Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles Reviews (8)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-06 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding vintage Japanese bikes and seeing these 883R's in magazines, I ran across one for sale at my local Kawasaki shop. Freak chance? Nah. It was bound to happen. After years of riding two stroke RD's, and vintage CB350's it was a new machine to me. Surprisingly, the myth of the H-D shakes isn't that true. The bike is the best money I have spent on a motorcycle. It is fun, VERY reliable, nimble and fairly light (530 pounds). The brakes are a big improvement over the single front disc Sporties. The suspension is okay for the bike, but non-adjustable. The ride is twant, and you will feel the bumps, as it's firm. The seat is comfortable, but on a longer 4-5 hour trip you will want to stop and get off for awhile. The riding position makes you lean forward a little bit, and is not the typical "cruiser" seating style. Stock power from the bike is pretty good. But you can modify these bikes for pretty cheap to perform much better. Riding the bike through town, I get waves and thumb ups. Stopping for gas involves people asking what year the bike is, and 20 other questions. Most people think it's a restored classic. The checkered flag and orange make you stand out in the crowd. If you don't want attention, this isn't the bike for you. Over all a good first Harley, but I would not suggest it for a first bike. Weight is up high and forward. Slow corners, and parking lot moves you notice it. I love mine to death and will probably not buy another bike to replace it.
- Matt, Kaukauna, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-25 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here's what my 883R did for me: A few nice looking women waved. A bunch of little kids laughed and waved. A trooper let me go..enough said. A kid on a Ninja, who went by me at 150 said: " Yeah, you know, like a vintage Harley, man, that's where I wanna be at". I explained that it was an '03. He didn't get it but, hey, he showed respect.
- eddiekay, malverne, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-30 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only caught up with one other 883R riding in Milwaukee. We had to pull over to see if the other had a 2002 or the 100th anniversary. I would love to know how many of these blacked out beauties were produced in each year. This motorcycle is the best birthday present Harley Davidson could have given itself and I think it's the sexiest thing on two wheels since the cafe' racer.
- Rachel Mary, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-23 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I give this bike a 4 star since I would like a bigger one but one the other hand its a great bike! Have added some extras since purchase. Mild cam to give it some nice sound and power and Vance and Hines pipes, screaming eagle air intake solo seat back rack and a lowering kit gives it a good finishing touch, Bike has got great responses for a sporty and looks like a older sporty but a 2002 appeal.... Great Bike
- Kevin, williamstown, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-18 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my opinion, the 883R is true stand-out bike. It gets a lot of attention at local bike nights. I installed the color matched factory faring and front spoiler which really stirs things up. The fit and finish on this bike is very high quality. Being that it was only produced in the '02 and '03 model year, this will surely be a collectable. Performance is fine for around town....don't worry about a big bore kit.
- Ron Wenisch, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-19 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first HD after many good JAP bikes. Now I'm hooked on HD. I love the color scheme and style on this bike. Easy to handle and ride, could use more top end power. Seat a little uncomfortable on lower back so I give only 4 stars.
- Mike Overbeck, Lilburn, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-11 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I thought I'd drop a quick line to let the people who aren't Harley owners that our 883R has lived up to the demands and expectations. We catch a few looks and like the performance for the dollar.
- Randy Olson, Glyndon, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-14 2003 Harley-Davidson XL 883R Sportster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing is great. Sure it vibrates a little bit, but it runs good, stops good, turns good, and it is definitely an "Old School" Harley. People do turn and look at you when you ride by. I definitely think that, as far as XL sries bikes go, this is the most distinctive and fun to ride.
- Toby, Darien, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: