Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles Reviews (37)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-02 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love my Harley VROD VRSCA. It is great riding on long and short hauls and handles great on straight-a-ways. It's harder to handle when travelling slow due to the rake on front end. I have really enjoyed my ride. I would not want to trade it for any other type bike.
- Steve, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-24 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding bikes since I was 10 and this is the best overall cruiser I have been on. If you plan to spend hours and hours touring around the country this is not the bike for you. I like the performance of the Porsche designed engine, rock solid external frame, stable low and long wheel base, all combined with the HD craftsmanship. As for performance. I wound mine up to 7,500 in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd and found myself doing more than twice the legal limit. Not sure how long it took to get there but I know it took my breath away. I shifted through to 5th and the Harley pedigree showed itself as the big v twin balanced out a super smooth throaty hum at 4,500. If you are not going to step up and by a high end BMW or Super high end Harley, you can't do better.
- Phil, Grayslake, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good power, good comfort, handling much better than my other HD, gets hot in summer but I don't ride when it gets too hot out anyhow, transmission is not as clunky as my Fat Boy that I had before, they fixed a small oil leak from the rocker cover then I had a recall and they put a new engine in, my original motor was mechanically quieter, the brakes chatter some but it stops well, it's a good cruiser and less glitches than the other HDs I've had, a little costly but I used to spend a lot more.
- Randy L., Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-06 2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't normally take the time to write reviews; but I feel I should let folks know about this product by H-D, one word: fantastic. I have had my V-Rod since May '02, took delivery at less than MSRP at a time when others were paying a premium- (but that's another story). And I have been very happy from day one, it has been reliable, rides great, and powerful. I took delivery with the Screamin Eagle slip-ons, the K&N air filter and flash. The bike continues to become louder, which I don't care about one way or the other but that seems to be a big deal to some people, I have always like the way it has sounded. It rides real nice and smooth, no vibration and I have ridden over 500 miles in one day and have not had a problem. And that was along mainly back roads and the Blue Ridge parkway. The bike draws attention wherever I go, I am always getting comments like "That is the best looking bike; "Is that a custom, people wave at me with their whole hand, not one finger, and that is after riding this for over a year and a half and it's still happening. It's a big hit at parades and other events I have attended. I have changed to Mobil 1 synthetic oil and it seemed to rev a little quicker and runs cool. I do my own maintenance and the bike has needed very little attention other than oil changes. It has not leaked a drop, other than the time I forgot to tighten the dip stick all the way; I was just in a hurry to get on the road and saw oil on the kick stand at my first gas stop, tightened the dip stick and it solved that issue. Now, this bike does have a small gas tank, and I stop every 100-115 miles to fill up, but I have found that even when I ride with my other Harley buddies they like to stop around that time anyway; for a drink or a bathroom break. Since myself and my friends mainly ride back roads, that's about every hour to hour and a half. I do get over 40 MPG, depending on speed mostly around 42 MPG, so I could go up to 140 before I'd be real close. On one ride to Myrtle Beach for bike week (430 highway miles) I only stopped 3 times and once was for lunch. Of course we stopped because the bagger with the big bore 103ci and I were getting about the same mileage per tank, anyway. This bike does haul butt, I don't do as well gas mileage wise when I am by myself because I have a tendency to get on it too much, and can easily leave most of my friends behind. Overall this is a fun bike and has been very dependable. You do get a little buffeting with the solid front wheel around 18-wheelers; but I have found it really depends on the truck's shape and what they are hauling, some are worse than others; and it sucks to be behind lumber trucks, they drop more crap, but then again that is not an issue only for the V-Rod. I don't use a windshield because I think that's not true riding; I like to feel the wind. But, I do ride with a flip-up full face, for protection. If I were to have to buy another bike it would be another V-Rod, I am very happy with this machine, recommend it highly. Thanks and have fun and ride safe. Dave
- Anonymous, Kingstowne, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-20 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It takes riding, better yet, owning a V-Rod to fully appreciate how special this motorcycle truly is. I happily own a 2003 V-Rod and the riding experience gets better and better every time I get on it. I look forward to riding it each and every day. I dislike when it rains and when winter comes, because I have to park it in the garage and drive my SUV. The V-Rod is unlike any motorcycle that I've ever owned. I previously owned a Japanese Motorcycle, nice bike, but the V-Rod is much nicer to ride. Not because it's a Harley-Davidson, I'm not into the name on the motorcycle. I'm into the joyful experience that the motorcycle brings. Before, I was a part-time weekend rider. I would go a couple of weeks without even touching my previous motorcycle. The V-Rod is smooth and powerful. Not only does it look good, it rides better than it looks. Harley-Davidson hit a grand slam home run when they created the V-Rod. The liquid cooled Revolution engine is way ahead of its time. With Porsche's assitance, Harley-Davidson changed the way everyone will look at the forgotten Cruiser market and motorcyles in general. With 115 Horse Power at the crank shaft and 106 RWHP, 0-60 in 2.8 seconds with the stock motor on pump gasoline. Anyone wanting to the experience V-Rod should visit their local Harley dealer and see about taking a test ride. Guarantee it will be an experience that you won't soon regret.
- Big D, Lexington Park, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-28 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new 04 Vrod and I am totally in love with the bike. This is my first move from a pure sport bike to a cruiser(hard to agree this is a cruiser). The bike has great performance and comfort. The pure Vtwin sound and torque is very impressive. Every stop I make on this bike draws a ton of attention. Besides the small gas tank(you will be filling up often), this bike is very close to perfection.
- Terry4116, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-10 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Never had a Harley,rode a few in my 34 yrs. of riding, seems like everyone wants a Harley sometime in there life. I went into the dealership to buy a cruiser, test rode a low rider, deuce, nightrain, fatboy,a nd a custom Bigdog, then I rode the v-rod. I just can't let my adrenaline stop flowing at the age of 44, so I left the harley dealer went back to my local honda/suzuki/yamaha dealer and looked at the cheaper non-harley bikes. There's a reason they are 1/2 the cost, it's just not a HARLEY. So I test rode the lowrider [AGAIN],this time with my wife on the back and she said it was nice. Then I test rode the v-rod again she said WOWWWWWWW! THATS YOU!!!
- kennymattox, miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike totally changed Harley....FAST, Handles Great, Comfortable, Great Looking, Futuristic....I can't say enough....I just LOVE to ride it. The only things I would do to it that can't be done are: 1. A larger gas tank (3.7 gallons goes quickly when you are revving it a lot). 2. A longer 5th gear or add a 6th. 3. Up it about 3-400 cc's and make it insanely fast.
- Matt, Upstate, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-12 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned 5 Harleys and was reluctant about this one, started it and hated it, drove it and fell in love, comfort and handling is outstanding, a joy to ride long distances. Sounds like a BMW, but small price to pay for the riding benifits.
- Steven Medeiros, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-17 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My VROD is my first HD after riding for over 30 years. It seems that most people that love the VROD are not the typical HD owner and would mostly likely not purchase one. We are converts from other brands that have found a bike in the HD line up that meets are needs and wants. This bike is HD way of reaching out and expanding their market, a wise move that will help insure future growth without impacting their current clients. As for my bike every time I hit the start button and start to roll I fall in love with the feel and sound of this bike. It's not perfect but for a motorcycle it's very close. The fit and finish is better than any bike that I've own and I every time I ride there's someone pulling over and asking is that the new HD? So yes this bike is not the good old HD that so many love and for those people that cant see beyond the good old days they should be glad the HD has vision to insure they'll be around for the next 100 years we should all welcome change.
- Paperless60, Cary, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-12 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Versatility is the key selling point on this bike. I work off of mine, a lot. Having traveled to all four corners of the State of Arkansas on my bike, I have put 6,700 miles on it in 5 months. People always talk about the bike's looks and etc., but I have been impressed mostly with the number of roles it fills. Its lightweight makes it a great in-town bike. No other Harley is going to maneuver through heavy traffic like this one. The speed, quick acceleration, and handling of this bike (as well as the excellent brakes) all come in very handy in traffic, and I feel safer on this bike due to its performance capabilities giving me multiple options to get out of tight situations. On the interstates, it cruises at just over 75 mph steadily with little throttle input. that's a good speed to get you where your going quickly but with minimal risk for a ticket. I set mine up from the get go for long-haul comfort. A sundowner seat, sport windshield, leather saddlebags, and a SAC tailbag have made this an excellent utility bike. With the nature of my work, I spend as much as 8-12 hours on the road in a day fairly often. Even with that amount of riding, fatigue is not an issue. The bike fits my 5'9" frame very well. The only thing sacrificed on this bike as opposed to other Harleys is the sound. The bike has a throaty rumble with acceleration, but let's face it, it never will say "potato, potato" (engine too high revving). Even that is a check in the positive column in my book. Spending as much time in the saddle as I do, I can do without the headaches (and hearing damage) a louder bike would cause. In summary, if you can only afford one bike, get this one. No other bike offers this balance of sexy looks, in-town drivability, and long-haul comfort. Keep the Rubber Down!!!
- Greg Jeffery, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-20 2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a new 2003 V-Rod and couldn't be happier. Initially, I was considering purchasing either the V-Rod, Fat Boy, or Deuce. But once I saw the V-Rod in person and actually sat on it, I had to have it. It fit me like a glove. I love the fact that no other Harley looks like this bike. It is totally unique. And man is it ever an attention-getter! I am constantly amazed at the power and speed that the V-Rod is capable of. I mean, when you open up the throttle, even if you're already cruising along at 65-75 mph and running at 5000-6000 RPMs, this thing just jumps to life like a bullet out of a gun! Frankly, this bike has more power and speed than I think I would ever need. Not that I'm complaining about that!
- J.D., San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-20 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2003 V-Rod and it is the first bike I have ever owned. Man, what a bike! Handles beautifully, has more power than I could ever need, and is a real attention-getter! I find myself making excuses to run errands just so I can ride it. I do wish the fuel tank was bigger, but then again, no bike is perfect.
- D. Allen, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-10 2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought two V-Rods for myself and wife in early August and took a 2000 mile run through the mountains. Range at 175+- is OK for riding in the US. Wife gets 50-52 mpg consistently. I started out at 42 mpg and was at 47 by the time we got home. HD soft bags are big enough and we each carry a small case so wife has plenty of shoes and cosmetics, which is absolutely essential if you expect a 68 year old woman to come along. She is comfortable at the stop signs with heels flat on the pavement and the lower center of gravity due to moving the fuel tank under the seat gives her a big confidence boost as it doesn't take as much upper body strength to hold it up when she leans it too far. Wife took a test drive on this bike and told me to sell our Honda Shadows. Obviously it flys like a bullet when you turn it up, but for us the essentials are range, cargo, seat height, and, of course, curb appeal. On the negative side, and I may be nuts here, but I think that third and fourth gears are too tall while first gear may be a little too short. Just personal preference, I guess, as we aren't exactly pushing the envelope. I can't really think of anything not to like about this bike and I don;t blame Harley for pricing it up. It's worth it!
- john underwood, seattle

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-29 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I won a new 100th anniversary V-Rod two months ago. What a bike. I wouldn't think of having any other. It fits my 6'2" frame perfectly and has the power to do anything you want it to do. It sometimes has trouble going into first gear, but all others are smooth as silk. Handling is great. Makes me look like a pro. Turns heads whever I go! You won't be sorry if you buy one.
- Lucky Bastard, Fairplay, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-11 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2003 black and silver VRSCA in May and I am extremely satisfied with the bike. Aside from minor customizing (pegs, levers, mirrors) the bike is stock. I do plan to change the exhaust (for a better sound) to a D&D 2 into 1 system. Would like to hear from someone who has done this and the experience with the computer profile change. After 40 years of bike ownership of every kind (I started real young) this is the most exciting bike I have ever owned.
- Al Ragl, Palm City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-13 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First to the guy who gave the V-rod 2 stars, what bike did you own? My V-rod has fantastic torque and acceleration. Two magazines have clocked the V-rod at 0-60 mph is a meager 3.1 seconds out of the box! I can hit 60 mph in 1st gear alone. It's smoother than a TC88B and handles equal or better than any other Harley. This is without question the finest production HD ever made. Do you have any idea of the thousands of dollars you'll need to spend to get a Softail, Dyna, or Road King to the base performance level of the V-rod? Answer try a sum well north of $5000, and you can get a V-rod for just a few hundred more than an EFI Deuce! As for re-sale with HD's massive saturation of 100th anniversary bikes and the economy, no bike is having the same re-sale as they did in the late 90's. Why pay MSRP or more for a used bike when most dealers have a showroom with almost any model available from Road Kings to Fat Boys to Dyna Wide Glides. As for my rating of 4 stars, I took one star off because of a few glitches I've had. I have a 2002, so I knew going in that I was going to be a test subject. I've had a few minor issues, but nothing that didn't take a day at the dealer to clear up. To sum everything up, this is a fantastic bike not just for Harley, but for ANY motorcycle manufacturer. It pulls like nobody's business and is velvety smooth doing so. It's very easy to see/feel Porche's influence on the Revolution motor when you twist the throttle. It makes me smile every time I twist it, and I have over 9,000 miles on my V-rod.
- Jim Biggs, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-08 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 11,500+ miles on my V-Rod since May of 2002 and done a fair amount of touring. This bike is phenominal, just short on fuel capacity. I do suggest the D&D full pipes, download & air cleaner kit. Also, the Sundowner seat is more comfortable than my $800 office chair. I just would like to find a sport windshield that looks good and works, because Harley's does not work.
- Tab, Avon, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-06 2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought in May 2002 and this machine is nearly flawless. Never a problem or issue, rides like a sportbike when pushed and like a cruiser when taking it easy. Lots of folks love the looks and those who own one love the ride. I ride two up twice a month with the wife... her opinion; we'll keep the V-Rod and buy a Touring Bike in 4 years. The only consistent complaint I see on the internet, and in person is the price. If it's too much, buy a Suzuki.
- SAOB100, Poway, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-03 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I waited to buy a new VRSCA V-Rod and I am happy for it. I saved 1,000 bucks and came away with a wonderful bike. As it has broken in the exhaust sounds better. The mileage has increased up to almost 36 mpg. All the stuttering it did while it was new went away. No leaks,no flaws, plenty of power. Just put a free flow exhaust and a K&N filter and flash that computer and you can run with any cruiser out there. This is no crotch rocket so do not put yourself in this category. Just a real fun cruiser.
- Joe, Titletown, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-06 2002 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchase my V-Rod last winter, with MN summers showing up later each year, I have experienced less than 1000 miles of saddle time. Speaking of saddle, spend your money and throw away that HD cushion as fast as you can. I have a Corbin and it really fits the bike and myself well. You'll pick up a bit more engine vibes with the Corbin, but its livable. I selected the V-Rod only due to Porsches design and influence in the motor and transmission. It is quite evident that the folks a Porsche lent more than a helping hand, this motor is Teutonic all the way and performs as you would expect anything coming out of Porsches testing grounds. I wish they had been able to help a bit in the chassis design. It's a bit under braked and could use a dose of hefty sized disks up front. The rake of the triple clamp takes away a bit of confidence in cornering capabilities and causes some weird dynamics, just move your feet around those pegs at speed and watch that front end dance. But oh those looks, is different and stylish, cutting edge like the Ducati Monster was 10 years ago. In a package that reminiscing that same feeling. Summary, an outstanding bike for the cross over rider, someone who is looking for sport bike, but the cruisers appeals to them, HD did this one right, Bravo.
- Doug K, Twin Cities, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-06 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With a low center of gravity this bike comes out of corners with ease. Sitting at a light I get more looks and thumbs up than with any other bike I've owned, including other Harley's.
- Art, Germantown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-25 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! Great acceleration, great handling, and what a head turner. Sport bikes don't stand a chance red light to red light. If you don't belive me, bring your jap bike and I'll show you. My only complaint is the quick redline in the first two gears. 9000 rpm seems conservative for a 21st century motor. This bike will with out a doubt bring a whole new style of rider to Harley Davidson. Look at me, I'm 25 and cruising around town on a $20,000 machine. that's right, Harley Davidson, a real bikers machine.
- C. Jpnes, Milton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-02 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was one of my choices for a new scooter. I road tested one in Tomahawk myself. It was amazing. Did not sound much like like a H-D but whoa, what power. I loved it. I bought it. Very nice workmanship. I am satisfied entirely.
- Bilbo, ChiTown, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-09 2003 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
looks and performance. If you try to fit the V-Rod into the historical H-D air-ccoled big twin box, you're limiting what this bike is all about. It is a power cruiser. Drag bike style looks. The exhaust note growl is much like that of a twin engined sport bike. Exotic. Despite its length, it falls into corners easily. Handling is excellent. Controls are right where they should be. Cruisers should turn heads. Styling is part of the formula. Few bikes turn heads or encourage walkarounds like this one. Not for everyone, but for this rider it is a five star bike.
- Steve Farson, Bailey, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: