, is very comfortable, and gets up and goes when I roll the throttle -- and is all around great. Now I'm just waiting for warmer days, which will be here real soon. The ride is smooth. No heat issues like the pre-09 models. Stock pipes sound pretty good, but a little more volume (and associated HP) wouldn't hurt anything. Cruise control is nice, and works well (just as it should). Another good weather day to ride on and I'll be due for my first maintenance. that's when I'll switch to synthetic oil.
- Elk Richardson, Hollister, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden more than 10K miles on my 2006 Road King. It has a variety of accessories added now including Screaming Eagle Slips-on's and the Stage One air filter system. For all the naysayers regarding this bike, hear this: This machine is not only reliable and capable but it is plenty comfortable for any long haul you can think of. A recent trip thru the Idaho and Montana mountains made up of hundreds of miles of twisty roads, long climbs, high altitudes and open highway stretches showed just how versatile the Road King is overall. This bike performed wonderfully. The stock seat is more than comfortable for all day riding. The handling is impeccable and I've never had a mechanical failure of any kind. I can't say the same for the many metrics that I've owned. If you're looking for a bike that bridges the gap between full dresser and average cruiser - the Road King is it. It is a do-it-all marvel in every respect. Mine is the '06, an 88 cu in 5 speed. I know that every manufacturer has its issues, but after all those years on metrics, I'll never, ever go back. This Harley has made a true believer out of me.
- idrider, Eagle, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I decided to resume motorcycle riding again after a 30 year lay off, and I bought a new 2007 FLHR Road King from the local Harley dealer. I purchased a Harley 'reach seat' to lower my riding position and move me forward to the handlebars - it works well and is comfortable. I also bought a passenger grab rail kit, a new saddlebag guard kit (easier on the passengers legs), and a passenger backrest - and now my wife is happy too. It took several days to get used to the motorcycle, but I quickly found it to be well balanced and easy to maneuver around town. I was real happy the first time I pulled out into highway traffic and really tested the acceleration. This beast really roars and moves out in a hurry! Shifting is smooth and easy. I love the gearing - 6th gear is perfect for highway cruising and is only effective above 60 mph. It's like an overdrive gear. The 'beast' whines a little in 5th gear, but it isn't enough to bother me. Actually it reminds me that I'm in 5th gear rather than 4th. At highway speed, this bike feels steady and secure. It's great to slip off the windshield around town or for backroad rides - then it feels a little more like a cruiser than a touring bike. I haven't had trouble with heating up in heavy traffic, but the weather doesn't get very hot in northern New York state. Overall, it's a great motorcycle that hits all of the senses. It rumbles and shakes at the traffic light, it roars when you really twist the throttle, and the chrome and retro styling makes it a beautiful bike. This 'beast' has great manners and is a lot of fun to ride.
- wartbuster, potsdam, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2008 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished 450 miles on the new RG. NO 5th gear noise, smoothest shifting HD I have owned. Very smooth bike overall I think due to a combo of ISO drive, fly by wire, new ECU and new fuel injection. Seems more refined than my past HD's. Still an 800lbs bike with 65 HP, SLOW. Build quality is very good, heat is not excessive for air cooled big twin. Better than expected so far.
- Charles DeRider, Barneveld, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2008 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finaly bought my new Harley, a Road King Standard 2008 model. I was planning on buying the 2007 when they came out but I was scared off by all the reviews. I just put 400 miles on the bike on my first ride. It is really smooth. There is hardly any noticable sound in 5th gear. I did notice that it seems to get pretty warm. I don't know if that is normal when breaking in a new bike. I'm very pleased with the ride and the looks. I got the crimson red sunglo with candy red two-tone color. I like the 6 gallon tank. Also the digital display shows remaining miles (distance to empty). I'm very pleased so far with my purchase.
- Kent Petersen, Carthage, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-31 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just traded my 04 XL1200R for the 07 Road King (twotone Blue Suede Pearl over Black) and I love it. Smooth riding bike, plenty of available power. The handlbars were a little too far forward and high, but with a little adjustment things are just right. I ride 30+ miles one-way to work and this bike loves the highway. So smooth in 6th gear, if you didn't hear the purr of the pipes behind you, you'd swear it wasn't running! Color of this paint is amazing. Cost of everyone staring at it on the way by...PRICELESS.
- lkyman2006, Farmingdale, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new and it ran and rode great. My first HD. Previous bike was a Honda F6. Now with HD's customizing is the life and blood of owning this bike. Spent more in chrome and extras like rush 2.0 slip ons pipes for some noise, power commander three and leather for a little attitude and true trak for stability in the turns. Now 40 miles per gallon on the highway, 2800rpm in sixth gear at 85mph and my wife loves the way it rides. Here's a plus - women wave at me, people smile and wave and so do other riders. I highly recommended this big bike, may be too much bike and too much fun for some folks but it fills up my cup to overflowing. Watch out for cagers, be safe.
- mardis, troy, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-28 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 6,400 miles, I have to admit, this RK is the smoothest, most enjoyable cruiser I have found. I know they call it a 'medium' cruiser, but believe me, the electronic fuel injection is smooth, reliable, and helps you relax on longer trips where you need to rest your right arm a bit. My last bike was a Harley Low Rider (FXR) with medium ape hangers, a stroker engine, and drag exhaust! Not exactly something you want to cruise the Interstate on, but sporty around town and loud! The Road King is more like riding in my Cadillac, while the Dyna Guild was like living on the edge! I am VERY pleased with the Harley Road King and the bike gets compliments where ever I go!
- Eric Newman, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-07 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The handlebars suck. They place your body in a position in which you lean forward, putting pressure on your wrists, and actually put my hands to sleep. The stock seat is very comfortable. The air shocks are awesome and provide a very smooth ride. The power you get with the new 96' engine is awesome, and the 6 speed transmission is awesome. I traded in a 2005 Softail, after only owning it a year and a half, because I was a little unsatisfied. I always felt like I needed more power and was always fishing for that 6th gear. Now I have both and I'm completely satisfied. The bike does have some slight clatter in 5th gear but isn't really a big deal to me. I haven't noticed any heat problems that I hear others complaining about. The exhaust is too quiet, but I'll be fixing that soon. The good far outweighs some of the minor flaws.
- Anonymous, Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-05 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just traded my '06 Fat Boy for the '07 Road King. Wow, what a different bike this is. I don't know how many times I tried to upshift from fifth gear on the '06. It always felt like it was geared too low. According to specs, the '06 Road King was geared the same. The '07s cruise at a more comfortable highway RPM. At 350 miles in three days, I'm still going easy on the throttle and haven't tested the engine's capabilities. I'm a bit concerned about the engine heat when the weather warms up again. I think the transmission noise will subside. Overall, this bike is a huge performance improvement - especially for highway bike commuters like me. I'm leaving these pipes stock. I'm getting tired of buying detachable hardware kits. I wish Harley would integrate that into the bike design. I'm very happy with the bike!
- Bill, Wilmington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: