Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-10-04 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well the ride is rough so I can see me upgrading the shocks and seat. Other than that I love the bike. I can't stay off it. I just make up any reason to go for a ride, short rides though (rough). I love the looks and the ride at low or high speed is great. You'd never know the bike's 545 lbs. It feels more like 200 lbs., like a dirt bike I had 30 years ago. Oh yeah, I should have mentioned I retired and thought I had to have a Nightster. I love the old time look, forward controls.
- Scott, Lake Havasu, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-20 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride sport bikes when I was in my teens and twenties. Then when I hit 30 I saw the light and went into some Honda cruisers, and almost bought a Honda VTX 1300 before I bought this Nightster. I have to say it's an awesome bike. It does vibrate and it's not annoying on the vibration. It's just part of the rumble of the 1200 cc motor's tone. The ride is very quick of the line, plenty of low end torque. I have a stage 1 and remapping of the EFI and it runs far away from the Honda VTX 1300 which a buddy of mine owns. Now he wants a Harley. It's very low to the ground so it's not for riders over 5'10" tall. I used to believe a lot of what all these people say about Harleys and now I know it's all in the eye of the individual rider. But if you look at the top ten list of what we Americans do compared to the rest of tbe world, Harley motorcycles are mentioned in the list as some of the best built and best riding motorcycles in the world. I mean why do you think there are such things as Shadows, Vulcans, Boulevards, and others trying to do it like Harley but just not quite doing it. Well enough I say, but that's my experience. Try one for yourself.
- Perry Burrow, Deer Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-30 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my nightster in January of 09 during the ride free promo. I had a sport bike and wanted to go back to a cruiser. After riding for a month, I determined it was necessary to upgrade my seat and rear shocks to improve the ride. That is why for a 2 star in the comfort department. The rear shocks are very firm, and there is hardly any padding in the stock seat. It would have been nice to have a sixth gear for highway riding. Another thing that bugs me is the rather small 3.3 gallon tank. My fuel light regularly comes on between 95-110 miles. I usually see about 45-48 mpgs. One thing that brought me to buying the bike was the old school styling. This is a very sharp looking bike.
- Me, Inglis, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-20 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love it! Forward controls are a MUST! Vance & Hines Slip-On's #16819 are PERFECT! Spuper sound! ForceWinder is next. The ride is Rough w/a stock seat (Biggest Complaint). Great, NO SUPER performance. Would recommend one to a best friend.
- M, James, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am coming from Sport Bikes and now I am glad I have a nice Harley to cruise around the country in! I got a comfy 2 up seat, highway pegs, and a nice sissy bar and backrest for my gf. The only thing left to do is to get some progressive shocks as it can get kinda bumpy on the crappier roads. But if you're thinking about getting a Nightster, go for it!!
- Sergio, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-24 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I fell in love with the Nightster the first time I saw the bike. I spent two years talking myself out of it. I was saving for a Sucker Punch Sally, not really sure if I had what it takes for living with a hardtail. I studied the Nightster and Sucker Punch Sally for two years. Riding since '73 I worked my way from a Honda CB 360, Honda CB 750, Honda 1000 Goldwing, Yamaha V-Star 1100, Harley Low Rider, Harley Softail Heritage, Harley Softail Deluxe, and currently a 2006 Harley Street Glide. The Nightster would be a second bike, a 200 mile bike, a bar hopper. Finally, finally I went for the all black Nightster. What a surprise!!! The most fun I have had on a bike for many years. As another reviewer put it, Rides like a tank, shakes like a Tommy Gun, pulls like a locomotive and hotter than Halle Berry. I put on black mini-apes, black ceramic Hooker Header pipes, forward controls, Arlen Ness Big sucker adapter with the filter cover off a Harley Crossbones, progressive 412 shocks one inch over, chrome head covers, quick release sports windshield, removed the belt guard, and removed all the reflectors. Still looking for a springer seat kit that I like, none yet. The bike handles very well in corners, is surprisingly quick and is surprisingly comfortable with the 412's making my one 300 mile ride with no worries or complaints. Julie still has the 07 Deluxe, I still have the 06 Street Glide and the Nightster is getting ALL the attention. Check the photo. Stare.
- Gordo, Monroe, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-24 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a fan of old school customs, both 2- and 4-wheeled, I was drawn into the looks of the bike. It's tense, compact lines suggest a bike bursting to be taken for a hard ride, and its simplicity in styling suggest a naked ambition for the road. I was discouraged by the presence of Electronic Fuel Injection (I am a carburetor fan), but it seems to work unobtrusively enough and starts easily. The wait for the check engine light to turn off before starting is annoying though, as is the high idle when cold, or restarted when warm. Once underway, it's a torquey mill that's just as well at home loafing along in grand Harley style, or being whipped on some twisty back road. Pipes and a re-tune for the fuel injection will do wonders for its rideability, however, extending the useful RPM's of the motor. At 545lbs, it's not a light bike, but it has a very low center of gravity that gives it a light tossability that's invaluable in traffic and low-speed situations such as parking lots. It simply rides a lot lighter than it is, and makes you look and ride better than you probably really are. The suspension is lowered, and lacking a significant amount of travel in the rear, it rides like a hardtail. But, handling is crisp, even if the lean angle puts a damper on the fun. Maintenance is pretty easy compared to most, and its lack of a lot of the creature comforts that are softening up bikes bodes well for its future reliability. Overall, this is a handy bike for almost any situation but long-distance riding, with signature Harley sound, good reliability, a great powertrain, and excellent handling.
- James Parson, Tyler, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-20 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 42 female and this is my first bike, love it! I had no idea my husband and I would enjoy both our Nightsters so much to the point of driving all day, of course we stop along the way. My one complaint is not great for long distance, for me personally, suspension can beat you up after a while, other than that, just a great performing bike with serious looks that young guys seem to drool over??? Put progressive shocks on and that helped somewhat with ride. Extra sweet with V&H's! Forward controls added put you in different position for the more confident, the original controls give you more responsive timing for the beginner! Fun ride through the city streets, quick, nimble, fast!
- bikergal, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in Austin 2 weeks ago and so far it's a great ride and an eye catcher. I love the way it fits my body. Harley-Davidson - thanks for this great ride.
- EN, Del Rio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Harley-Davidson motorcycle. The styling is awesome. I have had the bike as high as 90 mph, but it loves to go low and slow. The pipes can get hot at stop-lights, but cruising around town is a nice ride. I love the sound of the v-twin. The best part about this bike is that I don't have to do anything to it to make it mine. It is already set up with how I would modify it. Great job Harley-Davidson!
- FL, Austin , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-23 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my orange and black Nighster in March. It fits my body great and has plenty of power. The seat kills my rear and it has an irrascible oil leak. I have had no problems with starting or backfires. Got V&H shortshots which took care of the heat on the leg problem. I love my Nightster and I plan to keep it till I get too old to ride. This is my last ride by choice.
- Ce, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great looking bike! Mine is black/silver. It's not yet broken in but it runs strong with all the torque you would expect. I'm really impressed. Harley-Davidson really dropped the ball when they came out with the XL50; a couple badges, big deal but this is the the real anniversary bike. It even comes in anniversary colors black/silver.
- Alan Costain, mission, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: