Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles Reviews (7)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-29 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Look, the only thing I know is my bike has been perfect. I have never had a single problem and I've had the bike two years. It has plenty of power, I take it anywhere, back roads, highways. I've riden two-up. It's a good bike for the money. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to ride and has a limited budget.
- Mark S., Oakville, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-10 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many motorcycles over the years but this is by far the best. With the Stage 1 upgrade & Screamin Eagle pipes, the acceleration is considerably increased - the top speed remains about the same, 105 mph indicated on my bike. Hydraulic lifters means no top end service work to do, plugs & battery accessible without having to take the tank off. Disks front & rear give good stopping power. Self cancelling turn signals! Very quiet belt drive. Nice gear box. Good handling. The seat which I thought would be uncomfortable over a long distance, isn't! The looks - you either love 'em or hate 'em, I love 'em! Can you tell I'm happy? Mike S
- Mike S., Durham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I found the 2006 XL883C odd at first because of the foward foot controls. But got used to them quickly. It has good power and doesn't spit or spudder. The seat felt hard at first but when I can go for a good 7 hour ride and I can still walk thats pretty good. The pipes were to quiet for a Harley so I knocked them out hallow. (thats better) It hugs corners very well and power out of them even better. I have had no problems at all with it and look forward to every ride.
- Jon K, Morden, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2005 model approx. 1.5 Months ago, June 25 '05. It is my first bike and I have had a ball on it. Got the Blk Cherry Pearl, and I can't count the compliments I've gotten on the color alone. Of course it's not a high proformance bike, but it doesn't lack on power either. If you are looking for the original raw look of a HDMC, this is the bike for you. I do however, recomend the 1200 upgrade. The seat is a little uncomfortable after about an hour of riding, so I am thinking of changing that. Other than that, It's a great bike.
- Brandon Richardson, Tarboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-16 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've gone through the other reviews listed here. I note one said they have problems stalling. Mine has never stalled -- I've already put 2,900 miles (in just over a month) on it. The mirrors are sometimes hard to use since there is some vibration there. Went on a 800-mile round-trip ride recently with my wife on the back. The factory-supplied seat does get uncomfortable. May have to try another. I might also adjust the shocks as another reviewer suggested. But overall -- runs great, looks great, handles great. I do, however, plan on trading it (or giving it to my wife) in the spring to move up to either a Fat Boy or Heritage Classic.
- Fred Dodd, Berrien Center, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-06 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2005 Harley sportster 883 custom. I was told the bike was a bit small but, after doing the comparison against the dyna, the physical size was not that big of a difference. Also, I remember back when I was a kid, my dad, also a big man, use to comfortably ride an old Honda 750. Well, I figured an 883 should do ok pulling me around and I was right. I love this bike. It's very quick and handles well. The only problem I've got with the bike is the factory 2 up seat. It is not the most comfortable seat. Also, I noticed the my rear shock position was as low as it could go when I drove it home from the dealer. I went and bought the rear shock tool and raised the rear shock up and this improved tremendously. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.
- Christopher Daniel, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have nearly done a thousand miles on my New bike. (registered 2005 but 2004 model) Though for the most part I ride around with a grin on my face. Even in the wet (and we have had a lot of it over here) seems to pull like a train. Handles corners very well , good grip , no problem even on tight bends and roundabouts. Feed in the power and its Great. No problem there. Round town , eye catcher. isn't pulled yet, but don't think the wife would be too keen if I did. I was told that Harleys vibrate a lot, though I have not noticed it. Must be the rubber mounts, and I am told the vibes improve after 1st service so my smile is sure to get bigger. Now for the bad bits. Even fresh From the showroom the Ali parts ,especially fork trees, pitted when it rained and need constant polishing. Runs very rich (blackens the underside of the rear zorst)Though I am told this will stop after 1st service. Pops and farts at unexpected moments (not all the time , just when not expecting it)And stalls though not as much as it did for the first 500. This I put down to the rich running in , and should stop after 1st service. Seat leaks and gets your jeans wet after its stopped raining. Wheel bearings rusted , swing arm bearings rusted.(I have coated with grease now but....) Quality of build could be better considering its a $6000. My last bike was better finish wise I must admit. Other than these bits (which I am sure the dealer will sort at 1st service) I am still smiling.
- Max Portlock, Bristol England Uk, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: