Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles Reviews (60)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-01-17 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been looking to buy for a few years now, haven't ridden since my teen years. There's a lot of choices out there, but in my eyes, nothing beats a Harley. I focused in on a sporty, since it's been so long that I've ridden, and the sporty is the exact machine that worked for me. Fast, nimble and a load of fun. Now that I'm back in the saddle, looking to fill the garage with Harley #2, hmmmm I see a fatboy in the future!
- E. Kish, Liverpool, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-19 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an 883 and a 1200 and I love the both of them. I have put a lot of chrome on them, they look good and run great. I agree in saying it is an awesome bike. Lots of power and the 1200 can go and keep up with thge rest of them. Great bike, awesome weight to power ratio.
- Pat Quinn, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have A 2003 Road king, a 2009 Ultra Classic, and also a 2001 1200 Sportster C. The Sportster may not be as smooth as a ride as the Classic, but I think it's a very good bike. Good ride, handles well, quick, and smooth. I added more chrome but still an awesome ride. For a 5 speed Sportster or even a 1200cc bike, it's at the top of the line. I give 5 stars. If you're looking to get a Ultra Glide ride from a Sportster, you're way off, but if you're looking for a good ride, and not so much money, and to stay with the Harley family, Sportster is the way to go. 5 Stars.
- Shane Milmore, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-07 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have rode bikes for the past 15 years and this bike is my first Harley. It is by far, the most smooth and satisfying ride that I have owned. The styling and handling of the bike is excellent.
- Brad Helmick, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years of owning Japanese bikes, I finally got my first Harley. Great choice for a first bike, one of the nicest sporsters I have ever seen. Tons of chrome, drag bars, forward controls, etc. Added some drag pipes and carb rejetting, a small sissy bar and now all the guys with their big Japanese cruisers are a bit jealous. Only problem with this bike is at speeds over 65 vibration can be a bit of a problem, but thats why the speed limit is 65 right? With 2 people on board bike is a bit small, so I'm looking at one of the Dyna models now to move up to. I want a bigger bike, but I will still keep my little Sportster, as there is no better around-town bike for the money.
- CJ, pompton plains, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-26 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden several different types of bikes and I've found that this bike is so much fun to ride. It is also very easy to handle. Anybody could ride this bike, male or female. I'm not giving mine up.
- Shawn Wylie, Crescent City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 1999 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a classic. So far I have had no problems, whatsoever. I bought it w/about 14.5k miles. Strong bike. Only downside I can think of is cornering -it'll drag the foot pegs, but its designed for the road. It's a pretty fast bike. I'm extremely happy with it. Great buy for the money.
- bill, Rockville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-26 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got mine and love it. With the drag bars on it the bike is in a class of it's own. The best bike for it's size for riding through wine country.
- Jim, Morgan Hill, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-31 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle. Never even rode a motorcycle before I bought this one. Took a course to learn how to do it. All I can say about this bike is that it is incredibly addicting I ride it constantly! Everyday to and from work, gives me something to look forward to waking up for work. One hell of a fun ride in and then I am chomping at the bit to get off work so I can drive it home. I have added Vance and Hines straight shot pipes for a rich Harley roar. My only complaint is that it is currently leaking oil when I ride it and it leaks all over my beautiful chrome. Somewhat of a nuisance to clean it off.
- Saad, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-31 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I have never owned a motorcycle and the last time I rode one was 20 years ago, and it was a dirt bike. As a matter of fact, I don't even have a license yet. I am taking the MSF course in September. So, I don't have anything to compare too, but the tooling around I am able to do in the neighborhood is awesome. The rumble of the V-twin rocks and the torque will put you back in your seat for sure. How can anyone not enjoy a bike like this. I mean it is total freedom. I just got my 2000 XL1200C and the person before me took great care of it. All kinds of extras on it and stage one is complete. This thing rocks. I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially a beginner that wants to own a harley.
- Robert, Arlington, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-05 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 3300 miles on the clock and having just got back from a faultless 1243 miles across France in eight days, this bike is getting better and better. Perfect for crusing on French back roads at the 90kph speed limit. Only the bad vibes through the bars above 60 mph stop it being 5 stars. The first one was definately a Friday afternoon job!
- Rich Clements, Wiltshire, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-06 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my 2003 XL1200C in Vivid Black, and all I can say is "WOW". It's my first Harley after having owned several foreign bikes and it runs and handles wonderfully. It slips through corners like butter and screams down straights. I love it. Not to mention the vivid black anniversary paint is just plain bad ass.
- Gary Stewart, Kansas City, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-07 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just wanted to say that my 2003 1200c is a dream come true!! This is a bad ass ride, and I am proud to say that I own one!! How many more days until spring??
- Monica L., Middlefield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-19 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2003 Harley Sportster 1200 custom Sterling Silver and Black with screaming eagle airbox and filter, Dynojet rejeted carb kit and aftermarket pipes. I also have the Gold Key Package ordered. I take my bike out for weekend runs to the mountains and with the touque of the 1200cc engine the bike walks up the steepest peaks effortlessly. It is a great bike to ride, fun and easy to handle. The braking power on the bike is also very impressive. I can ride comfortably for hours on the new sportster without it wearing me down, in fact I find it very thrilling and refreshing, anyone would love to ride this bike. Being 6'2 the forward controls are really nice. My last bike was a 71 Triumph 650 Bonneville that vibrated big time so I guess after riding it the Harley rides like a dream. The 100th Aniversary Harley Sportster's 1200cc engine and great handling is not all it has to offer, the bike looks so dam good I'm thinking of throwing out my couch and parking the Harley in the living room.
- Warren H., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-11 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first time I got my 2002 Sportster 1200 custom up to 75mph the left mirror broke off. Other than this small problem I have had nothin but fun owning a Harley Sportster, even standing 6'3.
- Schroeder, Kennewick, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-18 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a fun bike. Everyone says this is a "beginner's bike", but I have to disagree. I have ridden my father's Heritage Softail several times, and this bike has much more torque than the big twin....AND IT IS LIGHTER! I spent about a grand in performance extras (Vance and Hines pipes, Mikuni Carb, and Screamin Eagle air cleaner) (you'll have to do the same if you buy a big twin) to achieve this. It is a fun bike, believe me. One complaint...long rides beat the sh** out of you. You will get there the same time as the other guys, but they will be better rested.
- Chuck, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-07 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding my 2002 1200c sporty all summer and have no complaints. I get a lot of comments like "How much money did you spend on chrome?" I always answer " None, it came like that". People can hardly believe it. It is a head-turner for sure. After about 2,500 miles, the oil stopped leaking out of the air cleaner. I only get a small drop or two after each ride. Also the ride seamed to smooth out quite a bit. I really enjoy riding the bike and have had no problems whatsoever. I just wish it had a bigger tank. Harley finally made a bike i can afford a be proud of! Way to go harley!
- scooterman, Orion , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-01 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Harley and I've never been happier. I've had many other types of bikes, but they all fail in a comparison to this American muscle. Samson pipes, let everyone hear me coming and improves the look of the bike alot. Great bike and for those of you that don't like the vibration, I guess you don't know what American hot rods are like and should sound and feel like. Topeka Harley was great so if you want one, talk to them. It's worth the drive.
- Larry, Overland Park, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-20 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine in May put 2500 miles on it in no time! Just Love it!! Put over $3000 of chrome and stuff...wow...now it's a crowd magnet. Great ride..should of bought one sooner...
- Frank, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 XL1200C for tooling around town since I already own a 2001 FLHT for longer rides. The Sportster handles well and is fun to ride below highway speeds, any faster and the vibrations can become bothersome. I have changed saddles, added tons of chrome, and added the stage 1 kit (hi-flow air cleaner, rejet, and Vance & Hines pipes). As is frequently the case it began to leak oil out of the air cleaner! This is not a rarity, in fact, the factory is aware of the problem and I was told by a customer service representative that it's quite common. They have been working with me (reluctantly!) to solve the problem, they have replaced just about every seal in the motor. The problem still exists!!! Rest assured this problem is real and it has nothing to do with too much oil in the bike!!! The new redesigned Sportster is due to arrive at the dealers as a 2004 model, if you want a XL it may be worth the wait.
- Mark Dixon, Concord, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-14 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the Screaming Eagle air clear and carburetor rejet kit installed, and the baffles removed from my mufflers. It runs much better and sounds awesome. It actually runs smoother at highway speeds. The previous few reviews confirm what I said before, you either love it or you hate it. It's loud, rough, and flashy, and a lot of cheaper bikes are faster. But it has style. I think the ones that leak oil out the air cleaner may be being overfilled with oil ever so slightly.
- Chuck Connor, Warren, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-13 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an older Sporty, a garage kept 1986 883 bored to 1200 with over 30k miles. It is a solid dependable bike, it has a solid ride though easily maneuverable. Vibratition is not much of an issue if you fill your handlebars half way with BBs to dampen the vibration. My only issue with high speed riding is wind noise and buffeting hitting my helmet. I have a small windshield which helps some. Over all its a cool bike thats fun to ride. Check out the pic below.
- sdb, adelphi, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-04 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wouldnt change a thing. Just took the training course and picked this up as my first bike last week. I couldn't be happier with the results. Now i havent driven anything from honda or any of the other import manufactures so I really dont have anything to compare the sportster too(except for the eliminator I drove during the training classes-not even close goes without saying) I was more than impressed with its sound, it is a harley isnt it, and the handling seems to be very nice. I havent experienced any vibrations that would cause me to doubt the ability of this bike to do its job. What i can say is that I havent met anyone that hasnt given a glowing opinion of this bike. People that I have seen in the local gas stations for years, havent said so much as hello before, seem to be a lot more friendly and always ask about the bike. For a beginner like me this bike is everything that i hoped it would be. I havent riden the bigger models but i am looking forward to trying a few of those out as well after i get my feet and my skills more solid. But if I had a chance to go back in time I wouldnt have wanted to change anything about my choice.
- vettepwr, kerrvile, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-29 2002 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike was a Honda Shadow Spirit 750. My wife and I are a combined 280lbs and this 750 was inadequate for comfortable highway riding. Went to the Honda dealer to look for a bigger engine. Went away riding a preowned '99 HD Sportster 1200 Custom. It had a great deal more vibration and it took a little getting use to. But know that I'm familiar with the extra power and transmission, this bike is amazing compaired to the Honda. The chrome is real, and the manuverability and power give us reassurance at highway speeds, which tend to be in the upper 70's or higher. Even at 90mph, a roll on the throttle is instantly realized with an aggressive but controlled lunge forward. The forward mounted controls are at just the right position for a comfortable cruising position. This bike is pleanty big for longer trips, expecially with the custom handle bars and seat.
- adam wheat , indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'M A 48 YEAR OLD MALE AND A CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER WHO BELIEVES IN THE VALUE OF RESEARCHING SOMETHING BEFORE I BUY IT. I TALKED TO SPORTSTER 1200 OWNERS AND NEVER FOUND ONE NEGATIVE ASPECT. I WAS A HONDA GOLDWING MAN FOR OVER 20 YEARS. THE 1200 CLASSIC IS A WHOLE NEW SCOOTER EXPERIENCE FOR ME. YOU CAN'T COMPARE IT TO THE SMOOTHE AND QUIET GOLDWING, BUT IT HAS IT'S OWN PERSONALITY AND THE OLD AMERICAN "FEEL GOOD" RIDE. IT'S A REAL MOTORCYCLE WITH AN ABUNDANT OVERFLOW OF POWER. I BOUGHT THE 2001 1200 CLASSIC SPORTSTER. I TRULY AM NOT DISAPPOINTED, AND I OWN A PIECE OF THE HARLEY DAVIDSON AMERICAN HERITAGE THAT WILL LAST ME AS LONG AS I WANT IT TO. ************ 12 STARS FROM THIS HARLEY OWNER!!
- Mike Isbell, Brownwood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: