Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger reviews

4.3
Write a review
Reliability
4.3
Overall quality
4.3
Performance
4.1
Comfort
4.1

Matching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

30 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

bilbo

LR, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2011-02-01

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My last Sportster reference was a '69 XLCH and it was pretty bad. I took this '01 in on a trade and thought I might ride it a little and then sell it, but it's a great little bike and I think I'm going to keep it. I don't understand where all the stories about horrible vibration, poor handling and lack of comfort are coming from. This thing is as smooth as glass at 65 mph and has only a very slight, very tolerable vibration at 80+ mph. I've ridden it at 80 for over an hour at a time. It's not a sport bike, but it will still go down any twisty road I can find in North Arkansas at twice the legal speed limit or better. I've got about 15 bikes in the garage and find myself throwing a leg over this one more often. Maybe this is just a good one?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Derrick

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 883 Hugger last year with only 233 miles on her. I love this bike, we have been on 400 mile trips in a single day and I am usually the one that wants to go put some more on. The bike corners great and is low enough to the ground that it doesn't feel top heavy. I love my sporty and won't trade it for the world.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dayne

Lafayette, Indiana

Reviewed on 2009-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my bike two years ago. It was sitting in a garage for four years and had never been started. It still had the original battery. After putting the battery on a charger, the bike started and ran perfectly. I then took the bike on a test drive and fell in love. The bike has had no problems. It rides, looks and sounds great. Vibration is high on the highway, but other than that I have no complaints. This is the perfect bike for cruising around town and going on short trips. It is very dependable and I recommend it as a great starter bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

johnny

oak harbor, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I HAVE HAD PEARL NOW AUG 2001. BOUGHT STOCK AND SOON HAD STAGE 2KIT STRAIGHT PIPES AND FWD CONTROLS. FWD CONTROLS MUST FOR MY HEIGHT. GREAT HANDLING AND VERY FAST THROUGH TURNS. ONLY PROBLEM IS I OUT GREW THE POWER. PAST 19 MONTHS IN SHOP BECAUSE OF EXPEDITION. (3WEEKS ACTUAL WORK) NO LEAKS AND ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS. HANDLES WELL IN RAIN (A+ IN WA.) NOT BAD WITH A PASSENGER FOR BIKE SIZE. EVEN POWER WITH SINGLE AND PASS.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric

Elk Point, South Dakota

Reviewed on 2007-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
All I have to say is that I'm tired of you guys crying about a Sportster not being comfortable. It's a damn motorcycle for christ sakes. If you want comfort, you should have been smart enough to buy a Softail in the first place. Anyway, I think the Sporster is an awesome bike and there is a reason it has been around for 50 frickin years. I love mine and love riding in general. It is the most quality and reliable motorcycle I have ever owned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mark

Sanford, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was lucky enough to find this bike with only 186 miles on it. Since then I have put an additional 300 miles on it. I love this bike. I like riding it almost as much as riding my Dyna. Get one if you can.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Portland, Maine

Reviewed on 2006-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My father bought this new in 2001, and I bought it from him in late 2003. I've put over 8,000 miles on it since then without a problem. It is my daily driver to work when the temp is above 30 degrees, and has never failed me. Being tall, the ride can be somewhat uncomfortable after riding for a couple hours at a time, but about the time my butt starts to hurt, it is time to get some gas anyway. Since I installed pipes and a new airfilter (and new jets), I am averaging 60mpg. I ride on 95 and 295 at speeds of 80mph regularly without a problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TED

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love it, I just recently purchased it and have done a few upgrades (hypercharger, Vance&Hines pipes, chrome accessories, rejetted carb) and it runs great and looks awesome. This is my first Harley and I have ridden my Father's Dyna and Softtail, and although it is not as loud considering it's half the engine size it still sounds like a true Harley. I recommend this bike to anyone who is considering the buy. It's a 2003 883 Sportster Classic. I hope all of you have as much fun as I am having with my bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. A. Guest Jr

Hamptonville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike as my first street bike. I was always a dirt and Moto cross rider. I am 44 years old and the wife and I decided to get a bike to cruise the back roads and the Blue Ridge Parkway here in NC. I put the custom touring seat on it and throw over saddle bags. I have really enjoyed it so far had it 3 weeks and have 900 miles on it. no problems would recomend it to anyone as a first bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

hugger03rider

mount vernon, Indiana

Reviewed on 2003-07-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster 883 Hugger

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Took delivery may 16, 2003. I'm 5'2" tall, 110lbs. and bike is just right for me. Just had my 1000 mile service and added SE II pipes and had carb re-jetted. Made a big difference. I have a bit over 1400 miles. Would have more if we didn't get so darn much spring rain.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 30 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: