Honda 1000F Superhawk Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda 1000F Superhawk Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda 1000F Superhawk Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-01-13 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After taking a lot of different bikes out for test rides, I think I got it right. The fun I have had so far has been priceless. First gear seems a little lacking, but shift into 2nd and the fun really starts. It's a pleasure to ride and with the sports pipes I had fitted, it sounds great! The handling, I'm still trying to find it's limits but so far it is meeting my expectations. If there were one not so great thing about it, this would be some of the styling. The back end sort of got left behind with the same looks as a dirt bike, but that all comes down to personal likes and dislikes. All in all, I would have no hesitations to recommend one or to update mine from a 99 model to a 2004. Enjoy...
- Mark Roper, Auckland, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-04 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my superhawk about 2 months ago. it's actually a 98 not 99 but who cares. If you have never ridden a big v-twin you are missing a whole new experience! I rode my friend's RC-51 and I knew I wanted a V-twin. no need for extreme horsepower, this bike has massive torque from about 3500 rpm's. roll on in any gear and you can feel it... the handling is not the best of the bikes I've ridden but it's very forgiving and feels light and easy despite it's heave dry weight specs. I did a track day on it at Road Atlanta and handling was surprisingly good though ground clearance did become a problem. This would probably never be an issue on the street though. I got a sharkskinz lower, seat cowl and dropped one tooth on the front sprocket (gearing is tall which makes your clutch hand tired riding around town or in traffic) but no complaints here... I love it and would recommend it to anyone
- Lawson, Auburn, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-20 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my black 99 new in January 2000. Now have 35K miles on the clock. Excellent streetbike. No problems at all. This engine is great for real world riding. Granted it isn't a track platform, but this bike will do anything you need on the street. Love the 1/2 fairing and easy access to the oil filter. I hope Honda will come out with the NAS. Until then, I will stick with the VTR
- VTRider, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-28 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I know that people aren't going to like this but this bike pretty much sucks. After doing much research I thought I wanted one, until I rode one-urgh! The motor made incredible torque, but was very abrupt and difficult with the transition off on and off the gas. I shouldn't have to pay this much attention to a bike like this. But then there is the ergonomics! I have owned several crotch rockets and have ridden many different bikes and this was the most uncomfortable bike I have ever ridden! After about three miles my wrists started to hurt a lot and I lift weights regularly. The seat is sloped so that you slide into the tank constantly and put way to much weight on your wrists-very uncomfortable! There is no way that I could ever ride this bike for more than about 30 minutes without a break. The suspension on this bike had been set-up for canyon riding and it was so stiff and uncomfortable that it was ridiculous. Corbin makes a seat that specifically corrects that slope problem and Heli bars help with the wrists, but even then I didn't think that this would help enough-pass. I would still have to sell the bike because of discomfort after these changes. So what did I do? I went and bought a FZ1- what a bike!! It's faster, better handling, 1000x more comfortable, cheaper and and has lower insurance rates. Change out the bars and I will have a canyon rocket and a touring bike for the price of one. Sorry guys but the VTR sucks.
- dwa, laguna niguel, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-20 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been out of riding bikes for the last ten years or so, when I was bitten by 'the bug' again. I bought a used Suzuki SV650, which was a fantastic 'relearning to ride' bike. I felt I really wanted more power, so I went shopping for a used SuperHawk. I got a '98 with only 1500 easy miles on it for a good price, consigned at a dealer. I love the bike, with a few reservations. It doesn't get nearly as bad gas mileage as I had heard- I get around 40, and that's fine by me. The tank is tiny, so I'm a frequent visitor at the gas station. That is actually less of a problem when touring than it is around town. The crouched position leaves me ready to get off every 100 miles or so anyway. Around town it's irritating, because I have to stop and gas up all the time (though I don't need a break...). If Honda asked me what to change on next year's model, I'd say 'A five gallon gas tank!!'. One essential modification for me was a louder pipe. The bike has a great exhaust note, but the mechanical noise from the cams, etc is louder than the exhaust on the stocker- leaving the bike feeling like it has the personality of a blender. I put Vance& Hines slip-on mufflers on it after owning it only a couple of weeks. At first I was shocked at how loud it was, but now I love the sound of it- it's really not that obnoxious, and it gives the bike a lot more character. Overall, I think it's a wonderful bike, and would recommend it to anyone, but caution those with carpal tunnel, or a bad back that will put your hands to sleep on a long ride, and might not be the greatest sport-tourer for you. I rode a '99 when I was shopping, and it seemed to have higher bars.(I put a small tank bag on it, and lean on that. Helps a lot.) The magazines say it's pretty softly suspended and drags things in corners. They must be a hell of a lot more aggressive than I am. I'm 5'7", about 180, ride pretty fast, and have never touched a peg down, even in some hairy canyon riding. Happy Riding! LG
- LDG, Prescott, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-18 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1999 Black VTR1000F Superhawk. I have nothing but good things to say about this bike, excluding gas mileage. I commute 20 miles a day 5 days a week. Due to the bike's great ergos the stress on the back & wrist are minimal. As for performance, the 90-deg. V-twin engine offers great torque anywhere in it's power band. The bike is balanced very well not requiring a great deal of effort to toss it around. The bike's suspension is a little on the soft side when riding hard but overall very good. The addition of a steering dampener is a must if enjoy pushing your bike to it's limits. The VTR is not a bike designed for the track but it is more than capable of holding it's own in that setting.
- G. Johnson, Tampa, Florida, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-24 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This VTR1000F is not bad, not bad at all. No. People often will complain about the fuel range. Nobody complains about the (equally terrible) range of a Ducati but they don't hesitate to remind you of it on a VTR. No bike is perfect. Well, a Ducati handles a lot better, they will add. True, but a Ducati has Ohlin shocks. This VTR handles great and she will be even better when I put Ohlins on her too (and then she will rank 5 stars). Best of all, valve service intervals are every 16,000 miles- unlike the 6,000 interval those demonic desmodronic valves will require. And, it's a Honda (this means parts work VERY well and are put together properly). True, a Ducati has more character (or, as engineers call it; flaws) and if money were no object I'd prefer the Ducati. But money talks and I couldn't say no to the steal I got on a beautiful new black 1999 VTR1000F ($7,900). It is plenty fast with gobbs of torque but the way it rumbles makes it equally satisfying when I just cruise. For the money, I think this is the best bike on the planet. I just don't know how Honda can sell them for profit at this price. I have been riding 17 years and my past mounts include SuzukiGS550ES, BMWK75S, BMWR100, Harley'77FLH, KawasakiZX6, HondaNX650, Honda'95VFR and now this VTR1000F. The VTR reminds me of a cross between my VFR and the R-bike (BMW). I plan to keep this bike for a long time.
- Mr. Ogden, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-08 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Retread rider, this is my 5th bike. Those were a 94 FZR1000, 1200 Bandit, CBR900RR and my return bike, CB750K. I love the VTR. 90% of my trips are 100 miles or less, I live right next to the foothills west of Denver. The VTR was designed for this environment. I am 5'9", so I find that the bars are a bit far away which requires that I sit on the gas tank. In spite of that fact, it always leaves me with a big smile. Gas mileage is lousy, 35mpg, but the bike is new. I expect that will change with synthetic oil, air filter, cams and jet kit. OEM tires seem to be a bit dated. Overall, I am pretty happy, but will probably buy a RC51 when I can afford it.
- Jack A. Ballard, Denver, Colorado,USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-11-15 1999 Honda 1000F Superhawk Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding thirty years on 1, 2, 3 & 4 cylinders; two and four stroke; tourers, cruisers, dirt and sport. This is the first bike that has felt like an extension of my body. The engine delivers such torque at my fingertips that acceleration is more a request than a demand. Same with steering input, shifting and braking. My last 3 bikes were Honda 600's & fine bikes too, but this seems to be the bike I was working up to. The only drawback you will hear is poor mileage(42 to 45mpg, but after 6000 miles this has only become a character trait to be tolerated. Two or three hundred mile trips are quite easy for this 55 year old body. I have fallen in love with the narrow chassis and the willingness to go deeper and faster into a corner...and the thrust forward as the torque, instead of high RPM, pulls thru to the exit. I certainly don't plan on a Gold Wing soon.
- Tom Johnston, Central Western Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: