Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-13 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been just a blast to ride. No problems and don't expect any. Handles just great on the twisties. Still working on breaking it in. The one negative is that the seat is too hard. Put on a Sundowner seat and it's fine now. Looking in to putting on new slip on mufflers and maybe a windshield for the highway.
- Will, Heath, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden in years. I wanted a bike with enough power that was not too big. I have enjoyed riding my Sportster. It handles well and the gas mileage is of course great. I ride it almost every day. I purchased it in March 2008 and am already nearing 10,000 miles. I have ridden in 22 degrees F and rain... I prefer not to ride in the rain, but it handled well. It has plenty of power to get me where I am going. I will be taking it from Texas to Canada soon.
- richard gilbert, denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third Sportster. In the past I've owned a 1991, 1980, and 1977 (Cafe Racer I believe). And this XL1200-L is the best so far. All of the older ones were powerful, but they felt like they were strangling for air. This new 2007 1200-L most feels like the 2000 Dyna I used to own. In comparison to the Dyna, the acceleration of the Sportster is greater, and I think it is more comfortable to ride because it is narrower, and you can get more of your feet on the ground. The Dyna has the better transmission and feels smoother as it accelerates. The Dyna has a fairly loud and more pleasing lower exhaust sound with Screamin' Eagle pipes. While the Sportster with Cycle Shack mufflers has a loud, piercing, higher pitched bark. The Sportster at a hundred pounds less is a pleasure to push into the garage while the Dyna always felt like it was going to slip out of my hands and cost me hundreds in bent steel. The fuel injection in the Sportster is a joy! The bike always starts right up, and the throttle response is terrific. There is one caution though, and that is at low speeds, the throttle is so sensitive that if you lug the engine, the throttle can get jerked. A couple of times when this happened and I was thinking of other things, the grips nearly pulled themselves out of my hands. I would have felt really foolish doing a backward sommersault off the back of my bike! Comparing this new Sportster to the earlier Sportster is easy. The new one is much better in every way but one. I loved the little peanut tank on the early 1980's Sporsters, and I think they were more pleasing to look at than the 2007 model. But the 2007 model is no slouch in looks. I hope this helps you future Sportster buyers.
- Chris Okusako, Davis, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-20 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After doing a lot of research I settled up on the 1200 L. I didn't want or need something capable of hauling the garage with me. I have ridden several different brands, all 1000cc or larger over the years. This Sporty is comfortable and really feels like it will haul, when properly broke in of course. As the weather has been poor recently, I don't have the miles on it yet I would like. The new fuel injection is great, fires up and runs smoothly from the get go. No shaking or excessive vibration anywhere. My two top rides from the past were a KZ1000 Kawasaki, and a BMW R100RT. Both were great for their designed purpose. The mechanical quality and finish on this unit is excellent. After reading many of the other reviews, I would suspect many of the problems folks are having, not just on the HD's but others as well, comes down to dealer set up at the time of sale. There is no excuse for any vehicle to head home with a new owner with low tires, loose anything, or low oil levels. I am pretty picky with what I have my backside on but if you have an interest in a 2007 take a ride, I don't think you will be disappointed.
- Mike, Kalona, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-29 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the XL1200L after owning a Honda Shadow Spirit 1100. The Harley has much better balance and handles curves better than the Honda. I set up both bikes basically the same so it is a fair comparison. The rear shock is a little stiff for some of the larger road surface irregularities, but that is my only complaint. I took many multi-day trips on the Honda and one on the Harley and I like this little 1200 quite a bit more than the other bike. I have owned Suzukis, Hondas, a Kawasaki and a Yamaha. This Harley has them all beat, no question. It only needs a highway bar to enable true all-day riding. Some day I might get a Super-glide, but for now this is the real deal.
- Casey Teliczan, Cedar Springs, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just finished the first thousand miles and love every minute of it. This bike handles great and has plenty of power, sounds great and is fun to ride.
- Ken, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up riding Triumphs, last one bought new was a 1972 Bonneville 750. The 1200L I like very much,no comparison to my last Triumph. This is an excellent scooter that a common man like me can ride. When I'm on my 1200L I feel like the world is mine. I really like my ride. 5 stars all the way. Thanks to Harley for keeping my dreams alive. First place I'm headed for is that Rocky Mountain high, ride free!
- James Stiver, Midwest City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: