Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-03-13 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Listen...I'm so tired of hearing people knock the Sportster as...an underpowered bike, a Harley rip-off, or my favorite....a woman's bike. Who can resist the sight of that peanut tank and the feeling it gives you when you sit on Sporty and see that tank? You want a "bigger" bike, there are plenty of them out there. My wife owns this bike, and she loves it. It's got all the power she will ever need and Sporty is a perfect fit for her. I ride an Electra Glide Classic, but I get on her 883L every chance I get. It handles great, and has enough power/torque in 1st and 2nd gear to lift the front wheel. The ONLY knock we had about the bike was the seat, which I replaced with a Mustang solo. Hey, there must be a reason that the Sportster is still Harley's number one selling bike in its arsenal. The problem a lot of people have is that too many equate size with performance. The 2007 883L is a fuel-injected performance machine. Get off its back and on its seat and you'll find that out for yourself.
- doug martineau, superior, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-10 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 4th season on my Sportster, and it has been a very good ride. I road a 1200 Gold Wing for 17 years, so this was quite a change for me. To make the Sportster a better road machine, I replaced the seat with one from Mustage with a rider backrest. The rear shocks are progressive. I now have 47,000 mile on it with one small oil leak which was corrected. I am 76 years old, and I still love to hit the open road on my little piglet.
- harold fortune, kokomo, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-14 2009 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up the bike in San Marcos and rode it home (3/14/11) - put 396 miles on it Sunday; mostly down I10. I rode the farm roads from San Marcos to Comfort. There were tight turning hill country roads to I10 and I never even scraped a foot peg much less the kick stand. The bike will hit a solid 100 mph. and cruise at 80 all day long - trust me, you will give out before the bike does. There is a foot peg vibration at 60 in 5th. gear but it goes away quickly and the suspension is stiff! I averaged 47 mpg. on the highway. It sounds to me like the last reviewer left the kick stand down when taking off.
- richard, marathon, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-31 2010 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It's very light, powerful and well-balanced. It's good on long rides or short with a lot of add-ons available.
- David, Seneca, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-16 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 07 883L Sportster and I couldn't be happier with it. I have had no problems so far and I do ride a lot. I only have one small complaint and that is the seat could be thicker, but other than that, nothing to complain about. I took the battery out for the winter and to my surprise it started right up without even charging the battery. It's a gas saver and a blast to ride.
- chuck, chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 2005 Sportster with 900 miles on it from an old man that got scared and traded it on a 3 wheeler. I am of small stature and 52 years old. Been riding Hondas since 1972, 4 over the years. This was my first Harley. I decided to buy one more bike before I got too old to hold it up. Most bikes now with the exception of sport and dirt bikes have forward controls. This means instead of standing on the pegs going over bumps you just take it to the spine with your feet stuck out in front of you. This is no good. It might look cool but is impractical for real world riding. Sportsters have mid mounted controls meaning your feet are beneath your hips. You can get your butt off the seat going over rr tracks and pot holes. It is not a sport bike speedwise but will easily top 100 mph. It has plenty of low and mid range power whick is what you will use 99% of the time. If you are a big person in excess of 250 lbs with long legs it is too small but for most it is comfortable. Rubber mounted engine does not totally eliminate vibration but it is nothing like the pre 2005 paint mixers. Tranny still clunks going into 1st but that's just Harley and sounds good and sturdy to my ears. If you appreciate machinery that is a little primitive but makes wonderful mechanical music and with an exhaust note recognized everwhere, buy a Harley, any Harley. The problems they had from the early 70s to 1985 that caused me to by Hondas are no longer an issue.
- Dan S, jacksonvill, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Low Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having learned on a Honda Shadow Aero 750, I hated this Harley when I added it to my stable four months ago. Now that the bike and I have gotten used to each other, I have decided that it is a keeper. This is the perfect bike for when I get in one of those very bad moods and I need to take my frustrations out on something. This bike can handle whatever I dish out to it. This is one rock solid bike that refuses to die. Think of it as a nimble cruiser that handles the twisties like a crotch rocket. If this is how you plan on using your bike, then this puppy is for you. On the other hand, if you plan on riding more than 50 miles at a time or your route includes bad roads with lots of bumps, then either toughen up or choose another bike. This is judging it WITH a Mustang seat! What makes this bike accessible to those with short legs such as my girlfriend is the same thing that makes the bumps quite painful. For all practical purposes, this Low model has no suspension! You will hear the bumps resonate through your frame and gas tank. On the other hand, this tightness is what makes this bike excel in the twisties. The torque also makes my Honda VTX1300 seem sluggish by comparison. I let my brother follow me through some winding hilly roads with him on the VTX1300. He has 20 years of experience and likes to push each bike to it's brink. Well, this little Harley left him way behind on the big Honda quite a few times. I was quite surprised. However, on a straight highway, the Honda would smoke the Harley. Buy this Harley for what it's worth, but it is cetrainly not made for touring. As far as build quality, it feels like it will outlast my Honda by a long shot.
- Paul Bellocq, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: