Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-02 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2007 883C in late 2010 from a guy who stored it for three years (it was still like new). I've ridden it for a summer and a half so far with no complaints. It's an awesome bike. If you're a "large" fellow, you might want a bigger engine, but the 883 is PERFECT for me (5'10 and 190 lbs.). It accelerates like a rocket, has plenty of low-end torque and cruises at 75 mph. all day long. The rubber mount engine and fuel injection are great additions to the Sportster line. It's classic, has beautiful lines, great mechanics and a well-executed package of exhilaration. If you want to be hunched over a chainsaw, or ride a poser, buy a metric. If you're after a real cruiser and you're not dramatically overweight, pick up an 883C! The forward controls and laid-back handlebars help ensure a comfortable ride and the huge gas tank helps you put on the miles without stopping so often to fill up! I can't say enough good things about the 883C! It's got to be the best version of the Sportster ever devised!
- Skip Stone, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles since 1967. I own five street bikes at the moment. I bought this bike because I have always liked the looks of the Sportsters and no longer have the need to ride 170 mph. I have an aversion to vibration so I didn't give serious thought to a Sportster until they mounted the engine in rubber. In 2007, they gave it fuel injection. That is just icing on the cake. This is a great bike. It runs down the road 60-75 mph. all day long. It starts instantly and has great low-end and mid-range power. I just changed the oil and filter at a cost of $12. If you do your own maintenance, this is a very easy bike to work on. I have owned some very nice bikes (around 100 all together) and have always done the maintenance as much a matter of convenience as well as cost saving. This is a bike that has a solid feel, great build quality, good looks and unfortunately a reputation as a starter bike. It is way more than that. I must admit that I haven't had mine much over 100 mph., but then again I don't have a need to go there. In the real world, the speeds that I ride on the back roads and expressways at 55-75 mph., the performance is very pleasing. It pulls like a John Deere from the bottom. It isn't a GSXR or an FZR. It is a Harley and it behaves like one. If you want a race bike buy something else. If you want something to ride back and forth to work or perhaps to the west coast and back, you could do far worse. This is one very satisfying motorcycle.
- Stephen Cunningham, Gladwin, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-16 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really do enjoy this bike. It was a great bike to get back into riding with. I was a little concerned about the size since I am a big guy, but this bike has more than enough to haul me around. On the highway I can reach around 90 mph. and there is still a little left. I don't know how comfortable I would be with doubleup riding for long rides but it still handles well. I'm very pleased with this bike. I'll upgrade eventually, but for now I'm more than happy.
- Daniel, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-08 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike and love it! When I bought it, it had 3,231 miles on it. In just a few days that I've had it, it's already at 3,396. I'm glad I got this one before someone else did.
- Brenda, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-20 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike the last week of June in 08. I have ridden this bike many miles in the little time I have actually had it out. It is great for an hour or 2 ride but after that, it's not the best. I put many miles on it last year riding from Kentucky to Ohio all the time. It has always started right up every time. I did have to have the rocker box gaskets replaced but Harley warrantied the parts and labor of course because of the awesome 2 year unlimited mileage warranty.
- JeffDynes, Ansonia, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-18 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this one as my first bike, and I could not have made a better choice....being a new rider. The bike is a bit heavy (560 pounds) but once you are used to it, you don't want to ride lighter stuff. It has been very reliable with the exception of the Running brake light module going out, which is not that big of a deal, it being an accessory. It turns great. It looks great. It stops great. It's got more than enough power. It is economical, as I am averaging around 50mpg. The sound it makes with stock pipes is enough to make you drool... The only reason I'd get Screaming eagles, is for highway riding purposes. I got mine without test riding it first & I was not disappointed. It's truly a Great bike. I love the individual handle turning signals with auto shut off. No other bike has that!!
- Zeze, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-22 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for close to a year now and love it. It is my 1st bike. It could use a little more power but it works for most situations. The stock pipes sound better as the miles are put on, but I will still be putting on V&H Short Shots. It is a great looking bike with white/gold paint and just the right amount of rake in front. I looked at other bikes as well and it was like comparing a BMW to a Chevy Cobalt. I can see why there is such dedication to Harleys and I am proud to say that it is my bike of choice.
- DaveHD, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-23 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up the new bike. This is a great bike to ride. It has plenty of power and is just plain fun to ride. And after 21 other bikes including 2 GP race bikes, a 92 FLSTC, and a host of others, this bike ranks up with the best I've owned for ride and comfort. Fuel mapping is spot on and the thing just pulls well through all revs.
- crasher65, Tewantin, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-24 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I reached 50 and had a mid-life crisis - yes I bought a HD. Being short and less than confident in control of a heavy MC, I chose to start with a 883C. This bike is just great and comes at a reasonable price tag. Oh yes, you can get technology for your money with Japanese and Euro bikes but HD is a name that gets the look. Go buy one, you won't be disappointed.
- Simon, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-06 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My very first ride on a Harley was a 600 mile, 13 hour non-stop one from Ocala, Florida to Nashville, Tennessee this past weekend, March 31, 07. Picked up my new 883 custom in Ocala and drove straight thru to Nashville, all interstate driving. Everyone said I was crazy and that may be true but I found that after 20 years of non bike riding, that I still got it, and so does this Harley. Although it is not made for interstate riding in my opinion, it made the trip with no problem whatsoever. You could put a windshield on for interstate rides then remove it when you are done. I thought the seat might be a problem but my bottom never did get sore other than what you would expect after 13 hours on any bike. I was concerned about going thru the mountains in Chattanooga Tn, but the new fuel injection made this a non problem. Nothing bothered it, flat driving, up mountains, down mountains, didn't matter to my new 883c. We both made it back home to Nashville, the bike a lot better off than me (note to self, WEAR SUNSCREEN FOR 13 HOUR RIDES). I'm in love with my new Harley, if you are thinking about getting one, just do it. These are great bikes and I look forward to a lot of miles on this one. Here's my list of things to change on my new 883c: NOTHING! Buy one and enjoy, it is great.
- mike, nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought one this summer and put 4700 miles on it in three months. Changed out the pipes to cycle shack and high flow intake (screaming eagle) rejetted the carb. The down side is the 883, plenty of power up to about 75 mph but passing power is non existent. Stock saddle is a dark age torture device (change it immediately). I ride a FXR3 usually but like the 50 plus mph for commuting. The Sporty is the most enjoyable true bike experience. The Custom gives you the look of a big vtwin but the MPG we all desire.
- bwitt, murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-11 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fist bike. I love it! Now that I got my pipes, vance and hines short shots, and a screamin eagle big air kit and jeted the carb, it runs so good. If you're thinking of getting one - go 4 it! It is the best thing I did!
- justin, portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride the oldies, 78 Shovel, 79 Sporty, 81 Suzuki GS550, 82 Honda CB750C, but this bike ROCKS and would leave them all in the dust. This is what Harley should have done years ago. Rubber mounted engine really brings the jaring to an end. 4.5 Gallon tank, I get about 175 miles before I have to hit the reserve. It loves to cruise on the highways around 70 -75 miles an hour. This bike is the best bike I've ever had the pleasure of owning. Plenty of power, excellent braking. The only downside is the seat and exhaust pipes. I've put 2K on this bike this summer with zero warranty issues.
- Chuck , Owasso, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-08 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I have ever owned that has not been a sportsbike. It has also been a decent amount of time since I have had a bike. I made the choice after a month or two of deliberating on between the Honda Shadow, Kawasaki Vulcan, Suzuki Boulevard, and of course the Harley 883C. I figured I would go with the Sportster because of the resale value and based on reviews. Man did I make the right choice there. Let me tell you something - I have a bike that is slightly larger in displacement than the other ones I was thinking about with a payment that is about 50% more than that other bikes with performance that is better than the other bikes. What a disappointment right??? NO!! This is the funnest bike that I have even rode in my life time, no joke. It doesn't have sportsbike power (obvious), but it has plenty. It is very light feeling and stable thru corners. I have a very close friend of mine that has a Vulcan and he was encouraging me to go that way with the purchase. Funny thing is he rode my bike and is currently in the hunt for a Harley. I ride 30 miles to work on a daily basis and have NEVER had any issues out of it. There is a few things that I need to inform you about this bike. The stock pipes have to go. I have Vance and Hines slip-ons that I installed after only 5 days. Now it sounds like a "Harley". The sissy bar and luggage rack are great even if you just stay around town. The biggest down fall is that if you are running late and need to stop for gas, pick up something, ect... you can count on being late. There has not been a place that I have gone in the 5 weeks that I have owned it that I have not got a compliment by at least one person. IF YOU ARE NOT SURE ABOUT IF THE HARLEY IS RIGHT, JUST STEP OUT ON A LIMB AND BUY IT YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!! On a scale of 1 - 100, I would rate this bike a 99. When I get the 1200 kit installed that will move the bike to the 100 point score with about 15 point extra credit.
- Numion Sizemore, Southaven, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: