Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Scott

Lake Havasu, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well the ride is rough so I can see me upgrading the shocks and seat. Other than that I love the bike. I can't stay off it. I just make up any reason to go for a ride, short rides though (rough). I love the looks and the ride at low or high speed is great. You'd never know the bike's 545 lbs. It feels more like 200 lbs., like a dirt bike I had 30 years ago. Oh yeah, I should have mentioned I retired and thought I had to have a Nightster. I love the old time look, forward controls.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Perry Burrow

Deer Park, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I used to ride sport bikes when I was in my teens and twenties. Then when I hit 30 I saw the light and went into some Honda cruisers, and almost bought a Honda VTX 1300 before I bought this Nightster. I have to say it's an awesome bike. It does vibrate and it's not annoying on the vibration. It's just part of the rumble of the 1200 cc motor's tone. The ride is very quick of the line, plenty of low end torque. I have a stage 1 and remapping of the EFI and it runs far away from the Honda VTX 1300 which a buddy of mine owns. Now he wants a Harley. It's very low to the ground so it's not for riders over 5'10" tall. I used to believe a lot of what all these people say about Harleys and now I know it's all in the eye of the individual rider. But if you look at the top ten list of what we Americans do compared to the rest of tbe world, Harley motorcycles are mentioned in the list as some of the best built and best riding motorcycles in the world. I mean why do you think there are such things as Shadows, Vulcans, Boulevards, and others trying to do it like Harley but just not quite doing it. Well enough I say, but that's my experience. Try one for yourself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Me

Inglis, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my nightster in January of 09 during the ride free promo. I had a sport bike and wanted to go back to a cruiser. After riding for a month, I determined it was necessary to upgrade my seat and rear shocks to improve the ride. That is why for a 2 star in the comfort department. The rear shocks are very firm, and there is hardly any padding in the stock seat. It would have been nice to have a sixth gear for highway riding. Another thing that bugs me is the rather small 3.3 gallon tank. My fuel light regularly comes on between 95-110 miles. I usually see about 45-48 mpgs. One thing that brought me to buying the bike was the old school styling. This is a very sharp looking bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M

James, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2009-09-20

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Love it! Forward controls are a MUST! Vance & Hines Slip-On's #16819 are PERFECT! Spuper sound! ForceWinder is next. The ride is Rough w/a stock seat (Biggest Complaint). Great, NO SUPER performance. Would recommend one to a best friend.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sergio

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2009-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am coming from Sport Bikes and now I am glad I have a nice Harley to cruise around the country in! I got a comfy 2 up seat, highway pegs, and a nice sissy bar and backrest for my gf. The only thing left to do is to get some progressive shocks as it can get kinda bumpy on the crappier roads. But if you're thinking about getting a Nightster, go for it!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gordo

Monroe, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2009-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I fell in love with the Nightster the first time I saw the bike. I spent two years talking myself out of it. I was saving for a Sucker Punch Sally, not really sure if I had what it takes for living with a hardtail. I studied the Nightster and Sucker Punch Sally for two years. Riding since '73 I worked my way from a Honda CB 360, Honda CB 750, Honda 1000 Goldwing, Yamaha V-Star 1100, Harley Low Rider, Harley Softail Heritage, Harley Softail Deluxe, and currently a 2006 Harley Street Glide. The Nightster would be a second bike, a 200 mile bike, a bar hopper. Finally, finally I went for the all black Nightster. What a surprise!!! The most fun I have had on a bike for many years. As another reviewer put it, Rides like a tank, shakes like a Tommy Gun, pulls like a locomotive and hotter than Halle Berry. I put on black mini-apes, black ceramic Hooker Header pipes, forward controls, Arlen Ness Big sucker adapter with the filter cover off a Harley Crossbones, progressive 412 shocks one inch over, chrome head covers, quick release sports windshield, removed the belt guard, and removed all the reflectors. Still looking for a springer seat kit that I like, none yet. The bike handles very well in corners, is surprisingly quick and is surprisingly comfortable with the 412's making my one 300 mile ride with no worries or complaints. Julie still has the 07 Deluxe, I still have the 06 Street Glide and the Nightster is getting ALL the attention. Check the photo. Stare.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Parson

Tyler, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a fan of old school customs, both 2- and 4-wheeled, I was drawn into the looks of the bike. It's tense, compact lines suggest a bike bursting to be taken for a hard ride, and its simplicity in styling suggest a naked ambition for the road. I was discouraged by the presence of Electronic Fuel Injection (I am a carburetor fan), but it seems to work unobtrusively enough and starts easily. The wait for the check engine light to turn off before starting is annoying though, as is the high idle when cold, or restarted when warm. Once underway, it's a torquey mill that's just as well at home loafing along in grand Harley style, or being whipped on some twisty back road. Pipes and a re-tune for the fuel injection will do wonders for its rideability, however, extending the useful RPM's of the motor. At 545lbs, it's not a light bike, but it has a very low center of gravity that gives it a light tossability that's invaluable in traffic and low-speed situations such as parking lots. It simply rides a lot lighter than it is, and makes you look and ride better than you probably really are. The suspension is lowered, and lacking a significant amount of travel in the rear, it rides like a hardtail. But, handling is crisp, even if the lean angle puts a damper on the fun. Maintenance is pretty easy compared to most, and its lack of a lot of the creature comforts that are softening up bikes bodes well for its future reliability. Overall, this is a handy bike for almost any situation but long-distance riding, with signature Harley sound, good reliability, a great powertrain, and excellent handling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bikergal

United States

Reviewed on 2007-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 42 female and this is my first bike, love it! I had no idea my husband and I would enjoy both our Nightsters so much to the point of driving all day, of course we stop along the way. My one complaint is not great for long distance, for me personally, suspension can beat you up after a while, other than that, just a great performing bike with serious looks that young guys seem to drool over??? Put progressive shocks on and that helped somewhat with ride. Extra sweet with V&H's! Forward controls added put you in different position for the more confident, the original controls give you more responsive timing for the beginner! Fun ride through the city streets, quick, nimble, fast!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

EN

Del Rio, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in Austin 2 weeks ago and so far it's a great ride and an eye catcher. I love the way it fits my body. Harley-Davidson - thanks for this great ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

FL

Austin , Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Nightster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great Harley-Davidson motorcycle. The styling is awesome. I have had the bike as high as 90 mph, but it loves to go low and slow. The pipes can get hot at stop-lights, but cruising around town is a nice ride. I love the sound of the v-twin. The best part about this bike is that I don't have to do anything to it to make it mine. It is already set up with how I would modify it. Great job Harley-Davidson!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: