Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-04-12 2008 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 883 in 2008 and have not had the first regret. I rode a 1986 Honda Gold Wing 1200 for 17 years. I was at the age that I felt that I needed something a little lighter and more nimble. Besides, I wore the wing out and sold it for salvage. In three seasons, I have put 34,000 miles on it, and it is still a joy to ride. I really enjoy jumping on it and riding on three or four day trips. I am 75 years old and this should be my last motorcycle unless I wear it out too soon.
- harold fortune, kokomo, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally replaced my Burgman 400 with a custom built 883 due to a lower left leg amputation. I loved my Burgman. It served its purpose and I put over 13,000 miles on it in 6 months, but I want to tell you this was the greatest thing I ever did and I love it. My Harley dealer was able to put a Pingel electric shifter on this Sportster and I am running with the best of them now and having a blast. I just turned 60 and I am out there riding every chance I can. I've loaded this bike up and it is just wonderful and has plenty of power and rides great. Given that, that doesn't mean I'm not thinking hard about stepping up to an Ultra Classic next year, time and money will tell, but in the mean time I really love my 883.
- Dave Morrell, Albemarle, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike, none over 1000cc. I've had my new bike for 6 months now and I like the Harley, it is a good ride but not for the first timer. The only thing I don't like is that the controls are not lighted. At night I sometimes hit the horn instead of the turn signal. You may want to get a better seat as the stock seat is a ball buster and not good for a long road trip. All in all I'm glad I got the Harley, over another bike.
- S. Watkins, Ft. Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Much as an earlier reviewer put forward, I have owned countless Japanese motorcycles. I have raced Motorcross/Enduro on a factory sponsored level and WERA/Road racing in the pro-stock category on Japanese bikes. As many Jap bike owners, I have given Harley Davidson riders more than a fair share of I wouldn't ride one farther than I could push one comments; however, I am not sure how I ended up with a 2007 XL-883 other than a deeply embedded guilt for years of Harley reliability jokes. Now that I own the cheapest or should I say least expensive Harley, I feel like I might (I said might) owe the Harley community an apology. My XL-883 cranks flawlessly (I live in Atlanta, GA - so the bike has been cranked more than the number of miles on it). My XL-883 has a smooth linear powerband, the bike is well balanced and tracks well/predictable in turns and whithout exception, everyone I have worked with at the Harley Davidson Dealership has been professional and personable to work with (on a side note, a Harley employee directed me to a local Yamaha dealer to purchase a pink helmet for my daughter...I guess I have been spoiled by the level of attention I get at the Harley shops as I was left to make my seleciton at the Yamaha shop on my on, find the original helmet box and helmet warranty/care instructions buried in a pile of boxes). All in all I could go on for hours. It has been a great experience. It's not just the motorcycle, but a dealer and fellow rider family. Even though I bought an XL-883 (due to my dirt-bike background and wanting a light and nimble bike) and though I have previously muttered the words to XL-883 owners that they own a chick-bike, all Harley riders seem to smile and appreciate/accept that this is the model I chose. If there is a down-side to the Harley...the suspension is harsh/limited and the gear box would benefit from a 6-speed transmission. Now that I am no longer racing on a pro level the Harley makes me smile more than I can remember. I hope this review helps.
- JMead, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very nice bike, did 170 miles on it today, shifts smooth and just purrs along. The stock factory seat truely sucks though, it's ok for quick rides, but when you spend 3 hours in the saddle it gets quite uncomfortable. The new rubber mounts on the motor are great, this is no old ironhead Sporty. 24 month unlimited warranty is a major plus. Brakes are great, this bike is light enough to throw around in an emergency. (found that out today) So handles great, was able to throw it around a stalled sport bike rider with ease. (the dummy couldn't shift right and stalled right in front of me pulling away at a stop light) Well worth what I paid for it.
- Dan, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I remember now why I started riding. After almost 20 years I am back on a small nimble machine that Harley Davidson has taken the time to make very reliable and comfortable to ride. The new for 2007 fuel injection along with the rubber mounted engine makes this a fun, econimical machine that puts a smile on my face mile after mile. don't listen to others when they say Harley-Davidson doesn't listen or care about thier customers. The Dealer I bought mine from has the nicest staff who make every interaction I have with them a pleasure. I have owned many, many, many motorcycles and this one is one of the best.
- Jason Bostwick, Russiaville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-20 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned 22 bikes and driven nearly 1,000,000 miles, so you learn some things. I decided I didn't want a 2 wheeled car with all the complexity - just the basic, simple standard bike, but with reliable technology. that's exactly what the Sportster is - a timeless, retro bike, but with modern updates. Best of all worlds: best gas mileage around, no valves to adjust, no chain to adjust, etc.
- Steve Ost, Pt Orchard, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Up until less than a year ago, I was cracking my Harley jokes and justifying my other choices in motorcycles because of their low cost/high fun ratio compared to Harleys. That all changed when a friend let me ride his Sporty. It didn't shake; it stopped and accelerated well, the bike took corners decently, and did nothing wrong. When you compare initial costs and maintenance costs, the gap narrows. Then you take into account all of the aftermarket parts you can bolt on to improve and personalize your Sporty- what you have is a solid, basic starting block to which you'll never outgrow. I bought the most basic, (low dollar) 883 Sporty, rolling out with just a small luggage rack and an oil temperature gauge as add ons. Since day one, the bike has run beautifully, and the whole ownership experience so far has convinced me that I actually made a good buying decision for once. The performance is decent, the mileage is good, it ALWAYS gets looks (What IS it about Harleys that people love so much?!?) and it's a CINCH to maintain. I highly recommend the Sportster line to anyone that wants a No-muss-No-Fuss motorcycling experience.
- Brunengo, Apache Jct., Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new 6-24-06. No problems so far. Stock seat isn't the greatest but I can live with it. Performance is okay. Quality is excellent. Overall, my experience with my first new bike and first Harley has been excellent. Plan to keep it for many years to come.
- Mark Case, Canton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: