Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles Reviews (84)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-02 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2010 Ultra Classic used in 2011. I have ridden about 13k miles since then. My previous bike was a 2008 Ultra Classic. Both are great bikes. The 2010 has the new frame and bigger back tire. You get a more stable ride on the newer bike, especially at higher speeds, but noticeably stiffer. I have upgraded my 2010 a lot. It is a blast to ride. It is dependable, and will take you to work or to another country. If you're thinking about either a Honda Gold Wing, or a Harley, let me say this: The Honda is faster, smoother, and quieter. But the Harley is more fun.
- Kevin, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-05 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased mine used (20k miles). After extensive research, I decided that I wanted an Ultra no later than 2009 in order to get the benefits of an improved ride by the larger front and rear tires; ABS brakes; electronic throttle and modular frame. I have the 96 engine and very happy with its performance. I particularly wanted the 96 since it has been around for a long time and the 103 is realitively new. I rode one bike with 103 and didn't notice any performance differences. I have ridden this bike from Maryland to South Carolina (1,300 miles round trip). The bike is extremely comfortable and although weighs over 800 lbs. it easy to ride, especially at speed. This bike does not have the torque of a VRod (my previous bike), however, I find that acceleration up to 90 is relatively effortless (How fast do you need to go?) but not racey. My only negative comment about this bike is the sixth gear. The manual states that you should engage the sixth gear at 50 mph., however, the bike "chugs" at this speed. I recommend keeping the bike in fifth gear and change to sixth only if you are going to remain above 60-65 mph. for an extended period. If you engage the six speed below 60-65 mph. in normal, non-speedway traffic, you'll be down-shifting a lot. Secondly, the fuel gauge is not accurate, however the estimated miles remaining gauge is best to measure your distance. don't expect to get high mileage around town (25-30 mpg. highway (35-40 mpg.). I love this bike and expect to have it for a long time.
- ggask, Bowie, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-19 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2009 for three years. I purchased the stage 1 kit with Screaming Eagle street pipes. It really turned the 96 motor loose. The only issues I have had with the bike is like other people. The 5th gear is noisy and at 5,000 miles my dealer changed the front tire. It sounded like a snow tire I now have over 11,000 miles on the bike and 6,000 miles on the front tire and it is starting to make noise around corners or any time you lean it. I never was a fan of Dunlop tires and now I dislike them even more. I'm looking at changing my tires to Avon Cobra. My 89FLH never failed me in my 20 years of riding it with Avons on it.
- hdsurfer, eaton rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-03-22 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my E Glide used with 25k miles on it. So far I have put an additional 8k on it with no more than regular service. Coming off a modern sportbike, the E Glide is heavy and feels a lot more basic. But this is a time tested V Twin and runs like a top. I have never had any "5th gear whine" from my bike or oil leaks. My only comment is the cat in the head pipe builds up a lot of heat. I decided to cut my cat out and it made a 20+ degree difference with no ill effects to the bike.
- Hobo99, kewanee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-12 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far all is great for the break-in. I changed to syn oil @ 1,000 miles. The bike performs great and rides even better. My wife loves the comfort when riding along. No mechanical break downs or other problems to report about. If I had to complain about anything it would be the price of everything...base cost, upgrades, accessories, etc. But then again, all hobbies of mine are expensive.
- Joe, Gladys, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-09 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree in every way with a previous rater. I too have been a Goldwing owner for the last 20 yrs. Riding an Ultra Classic is what I call riding a motorcycle! It has awesome balance and a low center of gravity. I could go on and on. The only thing I could come up with that the Goldwing can challenge this bike is on throttle response and acceleration. For me the 96 is strong enough, besides I'm in a "geezer glide" stage of my life. If I was younger I might opt for a street glide with a stage kit. If you have never ridden an 09 or newer FLHTCU, give it a try. The improved frame design, larger front wheel and 6 speed (helicut 5th) gearing is great. I just completed a North Dakota-New York summer trip and back in 11 days. I had a great ride and no driver's discomfort.
- Chris, Dickinson, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I brought this bike new and had to get it lowered. I also put on the reach seat which fits me perfect. I tried some different bikes but wouldn't change my mind for anything else. It get good gas mileage and is good for long rides. I've received good service from the dealership. I just love to ride this bike.
- Jerry, Bonavista

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth Harley. My wife and I bought this bike to 'tide me over' until I hit 50, when I intend to buy either a Limited or possible a CVO. We bought this '08 with 4100 miles and immediately rode it to Street Vibrations in Reno. What a great ride! This Ultra may not be the most powerful or modern touring motorcycle on the road, but with its mildly tuned 96 cu. in. V Twin and 6 spd. transmission, it is an absolute pleasure to ride at a relaxed pace. Yes, 5th gear whines and the engine shakes the entire machine at idle. But on the highway or any open road, 6th gear brings smooth as silk and quiet rumbling performance from 55 mph. on up to 85 mph. (as fast as I wanted to go!) This bike has ABS, cruise, a great audio system with AM/FM/CD/XM/CB, full instrumentation, six gallon tank, security and keyless ignition. The fit and finish are superb. The fuel injection handled sea level to 9000 feet seamlessly. We have only put on 1000 miles, but I love this bike. I am changing the stock windscreen to a 9" Wind Vest as I hate looking through the windscreen. Even at my height, the stocker splits my vision when I slump down in the seat. I totally agree that the rear exhaust can tend to cook the rider's inner thighs in slow, hot riding, which is why I am adding the heat deflectors that are standard equipment on the new dressers. Other than that, this is one classy and comfortable machine! Oh, and by the way, the wife is very comfortable on the back.
- R. Geertson, Dixon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my first Harley and I'm happy!! I purchased it through the military in Iraq and had it delivered to the Harley dealership. The service department and everyone at the dealership were terrific!! They delivered the bike to the house (after a 45 minute operator's class). The service department has gone above and beyond throughout the life of the bike. I'm looking to get my wife a Heritage and will go the same route. It may be not the military sales, but with the dealership. It's a great bike, smooth ride, very dependable and looking forward to riding at every given chance!
- Mr. Louis Cass, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-31 2010 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only 20 miles on it, but I can give some first impressions. Handling: This is only my second motorcycle, my first being an 883 sporty. I was pleasantly surprised how easily this bike is to ride around parking lots, corners and down dirt roads. Once moving above 5 mph, it doesn't feel too much different than the Sporty. The only time you 'feel' the weight is when backing it into the garage. It is much easier backing it up pushing with your legs than trying to push it forward. It's a heavy bugger, but well-balanced, easy to keep up with one leg at a stop light. Drivetrain: As expected the engine is much more powerful than the Sportster but fits the bike well. The bike's very smooth, very little vibration felt in bars and footboards. It shifts well but neutral is hard to find. I suspect this will get better as my toe and transmission breaks in (again only 20 miles on this bike). The heel shifter is different, I find myself using the toe shifter for upshifts. The motor seems to run hot on the left (exhaust) side. The motor is so new, I expect it to run hot for the first couple thousand miles. Admittedly, I was only riding around town so not a lot of airflow to cool things down, also. The bike sounds wonderful. It's not louder than the Sporty, but it has a deeper tone. There is a whine in first gear, with the clutch pulled in. I have read it's normal and will lessen with time. Odds & Ends: Fit and Finish are superb. It's a beautiful bike. The bags are easy to use. The horn is a real horn, not the roadrunner (meep meep) found on the Sporty. The radio controls seemed confusing in the manual (seems 1/2 the manual is dedicated to the radio). But they are intuitive once in use. The radio display is hard to see. I have no idea how the radio sounds at speed. I am keeping it off until I am used to riding a new bike - the fewer distractions the better. The riding position is perfect, seat is great and floorboards very comfy. The bike has ABS - hope to never try that feature out. I gave the reliability a 5 star rating. I am most surprised by the handling of the bike, I was a little concerned that moving from HD's smallest bike to it's largest would be difficult. The concern was unfounded, it handles super easy once moving faster than a walking pace. If your considering this bike but afraid of the weight, don't be. I whole-heartedly recommend this bike. Handling is great. Handles 'lightly' for a large bike.
- L, linden, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got it and put about 500 miles on it. So far we find it extremely comfortable and enjoy the ride and creature comforts compared to the 06 Road Star we just had. Love the cruise, stereo and seats. Hate the kickstand and top gear is too high. Just have to accept 5th is what to use under 60MPH. Suspect we will complain about the heat over time like most others.
- Bill Plancke, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-23 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike all men want. Who the heck grows up wishing that one day they will drive a Kawisaki? No one. A Harley is the top dog of bikes and the Ultra is the top of the top. Tricked out tourer, leather jacket, open road. It's no coincidence that Harley and Heaven both start with H.
- Rat, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-23 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2009 Ultra on Christmas eve last year as a present to myself. We have ridden it across country this summer and have found it to be outstanding. First bike that my wife and I have actually kept the stock seat. Usually we throw it out within a week. We traded a Yamaha Venture in on this Ultra. Compared to the Yamaha, it doesn't have as much power, but we found it to be sufficient. Gear noise, there is a slight whine in 5th gear but we found it to be hardly noticeable. You want to hear a whine, ride a Venture. They have horrible clutch basket whines. We love the ABS. I will never have another bike without it. We blew a rear tire, I put the front tire brake into a death hold, the ABS worked as advertised and brought us to a safe stop just as the rear tire came completely off the rim. Highly recommend ABS. As far as slow parking lot riding, the Ultra is wonderful. Not the least bit top heavy, it feels like a much lighter motorcycle. Once again I am comparing it to the Yamaha that I had.
- Tom Hewitt, North Randolph, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-12 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my 03 FLHTC that had been dressed to the Ultra level, had the big bore kit screamin eagle pipes and programming. Loved it and never thought I would get rid of it BUT, the 09 Ultra is the cat's meow. Average fuel mileage = 39.5 mpg with a ride that is outstanding and handling manners of a sport bike. Would like a little more torque though. Will change that over the next year. If you ride a Honda Gold Wing, you owe it to yourself to try one of these on.
- Ken Switzer, Vicksburg, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many miles I still love this bike. I have done numerous 500+ mile days with no problem. Others have complained of vibration thru the floorboards and bars, but I get none above an idle. Lots of shake at idle, but I can deal with that. Biggest problem is heat at low (in town) speeds, but realize, this is NOT a crusier, but a touring bike meant for the open road. I have had 2 warranty issues. The big one is the bushing on the main shaft went bad at 30K, replacing everything in the primary except the compensator sproket. It's now noisy again at near 50K, so back in the shop it goes. Glad I got the extended warranty. Other problem is the heated grips (covered under warranty as I had the shop put them on when new). I'm considering trading for the new Ultra Limited.
- Roger, Petersburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in May of 2007. Made some changes: vance and hines true duals, screaming eagle race tuner and air filter and had it dynoed. It made it a totally differant bike! No heat problem, tranny a little noisy in 5th but the vance and hines basic mufflers cover that up. Sounds awesome. Bike runs strong. I've put over 32,000 miles on this bike and loved every mile. I also changed to the dunlop elitIII rear tire, getting better tire wear. I added aftermarket rear lowering blocks to lower the rear suspension. I had to reroute the wiring under fender to run on top of fender. I rode a stock 2010 screaming eagle ultra classic this summer at dealer and I perferred my bike to it with the changes I made.
- Dan, Lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-15 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2009 FLTCU, after ridding a 2007 FLHTCU. The seating position is much different, you sit on the 09 and sat in the 2007. The valve stems on the wheels are located in a very difficult location to check tire pressure. The new throttle is different than the 2007 and has taken some time to get used to, as well. The fit and finsih are Harley all the way. It is the little things that make the bike less than prefect. Tire wear is greater, 13000 mile for the front and rear tire to be replaced. I was able to get 16000 on my front and 15000 on the rear on the 07 consistently as a sole rider.
- Richard Wilbert, Brighton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-04 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, let me say I was skeptical at first, but Harley Davidson makes an exceptional product. I have owned my Ultra Classic for a little over a year and have over 8ooo miles and that's just weekend riding. The only complaint and it really isn't a problem that is not correctable is the heat from the engine. I took care of it by installing a dual exhaust and it made all the difference. Other than that it is a great ride and I am proud to be a HOG member.
- Simon Miranda, Miramar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-20 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Until April '09 I rode a Honda VTX 1800. My wife convinced me to buy the Harley Ultra Classic as an early retirment gift to myself. What a difference. This bike is so comfortable and much easier to ride. The balance is just right and more than enough power. No regrets from changing over to the HD. The ride is smooth and I can ride long distances without stopping. The larger fuel tank anf six speed transmission is a plus. Thanks for building such a nice machine.
- Ken Mohler, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nicest riding bike I have ever owned. Been to Rocky Mountains, Tennessee, and did Deals Cap Dragon Trail twice - loved it. My wife likes it also.
- MIKE, STURGEON FALLS, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-07 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only been riding for 8 years and this is my 3rd bike. It is an awesome ride and with the 110 kit added at the dealer, it has the kind of power I was looking for in a touring bike. I have nothing but praise for the customer service I have received and I would reccommend this bike to anyone.
- David, Eden, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-23 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a wonderful touring bike. A 400 mile day and still ready to go dancing. No fifth gear noise and yes, all Harleys vibrate and are hot. My 05 roadking was just as hot. I do not have any regrets with my 08. I think that the people that are new to Harley need to realize that these bikes are true motorcycles and not a lot of plastic. I do not knock other brands, if you don't like it, sell it. don't buy a bike because of the mystique, the reaction of others or the sound, buy it because these is the type of person you are. Have been riding Harley's now for 30 Years and hope to continue for many years to come.
- jteast, lake charles, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-11 2008 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with Ray from Tennessee. I just don't believe the bad reviews. (Oh, and Ray, here is my pic although a few months old). For the people who have issues: How come you haven't called Harley National Customer Service! My dealer bends over backwards with the slightest issue I have with the bike. Aside from my wife with her own sportster, both my sons now have Harleys and we ride together. They are all terrific. What little issues I have had are taken care of timely and efficiently. I now have over 3400 miles (since October) and love this bike more and more. Yes, even with the mid frame deflectors, the engine is hot, but now quite bearable (and we rode in 90 degree heat two weeks ago). The comfort of this bike enables me to ride for hours without any pain (which my metric gave me). My bike not only looks like a Harley (people used to say about my Kawasaki), it IS a Harley.
- Dave, Flushing, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually rented one first. I was so impressed by the 09's that when I went to turn it in the next day, I ended up taking the two tone rootbeer color that was sitting on the floor an hour later. Undoubtably this is the best purchase I have ever made. Besides, I have been wanting to get one for the last year and a half. It was well worth the wait. Smooth, comfortable, looks, no problems. This bike has almost everything stock. I could not be more pleased.
- 2003fxd, hanford, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-22 2009 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In September I traded a 2004 ABS Wing in on this bike. The thing I like about HD with this model is that they don't nickle/dime you. They throw in a headset, interior luggage bags, chrome railings around the bags etc. I also like the electronics. The intercom has separate front and rear volume levels and controls. The CD player will play MP3 CD's (which I make) and I can get 16 or so albums on a 700 Mb CD-r. Comparitively speaking the prices are comparable to the new Goldwings. The HD rides smoother (If you can believe that)! It seems to be as nimble but I haven't done a skills course with it yet. It doesn't have any near the power as the 6 cyl mill on the GW but it has plenty of go power and quite frankly it's much more comfortable for me. It lacks a reverse but for $1500 one can get an aftermarket one put on. The best accessory for the cold part of the nation is the heated grips well worth the money. But apparently they are a major pain to put on so IF you decide to put them on as part of the sale agreement. Would I buy HD again? All I know is that I smile more on this bike than any other I have owned, ANd I have owned a LOT of metric tourers. So the answer is in a heart beat. As far as 5th gear whine goes I had the dealer put a synthetic xmission oil in and that seems to have reduced the whine enough.
- TattooZ, Raymond, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: