Honda 599 (CB600F) Motorcycles Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda 599 (CB600F) Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Honda 599 (CB600F) Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-03-18 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a bunch of bikes, but I stopped looking since I've had this one. Never a problem. In the years that I've owned it I've replaced the tires a few times, plugs, oil, filter and one dead blinker bulb. Biggest issue is the battery. Leave your light on by error for 10 minutes and you are looking at a push start. It's real fussy about starting with a cold engine on a hot day until you figure out how to caress the choke. The exhaust is pretty much pure death. You don't want to stand behind one while it idles. The tank is a small. You'll stop many times for gas on a highway run, but you'll want to anyway as the legs get a bit cramped from the rear-sets. It's brilliant in the city. Decent low end off the lights without the need to rev to the moon. It runs nice and quiet in 'stealth' mode at about 5 to 6k rmp, but if you wick it up a bit it wakes up and screams a nice song. It'll lift the wheel from a start for the first couple gears if you get in the power. The wind from this 'naked' is not an issue until you hit about 140kmph. You can ride around all day at 'normal' highway speed without much trouble. The buffeting is less on this bike then many bikes with screens. (DO NOT BUY A MINI SCREEN, you'll rip that junk off to reduce the buffeting if you do). It could use about 10 more HP, but couldn't they all once you get used to them? If you are a larger person (I'm only 135lbs) you'll maybe want to consider the 919 for the extra juice. All in all, I have zero regrets with this buy and I'm too afraid to sell it to buy a new one which will probably not be as fine as my 599. :) In yellow of course :)
- Les, toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-11 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2004-599, my second bike. Purchased new in 2005. Now with 45,000km. Used for everyday commuting, never a problem, just the usual wear items changed (brakes, tires, chain) and regular oil changes, otherwise all original. You cannot beat Honda reliabilty. I've been riding for 0ver 20 years (first bike was an '83 Honda CM450E, retired in 2005, still ran, but I wanted an upgrade, tired of front drum brakes!) I prefer standard naked street bikes! Hate cruisers and not a big fan of super-sport bikes. The 599 is a great bike, period.
- Fab S., Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-09 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 599 is my very first bike. I have never ridden anything before, I got on it in the parking lot of Hayden and killed it about 3 times and then I just took off. Very easy to learn how to ride. I think I made a very good choice on the 599 for my first bike, I LOVE IT. I've put just over 400 miles on it in my first 4 days of riding. It has a lot of power and yet very clean to ride. I plan on keeping this bike for 2 years and swithcing up to the Honda ST1300, the bike that I really wanted but decided it wouldn't be a good idea to spend so much on my first bike. I love Honda.
- Josh Roberts, Avilla, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-08 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2004 Honda 599 was my first bike. I hadn't ridden anything until I rode my baby in the parking lot. I picked it up looking for fast and comfortable. I picked very well. I would recommend this bike to anybody looking for an all around bike. The only reason I got rid of it was to get a cruiser so my fiance would be more comfortable. Great bike. I literally cried when I traded it in.
- Scott , Clinton, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-26 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For being my first bike, I sure do have a lot of confidence to step up to bigger and better rides. I got my 04 CB600 about a year and a half ago. Back then I was still pretty green and eager to rev this thing to the limit. Now, thanks to the bikes ergonomics, performance and simplicity, I can keep up with bigger bikes. I rode some other sport bikes before but never really liked them. This bike feels more adaptable. I used it as a commuter for some time and it was very fun to ride. Recently it only sees the twisty turnies on the weekends and that's where this bike shines. The power is always there for when you need it but it won't bite unless you provoke it. Overall, this bike is a great learners bike.
- fernando, santa maria, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-02 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 45 years old and this is my m-teenth bike. Prior to this one, I had a Honda Shadow Spirit 1100. I loved that bike, but decided to go with the 599 because of the (former) cruiser's inability to do wheelies. The 599 screams! It inspires confidence from the minute you get on it. The tires/brakes/engine power, all are TOP NOTCH! This bike is the perfect sleeper! It's quiet, and yet it will rawk! I'd like to do something for the comfort factor however, sometimes the seat is a little much on the body after 300-400 miles in a day. A corbin seat would be nice but they don't make one for the 599 yet. Also, I wouldn't mind if the seating position were a little more upright (maybe bringing the bars back and up just a bit), but that would probably screw up your ability to lean into the wind and let the wind support your body on the highway. AWESOME! This is a total Honda folks. Dead-nuts perfect bike. 100% on the quality, and capabilities for a casual ride to work or a 400 mile trip.
- ohblackwater, Huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-05 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 599 as my first bike one year ago and it's proven to have been an excellent choice for me. I've put 4,500 miles on it and I can't think of any significant flaw - yes, granted, I don't have any other biking experience with which to compare. I still get a kick from it every time I ride it and reliability has been flawless, so what more could I ask? I'd highly recommend the 599 to anyone, but especially new riders.
- John N., Sahuarita, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-02 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think N.A.S.A. did a good job on the rocket I traded in for the 599 (Yamaha YZF R6) I am a new rider and the R6 was a bad choice for me. The 599 on the other hand, I love this bike, very comfortable (although the vibration in the pegs will take some getting used to), plenty of power when you want it and very good looking. I didn't like the half fairing that Yamaha and Suzuki had to offer. I highly recommend this bike.
- Pat Bedard, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-24 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike. I was looking for something that would be a little bit of everything. Fun, fast, yet comfortable. And this bike delivered. It has a sporty attitude. However, it's very forgiving. It can be a daily commuter or a real sport bike depending on how you ride it. For beginners it takes some practice. Because it wants to go fast. Very comfortable and sporty, all in one package.
- Doud Dickey, San Gabriel, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-12 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just finished high school and I recieved this bike as a graduation present. I wanted a Honda 919 but I was scared of the "big bike thing" and that I would pop a wheele and fall off. The 599 has enough power to throw you off but it feels like it won't. It is the perfect amount of performance, comfort, and reliability that anyone could ask for. I give it two thumbs up!
- Rider, Susanville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-12 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 13 years of riding used bikes, this is my first brand new bike. It came down to the 599 and the SV650. I decided, of course on the 599. I use it for work and play and it is very good for both. It has enough power too keep things fun and you can't beat it for the daily grind. To my eyes, it looks better than the SV, but that's just me. The only thing that I find a little annoying is the time it takes to warm up. Overall just a great bike!
- vic garcia, LA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-18 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a bike with performance, but with an upright seating position in the 600cc range. I had been reading about the 600 Hornet in Europe and wondered if the bike would ever be available in the US. When the dealer finally got the 599 in, I just had to try it out. I loved the seating position the second I sat on it. The bike has decent low rpm power along with the high rpm power. It also runs better on 89 octain gas than 93 octain. Does very well when riding hard in the corners and the OEM Pilot Roads show very little ware after 3900+ miles. Decent for long distance trips, but get a seat cushion for trips longer than 150 miles. The only other complaint is the gauges - during the day they are fine. But at night the numbers show up red/orange and the gauge needles are red/orange, making them hard to read at a glance. I was getting false neutrals between 5th and 6th during the first 800 miles, but after the 600 service (800 mile service for me)I only had one false neutral.
- Mike , Plainfield , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-26 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just past my 40 year mark in December and I guess you could say that the CB600 was the solution to my mid life crisis. I wish you could see the looks a woman gets riding a sport bike...especially as trim and neat as my little yellow 599 is. Believe it or not, I am a kindergarten teacher (license plate KNTCHR) and my students get a big kick out of me riding in to school. I absolutely love this bike. It fits me perfectly and I am comfortable with handling it at all speeds. I would like to see a tank bag come out for this bike because my backpack gets heavy when I ride it to school. Way to go, Honda!!
- RobertaW, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-22 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider, I was looking for a bike that I could grow into, but not grow out of. With my height (almost 6'), I needed a bike with some leg room, but I wanted an upright riding position. This bike was perfect! I enjoy the ride. Very smooth, handles great. I'm looking for a windscreen and some frame sliders. If it goes down, the radiator is going to be the first casualty. Its a great bike to get some experience with. I'm very pleased with my purchase :)
- iffaffer, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-02 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just took it in for the 600 mile service/checkup. I have been riding motorcycles for over 30 years and have owned approx 25 bikes during that time. So far I am very pleased with my 599. Riding position is comfortable and power/speed are more than a 40-something rider really needs. Seat height is borderline for those of us with a 27" inseam but I knew that before I bought it. The Yamaha FZ6 and Suzuki SV650 were slightly taller yet. Honda USA does not seem to offer any accessories but I am hoping that changes. There is a significant "growl" in the exhaust tone at 6000+ rpm and I like it. At that rpm there is also a slight vibration in the seat and footpegs but I don't notice it in the handlebars. It does not numb my fingers like other in line 4's I've ridden and so it is no concern. The 599 was a good choice.
- Tim Schiller, Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-10 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first time I chanced upon this bike was in 2003, when I rented it in Europe where it's known as the Hornet. Since then I've been in love with it. Finally Honda launched it in November 2003 in the US. They changed the name to 599, which I feel is rather bland. The bike has a sporty look, with great angles. The bike has a very aggressive feel to it, probably because the seating position gives a feeling of being close to the road. The bike has an excellent pickup and brakes well, allowing rider control even at high speeds. On the whole this is a fun bike to ride and own. I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of buying a motorcycle. Especially if it's going to be your first motorcycle, this one is easy to handle. I bought it and am really happy with my purchase, although it's only been a month. Go for it....
- Rajiv, Clemson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-17 2004 Honda 599 (CB600F) Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've always liked the CB style of Hondas, especially the CB750's. This bike offers the same "cool" with lots of style! On top of being the CBR600 offspring, it has the right weight & riding position for us older enthusiasts who prefer naked. My cruiser is great, but this bike has me wondering how to justify 2 bikes in my garage! Anybody got a spare 7 grand to spare?.....it will go to a good cause, and I will gladly take any contributions!
- shytownbb, Redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: