Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles Reviews (13)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-09-22 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 20 years of driving several BMW's I decided to buy myself this sporty. And I like it very much. It is very easy to handle, rides friendly and is powerfull enough for my fun rides. Good starter, good brakes and good acceleration. Fast driving (100 MPH) is not very comfortable, but where and when can you do that. I give this bike 10 out of 10!
- Frank, breda , Netherlands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-22 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my second Harley. First was an Ironhead Sportster...this was a GREAT step up. I bought it used with 2000 miles on it. It was BONE stock. I customized the crap out of it...Bassani pipes, 12" ape bars, and lots of chrome. There is unlimited aftermarket stuff to customize this bike to your heart's content. Best thing...I just sold it (10,000 miles later) for exactly what I paid for it over a year ago. Tell me you can do THAT with a jap cruiser...didn't think so. HIGHLY recommend this bike!
- KSims1868, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-19 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all it's a Harley so you can customize it to the max. I bought my 883C new in 2001. I had 750 miles on it when I converted it to a 1200 using the Weisco 9.5:1 forged pistons. That was really fantastic bang for the buck. I also used Screaming Eagle mufflers, air cleaner, ignition module and carb recalibration kit. So, my 883/1200 is a screamer. It runs very strong indeed. It was still good as an 883. I just wanted a little more, and I got it. I would highly recomend the 883 Harleys to anyone looking for a nimble, reliable, affordable, Harley. For a few bucks you can make it a 1200 and have all the above plus quickness.
- Falcon, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been rideing my black anniversary edition Sportster 883C for six months and get complements and envious stares everywhere I go. An immediate attention getter and sounds great with Screamin Eagle II slip on pipes. The price and seven year warranty is great.
- Bryan, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-30 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first HD and it's perfect. The bike handles great and is easy to ride right out of the box. The forward controls are the only way to go. If you are just getting into riding the sportster is just what you need. American Made, Good price, Classic Style and Loads of Fun!
- New Biker, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-24 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Already can't wait to break 1,000 miles on this bike!! You can check out my bike at http://harley.thatauctionsite.com/
- Bryan Dew, Excelsior Springs, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-09 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a good bike, bought one myself back in '98. Own a bigger one now. You won't be sorry
- Harleybob, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-25 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 56 and have always wanted a Harley so my wife bought me this beautiful Anniversary model for Christmas as a surprise. I am so happy with it and just ride for hours to no where. I had to put a more comfortable seat with a sissy bar for my wife to ride with me. My next accessory will be screaming eagles to improve the sound. I read all I can about Harleys now and just cannot wait to get home and ride "Maybelline", thats the name I have given my first Harley.
- Steve Zahn, Puerto Santa Maria, Spain

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-19 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my not-so-humble opinion, the sportster series is the only place to spend any money if you are buying a harley davidson. There is far less of your hard-earned money being spent on the poseur factor and more being spent on the bike itself. It can, like any Harley become an entirely new motorcycle next year, but the custom version comes with most of the things that most people do anyway, such as a low profile dual seat and foreward controls. Also very desirable (to me) is the grey powdercoat of the engine, leaving no aluminum to tarnish or chrome to polish or pit. It can also be a 1200 for a surprisingly small outlay of cash. Understand that the sportster isn't for everyone. Its kinda slow, kinda rough, and passenger accomodations are terrible (footpegs on the swingarm...sheesh), but uis a whole lotta fun,what the whole thing is supposed to be about. One side benefit...all the morons who call it a girls bike or a half-a-harley shouldnt have a problem not talking to you..so you dont find yourself enduring the weekend tough-guy image of some low-milage dentist trying to be cool.
- john mckeachnie, timmins, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-15 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First,the price is right just under $8,000 This is my first Harley and what a dream it is. I Love this bike. I would definitely recommend this bike to any new biker, the 883 XL Custom is a great starter bike, and it's got plenty of power. Also has some grate features like a 21-inch laced front wheel,drag bars,and a lot more. I also was sold when I noticed the forward controls. I lucked out the dealer had only one Gunmetal Pearl Sportster XL Custom left. The bike is a bit quiet stock but that will change soon, once the"Harley Taxis paid! WWW.Sportster.org This ones a keeper, and NO this is not a bike just for girls. I am 5'6 and it fits me fine. I looked at, and tried, a 03' FXSTS and came back to the Sporty. More fun, in my opinion. Now thats just me! First time riders this is a lot of fun and an easy to handle bike. Just think it's easier on the mind if you lay down an $8,000 bike vs $18,000. Over all the 883 XL Custom is fun to ride and I ride it even when it's 28 degrees out! Keep the rubber side down and Ride On.
- Mike Yandolino, North Brunswick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-21 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 883 Custom is my first bike, though I've ridden a lot of bikes...it is much smoother, more powerful, and all around heavier than all the reviews I'd read...I would definately recommend this bike to any new biker, it's a great starter, and it's got plenty of power for a beginner. It's a Harley, no doubt, especially after adding on the Screamin' Eagle pipes!
- Nick, Harrison Township, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-22 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2001 sportster 883 custom used in feb it had 3000ml ,I put another 3000 miles as of today the last owner put sceamin eagle slip-on mufflers,and after market footpegs I jeted the carb and put on a high flow air cleaner and a mustang seat and back rest ,kuryakyn handgrips , new triple tree frontend, saddlebags and a lot more chrome its all Harley plan to keep it a long time after the warranty runs out am going to step it up with a 1200 conversion I love the way i got it set up and can ride all day long... come see some pics at http://sportster.homestead.com/
- Johnny, Oroville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-02 2000 Harley-Davidson XL 883C Sportster Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for over a year. I have done a lot of mods/chrome, personalizing it. The aftermarket parts available for Harley's is tremendous. It is a great bike for around town and on the highway(granted long trips, over 4 hours, are tiring). Yes it has a stiff ride, yes it shakes, yes it is loud(especially with the V&H pipes),yes, yes, yes...that is what a Harley is. It does run hard with AC/JET/PIPE upgrade. It handles very good. Plenty of torque. It turns heads, even rice riders. The women love it, maybe it's that annoying(to rice lovers)vibration, maybe it's just because no matter what, Harley's are bad machines. It's a Harley, and I am so glad I bought it. Oh, and if I would decide to sell to get a bigger HD, I won't loose my @#$ on this one.
- shu, quincy, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: