Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2019-01-12 2018 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike speaks for itself, Harley finally made inroads to a better riding and operating motorcycle. Reliability remains to be seen! I worked with Cody at Honda of Marysville in Ohio and was treated excellent. Cody is an excellent guy to work with. His knowledge and availability for fielding questions is spot on. All in all my experience was one of if not the best ever!
- WILLIAM BIRCH, Scottsdale, AZ

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased an extremely well maintained Harley with 10,000 miles from an individual in Texas. Looks new and rides like a dream. I paid less than dealer retail. Very smooth transaction all the way around. I hired a local motorcycle transport company in Houston (Marx Motorcycle Moving) to go to Dallas and pick it up and deliver it back to me.
- Julia Baumbach, Crosby Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-29 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike since new and have had no problems. It still looks great. Like I said, she's my girl and I love to ride her.
- Johnl, Essex, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-19 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 1989 883 Sportster. What a difference - smooth, can see in the mirrors, ride 300 miles and feel like I got out of a car. My feet are flat on the ground with a 28" inseam. There's plenty of power for my wife and me. The low center of gravity makes it easy to handle. Everywhere I go, people compliment the bike's looks - white/blue pearl. I get 42/52 mpg. I plan to add an oil cooler. I wish it came stock with one. I wish it had key fob security like the newer bikes. I get a lot of boot marks on the heat shields of the pipes...only complaint.
- Paul, DuBois, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-24 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really did love this bike. Great styling. I especially loved the 24.5 seat height. Easy to handle and very well balanced. I would especially suggest this bike for shorter men or women. I love having my feet flat on the ground. I wear a helmet and had some wind buffeting. The fork wind deflectors and shorter windshield solved the problem. I had problems with the seat. Too hard for long distances. Handlebars also vibrated on the interstate. Installed the Snake and this really helped. Bike needed more power. This can be accomplished with the new air intake, pipes, and dyno. I suggest this. Lovely bike. I recommend it.
- Russ Stewart, Champaign, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I still love the Deluxe and have had no problems with it. I did have to replace the back tire at 9200 miles and that was pretty easy. I have had dreams of changing the seat as this stock one still is a butt-buster. The performance is great and I won't be trading this one in. It is a KEEPER!
- Kathi, Albion, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-03 2008 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned quite a few bikes over the years; everything from Sportsters to V-Rods, Electra-Glide to Road King and a few metric bikes thrown in. If you're looking for a great all round ride for town and highway, the Softail Deluxe is hard to beat. The balance is amazing for a 700 lb. machine. It feels much lighter. Some say the Heritage will give you more for your money because the bags and windshield are included, but I found the Heritage didn't feel quite the same as the Deluxe. Everyone's tastes are different, but for me I've found my bike. I'm looking forward to many enjoyable miles.
- Roger, Anchorage, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-31 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine July 5, 2007 and have put quite a few miles (23500) on with no problems. I can't say enough about the looks of the bike. Just put on 9 spoke cast chrome rims today. Wow, really adds to the bike.
- Craig Robinson, Saco, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my 2 yr old Boulevard 50 for a 2007 Softail Deluxe white and cobalt. I have been riding for 2 yrs and never thought I would want a Harley until I rode one in March. The ride was different than the Boulevard with more power and umph with no high frequency vibration. I bought one within a week. Took a road trip last week and had a blast. I am short and the Deluxe is the shortest of the Harleys. It handles very well. The seat was very uncomfortable (I could only last 30 min on the stock seat) and I immediately put a solo mustang wide touring with backrest and am very comfortable. I also put the heritage handlebars on it and now sit very comfortably without neck or shoulder pain. It is a fantastic midlife opportunity purchase and ride.
- KB, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yep bought a 2007 Deluxe late last year, got my licence and so far have ridden 1500km. The Deluxe is a geat bike and a head turner. It's easy to ride, got lots of guts and fun to ride. Glad I bought one.
- Dutchy, Canberra, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-14 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OK - got my license back last summer and am a first time rider. Bought a 2007 Suzuki C-50 and the 2007 Softail Deluxe at the same time last October thinking I would ride the Suzuki for at least a year and then work up to the Deluxe off and on. Well, that lasted about 1 month and then I just couldn't stay off the Deluxe! The power, the handling, the looks....what can I say? I love the 6 gears and the weight balance for me is an absolute dream. The only problem I had was that the handlebars were just too far forward for me. So I traded them out for the Heritage bars and rotated them back some. Handles nicely but still not as nice as the risers I put on the Suzuki -- I should have done that with the Harley and may still do it after I put in some more miles. don't get me wrong -- I LOVE the Suzuki.....but the Harley (named her Blue Pearl for her two toned color) is my dream bike. For a fairly short rider, this bike sits great -- I get my feet on the ground no problem. The bike is so balanced that I don't feel I have to do any muscling of it. Even though it weighs almost 200 lbs more than the Suzuki, it doesn't feel like it due to the great balance. BTW, yes I am a gal.....
- Gelfmom, Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-27 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I have ever owned. I purchased two tone deep cobalt pearl and white gold pearl. Easy to change gears and 6th gear comes in handy. I am 57 years old, not a big person, or strong body strength. I find the bike so easy to ride and handle. It is easier to ride than the smaller bikes I used during my basic riders class. The ride is smooth and does not bother my back or neck that can give me problems. Everyone notices this bike coming down the street it looks so good. *Note: To use the Harley color matched hard bags added to the bike. I had to take off the stock chrome grab bar behind the seat that comes on the FLSTN. Reason if the grab bar stays on then there is not enough room for the lids to swing upward to open. They unlatch at rear of bags and swing upwards going forward towards the seat hitting the grab bar. I had a choice of removing the grab bar and keeping the lid pivoting upwards and use the one locking latch the way the bads were made, or I could removed the latch assembly and add the optional latch kit where the hard lids will lift completely off the bags. I chose to remove the grab bar. This way there is less chance of the bags falling off the bike or getting damaged if taken completely off the bike.
- FotoJon, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-22 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will have one year with the Deluxe this July and so far, no problems. I put +7K on it in my first three months and would have done a lot more if I had the time. This is my first Harley and I am very impressed with the quality. I too have had a suprise or two in the corners when I scraped the boards but the bike is simply perfect at highway speeds and handles perfectly. Importantly, the brakes are terrific. I am not happy with the lack of high-end power in passing situations in the mountains (I live in BC and we ride through mountains) so I am going all the way up to a stage 3 modification this spring. I would also love another gear but Harely wants $4 K to change transmitions so I will make do with the 5 speed. This is a great bike. I will never sell it. I should not have waited so long to get a Harley.
- Jeff, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I flew from Boston to Houston in late February '07 to purchase this Softail Deluxe beauty with the 2-tone creme/burgundy paint scheme from a dealer in Texas. I then immediately rode the bike 1900 miles back to the Boston area. I have nothing but good things to say about this bike. Extremely comfortable, stable, plenty of power and the 6th gear is wonderful at speeds above 70-75mph (otherwise it lugs the engine). The only complaint is the stock seat, which looks great but was killing my tailbone after just about 30 minutes on the road. I stopped at 1185 miles to get the 1,000 mile service done and had them put a HD touring seat on (and had them ship the stock seat back home). Made a big difference but still like the comfort/looks of the Mustang seat that I have on my 2005 1200XL-R. The ambient temps ranged from 80F (in Texas) to 30F (in Massachusetts). I did not experience any of the engine heat problems or 6th gear noise issues that others have noted. The initial fuel consumption was about 35mpg but went up as high as 42mpg after the engine broke in; 38mpg is a good number for planning purposes. I plan on keeping the bike in stock condition, as I think the Harley engineers got it right. The is a wonderful machine and the folks that assembled it did a fine job.
- Gary B, Westborough, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2007 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man what a great motorcycle! Plenty of power, speed, and handling. Lowest seat from factory, mine sits at 24 inches. I can't ride it enough. Rode great stock but now have pipes, rush slip ons, perf. air cleaner, stage 1 kit, H.D. custom paint job (dark blue w/ silver flames), and some extra chrome. It looks and rides great, can't ever be with out it. Can't go wrong with this choice!!
- Mad Cane, Ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-31 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Almost too great. The bike handles well in sun, sleet, and torrential downpours. It has been to Maryland, Virginia, North & South Carolina, West Virginia; mountains to the beaches. Bike starts everytime, slows when I need it and can get up and go. It is a daily rider, not garage jewelry, so reliability is important. Very comfortable ride whether in city traffic, country road or on the highway. Lots of chrome to keep clean and white walls are a pain to keep clean, but looks stunning when it gets a bath. No one will tell you that your bike is ugly. Only problem with this bike is clearance in the corners. Having ridden a lot of motocross & crotch-rockets, I have to remember that this is a cruiser, not a GSXR. I have torn off/rubbed off the heatshield clamps (at $1/pop and 5 minutes of work, not a big deal) and lost a guardian bell to a corner. That being said, there is nothing that will get someone's attention (whether bad or good) as a Harley coming around a corner with sparks flying and parts scraping!
- john mcneil, raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-11 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a Sporty 883L that I really liked. It was great for around town and short distances. I have a 13 year old daughter that rides a lot of 2up with me. I intially thought about making it into a 1200. After looking at costs and the 07s coming out the 06s went on sale. I was about step up to a Road King Classic 06. I was worried that I would have trouble controlling the RK as I was tippy toe at a stand still. Not an ideal situation. And then I had to back it out of my drive. No easy task. Then my saleman informed me of the Softail Deluxe 06 that he could sell me for the same price. I sat on the Deluxe and was in love. It fit me perfectly and I have never looked back. Rides and handles great. I broke it in going to the GA State HOG Rally. Over 400 miles in a single day. Butt was fine but I was drenched. IT RAINED MOST OF THE WAY BACK. I worried the rain would short something out and I would be stranded. But she came through without as much as a stutter and is still running great. Low center of gravity makes it easy to corner and control. Backing is a breeze. By the way, I am 63 years young and love the thrill of the open road.
- Monte, Hephzibah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was sold on this bike`s beauty and it`s riding height. It was low, which is ideal for a short guy like me. I originally wanted a night Train but it was not practcal without about a thousand dollars for adjustments before I could drive it away. I am completely satisfied with this bike. The only drawbacks I found were mechanical. The bike stalls easilly especially cold. Nothing new there. It gasps often which I did find new. Other than that, I did not like the way it shifted. There was always a heavy slap. Rarely a smooth upshift. Nuetral was often hard to find. Bonus, the new 6 speed is a perfect mate for this bike.
- John, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-04 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We recently bought this bike for my wife who has only been riding for a few months. At first I was a little nervous about buying such a pricey bike for a newbie, but after riding it myself all my worries were gone! This bike is by far the most pleasant bike I have ever riddin and I do have over 10 years under me. I curently have a Road King classic and it is no match in the ease factor department. My wife loves it and handles it better than the 750 Honda of her brothers that she had been riding! No regrets at all.
- Gus, Hancock, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-22 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
They need to rename this bike the "Super Deluxe" because it is in every way. Super easy to ride, shift, clutch is very easy to pull. Comfort is great for the rider, passenger will welcome the Sundowner seat available now from Harley for long trips. We bought the larger pillion, removable backrest, windshield (lower version) which turned out to be not effective at over 60 MPH. The turbulance is so bad you can't read the road signs. Other than that little glitch, with over 40 years riding under my chubby belt....this is the most fun I've ever had riding anything!
- Gary, Rogers, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-21 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a cbr 600 f2 in 94, and have not ridden since 96, so when I went to the dealer to pick up my deluxe I was very nervous. This bike is about twice as heavy as my cbr was and I have not ridden in about ten years. The salesmen at the dealer pushed the bike out into the parking lot, but it was not pointing towards the street as I hoped. I was nervous of trying to turn this heavy bike, if it was pointing towards the street, it would have been a straight shot back to my house, but as soon as I let the clutch out and the bike started into the turn towards the street all of my worries went away. This bike is so easy to ride it is unbelievable; I think it is easier than my 400 pound cbr was. The seating position and the floor boards make you feel like you are driving a lounge chair around. It is like a Cadillac on two wheels. Just point it in the right direction and let it go, I feel very confident in the corners as well as the straights. The engine is not high revving like my cbr was, but the torque makes up for that. I have installed a detachable windshield, a chrome lower belt guard and a chrome voltage regulator cover.
- tom, parma, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for a while and it gets a lot of looks. Last year I installed a windshield, pipes. Just recently put bags on. The only draw back is the seat (not very good over long trips.) Holds value quite well. No problems with reliability of performance.
- mike, East Haven, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far the most asthetically pleasing motorcycle I have ever owned. It turns heads wherever I go. The engine is pure american V-Twin with the classic Harley throb. It's smooth and the power comes on smoothly throughout the powerband. This bike is a pure cruiser, made for what I do, just cruise around. The bike also rides "small". May be the seat height, but it's just so easy to ride. I've added bags, passenger backrest, a larger passenger pillion, and crash bars. The quality is outstanding. Real steel, and a pure motorcycle. Would I like more power? Yes. Does the bike fulfill my needs? Yes. I love the retro look, and I think I'll be keeping it a long time.
- Robert, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-03 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my second bike, first being a V Star 1100. When I walked into the HD store, ONLY 1 Harley jumped out and made me weak in the knees...the black cherry softail deluxe! I bought it instantly and had no regrets selling my V Star..it was a 2006 model too...impulse buy! :) I am a female and this bike handles like a dream and sounds awesome. It is the lowest sitting Harley out and handles beautifully. I had the dealership put on Cycle Shack slip-ons the day I bought it and they are AWESOME..and not too harsh on the pocketbook. This bike will be with me for MANY years to come!!!!!! P.S. The whitewalls give it that true nostalgic look...a memorable classic!!
- Candace, Longview, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not a whole load of miles on the deluxe yet but 2500 smiles at least. Great riding position for a short arse like me, grunty, handles well, stays on line even in the worst bumps although the floorboards tend to hit down too early. Really well built, smooth lines and a front end that just looks good from any angle. Riders seat is fantastic, pillion hmmm!! as usual if your chick has no butt or feelings it's cool. I bought the black and white version which looks like a "buster keaton" cop bike and I love it. Stay uprite from one happy dude.
- John, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: