Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-11-20 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first Harley and I love it. Great bike, comfortable, fast, agile and just plain fun to ride. I still have the smile on my face from when I brought it home.
- Don, Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-05 2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife surprised me at Christmas, 2003 with a brand new Harley Sportster 1200 XLH, Black. After I fainted, I began reading everything I could about my new bike. I read that the 2004's were going to have rubber mounted engines to get rid of the vibration along with many other upgrades. After much thinking, I decided to keep my '03. After all, it's an anniversary bike and my wife gave it to me, for crying out loud. Bottom line, 2000 miles and 6 mos later, I am glad I kept the 2003. I have ridden the '04 sportsters, several Dynas, a Fat Boy, A Road King and an Ultra Classic Electraglide. My 2003 Xlh is the quickest, best handling smoothest running bike of any that I have ridden. As for the dreaded vibration, first of all, mine is smooth as glass until I hit 78 mph.Then it starts to vibrate a little. that's good because I don't need to go that fast anyway. Secondly, it's a Harley for crying out loud, I want it to vibrate a little bit. If I wanted smooth I would have saved up for a Goldwing. I love the buckhorns, love the tach, love the 100th Anny Logo and love the mid controls. I paid the tax, added some chrome, a windshield and am about to add a new seat/sissy bar/backrest. All I need now is highway pegs and I'm done.
- Mike David, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-27 2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Starting up and pulling away on my sportie never fails to but a big grin a my face. My 1st bike ever was a 2002 Honda Shadow 600 VLX. A great beginner bike, but I got tired of watching other bikes blow me away when the light turned green. That all changed when a year later, I bought a 2002 sportster with 1500 miles on it. I love it when the light turns green now! The look, sound and feel of a sportie is simply classic. Paid the "Harley Tax" and replaced the aweful buckhorn handlebars with the Roadster style handle bars. Also got a Mustang 2-up touring seat and a few other goodies. The sportie is not for everybody. It's a physically demanding bike to ride, especially without a windscreen, which I removed. You have to muscle the bike into turns, but with practice you can really lean it into curves at speeds I wouldn't dream of attempting with the Honda Shadow. You'll end up with six pack abs from the wind buffeting and popeye forearms from pulling in the clutch and front break levers. The front break is powerful, but you really have to crush the lever in to get the right stopping power. I really love the power and feel of the sportie, it's like a 60's muscle car. Not the most comfortable, but it's a blast rolling that throttle on curving country roads. I've done 300+ miles of back road riding in a day and I must say I'm pretty beat up at the end of it. But I'll do another 300+ the following day because..........you'll just have to get one to understand! Sporties rule!
- JIM, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-23 2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the money you can't go wrong. The only problem with riding the bike is other harley riders (big bikes). I'm sick and tired of hearing how uncomfortable they are and they are a girls bike. Well I'm willing to bet if you ride a bike, most of your riding is around town anyways and road trips are a rarity.If it wasn't for the K-Model (aka Sportster) there would not be a Harley Davidson. Other riders are quick to make fun of Sportsters until you ask them if they want to run it, then they shut up. The only other Harleys that are going to keep up with a 1200 Sportster are a Deuce and a V Rod. Check the stats! For the money a super buy.
- phil, plant city, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-03 2001 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2001-1200XL. Overall its a good bike. Replaced seat for comfort, softer grips, pipes, carb & added a lot of chrome. It's a very torquey bike with the carb & pipe upgrades. Only problems in 10,000 miles is: front & rear rocker gaskets replaced once in front & twice in rear, rocker stud bolt chewed????? & tachometer guage quit. All was fixed under warranty & happened witin first 5,000 miles. No problems or complaints since.
- K. Watts, Mansfield, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-19 2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '02 1200 std is my third Sporty. Traded in a 2K Kaw ZX12R to get her. Talk about extreme opposites! The stone age Sporty isn't fast, doesn't handle particularly well, has mediocore brakes, shakes like a paint mixer....but of the 60 or so bikes I've had: she is one of my favorites! The "obsolete" Sportster is just plain fun to ride...at least for about 150 miles. After that the vibes do become a bit much, at least for me, even with a Mustang saddle. However, for 2 lane backroad fun the bike is very enjoyable; on freeways at 80 or so....the bike strains to hard to maintain that pace. 65-75 she is fine and fun.
- designeraccd, Elkhart, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-02 2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What it is: A Harley, a beast, the sweetest sound around,a power ride. What it isn't: A smooth ride, a good two-up bike, a good hiway rider, a tourer, a "first bike". I bought a used 2001 in May 2002. What a fun ride, what a pain in the behind. I have taken back for warranty on blown rocker gaskets 4 times. Love it when I crank up & ride, hate it when I have to replace the mirror that fell off or wipe oil off the cross-over. It is truly an experience to own.
- Badboy, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-02 2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2002 with little over 350 miles on it. Luxury Blue draws more comments than you'd think. HD's pearl paint is awesome. The bike has the HD feel, but is needing the "harley tax" to really make it right; the emissions drag it down a little and it doesn't sound right from the factory. Other than that it's perfect for me.
- B. Brock, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-31 2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked mine up a couple of days after memorial day.I love the power of the machine,just got to get past the vibration.Plenty of chrome and polished aluminum.Its a head turner,Took my back seat off to look more like the sportsters of old.With the new seat designs, my rears in heaven
- MICHAEL T, LEWIS CENTER, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-28 2001 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1995 Harley 1200 XLH. It's basic black. I've added a K & N airfilter, aftermarket pipes, rejetted, added highway pegs, Synthetic leather bags, a Mustang wide touring seat, and some various and sundry chrome parts. I have 23,900 miles on it. Early on, the bike would shake loose the batter cables (just make sure everything stays TIGHT) and my digital speedometer would go on and off. It kept track of the miles even when I couldn't see it and has now miraculously "healed". I love this machine. It is extremly powerful (over 70 lbs.ft.torque) and has a very flat powerband. You can blast off hard at any sane speed (under about 90). The longer I own it the smoother the engine becomes. There's a strong vibration from about 70-78 mph but then it starts to die down again until about 95-100 mph). Above that, well, I have two young children. BE SURE to buy an aftermarket seat the day you get it off the showroom floor. I'm positive many riders went to Big Twins just due to the seat. I even thought about it until I got the Mustang seat. Now, I never even think about my butt no matter how long I ride. It's incredible. The entire ride quality was enhance. I even stopped wearing a back brace while riding! Buy one before you die.
- Paul, Johnstown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2001 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No fancy do-dads just an internal combustion engine. They say all harleys leak oil but mine never did and I have almost 4000 miles so far. The 1200 has just the right ammount of power. I think I would have been dissapointed if i went for the 883. Overall I have to say it's a great motorcycle. If your thinking about saving some money and buying one of the Japanese harley imitators don't do it man, I can't say this enough. Some of the guys I know who bought them are sorry they did. The Japanese build reliable bikes but they just aren't Harley's. There are more aftermarket goodies that you can buy for this thing than you'll ever possibly need, if you like to tinker. I replaced the stock pipes, rejetted the carb and put the screamin' eagle intake on. I definitely reccomend at least those changes. Most people love their motorcycles no matter what they have, so it's kind of hard to find a bad review of one. I have to say though overall, it's an awesome bike. I hope to own it for a very long time.
- Brian, Sparta, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-14 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have logged almost 7000 miles on my H-D Sporty and I am not impressed. Sure, the bike has drop-dead gorgeous looks(thanks to some nice accessories), but the ride is terrible. The rigid-mount engine vibrates severly, especially when take over 3500 RPM. The shocks are also somewhat primative. I took it on a 1300 mile trip this summer and was quite miserable. My body could only tolerate that kind of vibration for a certain amount of time before I realized that it wasn't worth it. Maybe some riders are tougher than me and can handle it, but when I go cruising I want to do it in comfort. My next bike will probably be a Road Star or a Vulcan 1500.
- Tyler, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-22 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 51 years old and bought my first motorcycle ever, 2000 XLH1200, in January of 2000. I have put 7000 miles on it including a round trip to Phoenix. Not one bit of trouble. I haven't experienced any mechanical failures nor leaks of any sort. I followed the break in procedure from H-D; follow the maintenance schedule. I've made some comfort, convenience, and appearance changes. I'm about to put some H-D performance mufflers on(not Screamin' Eagle). I plan to ride this bike on the Made In America HOG ride in June and anticipate a trouble free ride.I had thought of upgrading to a Road King some day,but, with the fun I've had with this one, no way.I suspect I'll be riding this bike until the day I die.
- Gary Lucier, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-31 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 XLH1200. I have put just under 2000 miles on it since the middle of June. There is no other bike on this planet like the Sporty. Great lean angles, lite weight, big engine, short wheelbase, and great brakes. It vibrates but my mirrors are always readable. It also leaks oil. I have had it into the dealer for no less that five, count them FIVE DIFFERANT leaks. It now has two more I need to deal with but have chosen not to because I want to ride it. Why I still love this bike I don't know, but I do. I don't ride it hard and have kept it stock. I'll keep it, I love it but be prepared to keep it on an old rug to keep your floor clean.
- Tom, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-17 2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1200 Sporty about a month and half ago. I've put about 750 miles on it since then. I've been riding a Kawasaki Nomad for the past year, but I have always wanted a 1200 Sporty as well. The little Harley is very easy to just jump on and go. After riding the big bike so much, I often feel like I'm on a bicycle. It is just much easier to flick and zip around. Workmanship is good but it is not quite as good as the Kawasaki. The motor vibrates a lot more but, hey, I'm an electric bass player, vibration is what I like. It has more power than my riding skills will ever need and it sounds great just as it sits with the factory pipes. I just think it is a lot of fun.
- Tom Straight, Barrackville, WV

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: